Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby timelapse » November 4th, 2021, 8:24 am

timelapse wrote:Just do like me and eat pommecythere chow all day.Mini pommecythere bears like mad

Blasphemy
The big version takes too long to grow.Once the small ones are allowed to mature, they taste exactly the same.

Postby 88sins » November 4th, 2021, 8:48 am

Yeah, the full sized ones take longer to grow, but the taste is NOT exactly the same, especially wrt the fruit that ripens on the tree. Small ones taste a tad more starch, and not as juicy as the big ones.

I now remember the first time wifey ever eat a big pommecythere that ripe on the tree. She only ever used to get them full for chow, never had a ripe one in her lifetime.
If yuh see how she eye open big when she bite it. Ah nearly dead with laughter when the juice run down she arm and she eh letting a drop escape :lol:
Had to remind she it had a whole tree in d back and a bowl full on d counter.

Postby timelapse » November 4th, 2021, 9:10 am

I don't eat anything ripe.Chow or GTFO

Postby 88sins » November 4th, 2021, 9:37 am

timelapse wrote:I don't eat anything ripe.Chow or GTFO

Poor fella, that kinda life real hadda be hard. Kinda remind me of a fella I know that say he don't eat nothing that don't have an expiration date on it.

But yuh know yuh could make chow with them ripe too eh?
Mustn't be over ripe, just ripe and firm. It adds a sweetness to the chow.

Postby timelapse » November 4th, 2021, 10:01 am

Not my cup of tea.
I don't like overly sweet food, with the exception of punch(peanut, banana,etc.)But I hear you.For folks that enjoy ripe stuff, the big pommecythere is better.I is probably a heathen in your books for what I going to say next...
I despise overly ripe pineapples.Once it starts to smell like paint, count me out.

Postby 88sins » November 4th, 2021, 12:45 pm

If I tell you eh, I hate sappy/mushy/lumpy food.

Postby De Dragon » November 4th, 2021, 9:43 pm

timelapse wrote:Not my cup of tea.
I don't like overly sweet food, with the exception of punch(peanut, banana,etc.)But I hear you.For folks that enjoy ripe stuff, the big pommecythere is better.I is probably a heathen in your books for what I going to say next...
I despise overly ripe pineapples.Once it starts to smell like paint, count me out.

X2 for pommecythere. Half ripe or nun.

Postby Redman » November 6th, 2021, 6:32 am

Ports in the us cannot keep up with the arrival rate of containers...
LA can move 18k TEUs per day while 29k arrives, and they already have a backlog of 500k.on ships waiting to be offloaded

And....Xmas and Thanks giving are on the way

Nothing to be done but to brace for it, and this shipping thing works itself out

Postby hover11 » November 6th, 2021, 6:43 am

Last edited by hover11 on November 6th, 2021, 6:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » November 6th, 2021, 6:45 am

Redman wrote:Ports in the us cannot keep up with the arrival rate of containers...
LA can move 18k TEUs per day while 29k arrives, and they already have a backlog of 500k.on ships waiting to be offloaded

And....Xmas and Thanks giving are on the way

Nothing to be done but to brace for it, and this shipping thing works itself out
However when the price increases in trinidad will it ever decrease when things normalize?

Postby Redman » November 6th, 2021, 7:44 am

By the end of this downturn, I think any Trini biz that has survived would have a new appreciation for a customer.
And with the online access more options are locally available people shopping around

So price competition is finally here.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » November 6th, 2021, 7:55 am

Redman wrote:By the end of this downturn, I think any Trini biz that has survived would have a new appreciation for a customer.
And with the online access more options are locally available people shopping around

So price competition is finally here.

Forex not available to most citizens and businesses closing so online shopping and price competition isn't applicable but because there's an issue under the PNM it has to be a positive. Tell us how potholes are a great thing because it encourages drivers to proceed at a slower rate and that crime is the government's way of redistributing income and ensuring there is more equality in resources.

Postby Redman » November 6th, 2021, 8:17 am

Locally Wraith King...locally.

It's there in the post.

I suggest ALTA.

Postby hover11 » November 14th, 2021, 8:34 am

US agency: Global food prices set to skyrocket

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/11/14/us-age ... skyrocket/

Wouldn't this indirectly devalue our dollar?

