Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby paid_influencer » June 23rd, 2022, 5:28 pm

also throw in global climate chaos. yesssssssss

Pray the Chinese wheat harvest is bountiful.

If not, there will be a bidding war which we will lose. there will be no grain left for us

Postby paid_influencer » June 23rd, 2022, 5:31 pm

K74T wrote:Kiss to increase price of its bread products by an average of 11% from July 1st 2022.

FB_IMG_1656015559685.jpg

Postby j.o.e » June 23rd, 2022, 5:39 pm

Redress10 wrote:
K74T wrote:Kiss to increase price of its bread products by an average of 11% from July 1st 2022.

FB_IMG_1656015559685.jpg

So Kiss can't source and import it's own flour?

Why is the country reliant on NFM as the sole importer of flour in the country?

Not sure about Nutrimix etc.

If there’s cheap/cheaper flour out there Kiss is likely in no position to source it due to low volumes and if you’re running a baking company you can’t hope to get supply on time and of quality. That supply has to be guaranteed.
Flour is up worldwide …. Kiss can’t win in the open market.

Postby Chimera » June 23rd, 2022, 5:45 pm

All over the world prices are raising.

Then locally we have the major forex issue.....
That no other countries are suffering from

Postby paid_influencer » June 23rd, 2022, 5:50 pm

forex for food imports coming from a PNM-implemented facility in the EXIM bank.

basically government directly controls how much forex is available for food

in theory access to forex shouldn't be a problem, once the govt is competent

Postby pugboy » June 23rd, 2022, 5:55 pm

make a sandwich at home
eat oats much cheaper

save yourself all that grease

dogg wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
gastly369 wrote:For the regular doubles patrons seeing some men prices up to $10 already
Now for a 2 bite finger food it's costly but at the same time almost everything that's used to make it has almost tripled would u buy a doubles for $10 still?

I don't usually eat prob between last year and this year had a total of about 12 doubles.

I don’t buy doubles for more than $5 it’s not a boycott or a tote. More than $5 is just not value for money for me especially since I don’t even crave it.

What are the other options at $5, $6 or $7?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 23rd, 2022, 5:58 pm

Waiting for doubles to reach double digits. Should be any time now...

Postby timelapse » June 23rd, 2022, 6:13 pm

PNM plans on CRASHING the economy.You heard it from me first.Once that done, property values cheap, kill out the peasants with property tax, buy up all, build expensive housing/hotels . Exempt themselves from said property tax, and have their followers worshipping the ground they walk on.
Tell me it looking otherwise....

Postby paid_influencer » June 23rd, 2022, 6:27 pm

hope fillerz doh go up

fillerz is school lunch in plenty places

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 23rd, 2022, 6:41 pm

Kiss didn't mention increases to their cakes though only bread. Looks like we still have source of flour food that ain't increase yet.

Postby hover11 » June 23rd, 2022, 6:59 pm

DMan7 wrote:Kiss didn't mention increases to their cakes though only bread. Looks like we still have source of flour food that ain't increase yet.

You are one of those trinis who love to make a joke about everything aren't you :S

Postby sMASH » June 23rd, 2022, 7:02 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
sMASH wrote:Lefffff foot, balisier.
Ritttte foot, balisier.

Eat one fig and eat one dumpling.

I’ll take the bait.
How will Phillip fix this?

any where u see bush, somebody will be allowed to farm it.. and if they not making after two years, somebody else will get a chance.
they were talking abotu this for at least 5 years, up there with water capture, treatment storage.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 23rd, 2022, 7:10 pm

hover11 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Kiss didn't mention increases to their cakes though only bread. Looks like we still have source of flour food that ain't increase yet.

You are one of those trinis who love to make a joke about everything aren't you :S

And you are one of those Trini's who always have a sour face about everything don't you?

Postby adnj » June 23rd, 2022, 8:43 pm

Peanut butter and banana sandwiches 2/$1. The next Trini street food.

Postby j.o.e » June 23rd, 2022, 8:47 pm

sMASH wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
Ritttte foot, balisier.

I’ll take the bait.

any where u see bush, somebody will be allowed to farm it.. and if they not making after two years, somebody else will get a chance.
they were talking abotu this for at least 5 years, up there with water capture, treatment storage.

Sounds great. Unplanned deforestation to add to the flooding

Postby sMASH » June 23rd, 2022, 8:53 pm

j.o.e wrote:
sMASH wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
Ritttte foot, balisier.

I’ll take the bait.

bush, not forest. the disused land spaces.

better plants grow that u can eat than plants grow that u cant eat and hadda buy with forex...

