Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby zoom rader » January 18th, 2022, 10:55 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Anybody else has issues finding potatoes?
U mean Aloo ?

Postby bluefete » January 18th, 2022, 12:02 pm

U mean Aloo ?

Only KFC.

Postby bluefete » January 18th, 2022, 12:06 pm

Massy MC!!!

So I bought a 2/1 special 350 gm box of Fruit cereal for about $46.00 in Massy last week.

For those who don't know, it means that the normal selling price is $46.00 for ONE 350 gm BOX but I got 2 for that price due to close to expiry.

I went to PriceSmart yesterday and they were selling TWO 540 gm boxes (of the SAME cereal) for $52.00 under normal conditions.

That is $26.00 for a 540 gm box (almost 200gms larger than Massy) for $23.00 LESS than Massy.

Go figure.

Postby 88sins » January 18th, 2022, 12:23 pm

bluefete wrote:Massy MC!!!

So I bought a 2/1 special 350 gm box of Fruit cereal for about $46.00 in Massy last week.

For those who don't know, it means that the normal selling price is $46.00 for ONE 350 gm BOX but I got 2 for that price due to close to expiry.

I went to PriceSmart yesterday and they were selling TWO 540 gm boxes (of the SAME cereal) for $52.00 under normal conditions.

That is $26.00 for a 540 gm box (almost 200gms larger than Massy) for $23.00 LESS than Massy.

Go figure.

time to quit shopping in Massy perhaps? gotta get the most out of that dollar, and Massy has no loyalty to you, so you owe none to them.

Postby S_2NR » January 18th, 2022, 3:01 pm

bluefete wrote:Massy MC!!!

Go figure.

I don't understand the beat up.
Buy it in pricesmart and done. The same way massy could set whatever price..You are the customer and u can choose where u spend your money.

Postby matr1x » January 18th, 2022, 3:07 pm

Who still buying from massy?

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2022, 3:20 pm

don’t look at prices alone
some of them places if you go in the back and see the hygiene or lack of you will stop buying regardless of price

Postby S_2NR » January 18th, 2022, 3:59 pm

matr1x wrote:Who still buying from massy?

I do my regular grocery shopping there. It's a comfortable place to shop for daily items, but I generally keep an eye out for deals and use my massy card points when available.
Bulk items I buy at pricesmart.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 18th, 2022, 4:00 pm

heard about the global shortage.
Up to weekend Couva market and the smaller stalls had normal stock.
3/lb for nice big ones looking like Yukon gold

Postby K74T » January 18th, 2022, 4:03 pm

JTA FTW

Postby matr1x » January 18th, 2022, 5:07 pm

Xtra foods dawg

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2022, 5:14 pm

xtra foods is actually quite a bit more expensive for a lot of things

eg nfm bakers flours was $16 vs $14.50 in hilo

matr1x wrote:Xtra foods dawg

Postby eliteauto » January 18th, 2022, 5:21 pm

pugboy wrote:xtra foods is actually quite a bit more expensive for a lot of things

Xtra foods does take advantage of ppl who don't do basic maths, it's one of the more expensive supermarkets #plentyfor20

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2022, 5:32 pm

dont tell them that, many persons swear hilo is most expensive and xtra foods the cheapest.

eliteauto wrote:
pugboy wrote:xtra foods is actually quite a bit more expensive for a lot of things

Xtra foods does take advantage of ppl who don't do basic maths, it's one of the more expensive supermarkets #plentyfor20

Postby K74T » January 18th, 2022, 5:38 pm

Easy chain up

Postby matr1x » January 18th, 2022, 5:47 pm

You don't buy everything in one supermarket.

Everyone knows you have the list

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2022, 5:58 pm

so why you call one place name

Postby Rovin » January 18th, 2022, 6:09 pm

matr1x wrote:You don't buy everything in one supermarket.

Everyone knows you have the list

tell dem !

same with hardware, plumbing, paint, clothes, electrical, shoes, market, tools etc, anything .... it doh mean u hadda go 10 different locations for 10 items cause u have take into consideration ur time\gas\hassle going to a few places but this is a good way to save $

Postby matr1x » January 18th, 2022, 6:21 pm

Them mammy does cook their food, so what do they know?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 18th, 2022, 6:29 pm

Nobody hear shops at Better Deal in Aranguez? Or Low Cost Supermarket? Like allya in here is rel 1% for trute yes.

Postby eliteauto » January 18th, 2022, 6:48 pm

DMan7 wrote:Nobody hear shops at Better Deal in Aranguez? Or Low Cost Supermarket? Like allya in here is rel 1% for trute yes.

I touched Better Deal a few days ago for some stuff I need for Valentine's Day cake orders, haven't been to Low Cost in years. I dunno how yuh does assess one's economic position by supermarket choices though :lol:

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 18th, 2022, 7:33 pm

DMan7 wrote:Nobody hear shops at Better Deal in Aranguez? Or Low Cost Supermarket? Like allya in here is rel 1% for trute yes.

Shop at Massy straight thru.....only Massy.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 18th, 2022, 7:46 pm

eliteauto wrote:

I touched Better Deal a few days ago for some stuff I need for Valentine's Day cake orders, haven't been to Low Cost in years. I dunno how yuh does assess one's economic position by supermarket choices though :lol:

If you know you know, there are 1% groceries and 99% groceries :lol:

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 18th, 2022, 7:52 pm

massy in guyana have better prices than massy TT.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2022, 8:12 pm

keep shopping at massy
keep the shareholders happy

Postby bluefete » January 18th, 2022, 8:22 pm

Better Deal does have some decent prices but you have to look real hard.

I move around between Food Basket, Better Deal, Big Deal, XTra Foods, Massy (usually for bread) and Payless on Charlotte St.

PriceSmart - once in a while. I also buy directly from Bermudez, Hadco, Solo.

I save a lot in the long run.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2022, 8:42 pm

yeah you can buy bulk pkg stuff from hadco, amco brydens etc
get a case of imported meats and split with friends

Postby bluefete » January 18th, 2022, 8:50 pm

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 18th, 2022, 8:53 pm

So bess we make we own bara and buy cup channa then since the price of that remains the same?

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2022, 8:58 pm

sauce team is an offshoot from the other sauce with red and yellow signage?