Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby zoom rader » December 5th, 2021, 12:34 pm

hover11 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:
death365 wrote:Everything going up an up an up

Except for my sal, which is stuck @2013 levels.
The 2013 struggle is real eh....imagine we going into 2022 with a 2013 salary that is ridiculous but everybody still working like normal so is not a priority I guess

When the devaluation hit them you go feel the pain
Years now we were supposed to devalue this dollar we doing more harm than good with this artificial floating of the dollar...everybody knows our dollar is heavily overvalued
The problem is the 1% have been hoarding our US and waiting to cash in on the devaluation. They gonna get super rich once this happens.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » December 5th, 2021, 12:36 pm

hover11 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:

The 2013 struggle is real eh....imagine we going into 2022 with a 2013 salary that is ridiculous but everybody still working like normal so is not a priority I guess

Years now we were supposed to devalue this dollar we doing more harm than good with this artificial floating of the dollar...everybody knows our dollar is heavily overvalued
The problem is the 1% have been hoarding our US and waiting to cash in on the devaluation. They gonna get super rich once this happens.

1% smart too bad.

Postby zoom rader » December 5th, 2021, 12:51 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:

1% smart too bad.
Red government creating billionaires while their supporters live and behave like pigs

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » December 5th, 2021, 12:54 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:

1% smart too bad.
Red government creating billionaires

Well be one of them!

Postby zoom rader » December 5th, 2021, 1:03 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:

1% smart too bad.

Well be one of them!
I don't have to depend on the red government to make ah money.

I is not eliteauto-tuntun to look for hand outs and licking Rowlee arse

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » December 5th, 2021, 1:31 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:The 2013 struggle is real eh....imagine we going into 2022 with a 2013 salary that is ridiculous but everybody still working like normal so is not a priority I guess

1% smart too bad.

Well be one of them!
I don't have to depend on the red government to make ah money.

I is not eliteauto-tuntun to look for hand outs and licking Rowlee arse

That's admirable.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 13th, 2021, 7:10 pm

not 3 plumes and swinger matches in the grocery. man say factory dont have. match price will go up also. GITPNM

Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby MaxPower » December 13th, 2021, 7:40 pm

Bars, restaurants, malls are FULL.

Food prices are manageable clearly.

No one is starving to death.

Trinis asses are just too happy.

Postby pugboy » December 13th, 2021, 7:48 pm

correct

phillip alexander son open a pizza place
$120 for a personal sized pizza and ppl buying no problem

MaxPower wrote:Bars, restaurants, malls are FULL.

Postby hover11 » December 15th, 2021, 6:45 pm

Diptee: Brace for more food-price increases

Diptee explained the recent bout of price increases in shipping, freight, import and duties had made in difficult for SATT's members to continue absorbing price shocks, and rising prices would be passed on to the consumers.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/12/15/diptee ... increases/

Postby Redman » December 16th, 2021, 12:47 pm

MaxPower wrote:Bars, restaurants, malls are FULL.

And there is a significant industry in delivery/call and pick up-with 'street food' doing brisk business-

I hate to bust the political bubble but we are at the bottom of a inflationary cycle globally.

Money supply has increased globally and locally.

There is more money chasing everything- more people buying, etc etc etc.

Locally we have almost doubled broad money supply since 2010

more supply of anything erodes its value.
Currency value erosion can only show up in what people value MORE the currency.

Without a war/disease or real economic upheaval we not seeing prices for anything going down.

Postby 88sins » December 16th, 2021, 1:10 pm

hover11 wrote:Diptee: Brace for more food-price increases

Diptee explained the recent bout of price increases in shipping, freight, import and duties had made in difficult for SATT's members to continue absorbing price shocks, and rising prices would be passed on to the consumers.

This is the norm, ain't nothing special dem saying there.
And when the rough times for the manufacturer and retailer ends, the elevated prices remain, like an eternal gift to the customer.

Variety is not only the spice of life, it is a way to stave off the hard times. So, imported rice in short supply and expensive, local provisions, if in abundance, will be cheaper as a more readily available substitute. But sadly, politicians in this nation of nincompoops seem ok and happy to destroy local agricultural to the benefit of their financiers, and the detriment of the population, who too dotish to figure out what going on in front their faces.

buh wwgd?

Postby zoom rader » December 16th, 2021, 1:51 pm

hover11 wrote:Diptee: Brace for more food-price increases

This is the norm, ain't nothing special dem saying there.
And when the rough times for the manufacturer and retailer ends, the elevated prices remain, like an eternal gift to the customer.

Variety is not only the spice of life, it is a way to stave off the hard times. So, imported rice in short supply and expensive, local provisions, if in abundance, will be cheaper as a more readily available substitute. But sadly, politicians in this nation of nincompoops seem ok and happy to destroy local agricultural to the benefit of their financiers, and the detriment of the population, who too dotish to figure out what going on in front their faces.

buh wwgd?

