Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

ed360123

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby ed360123 » January 8th, 2022, 2:52 pm

Kenjo wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
adnj wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Someone who is hesitant about getting the vaccine and I've been trying to get him to take it sent me this video

What would you tell him?
You could probably point out that It says at the end that 90% of the hospital's staff is vaccinated, so the majority of the others in that hospital clearly don't agree with him.

Edit: Also this man is an anaesthetist, which is closer to a nurse than a doctor.

I’m not even going to watch this video but do you know what an anaesthetist is buddy ? Men need to bat in their crease yes . See why from form 5 to form 6 or even I should say common entrance / SEA why someone people shouldn’t even dream of applying to medical school locally , regionally or internationally
You want to explain what the issue with my comment is?
Certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs) are the nurses that work independently to administer anesthesia, or may collaborate with and assist doctors, dentists, surgeons, and other medical professionals in anesthesia administration.

Anesthesiologists are physicians that specialize in the administration of anesthesia.

The major difference between these two professions is that anesthesiologist are medical doctors that administer anesthesia, while nurse anesthetists are registered nurses who may assist or collaborate with doctors in administering anesthesia, or may work entirely independently as they administer anesthesia. 

https://www.wgu.edu/blog/nurse-anesthet ... html#close
Yeah, that's what I said, they're nurses.

Oh dear someone please help . This person sees an explanation that an Anaesthetist is a specialist doctor and says that they are just nurses. A 3rd party puts an explanation of a nurse assistant in Anaesthtics and equates them all
I was responding to the quote that was sent to me? If you can point it to me or provide me a correct link then I'll correct myself.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2022, 3:09 pm

allyuh need to get a room

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 8th, 2022, 3:10 pm

I bought 2.
1 for myself and the other for Hover.
Screenshot_20220108-123818_WhatsApp.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » January 8th, 2022, 4:30 pm

yY5ANNS.png

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby aaron17 » January 9th, 2022, 8:26 am

Postby aaron17 » January 9th, 2022, 8:40 am

As a scientist thinking....they dont use emotions to make decisions..only data to work with.

The vaccines side effects if popped up in future are ok once they are lessoning death right now. We are dealing in the now. Even if half of the world gets a life threatening disease due to the vaccine which may or may not show up yet.... it will be desensitized and it will be like normal to forget. Oh yea...we can't sue.

So we must think like a scientist rather than an individual with emotions?

Well i guess it is the survival of the human race even if 95 percent of ppl die. It is still a huge win?
Last edited by aaron17 on January 9th, 2022, 8:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » January 9th, 2022, 8:50 am

aaron17 wrote:As a scientist thinking....they dont use emotions to make decisions..only data to work with.

The vaccines side effects if popped up in future are ok once they are lessoning death right now. We are dealing in the now. Even if half of the world gets a life threatening disease due to the vaccine which may or may not show up yet.... it will be desensitized and it will be like normal to forget. Oh yea...we can't sue.

You see Aaron everyone willingly signed over their life when they agreed to that waiver , so who cares, since they signed over their rights they want everyone else to sign over theirs as well, nobody must think for themselves and speak out that this makes no sense. Yesterday pariaman said that the vaccines only last 3 days in your system I want to see emphatic proof where that is explicitly stated, otherwise that is simply heresay

Postby adnj » January 9th, 2022, 9:31 am

hover11 wrote:
aaron17 wrote:As a scientist thinking....they dont use emotions to make decisions..only data to work with.

You see Aaron everyone willingly signed over their life when they agreed to that waiver , so who cares, since they signed over their rights they want everyone else to sign over theirs as well, nobody must think for themselves and speak out that this makes no sense. Yesterday pariaman said that the vaccines only last 3 days in your system I want to see emphatic proof where that is explicitly stated, otherwise that is simply heresay

Up to a few days for some vaccines. Up to a few weeks for others.
All of the information is right there... just outside of the bubble.

Now, I expect a debate on "a few days" vs. "three days."

So what happens to the vaccine?
Once they’ve initiated the immune response, the vaccines themselves are rapidly broken down and cleared from the body.

The mRNA vaccines consist of a fatty shell, which encapsulates a group of mRNA particles – the genetic recipe for the spike protein. Once this enters a cell, the shell is degraded to harmless fats, and the mRNA is used by the cells to produce spike proteins.

Once the mRNA has been used to produce proteins, it’s broken down and cleared from the cell along with the rest of the mRNAs produced by the normal function of the cell.

In fact, mRNA is very fragile, with the most long lasting only able to survive for a few days. This is why the Pfizer and Moderna vaccines have to be so carefully preserved at ultra-low temperatures.

The vector vaccines (AstraZeneca and Johnson and Johnson) use an adenovirus, which is harmless in humans, as a vector to deliver a genetic template for the spike protein to the cells.

The vector virus has all of its infectious components removed, so it’s unable to multiply or cause disease. Then a genetic template for the spike protein is inserted into the vector.

Once the vaccine is injected, the vector virus binds to your cells and inserts its genetic components, before the shell breaks down and is removed.

The viral machinery gets the genetic template into the control room of the cell, the nucleus, where it takes advantage of our normal protein building activity. The vaccine doesn’t cause any alteration to our DNA.

Normally, this would cause the cell to start producing more copies of the virus, but since this was all removed, all that’s produced is the spike protein.

