Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby dogg » July 26th, 2022, 12:55 pm

Nothing can be done about food prices.
Reduce consumption.
Adjust your tastes.
Shop around. Buy in bulk.
Do what you can.

Red yellow green govt. None can do anything.

Even big red white and blue suffering.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 26th, 2022, 1:00 pm

Grow your seasonings home so you can save the $20 to $30 a month spent on Chadon Beni and chives.

dogg wrote:Nothing can be done about food prices.
Reduce consumption.
Adjust your tastes.
Do what you can.

IMG_20220726_125935.jpg

Postby hover11 » July 26th, 2022, 1:02 pm

dogg wrote:Nothing can be done about food prices.
Reduce consumption.
Adjust your tastes.
Do what you can.

What about if the government implements price control Mechanisms? I rather my tax dollars used here than wasted in another via another avenue

Postby Chimera » July 26th, 2022, 1:12 pm

Price control how exactly?
Government would have to subsidize items if they want any type of price control
Because the price of goods has simply gone up worldwide.

Postby hover11 » July 26th, 2022, 1:37 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Price control how exactly?
Government would have to subsidize items if they want any type of price control
Because the price of goods has simply gone up worldwide.
Exactly, cut expenditure in certain areas. Millions spent in URP and CEPEP per year and would you look at that town flooding as usual. There is fat to trim.

Postby st7 » July 26th, 2022, 3:24 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Rovin wrote:^^^ d express just posted their version of this story ...

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/r ... PmUqRx0NNQ

Retail prices, inflation rise

Jul 25, 2022 Updated 22 min ago

The All Items Index of Retail Prices calculated from the prices collected for the month of June 2022 was 116.2, representing in an increase of 0.3 point or 0.3% above the Index (All Items) for May 2022 as shown in the table attached.

The Index for Food and Non-Alcoholic Beverages increased from 130.4 in May 2022 to 132.0 in June 2022, reflecting an increase of 1.2%. Contributing significantly to this increase was the general upward movement in the prices of whole chickens – fresh; curry; whole chickens – frozen; other edible oil; fresh, chilled, frozen or seasoned beef; brown sugar; powdered milk – full cream; potatoes; orange; and other chilled or frozen chicken. However, the full impact of these price increases was offset by the general decreases in the prices of carite – fresh; onion; cabbage; carrots; milo; pumpkin; apples; shrimp – fresh; sweet potatoes and parboiled rice.

A further review of the data for June 2022 compared with May 2022 reflected an increase in the sub-index for Health of 0.1%. However, a decrease was noted in the sub-indices for Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco of 0.9%, and Clothing and Footwear of 0.8%. All other sections remained unchanged.

Inflation Rate

The Inflation Rate for June 2022 (measured as the percentage change in the average All Items Index for the period January to June 2022/January to June 2021) was 4.5%. This represents an increase from 4.4% which was recorded in the previous period (January to May 2022/January to May 2021). The Inflation Rate for the comparative period (January to June 2021/January to June 2020) was 1.1%.
Concerning the inflation rate, I remember a couple of years ago inflation was double digits now the economy in sheit and inflation is only 4.5 percent. How?

I suggest an economics course. The question you’re asking shows you have no grasp on how inflation works and what causes it.
Too much money circulating in the economy causes inflation and a surge in demand for products and services can cause inflation as consumers are willing to pay more for a product everyone knows that however what I reiterating or alluding to is that figure is embellished as it does not give an accurate purview of our current situation.....carry on

https://www.investopedia.com/ask/answer ... ain-it.asp meanwhile you grabbed this off the first result in google lol
Show me where it quoted too much money circulating in the economy I'm at a loss, the time you take to nitpick everything I say you could use to do something productive young man....carry on

Hoover just has to complain.

complains, makes excuses, macoing what ppl doing, living in he mudda house, have time to post online cuz he wokking govt...

this man hits all the sufferer attributes.
+8 sufferage

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2022, 3:50 pm

&& low price have half price on ketchup this week,
pickup some matouks bottles for $5

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 26th, 2022, 3:53 pm

pugboy wrote:&& low price have half price on ketchup this week,

What's the expiry on that?

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2022, 3:55 pm

end of august

DMan7 wrote:

Postby st7 » July 26th, 2022, 3:56 pm

i see what you did there with && lol

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 26th, 2022, 3:58 pm

pugboy wrote:end of august

DMan7 wrote:

How much ketchup people gonna use by the end of August? Hadda be a fast food joint making some savings here for sure.

