Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

christopherwilliams2

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 23rd, 2022, 2:45 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Allyuh fellas want pommerac
I have three trees does bear like hell for 2 weeks and then nothing again for the year

Plenty does waste

Dem fawkers who selling rotten sour pommerac for $10 for 4 does get meh vex20220121_154840.jpg

I could really do with that yes... not buying them sour thing. if it not purplish, doh talk to me.

Postby De Dragon » January 23rd, 2022, 9:34 pm

I have three trees does bear like hell for 2 weeks and then nothing again for the year

Plenty does waste

Dem fawkers who selling rotten sour pommerac for $10 for 4 does get meh vex20220121_154840.jpg

I woulda PM yuh for some for the kids, but after the Hoover incident, I 'fraid now! :lol: :lol:

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 23rd, 2022, 9:38 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Central. Yuh wud have to pick it up by my store in freeport or by chase village flyover or something. It worth d drive if yuh wanna make a run tho. Yuh wud get a 2 or 3 grocery plastic bag once yuh gimme notice 2 pick

PM location nah pallie :)

Postby Chimera » January 23rd, 2022, 9:55 pm

Lol allyuh don't be dotish na. If hover message me and tell me he want some pommerac to pay his lawyer I wud give him.

Message me privately and we guh organise.
I located central.

Cud meet up chase village flyover a evening

Postby Chimera » January 25th, 2022, 5:42 pm

Only have one way a fatman could pick pommerac from tall trees himself without damaging the fruit lolll
20220125_135150.jpg
20220125_133523.jpg
IMG-20220125-WA0046.jpg

Postby st7 » January 25th, 2022, 6:19 pm

Plenty does waste

I woulda PM yuh for some for the kids, but after the Hoover incident, I 'fraid now! :lol: :lol:

Postby st7 » January 25th, 2022, 6:19 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Only have one way a fatman could pick pommerac from tall trees himself without damaging the fruit lolllIMG-20220125-WA0046.jpg20220125_133523.jpg20220125_135150.jpg

damnn looking good.

allyuh fellas make good chow eh

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 25th, 2022, 6:24 pm

Yea boi fat people cud cook. I never know a fat person who can't bubble a good pot.

Postby paid_influencer » January 25th, 2022, 8:09 pm

bought some pommerac at $25 for 2 heap down La Brea and was worth it, imo. beach scene not complete without a pass.

anyone else notice expiration dates on grocery items getting reall close? thought it was just massy, but seems to be a global thing now.

Postby hover11 » January 25th, 2022, 9:12 pm

Chief Secretary to address Tobago's high food prices

Augustine said the issue has to be addressed and he intends to meet with the Supermarket Association of Trinidad and Tobago (SATT), as well as the Prime Minister on it.

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/01/25/chief- ... od-prices/

dogg

Postby dogg » January 27th, 2022, 12:51 pm

How come no one really mentions milk prices?
Up 50% in the last 3 yrs

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 14th, 2022, 6:27 am

Reading cooking oil prices to take a hit again...

Postby bluefete » February 14th, 2022, 6:34 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Reading cooking oil prices to take a hit again...

Yup. I buy directly from CGA. I save a lot compared to the grocery.

Postby Redman » February 14th, 2022, 6:47 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Reading cooking oil prices to take a hit again...

Yep,
Weather,war logistics.
All contrived to push multiple types of oil to higher prices.

It might be a while.

Postby zoom rader » February 14th, 2022, 8:28 am

Redman wrote:

Yep,
Weather,war logistics.

It might be a while.
Trinis to lazy to make Coconut oil.

Postby Redman » February 14th, 2022, 9:05 am

Redman wrote:

Yep,
Weather,war logistics.

It might be a while.

Its not feasible for 90% of the population.

Postby zoom rader » February 14th, 2022, 9:13 am

Redman wrote:

Yep,
Weather,war logistics.

It might be a while.

How so?

There are coconut farms.

So saying its better to buy foreign than local

Postby 88sins » February 14th, 2022, 9:15 am

zoom rader wrote:Trinis to lazy to make Coconut oil.

d borse
who you getting to grate & press all dat copra to make oil?

Postby timelapse » February 14th, 2022, 9:17 am

Redman wrote:

Yep,
Weather,war logistics.

It might be a while.

