Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby timelapse » February 15th, 2023, 7:51 pm

The word is pronounced gheew !!

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 15th, 2023, 8:06 pm

daring dragoon wrote:my grand father was almost 90 and great grand father worked caroni and was in his 80's. now as most turn 40 you hadda go on meds for blood pressure, cholesterol, diabetes among others. now have the best medical advice as what to eat. dont eat egg, drink skimmed milk, stay away from coconut oil and use soyabean oil instead. go brave.
Eggs are healthy. And not all cholesterol is bad. Some are good for your health and are needed to create hormones and for building biological cells.

Postby hover11 » February 15th, 2023, 8:19 pm

Jared Mohammed wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:my grand father was almost 90 and great grand father worked caroni and was in his 80's. now as most turn 40 you hadda go on meds for blood pressure, cholesterol, diabetes among others. now have the best medical advice as what to eat. dont eat egg, drink skimmed milk, stay away from coconut oil and use soyabean oil instead. go brave.
Eggs are healthy. And not all cholesterol is bad. Some are good for your health and are needed to create hormones and for building biological cells.
Agreed , like everything else a little goes a long way and moderation is key. It is not something to eat everyday but sporadically.

Postby adnj » February 15th, 2023, 8:34 pm

hover11 wrote:Agreed , like everything else a little goes a long way and moderation is key. It is not something to eat everyday but sporadically.

Where do you read the stuff that you post?
Last edited by adnj on February 15th, 2023, 8:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 15th, 2023, 8:47 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
Agreed , like everything else a little goes a long way and moderation is key. It is not something to eat everyday but sporadically./quote]

At the back of an egg carton, DUH!

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 16th, 2023, 1:25 am

hover11 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
Agreed , like everything else a little goes a long way and moderation is key. It is not something to eat everyday but sporadically.

amerikans make the medications and tell you what to eat to them have to buy their medications. in the80's was dont eat egg but eat bacon and processed sausages. dont eat avocado but eat sugar cereals, dont eat coconut oil and coconut products but use soybean, dont use butter use margarine an the list goes on. an now you seeing young adults and children with diabetes and cancer. no statistic needed for persons who google and post. just walk into any TT hospital, go one gofundme TT page.
In a egg farm they stress the chicken to lay. common fowl eggs is better to eat.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 16th, 2023, 1:27 am

DMan7 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
Agreed , like everything else a little goes a long way and moderation is key. It is not something to eat everyday but sporadically./quote]

it not on google so andy cant understand as he needs to google and repost as usual

Postby adnj » February 16th, 2023, 7:55 am

daring dragoon wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:

it not on google so andy cant understand as he needs to google and repost as usual

There is no need for you to be bitter. It's okay if you lack the ability to tell the difference between fact and BS when you read a post.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 17th, 2023, 10:16 am

hover11 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:

No, you can eat eggs everyday and be fine. Source: Ate two large eggybois everymorning for 3 years straight. Cooked in butter/beef tallow. And a home cooked beef burger for lunch. Never gained a pound of fat, just mossle.
(Provided I was pumpin heavier iron at the time too)

I agree with Jared here again boy, wtf going on in this place.

dogg

Postby dogg » February 19th, 2023, 6:28 pm

Tomato gone from $30 a pong a few weeks ago, to literally $2.

Albeit the small ones. Med size 4-5 lbs for 20.

Pepper still holding price though. Pimento gone down.

Postby bluefete » February 19th, 2023, 7:26 pm

dogg wrote:Tomato gone from $30 a pong a few weeks ago, to literally $2.

Albeit the small ones. Med size 4-5 lbs for 20.

Pepper still holding price though. Pimento gone down.

Correct. Got some decent sized tomatoes in the market for $5.00 / lb today.

Pumpkin - $4 / lb or $2 / lb wholesale.

