Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2022, 7:30 pm

yes
massy has sales on items that matter
not $20 for packs of ketchup and biscuits snacks

Redress10

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Redress10 » October 2nd, 2022, 1:34 am

paid_influencer wrote:Sabga calling $6 for a handful of potato chips ("Ripples"). I cannot for the life of me understand why that so expensive. that is more than a doubles.

Sunshine Snacks is a part of Associated Brands which is owned by Lok Jack if I'm not mistaken.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 2nd, 2022, 3:32 am

a blind man can see under this PNM and with 2 more budget and 2 more mid term adjustment in april we will end up like haiti. business closing, lots of places for rent on munroe road i saw yesterday that used to be busy. food is scarce and expensive. no plan by the PM other than to make the 1% richer and to do obeah. any yet idiots who say they will vote them back.

He identified some items where prices went up.

"One of the best chocolate drinks in the country and the world today went up last Monday by 44 per cent. That is the worst I have seen in my history. It is bad. It is frightening."

He provided a list of the items which increased in cost recently.

*A case of 12 (300 gram) packets of the chocolate drink which cost $314 has now jumped to $452.

*A bale of 2 kg rice rose from $186 to $210.

*A case of 950 ml mayonnaise increased from $239.50 to $331.25

*A case of 900 grams of laundry detergent went from $229.83 to $321.98
Maharaj said locally manufactured goods also climbed by 31 per cent.

'Decent people shoplifting'

Maharaj said in some instances importers are receiving expired goods or goods close to their expiration date because of the length of time it takes to get here.

"Suppliers are losing money. That is one of the causes of the increase in price because of the short shelf life."

The businessman said last Divali an order was placed for ten containers of ghee.

"We got one container the day before Divali. We ordered the same thing for this Divali. We got one container so far. Right now ghee is short."

He said once demand outstrips supply the price would skyrocket.

As a result of the rising costs, Maharaj said shoplifting has increased from one to seven per cent at his business place.

"I am talking about decent people shoplifting because they have no alternative. We had to hire additional security."

In the coming days, Maharaj said he intends to restructure his supermarket to the needs of his customers.

"People just cannot afford the exotic items and the high-end products right now. So we are restructuring. By the next month, we will have more than 1,000 items reduced to help citizens soften the impact."
CEO of Arima Discount Mart Import and Export Distributors Balliram Maharaj said he had documented evidence that food prices had skyrocketed from 15 to almost 150 per cent between the period 2020 and 2022.

Among the items were cooking oil, corned beef, lentils, peas and carrots, split peas, lamb shoulder, dry pigeon peas, beef clods and mackerel.

He compared the price of a case of 500 ml of cooking oil which was $115 in 2020. It now costs $234.83

"Over the last 30 months, it was the worst I have ever seen in food prices during my 65 years of business," Maharaj told the Sunday Guardian on Wednesday at his Arima office.

In previous years, he said food prices would have increased by five per cent.

"Now it is 125, 150 and 200 per cent in some cases."

The mark difference in prices has pushed customers to be more selective in what they buy.

Maharaj said before the budget he had recommended to the Government strategies and tactics to mitigate rising food inflation which was ignored.

The 81-year-old businessman suggested lowering taxes on basic and essential food items to ease the burden and pressures on lower and middle-income earners.

He pointed out that one pound of local chicken "leg and thigh" is $18. However, if the Government temporarily removes taxes associated with imported "leg and thigh" consumers can pay around $5.20 a pound. He said CIF (cost, insurance and freight) amounts to US$0.45 for each pound of imported leg and thigh.

Maharaj said the Government could also consider imposing a 60-per-cent duty on imported french fries.

"The revenues obtained from these taxes can be used to fund local agribusiness to increase food security. The annual value of importing potato fries amounts to $1 billion."

The businessman said the importation of black-eyed peas and red beans outside Caricom automatically attracts 40 per cent taxes.

While he remains committed to Caricom, Maharaj said the existing trade agreements need to be reviewed and revised, in light of the pandemic and ongoing conflict between Russia and Ukraine.

"We are heading down a slippery slope. We are not far from Haiti. It's worrying."

Haiti has one of the highest levels of food insecurity in the world.

He expressed concern that T&T was not moving towards food security.

Maharaj predicted that certain foods would go scarce as some countries have been hoarding their supplies for self-sufficiency.

Postby hover11 » October 2nd, 2022, 7:22 am

BETWEEN 2020 AND 2022, FOOD PRICES HAVE INCREASED BY ALMOST 150%. CONSUMERS ARE BEING WARNED OF A FURTHER INCREASE DUE TO FUEL PRICES.

Before the 2023 Budget presentation on Monday, the cost of some food items in supermarkets had already increased between 2.5 to 44 per cent, placing an even heavier financial burden on customers who are struggling to make ends meet. Consumers now have to brace for further price increases as a result of the hike in fuel prices. And while this has left consumers in a tailspin, one importer/exporter of goods has identified another predicament–a looming food shortage.

