Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2022, 9:28 pm

allyuh still gonna wash chicken with flour?

Postby MaxPower » June 21st, 2022, 9:35 pm

pugboy wrote:allyuh still gonna wash chicken with flour?

pug,

Trinis asses are happy.

That will wash with flour and season with some rum.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » June 21st, 2022, 9:39 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
DMan7 wrote:As I've said before when things get better globally with regards to prices NO business in T&T will reduce their price. We DED

counterpoint:

things will never get better

:drinking:
Exactly. Putin knows how to make you beg !

Postby st7 » June 21st, 2022, 10:19 pm

all you seeing in this ched:

"nobody making noise (for me) with everything going up, but let me criticize them cause they too happy (and not fighting for me)."

yuh ass hadda be real happy if you not against any price raises oui
Last edited by st7 on June 21st, 2022, 10:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » June 21st, 2022, 10:24 pm

Citrus wash for it now
Even lime n lemon expensive

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 22nd, 2022, 5:57 am

Flour is only for duck and other extremely fresh meats by me. Other than that is vinegar and lime

Postby adnj » June 22nd, 2022, 6:26 am

teems1 wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:doubles will go straight to $10

great is the pnm.

now the fun begins. a bag of four will be over $100. doubles, roti , bakery will close down. people will lose jobs. an some skunt argue that you cant hang yourself on 1 yard of rope.

What the PNM have to do with Putin invading Ukraine?

Ukraine is the wheat basket for the world, and are currently unable to produce as they normally would.

Supply goes down, price goes up.

+1

Postby MaxPower » June 22nd, 2022, 6:40 am

Allyuh feel them Roti Shops does wash meat with flour?

Postby Chimera » June 22nd, 2022, 6:56 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Flour is only for duck and other extremely fresh meats by me. Other than that is vinegar and lime
I does use flour to wash lamb

Postby K74T » June 22nd, 2022, 7:02 am

KFC INCREASES PRICES OF MEALS :
Rise from $1.50-$6 – KFC increases price of its meals.

Via the Newsday Newspaper

KFC has increased the prices of its meals by $1.50-$6, CEO of Prestige Holdings Simon Hardy confirmed on Tuesday.

Customers noticed the increase and several posts were made on Facebook about the change. Hardy said the company is facing higher prices for its raw materials and had tried not to pass the cost on to the public, but this was unsustainable.

"As we are facing unprecedented times with the increase (in the price) of chicken, oil, imported goods, freight cost and now flour, we had to take a balanced approach," he said.

FB_IMG_1655895691653.jpg

Postby hover11 » June 22nd, 2022, 7:04 am

If you truly watching your spending then fast food really shouldn't be a priority atm...Anyway starbucks lines still full on a daily basis, asking for a friend? Where are the trinis that are suffering?

Postby hover11 » June 22nd, 2022, 7:05 am

Linda’s Bakery owner Peter George said the announcement was not unexpected. He said Linda’s did not plan to raise prices in the short term.

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/06/22/nfm-bl ... ise-again/

Is anything unexpected by the 1 percent?

Postby j.o.e » June 22nd, 2022, 7:12 am

hover11 wrote:Linda’s Bakery owner Peter George said the announcement was not unexpected. He said Linda’s did not plan to raise prices in the short term.

Only the 1% does watch international news ? Wheat is up all over, we have no stockpiles.

Postby hover11 » June 22nd, 2022, 7:14 am

j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:Linda’s Bakery owner Peter George said the announcement was not unexpected. He said Linda’s did not plan to raise prices in the short term.

Only the 1% does watch international news ? Wheat is up all over, we have no stockpiles.
Linda's increased way before this war started, there is a difference between increasing profit margin due to external factors and simple greed :S. Anyway I don't patronize there good luck to those who do.

Postby Chimera » June 22nd, 2022, 8:12 am

hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Linda's increased way before this war started, there is a difference between increasing profit margin due to external factors and simple greed :S. Anyway I don't patronize there good luck to those who do.
The people who buy from lindas aren't being forced to buy from lindas

Postby timelapse » June 22nd, 2022, 9:22 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Citrus wash for it now
When you strain out the pulp from blending coconut, you can use it to wash meat, and it stays good in the freezer

Postby Dizzy28 » June 22nd, 2022, 9:24 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Exactly - there are many more options than either Kiss or Linda's.

Even the big grocery chains - Massy and Tru Valu's inhouses breads are much cheaper than either Linda's or Kiss. A Massy slice loaf is around $3 cheaper and it actually gets mold. Linda's like Kiss can remain for a while mold free which is quite disconcerting.

Postby The_Honourable » June 22nd, 2022, 9:27 am

Options

Postby alfa » June 22nd, 2022, 9:28 am

timelapse wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
Citrus wash for it now
When you strain out the pulp from blending coconut, you can use it to wash meat, and it stays good in the freezer

How many people still grating coconut is the question, might be cheaper to use white vinegar

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 22nd, 2022, 9:38 am

KFC gone up too....not affected

Postby pugboy » June 22nd, 2022, 9:40 am

once condiments free you can charge whatever you want bro

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:KFC gone up too....not affected

Postby MaxPower » June 22nd, 2022, 9:43 am

KFC, just as alcohol and cigarettes is a necessity in T&T.

Trinis don’t look at price when time to purchase.

Postby adnj » June 22nd, 2022, 9:48 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Exactly - there are many more options than either Kiss or Linda's.

Even the big grocery chains - Massy and Tru Valu's inhouses breads are much cheaper than either Linda's or Kiss. A Massy slice loaf is around $3 cheaper and it actually gets mold. Linda's like Kiss can remain for a while mold free which is quite disconcerting.

Likely calcium propanoate preservative was used.

Postby hover11 » June 22nd, 2022, 9:52 am

MaxPower wrote:KFC, just as alcohol and cigarettes is a necessity in T&T.

Trinis don’t look at price when time to purchase.
Then they complain times hard with the same breath....

Postby pugboy » June 22nd, 2022, 10:07 am

they wouldn’t complain when costume costing $5k next year either

Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby MaxPower » June 22nd, 2022, 10:25 am

Any idea how long the flour beat up will last before everyone carrys on with their happy ass lives?

I say 3 days but in between that Trinis patiently wait Stink&Dutty Part 2.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 22nd, 2022, 10:44 am

MaxPower wrote:Any idea how long the flour beat up will last before everyone carrys on with their happy ass lives?

lets hope that they do that and continue to buy roti and doubles so people can be employed an we wait for the war to finish in 27 years.

Postby MaxPower » June 22nd, 2022, 11:29 am

daring dragoon wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Any idea how long the flour beat up will last before everyone carrys on with their happy ass lives?

lets hope that they do that and continue to buy roti and doubles so people can be employed an we wait for the war to finish in 27 years.

DD,

No need to hope, we know it gonna happen. It is the typical Trini Trend.

Things nice too bad in T&T.

I feel it for the very poor population.

Postby Chimera » June 22nd, 2022, 11:33 am

i feel kfc is the only "reasonable" price outside food these days

especially when they have their daily deals

Postby hover11 » June 22nd, 2022, 11:34 am