Postby pugboy » November 14th, 2021, 8:46 am

prices have already gone up in north america for many items 15-20%
we actually lagging
but surely by xmas many new stock items gonna see increases and ppl will be complaining

Postby hover11 » November 14th, 2021, 8:49 am

If the price of food increases doesn't everything else? They are mutually exclusive ppl need to eat. Will be hard for trinis who have foreign taste, saw a box of cereal yesterday for 50 dollars and said hmm must be nice

Postby Redman » November 14th, 2021, 12:36 pm

hover11 wrote:If the price of food increases doesn't everything else? They are mutually exclusive ppl need to eat. Will be hard for trinis who have foreign taste, saw a box of cereal yesterday for 50 dollars and said hmm must be nice

The main cause is the logistics of getting food to market.

The logistic cost is impacting everything.

It will get worse.

Postby zoom rader » November 14th, 2021, 1:12 pm

Redman wrote:
hover11 wrote:If the price of food increases doesn't everything else? They are mutually exclusive ppl need to eat. Will be hard for trinis who have foreign taste, saw a box of cereal yesterday for 50 dollars and said hmm must be nice

The main cause is the logistics of getting food to market.

The logistic cost is impacting everything.

It will get worse.
That is only one part of the cost.

Main cost is the non abundance of the food source/crop

Postby matr1x » November 14th, 2021, 1:15 pm

Well they close caroni. Take bull

Postby Rovin » November 21st, 2021, 1:40 pm

so few mths ago frozen goat was in mid 40s went to 50\lb now its recently gone to 55 & i hear some places is even more

minced chicken used to be low 20s now is $28\lb

can mushroom now close to 20 a tin & other foodstuff slowly but surely going up like every other wk

gr8 news is water doh have vat on it again so it gone down by $1 on d gallon size ..... :D ............ :roll:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 21st, 2021, 1:54 pm

Rovin wrote:so few mths ago frozen goat was in mid 40s went to 50\lb now its recently gone to 55 & i hear some places is even more

can mushroom now close to 20 a tin & other foodstuff slowly but surely going up like every other wk

gr8 news is water doh have vat on it again so it gone down by $1 on d gallon size ..... :D ............ :roll:

Well look ting, we could drink water alone and survive. :)

Postby 88sins » November 21st, 2021, 3:37 pm

And ppl does say water is life?

Postby matr1x » November 21st, 2021, 3:39 pm

DMan7 wrote:
Rovin wrote:so few mths ago frozen goat was in mid 40s went to 50\lb now its recently gone to 55 & i hear some places is even more

Well look ting, we could drink water alone and survive. :)

Long water food?

Postby timelapse » November 21st, 2021, 5:20 pm

Well WASA raising prices so water may not be an option soon

Postby hover11 » December 5th, 2021, 10:46 am

FOOD PRICES EXPECTED TO INCREASE NEXT YEAR.

The Central Bank has forecast increased food prices into 2022 despite the government’s removal of value-added tax (VAT) on essential food items.

In its Monetary Policy Report for November 2021, the bank said while the VAT removal measure was aimed at providing some ease to consumers, it may only be temporary owing to the increasing cost of imported foods.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/12/05/centra ... next-year/

death365

Postby death365 » December 5th, 2021, 10:55 am

Everything going up an up an up

Except for my sal, which is stuck @2013 levels.

Postby hover11 » December 5th, 2021, 11:01 am

death365 wrote:Everything going up an up an up

The 2013 struggle is real eh....imagine we going into 2022 with a 2013 salary that is ridiculous but everybody still working like normal so is not a priority I guess

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 5th, 2021, 11:13 am

hover11 wrote:

The 2013 struggle is real eh....imagine we going into 2022 with a 2013 salary that is ridiculous but everybody still working like normal so is not a priority I guess

When the devaluation hit them you go feel the pain

Postby hover11 » December 5th, 2021, 11:16 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:

When the devaluation hit them you go feel the pain
Years now we were supposed to devalue this dollar we doing more harm than good with this artificial floating of the dollar...everybody knows our dollar is heavily overvalued