Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby The_Honourable » October 4th, 2022, 7:41 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What is another butter brand that tastes just as good as the kerrygold?

Emerald butter just a tad below kerrygold but it decent, you can try it out.

https://868online.com/grocery/product/e ... ed-butter/

Postby maj. tom » October 4th, 2022, 7:47 pm

I think it's the same butter, different packaging.

Like Milkana butter was also Irish, but just made for and imported by some local company that licensed the brand. But i'm sure it's the same milk and same factory.

Anchor is NZ butter different side of the world.

Postby paid_influencer » October 4th, 2022, 7:50 pm

Milkana! long time i ent hear that name. #1 cheese

what happen to it

Postby hover11 » October 4th, 2022, 7:57 pm

Number 1 cheese isn't that anchor?
paid_influencer wrote:Milkana! long time i ent hear that name. #1 cheese

what happen to it

matix

Postby matix » October 4th, 2022, 7:58 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What is another butter brand that tastes just as good as the kerrygold?

Emerald butter just a tad below kerrygold but it decent, you can try it out.

https://868online.com/grocery/product/e ... ed-butter/

Never saw that, will look for it and try it out.

Postby paid_influencer » October 4th, 2022, 7:59 pm

i started buying anchor after milkana disappeared. but milkana was always #1 even had rennet free printed on the packaging

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 4th, 2022, 8:05 pm

Screenshot 2022-10-04 200653.jpg

Postby maj. tom » October 4th, 2022, 8:13 pm

^well go ahead, nobody eh stopping you with your margarine.

Milkana was manufactured for and imported by N.M. Ghany Ltd. I dunno what happened to them, but all Google showing now is Kelvin Ghany Enterprise distributors. Family business, don't know the story.

Emerald is the same Ireland butter, it could just be the same family business licensed a new name and rebranded it. The packaging is very similar to the Milkana. It's the same Ireland butter as Kerrygold. I suspect it's just a deal with the Ornua co-operative in Ireland.
Last edited by maj. tom on October 4th, 2022, 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rovin » October 4th, 2022, 8:14 pm

Postby paid_influencer » October 4th, 2022, 8:23 pm

^gee have a point.

a few points actually

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 4th, 2022, 8:35 pm

Some people go come in here and say price smart doh need to have points on their card as they much cheaper than everywhere else in T&T since they letting people buy at "wholesale" prices.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » October 4th, 2022, 10:01 pm

Rovin wrote:https://www.facebook.com/100006685573614/videos/5631357300220835

Pricesmart going crazy.!!!

Well, yes Mr PhD in mathematics, you could work out all those permutations in your head but you cant afford to pay a little membership fee

Postby pugboy » October 4th, 2022, 10:41 pm

why do ppl take shopping so personally ?
if you find price high or don’t like then don’t go
nobody is holding a gun to his head to make him go there if jumbo cheaper

Postby bluefete » October 5th, 2022, 5:46 am

ABSOLUTE bullchit with that margarine better than butter.

BTW - The Mayo clinic in the UK will be closed by 2023 due to encouraging children to get gender re-assignment surgery.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 5th, 2022, 6:36 am

Wrt to stuff at pricesmart, the following items are considerably cheaper compared to any other grocery

Kg butter
Pampers
Wipes
Enfamil/enfagrow
Milo, dairy dairy full cream, Nestlé full cream
Laundry detergent
Dish washing liquid
Rice, various types of sausages, various types cheese
Ketchup ,macaroni .....list goes on

Postby pugboy » October 5th, 2022, 7:04 am

if you want to save you have to shop around and identify where and what suits your pocket
there is no common ground place where everything is cheaper

the pricesmart membership fee may pay for itself in the savings you make on particular items over the course of a year
plus all the free soft drinks you get whilst eating there

Postby hover11 » October 5th, 2022, 7:14 am

Idk something about making me pay to shop at your establishment doesn't sit right with me and then to top it off they increase their membership rates at a whim...to each his own

Postby pugboy » October 5th, 2022, 7:29 am

you taking shopping personally
vs dollars and sense

hover11 wrote:Idk something about making me pay to shop at your establishment doesn't sit right with me and then to top it off they increase their membership rates at a whim...to each his own

Postby eliteauto » October 5th, 2022, 7:30 am

pugboy wrote:why do ppl take shopping so personally ?

