Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby hover11 » December 31st, 2021, 1:21 pm

Farmers: Government not serious about flour alternatives

Boondoo said cassava, yam, sweet potato, and banana were some of the crops that could be used to produce healthy and gluten-free flour substitutes.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/12/31/farmer ... ernatives/

Government serious about anything ? When we reach the point where that devaluation has no choice but to occur and everything raises once again, we will have no other option but to change lifestyles

Postby Dizzy28 » December 31st, 2021, 2:13 pm

Locally produced alternatives to wheat flour probably would still not be cheaper than wheat flour.

Are people willing to pay a premium for it?
hover11 wrote:Farmers: Government not serious about flour alternatives

Boondoo said cassava, yam, sweet potato, and banana were some of the crops that could be used to produce healthy and gluten-free flour substitutes.

Government serious about anything ? When we reach the point where that devaluation has no choice but to occur and everything raises once again, we will have no other option but to change lifestyles

Postby hover11 » December 31st, 2021, 6:48 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Locally produced alternatives to wheat flour probably would still not be cheaper than wheat flour.

Are people willing to pay a premium for it?
hover11 wrote:Farmers: Government not serious about flour alternatives

Ppl will have to cut back on certain things , the value of the dollar is weakening even further so they will have to spend

Postby 88sins » December 31st, 2021, 7:16 pm

This
Guavamint
Don't
Care
About
Food
Sustainability
In
This
Country

They never did before, they not gonna start now.

TBH, them don't really mind if you starve to death, as long as you do it quietly out of their eyesight and earshot.

Postby Rovin » December 31st, 2021, 7:24 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Goat/lamb gone up like he'll.
It's all kinda 60 or 70 for a good goat roti

:shock: serious ? wtf , i know everything going up but wow

i do know frozen goat is near 60\lb now, bought some last wk & cut it up small for it to cook softer & to stretch it too, also stretch it more with some canned dry peas, taste good & even up to today had a home made goat roti, havent bought 1 maybe since last yr ... home cooking ftw

Postby Dizzy28 » December 31st, 2021, 8:15 pm

Yea we order meat from someone in Curepe who takes online orders and delivers. He didn't have goat for a while and this week message to say he have in stock $55/lb.

A few years ago I used to bend to have to pay $35 or 40 a pound and look at goat now.

Good thing I don't meat meat for significant parts of the year oui!!!
Rovin wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Goat/lamb gone up like he'll.
It's all kinda 60 or 70 for a good goat roti

:shock: serious ? wtf , i know everything going up but wow

i do know frozen goat is near 60\lb now, bought some last wk & cut it up small for it to cook softer & to stretch it too, also stretch it more with some canned dry peas, taste good & even up to today had a home made goat roti, havent bought 1 maybe since last yr ... home cooking ftw

Postby hover11 » December 31st, 2021, 9:17 pm

Nutrimix joins NFM, announces price rise in flour products

http://newsday.co.tt/2021/12/31/nutrimi ... s.facebook

Postby pugboy » December 31st, 2021, 9:29 pm

imported goat coming from nz and australia
hence the high prices

for meat govt need to seriously look at farming capybara
they seem to be well adapted to our conditions with no ailments or natural predators here and eating grass, no fancy feed required
only catch is they prefer to be close to water

Postby Dizzy28 » December 31st, 2021, 10:25 pm

Something is up with ruminants production in this country.

The production figures have been missing in the past two reviews of the economy.

Never realized till recently how much pork we produce. Far outstrips beef production.
pugboy wrote:imported goat coming from nz and australia
hence the high prices

they seem to be well adapted to our conditions with no ailments or natural predators here and eating grass, no fancy feed required

Postby 88sins » January 1st, 2022, 8:01 am

hence the high prices

Nice idea, but it not practical, and not because of their affinity for living in and close to water.

Capybara are VERY selective and picky about what they eat. Yeah, they eat grasses, but only certain ones, particularly para grass and young corn plants from what I observe. They also eat river lilies.
What would work a bit better, would be increasing their populations in the wild.
Because at the end of the day, at the rate things going this place, people might not be able to afford to buy even local produce eventually, much less meat. So at least the skilled hunter can still find something to cook and feed people, and the unskilled novice could try to hunt and ketch something and possibly succeed, instead of the alternative of starving to death.