CEO of Maharaj Westside Supermarket Kumar Maharaj said last week that the price of dozens of grocery items had increased, and he described it as "the worst" he had seen at his Arima establishment in decades. The businessman described the situation as frightening. "Up to last week and the week before we have seen a lot of price increases. I am almost certain that 50 per cent of the items in the grocery went up," Maharaj added.

Prices of items have been escalating globally following the COVID-19 pandemic which triggered shortages of products coupled with hefty freight costs as ports around the world were forced to shut down or slow down operations. They have recently started seeing freight charges go down gradually, but food prices have been soaring globally as a result of higher fertiliser costs and record-high fuel prices.

The situation has been further exacerbated by the ongoing war between Russia and Ukraine. Maharaj also identified delays in getting raw materials and labour shortages.

The businessman said last Divali an order was placed for ten containers of ghee.

"We got one container the day before Divali. We ordered the same thing for this Divali. We got one container so far. Right now ghee is short."

https://guardian.co.tt/news/consumers-m ... b80f148b80

Postby adnj » October 2nd, 2022, 8:28 am

hover11 wrote:BETWEEN 2020 AND 2022, FOOD PRICES HAVE INCREASED BY ALMOST 150%. CONSUMERS ARE BEING WARNED OF A FURTHER INCREASE DUE TO FUEL PRICES.

Before the 2023 Budget presentation on Monday, the cost of some food items in supermarkets had already increased between 2.5 to 44 per cent, placing an even heavier financial burden on customers who are struggling to make ends meet. Consumers now have to brace for further price increases as a result of the hike in fuel prices. And while this has left consumers in a tailspin, one importer/exporter of goods has identified another predicament–a looming food shortage.

CEO of Maharaj Westside Supermarket Kumar Maharaj said last week that the price of dozens of grocery items had increased, and he described it as "the worst" he had seen at his Arima establishment in decades. The businessman described the situation as frightening. "Up to last week and the week before we have seen a lot of price increases. I am almost certain that 50 per cent of the items in the grocery went up," Maharaj added.

Prices of items have been escalating globally following the COVID-19 pandemic which triggered shortages of products coupled with hefty freight costs as ports around the world were forced to shut down or slow down operations. They have recently started seeing freight charges go down gradually, but food prices have been soaring globally as a result of higher fertiliser costs and record-high fuel prices.

The situation has been further exacerbated by the ongoing war between Russia and Ukraine. Maharaj also identified delays in getting raw materials and labour shortages.

Where did you get that headline? Because percentages are wrong. It's not even the headline of the story.

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » October 2nd, 2022, 10:11 am

pugboy wrote:you ain’t realize them lil boneless hams they selling are made by squeezing together a bunch of little pieces of leftovers together in the oval shape ?
also the outside is treated to recreate a “skin”

shaha87 wrote:
What is this meat glue you speak of Pugboy?

Never had a boneless ham, no leftovers to make soup.

The “meat glue” is actually an enzyme called transglutaminase. Pretty cool stuff.

Postby pugboy » October 2nd, 2022, 10:47 am

is it listed on the label? also what chemical is used to make the outside turn into a “skin”?

Postby 88sins » October 2nd, 2022, 1:15 pm

To all the ham-lovers, you kno u can simply make your own ham. Honestly, it not hard, and the chemicals :sick: actually readily available locally, from liquid smoke to sodium nitrate and everything in between.

I personally made a few hams some years ago, chicken, beef, swine and turkey. The turkey was good enough to fight for from what I was told. Talk about problems after, middle of the blasted year ppl bringing meat for me to make ham.

For whatever your taste, there's diy options. If you're not willing to at least look into those options and still want what you want, just pay the price for the mystery meat and doh say nuttn.

Postby pugboy » October 2nd, 2022, 1:39 pm

yeah ibrahims sells the various salts
in the past I made bacon and pastrami
the pastrami came out real good

Postby The_Honourable » October 2nd, 2022, 3:55 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:BETWEEN 2020 AND 2022, FOOD PRICES HAVE INCREASED BY ALMOST 150%. CONSUMERS ARE BEING WARNED OF A FURTHER INCREASE DUE TO FUEL PRICES.

Where did you get that headline? Because percentages are wrong. It's not even the headline of the story.

lol@adnj

Both of hoover's points are in the article. About the percentages, he's quoting in the article the CEO of Arima Discount Mart Import and Export Distributors Balliram Maharaj.

Postby hover11 » October 2nd, 2022, 3:58 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
adnj wrote:

lol@adnj

Both of hoover's points are in the article. About the percentages, he's quoting in the article the CEO of Arima Discount Mart Import and Export Distributors Balliram Maharaj.
He doesn't read to understand he reads to reply.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » October 4th, 2022, 12:43 pm

Postby adnj » October 4th, 2022, 2:11 pm

hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
adnj wrote:

lol@adnj

What was actually written:
"CEO of Arima Discount Mart Import and Export Distributors Balliram Maharaj said he had documented evidence that food prices had skyrocketed from 15 to almost 150 per cent between the period 2020 and 2022."

