Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby timelapse » February 9th, 2023, 7:38 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:^ agreed.
Agriculture should be a national priority

ppl bawlin this over 30 years now, and we in a worse situation now than we were then.
Food security is NOT a priority for politicians here. Never was, and never will be. Because they kno, if comes a time when the masses literally either can't afford the cost of food, or it simply don't have any supply whatsoever, they and theirs will abandon ship & head for Europe and N.America, and is the man on the ground to ketch hell.
I braying this right here and men fighting it down.Junk food is a status symbol apparently.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 9th, 2023, 10:54 pm

The cane belt was perfect for largecale farming. Flat land, arable, roads and drainage and. enough labour in close proximity.
The issue with caroni was never production, it was mismanagement.

Instead the morons chose to plant house and voters

Postby maj. tom » February 10th, 2023, 11:12 am

Prices in the market rel gone down this week compared to the last few months. Quite a needed relief. I stocking up on things like seasoning and pepper in vacuum seal bags. Pumpkin gone down a lot too. Tomato affordable again.

Postby Rovin » February 10th, 2023, 11:16 am

how u eh mention bodi, how i will know when somebody post something lame to say "price of bodi remains unaffected" ...

Postby bluefete » February 10th, 2023, 11:29 am

Rovin wrote:how u eh mention bodi, how i will know when somebody post something lame to say "price of bodi remains unaffected" ...

Bodi is about $15 /lb. Unaffected you say? :D :D

Postby Rovin » February 10th, 2023, 11:33 am

yea boi like it get affected & i hear was about 10 string of bodi in a bundle a time ... :lol:

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 10th, 2023, 11:35 am

fok boi

U know tings hard when the price of bodi gets affected

dogg

Postby dogg » February 10th, 2023, 12:04 pm

Hot pepper still expensive. $1 for one holding strong.

Postby maj. tom » February 10th, 2023, 1:29 pm

Fat bundle of the small red bodi was $10. Hot pepper still a bit high but I get 10 for $5 and I buy a few scorpion to mix with seasoning. Saime 2 lb for $15. Man was offering it for $20. Sometimes I does haggle for prices and get a few dollars off when they see me ready to walk away. Depends on the time of day and such.

Postby Rovin » February 10th, 2023, 1:32 pm

i was just talking to somebody who in farming\planting & prices very similar to what yall posted here ...

Postby eliteauto » February 10th, 2023, 2:09 pm

Got (small) tomatoes 5lbs for $20, cucumbers 4lbs for $20, pigeon peas 2lbs for $25, topitambo $20 a lb, 3 huge lettuce for $20 all decent prices but caraille is $15 a lb WTF 5 big ones cost me $36. Sweet pepper was also $15 a lb but I can get that much cheaper on the E-W corridor. All prices quoted are what I paid in Couva today

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 10th, 2023, 2:09 pm

Widdyrass which part those prices coming from? Hot pepper/7pot is 2/1.00, 3/1.00 tableland side. Bodi is 8.00/10.00 bundle average 12-13in length down PTown/ St Julien area. Just doh go rasheed and quote prices.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 10th, 2023, 2:12 pm

eliteauto wrote:Got (small) tomatoes 5lbs for $20, cucumbers 4lbs for $20, pigeon peas 2lbs for $25, topitambo $20 a lb, 3 huge lettuce for $20 all decent prices but caraille is $15 a lb WTF 5 big ones cost me $36. Sweet pepper was also $15 a lb but I can get that much cheaper on the E-W corridor. All prices quoted are what I paid in Couva today
Most your prices decent sweet peppers around 8.00/1lb/5peppers most places

Postby 88sins » February 11th, 2023, 2:49 pm

Can anyone explain why the rassclat people buying hot peppers? And thyme?

dem is ting yuh supposed to have growing home. Is a small plant that does grow quickly, in a pot, and with proper care will bear multiple times before it dead.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 11th, 2023, 3:27 pm

what about bhaigan? i waiting to make some choka almost a year now.