Another alternative easy to farm is rabbit. They are smaller and more manageable, multiply and grow fast, eat practically any grass you give them, they produce delicious high quality high protein low cholesterol meat, and their manure is extremely good for farming agricultural crops, and can be done to scale according to personal needs.

But is if them idiots could figure that out, as well as a way to develop and encourage it

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » January 1st, 2022, 8:37 am

goat is $45/lb fo xmas in chaguanas

Postby paid_influencer » January 1st, 2022, 8:57 am

hence the high prices

Nice idea, but it not practical, and not because of their affinity for living in and close to water.

Capybara are VERY selective and picky about what they eat. Yeah, they eat grasses, but only certain ones, particularly para grass and young corn plants from what I observe. They also eat river lilies.
What would work a bit better, would be increasing their populations in the wild.
Because at the end of the day, at the rate things going this place, people might not be able to afford to buy even local produce eventually, much less meat. So at least the skilled hunter can still find something to cook and feed people, and the unskilled novice could try to hunt and ketch something and possibly succeed, instead of the alternative of starving to death.

Another alternative easy to farm is rabbit. They are smaller and more manageable, multiply and grow fast, eat practically any grass you give them, they produce delicious high quality high protein low cholesterol meat, and their manure is extremely good for farming agricultural crops, and can be done to scale according to personal needs.

But is if them idiots could figure that out, as well as a way to develop and encourage it

what about rabbits as pets? how does that work out? tia

Postby 88sins » January 1st, 2022, 9:47 am

Rabbits make good pets, but they make an even better stew :lol:

Postby De Dragon » January 4th, 2022, 12:46 pm

88sins wrote:Rabbits make good pets, but they make an even better stew :lol:

Barbecued half rabbits are the real thing

Postby aaron17 » January 4th, 2022, 3:26 pm

In the morning show , I swear they actually brought in ah doubles man in the studio with all the setup and thing.. to ask them questions...
dsd.PNG

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 4th, 2022, 3:27 pm

So it looks like I doh have to buy doubles and freeze at least not yet!

death365

Postby death365 » January 4th, 2022, 4:27 pm

Everything home made is better .... but life is not that simple ... work, traffic, church, temple, mosque, family, children .. and the rest ah life does not allow lots of people to do that.

So outside food is a quite necessary thing.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 5th, 2022, 3:55 pm

:agrue:
IMG-20220105-WA0001.jpg
IMG-20220105-WA0002.jpg

Postby hover11 » January 5th, 2022, 4:54 pm

After ten days everybody forget price hike.

Postby hover11 » January 5th, 2022, 5:19 pm

Nestle price increase

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/nestle-price-increase/Nestle price increase

Nestle, the worlds largest food group, will be biting into the pockets of local consumers, announcing a price increase in selected products.

Prior to releasing an official statement, a document outlining the proposed markup of items including Carnation evaporated milk, Maggi season up, Nescafe and Nesquick began circulating on social media.

Head of corporate communications Siti Jones Gordon confirmed nestle will increase prices on some locally and imported products but did not identify which ones.

She said the price increase percentages will average in single digits.

Nestle blamed the price hike on global increases in transport, supply chain, raw and packaging materials which includes the well-known surge on commodities.

The food processing conglomerate is the latest company to raise prices on food items.

Last week national flour mills announced an increase in wholesale flour prices.

The move triggered other companies to adjust the price of their products.

Reporter: Jesse Ramdeo

TAGSNestle

Postby pugboy » January 6th, 2022, 6:06 am

does a 20% increase in flour equate to a 20% increase in the price of doubles ?

from my attempts to make doubles I would think far from it. in fact it might be in the order of 25cents or so.
more so for the expert bara makers who make it paper thin.

to me the bigger cost of a doubles is the channa and oil

Postby RedVEVO » January 6th, 2022, 6:11 am

pugboy wrote:does a 20% increase in flour equate to a 20% increase in the price of doubles ?

from my attempts to make doubles I would think far from it. in fact it might be in the order of 25cents or so.

