Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby paid_influencer » September 4th, 2022, 9:33 am

pugboy wrote:I see ppl complaining pricesmart not issuing single membership cards anymore
you have to take out 2 cards, for more money of course
ppl getting notified of this at the cashier and kicking a fuss

lmfao

Postby eliteauto » September 4th, 2022, 10:58 am

pugboy wrote:I see ppl complaining pricesmart not issuing single membership cards anymore

Seems to be a "flexible" policy on PS, I wanted to renew at POS at the membership counter and was told the $260 (2 card) price applies which I declined to do, but my wife opted to renew at the cashier at another branch and was quoted the $190 price

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 4th, 2022, 11:05 am

hover11 wrote:
Never understood the fascination of paying to shop at an establishment

If you buying in bulk, it works out....also their points system with the platinum cards works out decentish

Postby RedVEVO » September 4th, 2022, 12:02 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Seems to be a "flexible" policy on PS, I wanted to renew at POS at the membership counter and was told the $260 (2 card) price applies which I declined to do, but my wife opted to renew at the cashier at another branch and was quoted the $190 price

Just share the $260 with a friend or family member so each $130

Trini peeps always difficult in every situation :lol:

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2022, 12:14 pm

it happen to a lady in front me and she bawl no money to pay that, she asked to use my card

Postby Rovin » September 4th, 2022, 12:46 pm

hover11 wrote:Need more transparency like thisFB_IMG_1662233816445.jpg

this is causing so much chestbun on fb

some ppl feel flour is like gas\diesel groceries that shud be sold at same price in every retailer, these non-thinkers clearly have no clue how a business operates or never worked in any sort of retail, they dont know certain items in grocery d owners actually sell it back near cost just to get ppl to come into their doors to hopefully buy other stuff to make back for what they lose by selling items near cost, nobody thinks about d small shops can only afford to buy lil bit to retail making next to nothing margin & bigger shops buy bulk to make a lil better profit, what about groceries who own their properties vs some who pay huge rent, i can type alot more issues

is d same with any kind of business out here struggling to stay afloat but majority of trini ppl only care about is who have d lowest price ...

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2022, 12:52 pm

notice xtrafoods higher than most

Postby Chimera » September 4th, 2022, 1:02 pm

Rovin wrote:
hover11 wrote:Need more transparency like thisFB_IMG_1662233816445.jpg

this is causing so much chestbun on fb

some ppl feel flour is like gas\diesel groceries that shud be sold at same price in every retailer, these non-thinkers clearly have no clue how a business operates or never worked in any sort of retail, they dont know certain items in grocery d owners actually sell it back near cost just to get ppl to come into their doors to hopefully buy other stuff to make back for what they lose by selling items near cost, nobody thinks about d small shops can only afford to buy lil bit to retail making next to nothing margin & bigger shops buy bulk to make a lil better profit, what about groceries who own their properties vs some who pay huge rent, i can type alot more issues

is d same with any kind of business out here struggling to stay afloat but majority of trini ppl only care about is who have d lowest price ...
Lol yup...ppl talking about prices should be the same across the board.

They expect that the small grocery who have 2 or 3 parking spot and small aisles and 1 cashier should have the same price as the big grocery with 300 parking spots and big aisles and 15 cashiers and 10 security ....

Ppl dotish on the whole

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2022, 1:14 pm

they prob think because kfc and doubles prices are same everywhere

Postby Rovin » September 4th, 2022, 1:21 pm

pugboy wrote:notice xtrafoods higher than most

from what ppl tell me their prices used to be among d lower side yrs ago but now its like hilo maybe more too, i figure its because when they rented grand bazaar they had to raise goods to pay that high rent & when u expand ur business d staff & all other expenses all get upsized too ...

Postby Chimera » September 4th, 2022, 1:25 pm

I believe its them building a place at aranguez by the roundabout,if so then I guess they would close down grand bazaar location

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2022, 1:33 pm

They were much cheaper for many years in gb, and closed late so many persons shop there on way home.
Somehow last few years their prices very high. More than Hilo for many things.

I notice low cost price wasn’t that cheap either. They cheaper for a lot of things.
You really have to shop around.

Postby Chimera » September 4th, 2022, 1:36 pm

The amount of staff that Xtra foods has....any of them other groceries could compare?

Managers and supervisors on the floor. A permanent help/ information counter.

You could find a helpful staff member within 2 mins of looking for one.

