Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby nervewrecker » July 17th, 2022, 11:27 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:With respect to the symmetry you all described above this has nothing to do with intelligence, symmetry has more to do with beauty, typically symmetrical features tend to be viewed more favourably.

That is a person with "symmetrical features" will be viewed as more attractive and persons who are viewed as more attractive tend to be viewed in a better light as it were.

This is why folks would make that assumption. Chances are they are just attractive and we are biased toward attractive persons.

Persons who do not have this symmetry are not looked upon favourably and so you probably just don't care about them as much or you probably (sub-consciously) don't have the patience to deal with them.

I am not saying that we are deliberately prejudiced but these are little things that are reinforced over many years and may have been part of a natural mechanism (to identify threats) or may be cultural (like how lightness of skin is seen as attractive).
Now seeing this.

Not to derail the thread but twice I heard brilliant men speak and maybe there is some science to it so I been observing.

I filled a vacancy some years ago and the guys took me to meet the person who I replaced. He like zoom, biased towards east Indian people. First thing he said when he saw me was that I am not indian, he said I'm mixed with Spanish which I found odd because nobody will know that. He said it shows in my face.

Another very intelligent guy, a former professor said that people with overhung foreheads have what they call a "rum face". Usually a deformity Foetus develops when pregnant women consume alcohol.

Unsure of the science behind that one but like I said, I have noticed some people don't function well while others don't.

But then it come back to your point on appearences and success. Can go on to elaborate on self filling prophecy and the nature vs nurture debate.

Maybe it has sense or maybe it doesn't but face geometrics have been useful in some aspects. Case in point, met a young man recently, all I know is he from far. I suspected sangre grande and confirmed such because he told me so. Cool guy, rather handsome as well. Maybe as he in mechanical department we do so well but he has a decent mindset and is a straightforward dude.

Postby timelapse » July 18th, 2022, 8:55 am

pugboy wrote:you got get rich from that

timelapse wrote:Anybody want baigan seeds,i have a pack that I not using.
I severely allergic to baigan.It causes massive blisters in my skin.

Postby De Dragon » July 18th, 2022, 9:37 am

timelapse wrote:

While I eat baigan, there are times when it causes my throat to scratch. Totally random, but it happens :?

Postby mero » July 18th, 2022, 11:12 am

De Dragon wrote:When I suck baigan, there are times when it causes my throat to scratch. Totally random, but it happens :?

Ffs, easy dey beloved.

Postby S_2NR » July 18th, 2022, 11:14 am

mero wrote:
De Dragon wrote:When I suck baigan, there are times when it causes my throat to scratch. Totally random, but it happens :?

Ffs, easy dey beloved.

dogg

Postby dogg » July 18th, 2022, 11:40 am

I've been saving on groceries over the last few months by sticking to my list. And also by limiting the amount of each item I buy. Also I've reduced the amount of grocery visits.

Postby Chimera » July 18th, 2022, 11:49 am

plant home gardens people
it will help alot

and you dont need to really buy chemicals

theres alot of advice available about using neem leaves, aspirin, grinded pepper etc to make things for pests

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 18th, 2022, 3:58 pm

Rich people flaunting their rich behavior all over tuner yes.

Postby nervewrecker » July 18th, 2022, 4:01 pm

timelapse wrote:

Stick to noonie.

Bhigan is not for you.

Postby RedVEVO » July 18th, 2022, 4:15 pm

timelapse wrote:

It's not the baigan in your skin.

It's your daily visits to the spa, nail technician and mini mart .

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2022, 5:19 pm

is there a thread for spa's ?

Postby nervewrecker » July 18th, 2022, 5:50 pm

pugboy wrote:is there a thread for spa's ?

Postby Rovin » July 18th, 2022, 6:41 pm

there is a $200 1 of these also from hilo making d rounds on fb today ... :|

redmanjp wrote:Image

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2022, 6:48 pm

that is a huge one though, look at the size compared to the styro tray
usually the fist sized ones are around $60

Postby MaxPower » July 18th, 2022, 6:53 pm

Trinis only want things FREE.

They not supporting the poor man but they bashing high prices but yet STILL supporting the same companies they bashing.

What it is really going on?

Postby st7 » July 18th, 2022, 6:55 pm

MaxPower wrote:Trinis only want things FREE.

They not supporting the poor man but they bashing high prices but yet STILL supporting the same companies they bashing.

hadda agree with you here

matix

Postby matix » July 18th, 2022, 7:03 pm

That’s almost a 2lb dragonfruit. That’s a huge beyotch

Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby S_2NR » July 18th, 2022, 7:08 pm

If the price is too high. Don't buy it. It's that simple. No social media beat up necessary

Postby timelapse » July 18th, 2022, 7:17 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
timelapse wrote:

It's not the baigan in your skin.

It's your daily visits to the spa, nail technician and mini mart .
Kill me for a typo nah,gosh.
Spa? You forget that you self called me grimy.

Postby timelapse » July 18th, 2022, 7:21 pm

MaxPower wrote:Trinis only want things FREE.

You understand this ting?You so right.I was starting a pepper sauce business some years ago.I had my regular customers, but then there were some people, especially family that wanted stuff for free.One set of dotish talk about 'How I want people to buy if they don't get a sample bottle '.I wonder if they ask the grocery for samples.Set of freeloaders.

Postby bluefete » July 18th, 2022, 7:27 pm

Prices in Tunapuna market yesterday were not that bad:

I got Papaya for $3. / lb
Sweet potato for $2. / lb
1 2L bottle coconut water - cut in front my face - $40.00
Plantain - $5./lb
Limes - $1for1.

Grocery, however, is the place to really bawl but I always maximize 2/1 specials and move around to different groceries.

Postby paid_influencer » July 18th, 2022, 8:36 pm

seeing that Massy has gotten new Melongene stock and it is more affordably priced.

Here is Phillip doing a video. I don't want you to pay attention to Phillip, but instead focus on the cleanliness of the Massy shopping experience.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 18th, 2022, 8:39 pm

This starting to sound like eggplant-gate now.

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2022, 8:40 pm

also the back room cleanliness is much better in massy

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 18th, 2022, 8:49 pm

Almost everything is better in Massy.

Postby redmanjp » July 18th, 2022, 8:56 pm

once upon a time they used to publish prices of different staples on tv. doh know if they do that now.

someone should make an app to compare prices of items from different supermarkets d same way u could compare airline fares. by the end of the year u spending more on food than airfare

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » July 18th, 2022, 8:59 pm

I hear the cheapest prices are usually in some out of the way chinese grocery but I enjoy shopping at Massy.

Postby De Dragon » July 18th, 2022, 9:35 pm

mero wrote:

Ffs, easy dey beloved.

Pride month bring your hormones out raging dey man boola
It looks as once again you're in search of an arse blaster for yourself, but again, I don't swing that way.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 18th, 2022, 11:05 pm

Consumer Affairs Division of Ministry of Trade publishes food prices. The last update on their site is June 2022.
redmanjp wrote:once upon a time they used to publish prices of different staples on tv. doh know if they do that now.

someone should make an app to compare prices of items from different supermarkets d same way u could compare airline fares. by the end of the year u spending more on food than airfare

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 19th, 2022, 5:23 am

talk only about baigan wah about bodi? bodi used to be $4 and now is $14 a bundle.