Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Dave » April 25th, 2022, 12:15 pm

Our grocery shelves are not packed with palm oil. The only place I see lots of palm oil are the soap making suppliers.

Postby timelapse » April 25th, 2022, 12:22 pm

Oil for your palms?

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2022, 1:43 pm

what them yellow keg frying oil made from?
they all carry obscure ingredient labels "vegetable oils" and some additives for antifoam preservatives
I would not be surprised if they have plenty palm oil in them

Dave wrote:Our grocery shelves are not packed with palm oil. The only place I see lots of palm oil are the soap making suppliers.

Postby bluefete » April 25th, 2022, 1:45 pm

I think most of the oil we have is soybean.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 25th, 2022, 4:07 pm

Indonesia accounts for about half of the world's supply of palm oil, the world's most widely used vegetable oil.

english hard? according to that line is say they world most widely used vegetable oil and referring to palm oil.

vegetable oil is mostly on the self and soyabean is in short supply in the grocery.

Postby 88sins » April 25th, 2022, 7:23 pm

Hearing talk from poultry farmers that chicken price gonna have to make a jump again, probably within the next few weeks. They saying it's unavoidable due to increases in feed and transport costs.

Postby MaxPower » April 25th, 2022, 8:14 pm

Covid has given many places an excuse to raise their prices.

Everything is blame Covid.

The poor man who was humble don’t want to be poor again. That same poor man want to eat good and better.

While some places are affected significantly, it have those that just want to raise their prices for no apparent reason.

Everybody want a bigger piece of the aloo pie.

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2022, 9:46 pm

yeah farmers want to eat other stuff too yuh know

a chicken farmer must want to eat imported fancy meat and ting from malabar farms

Postby adnj » April 26th, 2022, 7:03 am

The Russia-Ukraine war has pushed up food prices because they’re large producers of wheat, as well as sunflower and other vegetable oils. With the fighting and the United States’ ban on certain Russian imports, some ocean vessels and ports that deliver these goods are hamstrung.

“We don't import a lot of that into the United States. But if you limit the global supply, you are going to add pressure for us to export more. And we are going to be competing with other countries for our own oils and wheat,” Reiley explains.

When it comes to meat, she says, “Most corn that's grown in the U.S. is grown for animal feed. … We're at $8 a bushel right now, which is almost record-high corn prices. And that will impact the cost of beef, pork, and chicken in the not too distant future.”

Reiley predicts meat prices will rise even further this summer, partly because President Joe Biden wants to increase ethanol (a corn product) in gasoline. 

Egg prices are also soaring because a significant avian flu outbreak has forced farmers to kill about 29 million birds. Reiley says it hasn’t been this bad since the 2015 bird flu outbreak. 

https://www.kcrw.com/news/shows/press-p ... in-drought

Postby MaxPower » April 26th, 2022, 8:09 am

Trinis asses are still too blasted happy

Postby zoom rader » April 26th, 2022, 8:16 am

MaxPower wrote:Trinis asses are still too blasted happy

Postby hover11 » April 26th, 2022, 8:17 am

X3000

Postby RedVEVO » April 26th, 2022, 8:39 am

Postby teems1 » April 26th, 2022, 10:27 am

Explain. I fail to understand your rational behind this statement.

Postby S_2NR » April 26th, 2022, 10:33 am

teems1 wrote:

Basically, he and the others in agreement seeing a certain section of society enjoying life as normal and assume the rest of the population is doing the same. When the reality is everybody cutting back in one way or the other.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » April 26th, 2022, 10:45 am

adnj wrote:Image

The Russia-Ukraine war has pushed up food prices because they’re large producers of wheat, as well as sunflower and other vegetable oils. With the fighting and the United States’ ban on certain Russian imports, some ocean vessels and ports that deliver these goods are hamstrung.

“We don't import a lot of that into the United States. But if you limit the global supply, you are going to add pressure for us to export more. And we are going to be competing with other countries for our own oils and wheat,” Reiley explains.