Postby RedVEVO » September 4th, 2022, 9:30 pm

pugboy wrote:it happen to a lady in front me and she bawl no money to pay that, she asked to use my card

She cannot afford the service card and should therefore go to her local supermarket or central market.
Or elsewhere where she belongs :roll:

She does not now her place in society.

Can the average Syrian go into Beetham Gardens and buy a STAG beer or a barbecue meal in their
community while driving his 2021 BMW X6 with his drop dead gorgeous 28 year old white Venezuelan wife ?

T&T poor want everything FREE and the dependence syndrome still exists with the poor people in T&T.

Nothing is FREE in this World !

Only Lunch is FREE with a good friend or family :D
Last edited by RedVEVO on September 4th, 2022, 9:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 4th, 2022, 9:35 pm

Fellas when is the next Massy lime.

Postby RedVEVO » September 4th, 2022, 9:37 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Fellas when is the next Massy lime.

You mean Caura or Tyrico :D

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 4th, 2022, 9:38 pm

Allya get allya free doubles and coffee in Massy on Independence Day?

Postby De Dragon » September 4th, 2022, 10:16 pm

DMan7 wrote:Allya get allya free doubles and coffee in Massy on Independence Day?

Clarence Rambharat is not pleased.

Postby paid_influencer » September 4th, 2022, 10:24 pm

massy produce section improving these days. price is better but the quality is better too.

giant section of beyond meat too, for those fasting

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » September 5th, 2022, 1:05 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

I have 1 card and my sister has the other. We alternate the renewals where I pay 1 year, she pays the other and so on

Postby RedVEVO » September 5th, 2022, 10:01 pm

Toyopet wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

I have 1 card and my sister has the other. We alternate the renewals where I pay 1 year, she pays the other and so on

Great ! :D

You own a Toyota - Just thinking out a loud - maybe you own a BMW

And you know how to handle your financial position .

You are a winner and a champion - :D

Welcome to America :angel:

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 6th, 2022, 4:25 am

question for all the massy and tru value shoppers. i have not been in them places in years but who sells the food in the containers? like provision and chicken or noodles and fish?

Postby paid_influencer » September 6th, 2022, 5:38 pm

daring dragoon wrote:question for all the massy and tru value shoppers. i have not been in them places in years but who sells the food in the containers? like provision and chicken or noodles and fish?

most of the massy stuff is made on-site in the bakery/kitchen area, afaik. some of the lunch specials there look p good

recently seeing other stuff prepared on-site (or bought in bulk and repackaged into smaller portions). like they have a Massy Greek Yogurt with Granola and Raspberry cup portion that i like

you know just thinking about going there is making my day better

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 6th, 2022, 5:53 pm

i pass tru value trincity today an only saw hops sandwiches no actual food. now i thinking about the yogurt cup you mentioned. will look for that tomorrow yes. i remember going in the grocery by west mall and getting some sub sandwiches in 2009 or so but havent been up that area since. i hadda check massy trincity and see if they have that.

Postby pugboy » September 6th, 2022, 6:19 pm

all the big massy have the sandwich counter

i aint hearing about the grocerant place

Postby K74T » September 6th, 2022, 7:24 pm

Well it in ah out ah de area location

Dey ppl eh go go up dey.

Postby maj. tom » September 11th, 2022, 4:04 pm

Market prices rel obscene this morning.

1 chive $10. not a bundle eh, one.
1 celery for $8
1lb broccoli $23
$1 for a pepper. one pepper.
Lettuce $10 not bad...... then you turn it over and wonder what eat 3/4 of this lettuce and why it only have 4 leaf?

Postby pugboy » September 11th, 2022, 5:04 pm

tomato wholesale $20 this week
scarce

matix

Postby matix » September 11th, 2022, 5:07 pm

maj. tom wrote:Market prices rel obscene this morning.

1 celery for $8
1lb broccoli $23
Lettuce $10 not bad...... then you turn it over and wonder what eat 3/4 of this lettuce and why it only have 4 leaf?

I thought was me alone with the lettuce. Prices ridiculous atm

dogg

Postby dogg » September 12th, 2022, 9:33 am

Pound for pound literally, its more economical to buy the imported iceberg lettuce. When its available under $20

matix wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Market prices rel obscene this morning.

1 celery for $8
1lb broccoli $23

I thought was me alone with the lettuce. Prices ridiculous atm