Trinidad take bull all yuh vote for dat 5hit

Postby Chimera » December 16th, 2021, 2:10 pm

groceries really gone up like hell

spend $4000 sunday for what i sure i would have spend 2500-3000 last year same time

ent chicken wings/ drumsticks use to be $18 a lb?
now its $25

Postby 88sins » December 16th, 2021, 3:23 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:groceries really gone up like hell

spend $4000 sunday for what i sure i would have spend 2500-3000 last year same time

now its $25

Yup, this time last year and earlier this year drumsticks was about $18, wings was about $20.
And it NOT getting better no time soon, as long as local production remains negatively impacted by the need for imported materials.

Only thing cheap these days is nothing.

dogg

Postby dogg » December 16th, 2021, 3:32 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:groceries really gone up like hell

now its $25

I buy chicken at pluck shops and freeze them for the month.

Last time i bought it was still $17-20 thereabouts.

Got burnt a couple times with off smelling "chilled" chicken at grocery chains. Not me again buying chicken at supermarkets.

Freds outside Tunapuna market is my usual joint - and they take credit cards too. Win all around.

But yeah, prices slowly and steadily going up. You don't notice it till after a few months.
I try to take advantage of loss-leader sales when I can, by buying up in bulk.

Postby Chimera » December 16th, 2021, 4:51 pm

2-3 times i went pluck shops and plenty times they not selling parts

have one meat place in cunupia i use to get everything real nice but these days i kinda avoid places where i hadda park on the road and wait to collect anything

in xtra foods its 25 and 26 for wings and drumsticks per lb

Postby MaxPower » December 16th, 2021, 6:33 pm

Friends,

Most i could tell allyuh is ah hard luck ungetru scene.

But spend wisely and prioritize your needs, think twice for the wants.

Work a lil harder and try to rake in some extra cash.

Save.

Invest.

Don’t wait last minute.

Postby K74T » December 29th, 2021, 10:26 am

NFM has announced that the price of flour is to increase from Jan 3 2022.

Postby zoom rader » December 29th, 2021, 10:34 am

K74T wrote:NFM has announced that the price of flour is to increase from Jan 3 2022.
World price increases?

Or ill manage from the red government as usual?

Postby bluefete » December 29th, 2021, 10:53 am

Allyuh put the % increase nah!

A big bag of flour going from about $60.00 to $72.00.

NFM announces big increase in flour price
Anthony Wilson Dec 29, 2021 Updated 10 min ago

National Flour Mills (NFM) this morning increased the price of flour, a decision that is likely to have an almost immediate impact on a wide range of consumer goods from doubles to bake and shark.

The majority State-owned company said it decided to increase the wholesale price of flour by between 15 and 22 per cent.

In a news release this morning, NFM said the suggested increase of the retail price of flour to the consumer would average 19 per cent.

The company said the increase in the price of flour was as a result of higher wheat prices and the escalating cost of freight transport from North American destinations.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/n ... c0d5a.html

Postby hover11 » December 29th, 2021, 11:12 am

K74T wrote:NFM has announced that the price of flour is to increase from Jan 3 2022.
Guess doubles gonna be 10 dollars now

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 29th, 2021, 11:23 am

Some places already selling doubles $7, so that would most likely be the increased price for doubles.

Postby Chimera » December 29th, 2021, 11:37 am

World price increases?

Or ill manage from the red government as usual?

freight price is what freaking up everything around the world

thats a dred increase though
average 19% to retail customers

doubles could easily climb to 7/8/9 dollars this year

because oil gone up real plenty in the last year

a wesson oil that was 99 in pricesmart is around $140/150 now

that same oil is $200 in most other groceries.

Postby MaxPower » December 29th, 2021, 11:45 am

hover11 wrote:

I have stopped supporting doubles vendors years now due to their inconsistency and health risks.

Postby zoom rader » December 29th, 2021, 11:48 am

hover11 wrote:

I have stopped supporting doubles vendors years now due to their inconsistency and health risks.
Any you support KFC, pizza hut and other 1% scam outlets than local.

Carry on

Postby Rovin » December 29th, 2021, 11:52 am

doh study food goin up, once red in powah we good to go

ah sound like zoom dey ..... :mrgreen:

Postby zoom rader » December 29th, 2021, 12:22 pm

Rovin wrote:doh study food goin up, once red in powah we good to go

ah sound like zoom dey ..... :mrgreen:
Had the red government put measures in place to secure food and local food we would not be in this situation.

Farming is scam, just think red government ppl know nutting about farming but they get all the money as tax fee concessions just to buy 4x4s. All this they have not planted one blade of grass

Postby Chimera » December 29th, 2021, 12:27 pm

Its true what he saying
The people who really know agriculture and can get great yields are the ones who get refused grants and funding.

All these idiots who getting large parcels of agri land and hundreds of thousands in grants always flop.

Postby pugboy » December 29th, 2021, 2:14 pm

what we washing the fresh chicken with now?