Even if doubles got to $6 nationwide - What is the big deal ?
Some vendors have already been selling @ $6 :wink:

When stacked up against the major fast food chains even a $10 doubles is a bargain :fadein:

Postby hover11 » January 6th, 2022, 6:22 am

It comes down to needs and wants....it's an open Market which means a vendor can call $10 for his doubles and it is the consumer's choice to patronize or not. Doubles is unhealthy AF, I remember when it was $1 for one and now it is 6 LOL , talking about they making losses. They pay no NIS, tax or anything but always driving up their prices cool let the market decide

Postby RedVEVO » January 6th, 2022, 6:51 am

hover11 wrote:It comes down to needs and wants....it's an open Market which means a vendor can call $10 for his doubles and it is the consumer's choice to patronize or not. Doubles is unhealthy AF, I remember when it was $1 for one and now it is 6 LOL , talking about they making losses. They pay no NIS, tax or anything but always driving up their prices cool let the market decide

The market will always decide - and people like you can choose to make it @ home :lol:

Fail to understand the hate or indifference to " our food ambassadors " - the doubles man - who makes a wealthy and healthy income and then why should they really care for NIS ? MPs depriving peeps of billions $$ in tax exempts and you worrying about the double man and his family ? :roll:

Postby Dizzy28 » January 6th, 2022, 6:57 am

Alluh does feel the same way about doctors?In 2020 my sons pediatrician was $300 a visit and in 2021 was $400. A 33% increase by someone who only takes cash payments. You feel BIR or NIS sees tax or contributions from that?
hover11 wrote:It comes down to needs and wants....it's an open Market which means a vendor can call $10 for his doubles and it is the consumer's choice to patronize or not. Doubles is unhealthy AF, I remember when it was $1 for one and now it is 6 LOL , talking about they making losses. They pay no NIS, tax or anything but always driving up their prices cool let the market decide

Postby hover11 » January 6th, 2022, 7:07 am

Bro let's be real doctors are specialists you can't tell a professional what to charge, I'm sure you can find a cheaper doctor though. In the long run it is the consumers who will have to band their bellies when NIS contributions and taxes increase along with the cost of living all to make up for the ones who evade such
Dizzy28 wrote:Alluh does feel the same way about doctors?In 2020 my sons pediatrician was $300 a visit and in 2021 was $400. A 33% increase by someone who only takes cash payments. You feel BIR or NIS sees tax or contributions from that?

Postby RedVEVO » January 6th, 2022, 7:29 am

hover11 wrote:Bro let's be real doctors are specialists you can't tell a specialist what to charge, I'm sure you can find a cheaper doctor though. In the long run it is the consumers who will have to band their bellies when NIS contributions and taxes increase along with the cost of living all to make up for the ones who evade such
Dizzy28 wrote:Alluh does feel the same way about doctors?In 2020 my sons pediatrician was $300 a visit and in 2021 was $400. A 33% increase by someone who only takes cash payments. You feel BIR or NIS sees tax or contributions from that?

So the doubles man not a specialist ? And should pay NIS and BIR but NOT doctors because they are YOUR kind of specialist ?

Both can charge whatever they so decide and it's up to you to make your own doubles and or hysterectomy :D

The market will decide .

Live your life :drinking:

Postby 88sins » January 6th, 2022, 8:14 am

Wait till you meet one of them surgeons who eh sure of the difference between they eyeball and their elbow and they charge you a cool $50k to fix a problem you having and they end up doing kaka and you end up in worse shape and they say that you had a "complication" post op.
I know a woman right now, is a year now she can't walk, after spinal surgery to fix a nerve issue causing pain in the legs, and mind you, she was mobile up to the day of the procedure. And since then, is all kinda duck and dodge this so-called "doctor" making.

But back to the topic.
Ain't nothing in a doubles worth $10. I don't care who says what in an attempt to justify it. It barely worth $5. But it is entirely up to the consumer, if you find it not worth the money they want for it, simply don't buy it.
If ever it reach $10 for a doubles, unless the size increases significantly, it hardly going to sell.

Postby Chimera » January 6th, 2022, 8:25 am

pugboy wrote:does a 20% increase in flour equate to a 20% increase in the price of doubles ?

They were absorbing the cost of the channa and oil without raising the doubles
Oil must be double in the price in the last year or two
Channa gone up as well.

I doubt anyone gonna sell doubles for $10

They would all reach $6 and $7 this year for sure though . The men making tasteless doubles cud sell for $5 lol

Postby Rovin » January 6th, 2022, 1:10 pm

doubles & such fried foods price increase by $1 ok arite buh why d size decreasing though .... they learning dat from kfc orrr