I recognize and understand misrepresentation and stupidshitt when you two post it.

Postby The_Honourable » October 4th, 2022, 2:43 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
adnj wrote:

lol@adnj

What was actually written:
"CEO of Arima Discount Mart Import and Export Distributors Balliram Maharaj said he had documented evidence that food prices had skyrocketed from 15 to almost 150 per cent between the period 2020 and 2022."

I recognize and understand misrepresentation and stupidshitt when you two post it.

Damn you're a pointless estrogenic jackass but carry on running behind hover's posts all over tuner.

Postby pugboy » October 4th, 2022, 3:15 pm

allyuh folks better get a room

Postby Rovin » October 4th, 2022, 6:28 pm

like rowdy & d poo nm have everybody on edge at each others throat

now back to our regular posts : so since d blueband post yesterday how many of u here use BB or what "butter' yall does often use ?

never really cared for BB or flora so for yrsss i used "i cant believe its not butter" but since d past 2yrs or so price kept going i hadda switch to something more economical like country house or sunflower , d garlic flavor is good ... i know some of u like ur $60 kerrygold :lol:

Postby pugboy » October 4th, 2022, 6:48 pm

i use butter sparingly, don’t slather it
and i don’t eat them margerine crap made in a lab
golden ray etc

the sunny one eliteauto mentioned is actually a very good tasting one

Postby redmanjp » October 4th, 2022, 6:48 pm

Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:Sabga calling $6 for a handful of potato chips ("Ripples"). I cannot for the life of me understand why that so expensive. that is more than a doubles.

Sunshine Snacks is a part of Associated Brands which is owned by Lok Jack if I'm not mistaken.

at least they have been having a months long sale on cashew nuts 3 in 1 special - i think it was $5 for 1 small pack

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 4th, 2022, 6:55 pm

Rovin wrote:like rowdy & d poo nm have everybody on edge at each others throat

now back to our regular posts : so since d blueband post yesterday how many of u here use BB or what "butter' yall does often use ?

never really cared for BB or flora so for yrsss i used "i cant believe its not butter" but since d past 2yrs or so price kept going i hadda switch to something more economical like country house or sunflower , d garlic flavor is good ... i know some of u like ur $60 kerrygold :lol:

Smiles in pain....I buy it in the wrapper as opposed to the container....it does taste to good to give up...I also use the olive oil spreadable ones.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 4th, 2022, 6:56 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

at least they have been having a months long sale on cashew nuts 3 in 1 special - i think it was $5 for 1 small pack

Yea I does buy that, it's 3 pack for 13.95 if I remember correctly with a whopping savings of $1 off.

Postby paid_influencer » October 4th, 2022, 6:57 pm

i buy the small anchor butter (100g?). it is less than half a golden ray so i genuinely confused at the beat up.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 4th, 2022, 6:59 pm

What is another butter brand that tastes just as good as the kerrygold?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 4th, 2022, 7:00 pm

I don't see why y'all have a stigma against margarine. If you read the nutritional info there's 0% cholesterol at least the ones I buy anyways.

Postby paid_influencer » October 4th, 2022, 7:01 pm

so i try lok jack chips ("ripples"). It was was overly oily and the oil was stale tasting to boot. some of the chips were burnt.

matix

Postby matix » October 4th, 2022, 7:05 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What is another butter brand that tastes just as good as the kerrygold?

None so far for me. That is why kerrygold on sale is a must, from salted to unsalted.

Postby paid_influencer » October 4th, 2022, 7:06 pm

margarine get a bad name because it supposedly have transfats and that goh kill yuh

Postby Dave » October 4th, 2022, 7:10 pm

And years ago it was said it was one molecule away from being plastic.
It also started animals won't touch margarine whereas they would touch butter.
paid_influencer wrote:margarine get a bad name because it supposedly have transfats and that goh kill yuh

Postby maj. tom » October 4th, 2022, 7:13 pm

paid_influencer wrote:margarine get a bad name because it supposedly have transfats and that goh kill yuh

you sure that's the reason?

Postby Rovin » October 4th, 2022, 7:28 pm

i googled "margarine vs butter which is healthier" but u seeing about same amt of results for\against for both , kinda like yrs ago with d coconut cooking oil argument

anyway, i like when a margarine or butter is easy to spread cold out of d fridge & not tearing up my bread trying to apply it , i dont like how u have to actually scrape/slice some fuss it hard to put on ur bread ...

Postby redmanjp » October 4th, 2022, 7:34 pm

i does have to take butter out for a 10 mins b4 and squeeze it up a bit to make it soft b4 i spread it

and yes margarine has trans fats which are the worst type of fats - banned in some countries