Postby j.o.e » June 23rd, 2022, 9:05 pm

sMASH wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
sMASH wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
Ritttte foot, balisier.

I’ll take the bait.

better plants grow that u can eat than plants grow that u cant eat and hadda buy with forex...

Bush where ? On people’s private land ? Govt land ?
PEA says things and y’all don’t even question d BS

Postby sMASH » June 23rd, 2022, 9:16 pm

j.o.e wrote:
sMASH wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
sMASH wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
Ritttte foot, balisier.

I’ll take the bait.

Bush where ? On people’s private land ? Govt land ?
PEA says things and y’all don’t even question d BS

disused govt land.

like the 200acres they govt giving bp to do their solar project. if u all drive around, u will see acres of land with just grass growing. not used, not forested.

Postby st7 » June 23rd, 2022, 9:22 pm

daring dragoon wrote:I waiting on kiss to bring back the shop loaf it had in the early 90's. Smaller bread smaller money. I looking forward to eating chicken on a sunday only an kfc/chinese food/any fast food probably once a year together with soda only at christmas time. I looking forward to all them tanty in the village coming together to cook for hindu prayers over the cathering nonsense that goes on now. I just looking for life to return to the 80's where cars have to be ordered and months before delivery, less cars on the road,

why wait? why dont you do something about it?

allyuh fellas just want things to change but not change anything yourselves

Postby hover11 » June 24th, 2022, 6:47 am

Most countries have some sort of legal framework or state enterprise that deals with this Seriously... but in Trinidad our useless ministers beg?

Anyway another L for the red government
FB_IMG_1656067569376.jpg

Postby pugboy » June 24th, 2022, 7:04 am

you mean anti trust have no place here?
how yuh expect the 1% to exploit the ppl

Postby j.o.e » June 24th, 2022, 7:28 am

hover11 wrote:Most countries have some sort of legal framework or state enterprise that deals with this Seriously... but in Trinidad our useless ministers beg?

Anyway another L for the red government
FB_IMG_1656067569376.jpg

Nah. Don’t agree with price controls. Free market is the way. Trinis are the ones who keep buying regardless of price.

Postby MaxPower » June 24th, 2022, 9:22 am

Why Paula don’t beg Trinis to stop the unnecessary spending?

Businesses know that Trinis will pay their prices.

Things nice too bad in T&T.

Postby hover11 » June 24th, 2022, 9:27 am

MaxPower wrote:Why Paula don’t beg Trinis to stop the unnecessary spending?

Businesses know that Trinis will pay their prices.

Things nice too bad in T&T.
X10000

Postby MaxPower » June 24th, 2022, 9:35 am

Trinis only know to beat up when they were no longer getting their small greasy condiments bag free from KFC.

Postby hover11 » June 24th, 2022, 2:38 pm

Wanted to boycott kfc for 2$ condiments
But watch how quiet
The place is for flour price

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 24th, 2022, 2:42 pm

hover11 wrote:Wanted to boycott kfc for 2$ condiments
But watch how quiet

Is flour locally produced and susceptible to demand and supply?

Not much beat up over the price of things that are external to TT.

Let trinis pay the full price of things. It will help decrease consumption in areas of excess alcohol and cigarette consumption.

Witco etc are foreign companies who for years sell this country poison at a profit. TT Gov ever drop a smoker tax on cigarette and Witco in order to pay for lung cancer treatment in public hospital etc?

This is a banana republic.

Postby Chimera » June 24th, 2022, 2:43 pm

if all the inputs go up....chicken...seasoning...flour....etc
ent the output must go up

Postby adnj » June 24th, 2022, 3:52 pm

Redress10 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Wanted to boycott kfc for 2$ condiments
But watch how quiet

Is flour locally produced and susceptible to demand and supply?

Not much beat up over the price of things that are external to TT.

Let trinis pay the full price of things. It will help decrease consumption in areas of excess alcohol and cigarette consumption.

Witco etc are foreign companies who for years sell this country poison at a profit. TT Gov ever drop a smoker tax on cigarette and Witco in order to pay for lung cancer treatment in public hospital etc?

This is a banana republic.
If it kills you slowly enough, can you really call it a poison?

Postby paid_influencer » June 24th, 2022, 5:27 pm

from Minister go down a setta kyacking about which grocery changing price now... like it was some surprise that prices would be changed? if you wanted to buy at the old price you had a chance, you might even still have a chance if you shop around. but the world ent going to wait on you.