SuperiorMan

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby SuperiorMan » June 21st, 2022, 5:08 pm

DMan7 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Frozen doubles yuck.

I does freeze it on a stick and eat it like a popsicle. Best way to eat doubles!

Dunno how all yuh men do that nah.

Postby hover11 » June 21st, 2022, 5:08 pm

Trinis still happy
FB_IMG_1655845687982.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » June 21st, 2022, 5:12 pm

that 33% increase is the FIRST OF MANY increases coming

AND SHORTAGES

SHORTAGES are coming.

brace yourself. BRACE YOURSELF. THE SYSTEM IS NO LONGER STABLE biosphere collapse climate change

THIS IS THE END

END iS NEAR

Postby paid_influencer » June 21st, 2022, 5:13 pm

Putin saw it coming. THAT IS WHY HE SEIZED THE WHEAT

your WORLD COMMODITIES BELONGS TO PUTIN NOW

Postby st7 » June 21st, 2022, 5:40 pm

DMan7 wrote:

I does freeze it on a stick and eat it like a popsicle. Best way to eat doubles!

madman!!!!!

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 21st, 2022, 5:43 pm

It good

Postby sMASH » June 21st, 2022, 5:45 pm

Lefffff foot, balisier.
Ritttte foot, balisier.

Eat one fig and eat one dumpling.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 21st, 2022, 5:46 pm

st7 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

madman!!!!!

Postby 88sins » June 21st, 2022, 6:08 pm

I watching people beat up about the price of flour going up, and talking about how alternatives are too expensive and how they can't be used as a direct replacement. All valid points. But understand this.

If you never eat wheat flour again for the rest of your life, you will not die. You will probably live longer. Most of the things we eat that's made with wheat flour is very unhealthy. Bred, bake, roti, doubles, cake, pasta, cookies, etc., all unhealthy and probably the biggest contributors to obesity, diabetes, and other ailments. Flour is something you can live very healthy when you eating less of it.

Postby Chimera » June 21st, 2022, 6:11 pm

Cassava flour iymc
Screenshot_20220621-181114_Facebook.jpg

Postby Chimera » June 21st, 2022, 6:12 pm

88sins wrote:I watching people beat up about the price of flour going up, and talking about how alternatives are too expensive and how they can't be used as a direct replacement. All valid points. But understand this.

If you never eat wheat flour again for the rest of your life, you will not die. You will probably live longer. Most of the things we eat that's made with wheat flour is very unhealthy. Bred, bake, roti, doubles, cake, pasta, cookies, etc., all unhealthy and probably the biggest contributors to obesity, diabetes, and other ailments. Flour is something you can live very healthy when you eating less of it.
Realistically...eating healthy expensive and unaffordable

Postby 88sins » June 21st, 2022, 6:13 pm

paid_influencer wrote:Putin saw it coming. THAT IS WHY HE SEIZED THE WHEAT

your WORLD COMMODITIES BELONGS TO PUTIN NOW

Wait till they realize how tight Vladimir is with Xi, and the strangle hold they gonna put on the rest of the world.

A word to the wise
Potatoes can grow here, use less space, and yield faster than cassava or dasheen.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 21st, 2022, 6:24 pm

So what would happen to all the old stock flour bought by supermarkets? Will they be putting the increased prices on that even though they bought them before the price increase? Seems disingenuous to me.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 21st, 2022, 6:33 pm

Jam naked and stink and dutttty was ramm out....ah Lil flour increase is small thing

Postby 88sins » June 21st, 2022, 6:34 pm

DMan7 wrote:So what would happen to all the old stock flour bought by supermarkets? Will they be putting the increased prices on that even though they bought them before the price increase? Seems disingenuous to me.

Look at it this way
If they don’t, then they will not make enough money to restock at the new price when their existing stock is depleted, leading them to buy less and creating short term shortages at retail point of sale.

So yes, old stock will be sold at the new price.

Postby hover11 » June 21st, 2022, 6:37 pm

DMan7 wrote:So what would happen to all the old stock flour bought by supermarkets? Will they be putting the increased prices on that even though they bought them before the price increase? Seems disingenuous to me.
Welcome to the world of business, it's not a charity they running

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 21st, 2022, 6:37 pm

Look at it this way
If they don’t, then they will not make enough money to restock at the new price when their existing stock is depleted, leading them to buy less and creating short term shortages at retail point of sale.

So yes, old stock will be sold at the new price.

Still disingenuous, you bought it old price, sell it at old markup price not new one.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 21st, 2022, 6:55 pm

sMASH wrote:Lefffff foot, balisier.
Ritttte foot, balisier.

Eat one fig and eat one dumpling.

I’ll take the bait.
How will Phillip fix this?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 21st, 2022, 6:57 pm

88sins wrote:I watching people beat up about the price of flour going up, and talking about how alternatives are too expensive and how they can't be used as a direct replacement. All valid points. But understand this.

it is the ripple effect that will affect us all, if you eat flour or not. jobs will be loss in all sectors because people cannot afford to feed their families. a family might stop paying for cable tv an internet in order to buy food and less money for flow and digicel means men who working there will lorse theit wuk.... follow!
it is not only flour that raise, everything double in price as you know so flour and rice will still be the cheapest.

Postby matr1x » June 21st, 2022, 7:11 pm

The excuses of the war is weak since they have been raising prices regardless

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 21st, 2022, 7:13 pm

As I've said before when things get better globally with regards to prices NO business in T&T will reduce their price. We DED

Postby matr1x » June 21st, 2022, 7:14 pm

Will the ministers be paying a higher price?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 21st, 2022, 7:29 pm

Raise price in they muddda ass. Red supporters need a wake up call

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » June 21st, 2022, 7:46 pm

do like Pnm and blame Kamla for everything

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 21st, 2022, 7:55 pm

Make red supporters pay the real price for everything, we subsidizing their Hennessey and jordans

Postby hover11 » June 21st, 2022, 8:02 pm

Wait 28% increase in flour but 4% increase for public servants, who’s doing the maths

Postby MaxPower » June 21st, 2022, 8:08 pm

hover11 wrote:Wait 28% increase in flour but 4% increase for public servants, who’s doing the maths

Jason,

Help me to understand the maths for the position the country is in and the amount of people that brayed nationwide for the long weekend.

Gas didn’t just increase?

Where are the people who are affected?

Where are their voices and cries??

Where are the people dying of starvation?

Help me to understand please Jason.

Postby paid_influencer » June 21st, 2022, 8:09 pm

DMan7 wrote:As I've said before when things get better globally with regards to prices NO business in T&T will reduce their price. We DED

counterpoint:

things will never get better

:drinking:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 21st, 2022, 8:30 pm

It may never get better but will it get worse tho? Hmmm....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 21st, 2022, 9:09 pm

Flour price increased in January....Russia and Ukraine was in war then?