That level of thinking was pre social media, now every random thought and observation deserves a vlog and blog for validation

Postby K74T » October 5th, 2022, 7:54 am

Is how people does buy the item then complain after.

Nobody forced you to buy it in the first place.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 5th, 2022, 8:19 am

I give up on the shopping around part...xtra foods and pricesmart good enough for me because of convenience. The money you think you may save in groceries would end up going in gas if you decide to look for a cheaper grocery that's located further away. To each his own I guess.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 5th, 2022, 8:50 am

eliteauto wrote:
pugboy wrote:why do ppl take shopping so personally ?

That level of thinking was pre social media, now every random thought and observation deserves a vlog and blog for validation

This

Postby pugboy » October 5th, 2022, 8:59 am

boy i on a neighborhood whatsapp security chat
everyday is long winded rants voice notes from the old folks

Postby Dizzy28 » October 5th, 2022, 9:00 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Wrt to stuff at pricesmart, the following items are considerably cheaper compared to any other grocery

Kg butter
Pampers
Wipes
Enfamil/enfagrow
Laundry detergent
Dish washing liquid

With pampers its not absolute. In the various sizes there are some that Pennywise is cheaper.
With the others they may be cheaper but you can get them cheaper when supermarkets have sale.
Last month Massy was selling Swiss ketchup cheaper individually than PM by the case. And you pay a membership fee at PM!!

Its all about strategy

Postby j.o.e » October 5th, 2022, 9:12 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Wrt to stuff at pricesmart, the following items are considerably cheaper compared to any other grocery

Kg butter
Pampers
Wipes
Enfamil/enfagrow
Laundry detergent
Dish washing liquid

This
Pmart has two categories of things
- regular things at better prices than grocery
- hard to get fancy and expensive things.

People don’t seem to understand that when they’re on a tight budget.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 5th, 2022, 9:34 am

Either way I not boycotting PM and all that nonsense. I like their stuff tbh....I not into driving around sitting in sickening traffic looking for a "best" grocery....our grocery bill (together with Pm) after a 6-7 week period is around 3k.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » October 5th, 2022, 9:35 am

I can’t believe people actually think buying in bulk is a good idea. Buy what you need and keep the money saved for other daily uses…. gas liming bills etc. When grocery items run out buy again.

How does it benefit you when you have thousands of dollars in groceries in your pantry and still have to come up with money for everyday life? There is opportunity cost for that money in your pantry that you now can’t use for other aspects of your life.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » October 5th, 2022, 9:46 am

j.o.e wrote:

Kg butter
Pampers
Wipes
Enfamil/enfagrow
Laundry detergent
Dish washing liquid

This
Pmart has two categories of things
- regular things at better prices than grocery
- hard to get fancy and expensive things.

People don’t seem to understand that when they’re on a tight budget.

^ Yes.
Re: Grocery items for home, we have a standardized grocery list, and I'm found 1 or 2 things cheaper in supermarkets, like Svelty and 1L Juice. BUT, there are a few critical things (for us) that pricesmart still has cheaper: Charmin tp (critical; no where else available in bales), Nestle Coffee Gold, and Hebrew National hot dogs. So we're locked in, until we find an alternative supplier. However, we buy various things at pricesmart for our businesses also, which pays for our cards as a business expense. So it sorta works out.

And, from time to time, they have some interesting non-grocery things that we pickup outside of the standard list. Like batteries.

Postby timelapse » October 5th, 2022, 10:16 am

Skanky wrote:I can’t believe people actually think buying in bulk is a good idea. Buy what you need and keep the money saved for other daily uses…. gas liming bills etc. When grocery items run out buy again.

How does it benefit you when you have thousands of dollars in groceries in your pantry and still have to come up with money for everyday life? There is opportunity cost for that money in your pantry that you now can’t use for other aspects of your life.
I can't believe that people still think that liming is a good idea.No money for food and rent,but the party cyah done

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 5th, 2022, 10:19 am

Skanky wrote:I can’t believe people actually think buying in bulk is a good idea. Buy what you need and keep the money saved for other daily uses…. gas liming bills etc. When grocery items run out buy again.

This has to be the dumbest thing I've read in a while. How exactly does food go to waste??? But you wasting $$$ on liming? This alone shows where your priorities are and you probably one of those who run to the parlour every other day to buy 2 eggs and a piece of butter.