Sweet potato - $15/ lb. LOL. I paid $2/ lb around November - December 2022. I will wait until it is in season to buy again.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 20th, 2023, 11:18 pm

yep.
Chive was king for xmas @ 15 each. Getting three massive bundles for 10 this week.
Tomato dropped to 6lb/20, but the quality was only good for cooking, not salads. Woulda be good to make some marinara and keep in the fridge, but not in the mood for that.

Postby pugboy » February 21st, 2023, 11:15 am

what price watermelons?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 21st, 2023, 11:45 am

Last I checked was $7 / lb

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 21st, 2023, 1:10 pm

yea melons, cantelopes, and most fruit kinda pricey. They wanted to sell me a 1/4 melon for 20, about 14" long

Bananas and pine fairly cheap. Got some gros michel this weekend, but it not like I remember it. :X
Mataboro is a real bess vibe tho

Postby bluefete » March 5th, 2023, 1:08 pm

Pumpkin was $2, $2.50 and $3 / lb in the market today. Wey all the people who paid $15/lb the other day?

Watermelon was $3./lb.

Plantain was $12/lb. Did not buy.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 5th, 2023, 1:35 pm

pugboy wrote:what price watermelons?

Melón from mayaro started to flood the market. $1.50 to $2 per lb atm

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 5th, 2023, 2:12 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
pugboy wrote:what price watermelons?

Melón from mayaro started to flood the market. $1.50 to $2 per lb atm

Bought for $3/lb Thursday, down from the $14/lb a month ago.

Postby pugboy » March 5th, 2023, 2:42 pm

yeah retail vendors dropped to $4-5

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 5th, 2023, 3:36 pm

Yea $3/lb for watermelon now, bought one Friday. Pretty damn significant drop.

Postby pugboy » March 5th, 2023, 4:10 pm

everybody happy now prices drop

Postby 88sins » March 5th, 2023, 9:57 pm

pugboy wrote:everybody happy now prices drop

I eh happy at all.
Like lamb prices decided to go up when vegetable prices decided to go down. Saturday morning, I see a leg in the supermarket that I'd usually spend 300 fo, now is 460 for it.

Anyways.
I studying to keep a couple geese and turkey to cook for the Christmas this year. Might help keep the grocery bill down a little.

Postby maj. tom » March 7th, 2023, 8:41 pm

Prof Brinsley Samaroo: Cartels control food production in T&T
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/prof-brinsley-samaroo-cartels-control-food-production-in-t-t/article_dc2025ae-bc51-11ed-a0d8-c346f851c34c.html

“It is very important that you understand who controls food production in Trinidad and Tobago. It is not the people and I keep talking about the cartel that controls the economy, and that is where you have to tackle the problem,” Samaroo said.

There is also corruption behind the food that is imported into the country, he alleged.

“This is also a political problem because the cartel finances political parties in this country and, therefore, whichever political party is in government cannot do some of the things ­being promised because the cartel does not allow it.

“So you have to understand that if you want rice, you cannot produce it in Nariva and Oropouche. We will bring the rice from Thailand, but it is not coming directly from Thailand; it is coming from the cartels’ agents in the United States, and then you get the rice,” Samaroo said.

Samaroo said cartels also dictate policy.

“So (the Government) can only talk but take no action because the cartels are not allowing the local producers and entrepreneurs to take control, so unless we take control of agriculture from the cartels and put it in the hands of the people, we are not going to have any production.” Samaroo said.

The cartels also stopped Tobago from producing food, he argued.

“Tobago produced a lot of food for Trinidad long before the wars, but it is not producing this food anymore because the cartel isn’t allowing Tobago to do that, because the cartels are bringing the food to Trinidad. Unless that cartel is controlled, we will continue to be wood hewers and water drawers,” Samaroo said.

Postby paid_influencer » March 7th, 2023, 9:56 pm

the other day I was getting groceries and the guy infront of me made a big scene about having to pay for a bag and demanded to see the manager so he could very loudly and publicly make his displeasure known. he was very angry about the 25 cents.

but taking action on food cartels? you cyar find he. he donno nothing about that.