When it comes to meat, she says, “Most corn that's grown in the U.S. is grown for animal feed. … We're at $8 a bushel right now, which is almost record-high corn prices. And that will impact the cost of beef, pork, and chicken in the not too distant future.”

Reiley predicts meat prices will rise even further this summer, partly because President Joe Biden wants to increase ethanol (a corn product) in gasoline. 

Egg prices are also soaring because a significant avian flu outbreak has forced farmers to kill about 29 million birds. Reiley says it hasn’t been this bad since the 2015 bird flu outbreak. 

https://www.kcrw.com/news/shows/press-p ... in-drought
So the >80%of US dollars being printed in the past 2 and some years doesn't have a part to play?

S_2NR wrote:
teems1 wrote:

Basically, he and the others in agreement seeing a certain section of society enjoying life as normal and assume the rest of the population is doing the same. When the reality is everybody cutting back in one way or the other.

"If they not working 3 jobs and a side hustle in their free time to support themselves they asses too happy"

Postby MaxPower » April 26th, 2022, 11:42 am

^ Ok friends,

How about the majority of Trinis asses are too blasted happy?

Will that work?

Postby adnj » April 26th, 2022, 11:49 am

Ripe Chenette wrote:So the >80%of US dollars being printed in the past 2 and some years doesn't have a part to play?

I don't understand how you can see causality between US national debt and worldwide inflationary pressure.

Don't assume that all inflation is a bad thing, either.

There are a few reasons inflation makes it easier for a government to pay its debt, especially when inflation is higher than expected. In summary:

Higher inflation increases nominal tax revenues (if prices are higher, the government will collect more VAT, workers pay more income tax)

Higher inflation reduces the real value of debt, bondholders on fixed interest rates will see a fall in the real value of their bonds and it becomes easier for the government to pay back these bonds.

Higher inflation can enable the government to freeze income tax thresholds so more workers pay higher tax rates – it becomes a way to increase tax revenues without increasing tax rates.

Why inflation can benefit the government at the expense of bondholders

Let’s assume an economy has 0% inflation, and people expect inflation to remain at 0%.

Then let us assume the government needs to borrow £2bn by selling 30-year bonds worth £1,000 to the private sector. To attract people to buy bonds, the government may offer an interest rate of 2% a year.

The government will then have to pay back the full amount of the bonds £1,000, plus the annual interest payments on these bonds (£20 a year at 2%).

The investors who buy the bonds will make a profit. The bond yield (2%) is above the inflation rate. They get back their bonds plus the interest.

However, suppose, unexpectedly there was inflation of 10%. This reduces the value of money. As prices go up because of inflation, £1,000 would buy a lower quantity of goods and services.

Because of inflation, the government would get more tax revenue as wages and prices increase (e.g. if prices go up 10%, the government’s VAT receipts will increase 10%)Therefore, inflation helps government automatically get more tax revenue.

However, bondholders lose out. The government still only have to pay back £1,000. But, inflation has reduced the value of that £1,000 bond (real value is now £900.) The inflation rate (10%) is higher than the interest rate (2%) on the bond, so they are losing the real value of their savings.

Inflation means that repaying bondholders requires a smaller % of the government’s total tax revenue – so it is easier for government to pay back the original debt they borrowed.

The Government (borrower) is better off, bondholders (savers) are worse off as a result of inflation.

https://www.economicshelp.org/blog/3015 ... -pay-debt/

Postby De Dragon » April 26th, 2022, 12:02 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Friends,

Stop buying soft drinks and junk food.

Stop going to the bars and zesser parties.

Stop it now and save.

Allyuh cannot be complaining complaining complaining. Adjust to the times.

Save for what? The money have no value so is best man enjoy they life. You will save the money an the bank close down an you get 50k back. Or you save an some bandit kill you or covid kill you. Leh men enjoy dey life nah.

