Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby De Dragon » January 21st, 2022, 6:21 pm

daring dragoon wrote:men from south how much for goat on the sando flyover ?

50-60 for fresh goat. :?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 21st, 2022, 6:34 pm

That sounding like 1% goat man

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 21st, 2022, 9:05 pm

buy now as keep for christmas as it might be $120 a pound then.

Postby paid_influencer » January 21st, 2022, 10:23 pm

88sins wrote:People, I go say this eh.
Brace yuhself, if present trends persist, the proverbial shite is going to hit the legendary fan in some months to come.

Unless you enjoy a good splattering, I suggest you invest in raincoats and brollies gents

this guy gets it.

The island's food supply chain is way more fragile than people realize.

Postby RedVEVO » January 22nd, 2022, 2:31 am

RedVEVO wrote:
matr1x wrote:Sauce is the hassanali's of doubles. Plenty name, no real taste

Stay away from doubles bro.

Howdy Max,

People who tend to eat doubles and many are adamant it's a good breakfast etc., tend to do so because of the price.

Venezuelans - family - loves arepa etc. The cost is between $10 - $25 and there is not a problem to purchase.

Peeps buying doubles with chicken and shrimps long long time now on The Avenue and it's $10 and up .

If you say - you in general not you Max :D - is a rebel with out a cause and you making double and aloo pies and saheena and egg plant pie :D home - So OK ! Power to these Peeps !

Meanwhile doubles business strong and it's tax free and VAT FREE ! :lol:

Sheit talk.
2 pounds of fig is $10
2-3 apples is $10
Even the half of multigrain bread is $10
If the greasy, saltiness of it appeals to people, then they should just say so.

Who in HYMC eating 2 pounds fig with multi grain etc on a sunny Trini morning :lol:

When you can savor an eats like a nice freshly made seasoned potato croquette delight with sauces and lush cucumber for $6 ( aloo pie ) and an apple J .. yummy, yummy .

It seems that you either really super cheap for the family or have comorbidities :wink:

Your family deserves better :D

Live your life !

Postby matr1x » January 22nd, 2022, 12:03 pm

The trap is ppl convincing you eat like pauper while leaders eating like kings.

And have allyuh running down vaccines which haven't done a thing. And they tiefing money and telling you to tighten your belt. See how allyuh dotish?

Postby 88sins » January 22nd, 2022, 2:17 pm

matr1x wrote:The trap is ppl convincing you eat like pauper while leaders eating like kings.

And have allyuh running down vaccines which haven't done a thing. And they tiefing money and telling you to tighten your belt. See how allyuh dotish?

This is what the people wanted, so let them have it. What you worrying about? Secure your own business, and let the proverbial chips fall where they may.

I want to see what gonna happen in the next few months. Because this year it's projected that rainfall will be very scarce. So farmers are going to have problems for water, further lowering production, and thus further driving international commodities prices upwards.
And we in this lil mud patch here not producing 1/20th of what we consume and importing damn near everything, all while earning almost zero forex.

Leave them to the consequences of their own choices.

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2022, 2:27 pm

just a fyi, supermarkets in usa also have shortage of many items due to labour issues with truckers and supply chain.
so we are not the only ones.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 22nd, 2022, 3:29 pm

pugboy wrote:just a fyi, supermarkets in usa also have shortage of many items due to labour issues with truckers and supply chain.
so we are not the only ones.

No joke there one of my friend is earning close to 2.50usd per mile (up from 1$) because of the need for goods and long range wheelers

Postby Chimera » January 22nd, 2022, 3:35 pm

matr1x wrote:The trap is ppl convincing you eat like pauper while leaders eating like kings.

This is what the people wanted, so let them have it. What you worrying about? Secure your own business, and let the proverbial chips fall where they may.

I want to see what gonna happen in the next few months. Because this year it's projected that rainfall will be very scarce. So farmers are going to have problems for water, further lowering production, and thus further driving international commodities prices upwards.
And we in this lil mud patch here not producing 1/20th of what we consume and importing damn near everything, all while earning almost zero forex.

Leave them to the consequences of their own choices.
Produce gonna be at a all time high this year

Yuh see pumpkin hit $7 a lb wholesale and pepper $1500 a bag about 2 months ago? People never see that in their lifetime.

Expect more of that this year

Chemical prices gone up
For the last 6 months there's been a shortage in drip hose so farmers can't water their crops easily. Sprinklers expensive and easily stolen and thats a whole system to set up
Thieves are now stealing drip hose from farmers gardens as well.
Praedial larceny at a all time high.

At the end of the day if people have no work and they have family to feed they may end up stealing

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2022, 4:28 pm

pumpkin was mainly high since divali

Postby Chimera » January 22nd, 2022, 4:46 pm

pugboy wrote:pumpkin was mainly high since divali
No.
Diwali didn't send pumpkin to a 30 or 40 year high.