Postby paid_influencer » March 7th, 2023, 10:00 pm

is it normal for a head of cauliflower to be like $50

wing

Postby wing » March 8th, 2023, 7:58 am

maj. tom wrote:
Prof Brinsley Samaroo: Cartels control food production in T&T
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/prof-brinsley-samaroo-cartels-control-food-production-in-t-t/article_dc2025ae-bc51-11ed-a0d8-c346f851c34c.html

“It is very important that you understand who controls food production in Trinidad and Tobago. It is not the people and I keep talking about the cartel that controls the economy, and that is where you have to tackle the problem,” Samaroo said.

There is also corruption behind the food that is imported into the country, he alleged.

“This is also a political problem because the cartel finances political parties in this country and, therefore, whichever political party is in government cannot do some of the things ­being promised because the cartel does not allow it.

“So you have to understand that if you want rice, you cannot produce it in Nariva and Oropouche. We will bring the rice from Thailand, but it is not coming directly from Thailand; it is coming from the cartels’ agents in the United States, and then you get the rice,” Samaroo said.

Samaroo said cartels also dictate policy.

“So (the Government) can only talk but take no action because the cartels are not allowing the local producers and entrepreneurs to take control, so unless we take control of agriculture from the cartels and put it in the hands of the people, we are not going to have any production.” Samaroo said.

The cartels also stopped Tobago from producing food, he argued.

“Tobago produced a lot of food for Trinidad long before the wars, but it is not producing this food anymore because the cartel isn’t allowing Tobago to do that, because the cartels are bringing the food to Trinidad. Unless that cartel is controlled, we will continue to be wood hewers and water drawers,” Samaroo said.
On the issue of cartels, why is it that at 12am on ash Wednesday, the price of fish suddenly changes? All of a sudden, the fish mysteriously disappear, climate change suddenly renders the ocean uninhabitable, the fuel price suddenly skyrocketed, the fuel rebate becomes the only lifeline. For some reason, there's an increase in the demand for seafood until 12am on Easter Sunday, then just as mysteriously, the fish reappear and prices fall.

Blame Kamla?
Blame Rowley?
Blame God?

But tuner studying who in Starbucks.

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2023, 8:06 am

you have a good point
nobody complains about the price of starbux

Postby adnj » March 8th, 2023, 8:16 am

How much does it cost to drink a beer or a cocktail at a bar compared to the back of your truck on the side of the road?

Any person that complains about the cost of buying anything at a Starbucks, doesn't understand what Starbucks is selling. They are not the target customer.

wing

Postby wing » March 8th, 2023, 8:19 am

pugboy wrote:you have a good point
The RIC is saying that after examining the financial reports of manufacturers, the cost of electricity amounts to no more than 3.5 % of costs. After the proposed increase is applied, the cost rises to 4.0 % of overhead. So a potential drop of 0.5% in profits, apparently causes many businesses to teeter on the brink of bankruptcy. The only remedy is to pass the increase to the consumer... tenfold.

Tuner beat up over red and yellow, while the elites knocking glass.

Postby adnj » March 8th, 2023, 8:27 am

wing wrote:
pugboy wrote:you have a good point
The RIC is saying that after examining the financial reports of manufacturers, the cost of electricity amounts to no more than 3.5 % of costs. After the proposed increase is applied, the cost rises to 4.0 % of overhead. So a potential drop of 0.5% in profits, apparently causes many businesses to teeter on the brink of bankruptcy. The only remedy is to pass the increase to the consumer... tenfold.

Tuner beat up over red and yellow, while the elites knocking glass.

The average business profit margin is about 7%.
An increase in costs of 0.5% yields a 6.5% profit margin.
Analysts see that as a 7% profit reduction.

Grocery stores have a profit margin of 1% to 3%.

edit: also consider that overhead costs vary widely and are only a fraction of input total cost - that fraction directly affects the cost considered.