Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

dogg

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby dogg » September 23rd, 2022, 10:38 am

MaxPower wrote:All the Massy peeps say Yay Yayyyyyy….

Oye, MaxiPad, big fire by Anand.
One less place for your and your Guyanese bredren to dress up in your Rattans best to take selfies at.

Folks, looks like prices have stabilised over the last month. I'm not seeing any noticeable price increases. Except for market goods. Pimentos looking like luxury goods these days.

Postby K74T » September 23rd, 2022, 1:24 pm

Screenshot_20220923-131034_Facebook.jpg

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 23rd, 2022, 1:24 pm

Massy crew where all yuh at!!!!

Postby Rovin » September 23rd, 2022, 2:44 pm

sufferers wey allyuh .... :lol:

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 23rd, 2022, 2:55 pm

#1%things

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 23rd, 2022, 3:27 pm

I suspect Pricesmart just adds $10 on everything ever so often

Disclaimer: not my pic. found on fb. posted yesterday

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 23rd, 2022, 3:31 pm

wtf so much for them thing in trinidad!?

Postby paid_influencer » September 23rd, 2022, 5:35 pm

i will be going to massy for breakfast tomorrow

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 23rd, 2022, 5:50 pm

K74T wrote:Screenshot_20220923-131034_Facebook.jpg

Ms Jenny on the street 919fm will say massy racist because they giving out doubles. What happen to bake and smoke herring???

dogg

Postby dogg » September 23rd, 2022, 5:51 pm

FrankChag wrote:I suspect Pricesmart just adds $10 on everything ever so often

Still cheaper than supermarkets.

Postby MaxPower » September 23rd, 2022, 5:58 pm

paid_influencer wrote:i will be going to massy for breakfast tomorrow

On Fridays i send my workers to get hot lunches for themselves.

We absolutely love the calalloo.

Postby MaxPower » September 23rd, 2022, 5:59 pm

dogg wrote:
MaxPower wrote:All the Massy peeps say Yay Yayyyyyy….

Oye, MaxiPad, big fire by Anand.
One less place for your and your Guyanese bredren to dress up in your Rattans best to take selfies at.

Folks, looks like prices have stabilised over the last month. I'm not seeing any noticeable price increases. Except for market goods. Pimentos looking like luxury goods these days.

Aye Rattans does have some bess clothes eh take your time.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 23rd, 2022, 6:00 pm

I remember when that Irish spring was 80 not so long ago
dogg wrote:
FrankChag wrote:I suspect Pricesmart just adds $10 on everything ever so often

Still cheaper than supermarkets.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 23rd, 2022, 6:04 pm

yea, also noticed a trend of prices jumping up hard in Pmart.
Used to buy a blue pack English cheddar at 67 (NZ bulk block equivalent was about 55-60). That's now 90 and the NZ remained the same

Postby Rovin » September 23rd, 2022, 6:50 pm

wda 3 items = $320 & i now watching what $500 got me at price club, plenty more than that though

is like everytime u go grocery some things raising up $1-3, man hadda spend more for a lil occasional junkfood like ah bag ah chips is now $1595, last time i buy was 1495 to me not that long ago same thing was $9.95 ...

Postby paid_influencer » September 23rd, 2022, 6:56 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
K74T wrote:Screenshot_20220923-131034_Facebook.jpg

Ms Jenny on the street 919fm will say massy racist because they giving out doubles. What happen to bake and smoke herring???

they have cakes too

i will try the cake

Postby Chimera » September 23rd, 2022, 7:03 pm

I does buy the dark chocolate protein bars at psmart

Swear it gone from. 120 go 180 or so

Postby hover11 » September 23rd, 2022, 7:10 pm

Rovin wrote:wda 3 items = $320 & i now watching what $500 got me at price club, plenty more than that though

is like everytime u go grocery some things raising up $1-3, man hadda spend more for a lil occasional junkfood like ah bag ah chips is now $1595, last time i buy was 1495 to me not that long ago same thing was $9.95 ...
Ppl still buying though that's the thing, yea they complaining but they still buying so stock still leaving the shelves in a high turnover.

dogg

Postby dogg » September 23rd, 2022, 7:25 pm

Rovin wrote:wda 3 items = $320 & i now watching what $500 got me at price club, plenty more than that though

Yeah but look at the 3 items.
American cheese? besides it not being real cheese, it tastes stink. Shop cheese could replace that.
Downy? There are cheaper fabric softeners that do the same job for less.
Don't get me started on bath soap. All you really paying for is the scent. They're all the same!