Postby pugboy » February 12th, 2023, 7:11 am

padna who farms tell me a farmer near to him had over 10k lbs pumpkin stolen during the week
fella was only able to reap 6k for himself
sickening

Postby mero » February 12th, 2023, 9:56 am

daring dragoon wrote:what about bhaigan? i waiting to make some choka almost a year now.
Things so hard u waiting a year for bhaigan?

Know how much bhaigan u coulda grow in a year?

Postby 88sins » February 12th, 2023, 11:05 am

pugboy wrote:padna who farms tell me a farmer near to him had over 10k lbs pumpkin stolen during the week
sickening

Yeah, dem fellas getting sickening with it these days.
A farmer I kno get so fed up now he start living on the garden site and he keeps some dogs to alert him when someone in the garden.
Since he start doing that, losses from theft dropped significantly.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 12th, 2023, 12:03 pm

pugboy wrote:padna who farms tell me a farmer near to him had over 10k lbs pumpkin stolen during the week
sickening

Yeah, dem fellas getting sickening with it these days.
A farmer I kno get so fed up now he start living on the garden site and he keeps some dogs to alert him when someone in the garden.
Since he start doing that, losses from theft dropped significantly.

dem men doh care. they will tie he up and still theif. and if he make the mistake to hold one ah dem bandit or injure one of them the police will lock he up and hit him some gun but and set the teif from laventille free.

Postby 88sins » February 12th, 2023, 1:08 pm

you stay right there and keep thinkin is jes so farmers does tie up and robbed.

I eh say this before, but lemme put it dis way for yuh to understand.
dogs ain't the only thing pappy keeping that does "bark"

Postby Rovin » February 12th, 2023, 1:23 pm

ppl who clean out a farmers blood, sweat, tears shud be immediately executed , that person\s is relllll low life & shud be disposed of ...

Postby maj. tom » February 12th, 2023, 1:30 pm

I eh know bout killing dem for theifing... but public lashings with the nine leather cat tails.

Postby 88sins » February 12th, 2023, 2:50 pm

maj. tom wrote:I eh know bout killing dem for theifing... but public lashings with the nine leather cat tails.

Nah, not leather. Nylon rope flail does wuk wonders on skin, and more durable.

Better yet if yuh soak it in vinegar

wing

Postby wing » February 12th, 2023, 3:02 pm

Rovin wrote:ppl who clean out a farmers blood, sweat, tears shud be immediately executed , that person\s is relllll low life & shud be disposed of ...
What about those who enable the banditry, those who receive stolen goods on a "deal" that's too good to be true. Same goes for jewelry and electronics...

Postby paid_influencer » February 12th, 2023, 3:08 pm

how you would really know tho. them ppl selling by the traffic lights with the tomatoes is it hot

Postby bluefete » February 12th, 2023, 5:34 pm

Paid $2 / lb for cucumbers today.

On the other hand, Moo Milk is now $18.95 in Food basket and $16.95 in X-Tra Foods. New 10 year design on the box.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 12th, 2023, 5:38 pm

bluefete wrote:Paid $2 / lb for cucumbers today.

On the other hand, Moo Milk is now $18.95 in Food basket and $16.95 in X-Tra Foods. New 10 year design on the box.

Any prices for Better Deal?

Postby bluefete » February 12th, 2023, 6:49 pm

DMan7 wrote:

Any prices for Better Deal?

Have not passed through there in some weeks. Will let you know when I do.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » February 12th, 2023, 8:04 pm

17 TTD for a litre of milk? How the hell are things more expensive in Trinidad than Switzerland and Norway now?

Postby paid_influencer » February 12th, 2023, 8:11 pm

triniterribletim wrote:

17 TTD for a litre of milk? How the hell are things more expensive in Trinidad than Switzerland and Norway now?

it is the structure of the island economy