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2022, 4:00 pm

for many families ketchup is a staple,

they add it to the pot whilst cooking as a thickener and flavour enhancer and it is a daily condiment to soak down
i know many who have squeeze bottles on the table like a fast food joint

Postby pugboy » July 26th, 2022, 4:00 pm

i learn that on the ria sookdeo thread

st7 wrote:

i see what you did there with && lol

Postby maj. tom » July 26th, 2022, 4:06 pm

Most pasteurized foods don't expire exactly on the date printed on the bottle you know. Usually have 3 to 6 months still, canned food a whole year. And you can keep things in the fridge without opening them. Close to expiry date sale are good deals for people who know which products to pick up. Carton milk no (maybe). Frozen foods no. Eggs no. And lots of things have a "best by date" rather than expiry. I picked up 4 boxes of Stove-Top stuffing in late June that was expiring end of July for half price. Those things vacuum sealed. They're in the freezer until Christmas.

Postby nervewrecker » July 26th, 2022, 6:57 pm

Have some stuff with some questionable dates printed.

Twice I find things that spoil and had not reached printed date.

Never had this issue at massy. Not that I advocating buying there, yes I know it pricey but it's why I prefer shop there.

I have noticed that the spoiled foods did have one thing in common though, they from the same place but different branch. Bit I did speak with the purchasing officer at one of the places and we came to the conclusion that someone had switched out one of the product. I realised it was open. Didn't have the reciept and was just passing through to bring it to her attention but it turns out she remember me cuz we was chatting the day I buy the stuff.

Postby maj. tom » July 26th, 2022, 7:09 pm

Foodstuff without an FDA-type label always sketchy. You want to support local but they don't want to bring their product up to the expected food standard. There is a lack of display of knowledge of food processing science. A basic FDA label for a product is $250 USD.

Postby Rovin » July 28th, 2022, 6:41 pm

Instant Dhal, baigan or tomato choka yo - only $21 .... looking forward to when they invent instant sada roti in a packet too :mrgreen:

https://www.facebook.com/jtasupermarket ... 223554053/

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 28th, 2022, 6:45 pm

It would've been good if they put it in those packets they give to astronauts in space. Mix the sada and choka in a packet and you suck it through the bag to get the taste as if you were eating both the normal way.

Postby paid_influencer » July 28th, 2022, 6:45 pm

not everybody have stove...

i will try some instant dhal if it is available in Massy... Inshallah.

Postby pugboy » July 28th, 2022, 7:18 pm

microwave

paid_influencer wrote:not everybody have stove...

i will try some instant dhal if it is available in Massy... Inshallah.

Postby Rovin » July 28th, 2022, 7:26 pm

remember a few wks back when amery brown & a few other pee nm ministers were sampling this product in some food exhibition thing ...

Postby nervewrecker » July 30th, 2022, 3:49 pm

https://www.facebook.com/stephenandsharlene

I see everyone talking about dragon fruit prices. Everything seems to be priced right over here

Postby paid_influencer » July 30th, 2022, 4:10 pm

men was selling dragonfruit for $20 side the road last week

Postby S_2NR » July 30th, 2022, 4:25 pm

dragonfruit is overrated... i dont understand all the hype.

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2022, 4:53 pm

hype is never really understood

massy over pricing just added to the hype and made plenty ppl go buy to try

S_2NR wrote:dragonfruit is overrated... i dont understand all the hype.

Postby paid_influencer » July 30th, 2022, 5:56 pm

like people try it and doh like the taste

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2022, 6:29 pm

ent, i tried it years ago abroad and wasn’t impressed either

btw chankas long circular have lychees $90/lb
and they worth trying
one of the nicest sweetest fruits out there
might be sold out by now

paid_influencer wrote:like people try it and doh like the taste

Postby adnj » August 4th, 2022, 1:03 pm

Wheat contract prices are down 40% from May's peak.
Gasoline contract prices are down 30% from June's peak.

Postby maj. tom » August 4th, 2022, 1:07 pm

I guess the price of flour and doubles going back down.
LOL

Postby hover11 » August 4th, 2022, 1:08 pm

maj. tom wrote:I guess the price of flour and doubles going back down.
LOL
Don't count on it NFM secured the year supply at a certain price if they reduce it that means they will incur heavy losses.