Anyone buying those items shouldn't complain about the prices!

Postby Rovin » September 23rd, 2022, 7:37 pm

yea ppl like certain things then complain about price after

i never like those individual wrapped "cheese" i buy 2 brands of english cheddar iir 400g priced in d low $30s [even loose cheese does taste way better than american stuff], i used a fabric softener from d grocery starts with an S cant remember now about $40 for a decent size bottle said to do about 48 washes, for bathing soap since i started doing hard work in my teens i use carbolic & i dont like anything else, 3 for $1295 by pennywise ...

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » September 23rd, 2022, 11:39 pm

Anybody want a barrel of groceries packed and shipped from NY for Christmas

Postby K74T » September 24th, 2022, 5:26 am

Fabric softener is a woft, use baking soda instead.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » September 24th, 2022, 5:44 am

paid_influencer wrote:i will be going to massy for breakfast tomorrow

On Fridays i send my workers to get hot lunches for themselves.

We absolutely love the calalloo.

Baahahaha @ workers

You mean the owner of the parlor sends youuuuu to get his calalloo on Fridays.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » September 24th, 2022, 7:18 am

K74T wrote:Fabric softener is a woft, use baking soda instead.

Yes, there is a guy on YouTube called Derrick that shows you what fabric softener does to washing machines. Says that most machines needing servicing is due to fabric softener use.

https://youtube.com/shorts/1r8CBkWTYUk?feature=share

Postby gastly369 » September 24th, 2022, 9:56 am

Went n buy some keto / healthy stuff recently

$3000 disappeared from my account just so just so... And that's just for me alone

Postby maj. tom » September 24th, 2022, 10:35 am

triniterribletim wrote:
K74T wrote:Fabric softener is a woft, use baking soda instead.

Yes, there is a guy on YouTube called Derrick that shows you what fabric softener does to washing machines. Says that most machines needing servicing is due to fabric softener use.

https://youtube.com/shorts/1r8CBkWTYUk?feature=share

By coincidence? only a few weeks ago this channel popped up on my feed, plenty stuff to learn from him. He said to use vinegar so I would give that a try, but would vinegar leave the sheets and towels soft?

The fabric softener problem there i think that's when people put excessive amount it in the little cup holder at the start of the wash. If i use, it would only be a cap for a large load and i pour it directly under the water stream at the start of the 2nd cycle. Fabric softener contains PFAS "forever chemicals" and forms a kind of plastic layer permeated in the clothes to make it soft and more stain resistant. Turn out that we are now discovering that PFAS are bad for everyone and everything. I threw out all my Teflon pots from the kitchen a while ago. They now started a campaign to remove these once-upon-a-time miracle chemicals from everyday life.... they're in everything from pots to carpet, sunscreen, clothes..... really everything. And they last forever in the environment.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Per-_and_polyfluoroalkyl_substances#Health_and_environmental_concerns

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 29th, 2022, 4:28 am

The price of delivery for KFC and Pizza Hut has gone up by $5.

Prestige Holdings Ltd CEO Simon Hardy says while some customers would not be pleased with the increase, it was necessary to balance costs to the company.

Speaking with Newsday on Wednesday, Hardy said the delivery fee for KFC and Pizza Hut meals had been increased to $25 on September 20.

"At the end of the day, I hate raising prices, and we acknowledge it will mean an extra cost to those delivery customers.

"However, it is bringing convenience to people.

"Again, we hate to have to increase costs, but we also have to balance our costs with the service we provide, and this is what we felt was best. It went into effect before (the budget): when the last change in gasoline prices happened we increased the rates to our drivers.

"Delivery is a very expensive channel and we subsidise every meal we deliver but we can no longer absorb that kind of subsidy."

Prestige Holdings Ltd is the franchise holder for KFC, Pizza Hut, TGI Fridays, Subway and Starbucks.

In March, KFC introduced a charge of $2 for three packets of ketchup or mustard. The decision sparked widespread criticism on social media and in April a media release announced the charge would be dropped.

come on doubles add a transport fee to doubles and raise it to $11. speed up the process to get like venezuela

Postby pugboy » September 29th, 2022, 8:23 am

as long as they dont touch the price of condiments we trinis good to go
guess who own the companies which sell the most ketchup

Postby Rovin » September 29th, 2022, 11:43 am

it gooood for allyuh who love ah delivery ....

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 30th, 2022, 4:19 am

i visited massy trincity and then went tru value in the mall and i have to say its massy shopping for me yes. prices not too bad and in fact cheaper than some places for some items. i have to visit them more often now.