Chemical prices.
Plenty old farmers dying
Restaurants and food places being closed meant plenty people didn't bother to plant.
Rain and sun rain and sun weather firetruck up the crops

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2022, 4:48 pm

well it dropped back down a bit post xmas

tomato dropped badly last couple weeks too but went back up slightly

i hope tomato increase a bit as i have a bunch picking in a couple weeks

Postby Chimera » January 22nd, 2022, 5:13 pm

pugboy wrote:well it dropped back down a bit post xmas

tomato dropped badly last couple weeks too but went back up slightly

i hope tomato increase a bit as i have a bunch picking in a couple weeks
Divali was October.
People run and plant end of September and by December it start back to get plenty pumpkin in the market. They thought they would catch the 5 6 7 prices

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 22nd, 2022, 5:27 pm

pumpkin was selling $1 a pong this week in central, 2$ in omera road.

Postby bluefete » January 22nd, 2022, 5:32 pm

daring dragoon wrote:pumpkin was selling $1 a pong this week in central, 2$ in omera road.

Supply and demand.

I waiting for sweet potato to fall in price - $12 -$15 /lb is nah.

Postby eliteauto » January 22nd, 2022, 5:56 pm

daring dragoon wrote:pumpkin was selling $1 a pong this week in central, 2$ in omera road.

Thanks for this, when it's cheap I buy them whole and keep

Postby De Dragon » January 22nd, 2022, 8:59 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Howdy Max,

People who tend to eat doubles and many are adamant it's a good breakfast etc., tend to do so because of the price.

Venezuelans - family - loves arepa etc. The cost is between $10 - $25 and there is not a problem to purchase.

Peeps buying doubles with chicken and shrimps long long time now on The Avenue and it's $10 and up .

If you say - you in general not you Max :D - is a rebel with out a cause and you making double and aloo pies and saheena and egg plant pie :D home - So OK ! Power to these Peeps !

Sheit talk.
2 pounds of fig is $10
2-3 apples is $10

Who in HYMC eating 2 pounds fig with multi grain etc on a sunny Trini morning :lol:

When you can savor an eats like a nice freshly made seasoned potato croquette delight with sauces and lush cucumber for $6 ( aloo pie ) and an apple J .. yummy, yummy .

It seems that you either really super cheap for the family or have comorbidities :wink:

Live your life !

Well shut yuh ugly MC about the price! :roll:

Postby matr1x » January 22nd, 2022, 11:15 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Howdy Max,

Sheit talk.
2 pounds of fig is $10
2-3 apples is $10

Live your life !

His point is that, the solutions proposed are stupid and impractical. Make sense

Postby De Dragon » January 23rd, 2022, 3:36 am

matr1x wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Howdy Max,

Sheit talk.
2 pounds of fig is $10
2-3 apples is $10

Live your life !

His point is that, the solutions proposed are stupid and impractical. Make sense

Health advice from an admitted big stone? Hard pass.........

Postby matr1x » January 23rd, 2022, 7:55 am

Who is a big stone?

Postby Chimera » January 23rd, 2022, 10:28 am

Allyuh fellas want pommerac
I have three trees does bear like hell for 2 weeks and then nothing again for the year

Plenty does waste

Dem fawkers who selling rotten sour pommerac for $10 for 4 does get meh vex
20220121_154840.jpg

Postby 88sins » January 23rd, 2022, 11:06 am

I go take a few seedlings if u have

Postby eliteauto » January 23rd, 2022, 11:15 am

All that fruit doesn't attract iguanas?

Postby Chimera » January 23rd, 2022, 11:19 am

eliteauto wrote:All that fruit doesn't attract iguanas?
Yea iguana and manicou like that.

Use to just put a barrel under the trees and throw some fruit and easy catch.

I does eat iguana but not manicou.

Sins I don't really have seedlings because I have stone on the ground under the trees and I does pick up the old fruit and throw it for the fish in the ponds because it does bring too much flies.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 23rd, 2022, 11:20 am

Man offering free pommerac, tuners say they looking to cook iguana instead. :lol:

Postby bluefete » January 23rd, 2022, 1:03 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Allyuh fellas want pommerac
I have three trees does bear like hell for 2 weeks and then nothing again for the year

Plenty does waste

Dem fawkers who selling rotten sour pommerac for $10 for 4 does get meh vex20220121_154840.jpg

General location?

I saw my father-in-law with some pommerac yesterday and I real vex. If you see the young unripe, sappy, small pommercac he bought.

Postby Chimera » January 23rd, 2022, 1:09 pm

Central. Yuh wud have to pick it up by my store in freeport or by chase village flyover or something. It worth d drive if yuh wanna make a run tho. Yuh wud get a 2 or 3 grocery plastic bag once yuh gimme notice 2 pick

Postby Chimera » January 23rd, 2022, 2:19 pm

Real sweet
20220123_141902.jpg

Postby bluefete » January 23rd, 2022, 2:22 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Central. Yuh wud have to pick it up by my store in freeport or by chase village flyover or something. It worth d drive if yuh wanna make a run tho. Yuh wud get a 2 or 3 grocery plastic bag once yuh gimme notice 2 pick

I will PM you later.