Another classic example of how the majority spend money chuppid.Here's an easier way.Start a 'Coconut oil challenge' on social media.Watch how fast it will catch on.
The opposite of success is not failure,it is conformity - Sigma rule #367

Postby Redman » February 14th, 2022, 9:35 am

Redman wrote:

Yep,
Weather,war logistics.

It might be a while.

How so?

There are coconut farms.

Its more sensible to buy cars from foreign or local?
How about computers?
Butter?
Clothes?
You making a simple broad statement, yet there are real constraints to everyone buying local

We make coconut oil at home -once a month.
Coconut supply is erratic -and we have a direct line into growers.
The process takes time and effort and the volume while good for what we use it for- would be insufficient if we went 100%

Postby timelapse » February 14th, 2022, 9:45 am

Wait until the forex situation gets worse.People will be forced to do those things.Or steal

Postby hover11 » February 14th, 2022, 9:48 am

timelapse wrote:Wait until the forex situation gets worse.People will be forced to do those things.Or steal
Not even then,what about when the government says time to pay the real cost of cooking gas. How ppl gonna make out? Nobody will be able to sell food as it just wouldn't be profitable anymore

Postby zoom rader » February 14th, 2022, 10:21 am

Redman wrote:

Yep,
Weather,war logistics.

It might be a while.

How so?

There are coconut farms.

Its more sensible to buy cars from foreign or local?
How about computers?
Butter?
Clothes?
You making a simple broad statement, yet there are real constraints to everyone buying local

We make coconut oil at home -once a month.
Coconut supply is erratic -and we have a direct line into growers.
The process takes time and effort and the volume while good for what we use it for- would be insufficient if we went 100%
Coconut is grown here and there are farms but government has not protected them. Dairy is also active here as mom and pop operation.

Cars , Computers are not.

Government rather protect peaks air conditioning racket than food.

Postby timelapse » February 14th, 2022, 10:32 am

Between the time some people blathering on about food prices,I have already planted, eaten and given away a heap of produce.My dad started a small poultry farm which is doing well.

Just now I will have mangoes and more Romaine lettuce than my wife and I can eat.Already have coconuts.

I am not trained in agriculture and still learning,but willing to make the effort.
Spend an hour less watching TV or your gadgets and put it to better use.

The only thing stopping anybody is themselves.
"Emancipate yourself from mental slavery"
- Robert Nestor Marley

Ps.I also make my own mayonnaise in a mini chopper.Tastes better and much cheaper,as I get free eggs from my dad now

Postby Redman » February 14th, 2022, 10:50 am

Clearly we dont produce cars,computers and whatever.
There are reasons that we dont.

Them being active here does not mean that they are efficient, cost effective or able to scale up.

On one hand yuh want government to get out of business.
Yet you here wanting govt to impose themselves when it benefits you.

Coconut oil wholesales by the MT, at about $2 USD per liter
or by 200L BBL at about $4 USD per liter.

whats our cost of production???

Postby timelapse » February 14th, 2022, 12:18 pm

Redman wrote:Clearly we dont produce cars,computers and whatever.

Them being active here does not mean that they are efficient, cost effective or able to scale up.

If you have coconut trees instead of concrete in your yard, next to nothing.
Growlers planting berries in Tobago and that's high tech.I sincerely wish success on that project.That is real progress.
Coconuts should be a walk in the park to Caribbean folk.

Postby Redman » February 14th, 2022, 2:23 pm

timelapse wrote:

Growlers planting berries in Tobago and that's high tech.I sincerely wish success on that project.That is real progress.

So you dont know.

We get 750ml from 24 coconuts
Last month we got nuts at $5 per nut out of Mayaro-husked already.
So A liter will cost about $160 counting only the nuts.

Low and behold growers are charging 160 per 700ml.

Postby timelapse » February 14th, 2022, 3:24 pm

Redman wrote:
timelapse wrote:

So you dont know.

We get 750ml from 24 coconuts
Last month we got nuts at $5 per nut out of Mayaro-husked already.
So A liter will cost about $160 counting only the nuts.

Low and behold growers are charging 160 per 700ml.
You missed my point.Grow your own.Make your own

Postby Redman » February 14th, 2022, 3:42 pm

The point was obvious.
But equally obvious is the fact that not everyone could should or would grow their own.

Postby Chimera » February 14th, 2022, 3:44 pm

Lol @ timelapse suggestion.

How much people you know even have a yard to call their own?