Caxxy only want people to spend dey money in he sorry arse "minimart"

Postby hover11 » April 26th, 2022, 12:12 pm

MaxPower wrote:^ Ok friends,

Will that work?
No Max

You were the right the first time, collectively trinis trinis too blasted happy they don't know what true hardship is, suffering for a trini is no carnival for a year or two or cancelation of borough day. That's the closest they know about hard times

Postby 88sins » April 26th, 2022, 8:40 pm

Will that work?

Nope that won't work either, simply because it's wrong.

The majority of Trini asses are too blasted stupid and lackadaisical. This to the untrained eye can easily be mistaken for being happy or content.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 27th, 2022, 5:56 am

Dave wrote:Our grocery shelves are not packed with palm oil. The only place I see lots of palm oil are the soap making suppliers.
Actually palm oil in almost everything. Read labels on most edible products and its in the ingredients line up. I learnt this from a Vice episode.

Postby timelapse » April 27th, 2022, 6:20 am

Will that work?
You were right the first time.
Prices going up but we feting still.
Prices going up but we running down whores still.
Prices going up but carnivalling still.
Prices going up but we tuning car to race people on pothole ridden roads still.
Prices going up but we encouraging illegals to leech out the money.(Thats you)
Prices going up but we still have a 2 can a day Redbull addiction.(Thats me)

Yea, we ass too happy

Postby zoom rader » April 27th, 2022, 9:03 am

timelapse wrote:

Will that work?

Yea, we ass too happy
All dis and dey voting the red government.

Trinis are ingornant and very stupid ppl.

Spend ,spend, fete , fete, drink , drink.

Then when they catch dey arse blame Kamala.

Back water rats arse shitthole of a country.

Postby eliteauto » April 27th, 2022, 9:34 am

ITT prices go up so life must be suspended advocates

dogg

Postby dogg » April 27th, 2022, 9:37 am

PNM is the lesser of two evils.
The UNC can't even function properly as opposition, no one pays attention to them save for the yellow till they dead crew.
The 10% of the electorate who sways elections one way or the next will NEVER vote for the UNC with Kamla as leader. And that includes me. Bring in new leadership, and I'll climb on board.

timelapse wrote:

Will that work?

Yea, we ass too happy

Postby zoom rader » April 27th, 2022, 10:05 am

dogg wrote:PNM is the lesser of two evils.
The UNC can't even function properly as opposition, no one pays attention to them save for the yellow till they dead crew.
The 10% of the electorate who sways elections one way or the next will NEVER vote for the UNC with Kamla as leader. And that includes me. Bring in new leadership, and I'll climb on board.

timelapse wrote:

Will that work?

Yea, we ass too happy

What new leadership will you like?

Red government ppl vomit the same statements as you with no intentions of ever swaying from the red government. This is a plot used time and time again .

It's always change the leadership of the UNC or bring in fresh faces, but they never stray from the red government

dogg

Postby dogg » April 27th, 2022, 11:57 am

Barath, Kevin Ramnarine, Jearlean, Sadam, Gavin Nicholas, Ameen...

dogg wrote:PNM is the lesser of two evils.

timelapse wrote:

Will that work?

Yea, we ass too happy

What new leadership will you like?

Red government ppl vomit the same statements as you with no intentions of ever swaying from the red government. This is a plot used time and time again .

It's always change the leadership of the UNC or bring in fresh faces, but they never stray from the red government

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 27th, 2022, 12:06 pm

Brian manning for leader of pnm. Man of true unity.
Ameen for unc. Woman of unity.
Nobody can say either racial. Patrick was best pm ever. I will vote for brian if brian an ameen was fighting each other for pm spot.

Postby De Dragon » April 27th, 2022, 1:24 pm

daring dragoon wrote:Brian manning for leader of pnm. Man of true unity.
Ameen for unc. Woman of unity.
Nobody can say either racial. Patrick was best pm ever. I will vote for brian if brian an ameen was fighting each other for pm spot.

Except when it comes to the homeless.