Again, after making a large amount of the spike, the genetic templates are broken down in a matter of days or weeks.

https://theconversation.com/no-covid-va ... ars-169247

How long do mRNA and spike proteins last in the body?
Published July 2, 2021

Vaccines generally work by introducing a piece of a virus or bacteria into your body so you can develop long-lasting immunity to the pathogen. While the piece introduced by the vaccine rapidly fades away, your body's immune system remembers what it saw. When it encounters the virus or bacteria in the real world it mounts a strong immune response preventing or decreasing the severity of infection.

Some have expressed concern that the spike protein or other parts of the mRNA vaccines build up in the body, particularly in the ovaries or the brain. Here we break down the data to show where mRNA vaccines (and spike proteins) travel in the body. There is no evidence that any mRNA or protein accumulates in any organ.

Why do they use spike proteins?
For COVID-19 vaccines, all of the approved vaccines so far used the spike protein. The spike protein is located on the outside of a coronavirus and is how SARS-CoV-2 (the coronavirus) enters human cells. Its location on the outside of the virus makes it so the immune system can recognize it easily.

The spike protein is unique to SARS-CoV-2 – it doesn't look like other proteins your body makes. So antibodies created against the spike protein won't harm your body, they will only target coronavirus.

How long mRNA lasts in the body
The Pfizer and Moderna vaccines work by introducing mRNA (messenger RNA) into your muscle cells. The cells make copies of the spike protein and the mRNA is quickly degraded (within a few days). The cell breaks the mRNA up into small harmless pieces. mRNA is very fragile; that's one reason why mRNA vaccines must be so carefully preserved at very low temperatures.

How long spike proteins last in the body
The Infectious Disease Society of America (IDSA) estimates that the spike proteins that were generated by COVID-19 vaccines last up to a few weeks, like other proteins made by the body. The immune system quickly identifies, attacks and destroys the spike proteins because it recognizes them as not part of you. This "learning the enemy" process is how the immune system figures out how to defeat the real coronavirus. It remembers what it saw and when you are exposed to coronavirus in the future it can rapidly mount an effective immune response.

Where does the vaccine go?
Here's a peer-reviewed study that shows where intramuscular vaccines (which all three of the COVID-19 vaccines are) travel in macaques (a type of monkey). Vaccines mostly remain near the site of injection (the arm muscle) and local lymph nodes.

This makes sense: Lymph nodes produce white blood cells and antibodies to protect us from disease. A key part of the lymphatic system, lymph nodes also clean up fluids and remove waste materials. Finding pieces of spike protein in the lymph nodes is completely normal, because lymph nodes act as the trash removal service for the body. That means the vaccine did its job (made spike proteins, which caused the creation of antibodies) and will be cleared from the body.

Another peer-reviewed study tested exactly where an mRNA vaccine went in mice. Most of the mRNA vaccine stayed in the injection site muscle – where you get the shot. Look at Table 1. A lot of mRNA vaccine was found in local lymph nodes, which peaked about eight hours after the shot was given. A much smaller amount of mRNA vaccine went to farther away lymph nodes.

https://www.nebraskamed.com/COVID/where ... roteins-go
Last edited by adnj on January 9th, 2022, 2:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby aaron17 » January 9th, 2022, 11:31 am

Hmmm

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 9th, 2022, 12:40 pm

Yep the misinformation out there and willingness to believe all sort of weird conspiracy theories is alarming

Postby adnj » January 10th, 2022, 7:59 am

Postby redmanjp » January 10th, 2022, 9:57 am

Anyone who says 97% survival rate should think about this - it's not 97% RECOVERY rate

30% of people who recover from the covid infection itself including mild cases have Long Covid- caused by micro clots

https://thehill.com/changing-america/well-being/medical-advances/588443-south-african-scientist-thinks-she-may-have

South African scientist thinks she may have solved the mystery of long COVID-19, which afflicts 100M people
A recent study by Resia Pretorius and her team at Stellenbosch University in South Africa suggests that long COVID-19 may be triggered by microclots.

By
Brooke Migdon | Jan. 5, 2022

Story at a glance

A scientist in South Africa has found a link between microclots and long COVID-19, which she says is an important step in better understanding the affliction from which 100 million people are suffering.
The scientist, Resia Pretorius, and her team over the summer found high levels of inflammatory molecules “trapped” in the persistent microclots observed in long COVID-19 patients.
The Department of Human and Health Services in June released new guidelines characterizing some symptoms of long COVID-19 as a disability under the Americans with Disabilities Act.

“A recent study in my lab revealed that there is significant microclot formation in the blood of both acute COVID-19 and long COVID patients,” Resia Pretorius, head of the science department at Stellenbosch University in South Africa, wrote Wednesday in an op-ed.

Pretorius writes that healthy bodies are typically able to efficiently break down blood clots through a process called fibrinolysis. But, when looking at blood from long COVID-19 patients, “persistent microclots are resistant to the body’s own fibrinolytic processes.”

Pretorius’ team in an analysis over the summer found high levels of inflammatory molecules “trapped” in the persistent microclots observed in long COVID-19 patients, which may be preventing the breakdown of clots.

Because of that, cells in the body’s tissues may not be getting enough oxygen to sustain regular bodily functions, a condition known as cellular hypoxia.

“Widespread hypoxia may be central to the numerous reported debilitating symptoms” of long COVID-19, Pretorius writes.

As many as 100 million people globally have or have had long COVID-19, according to a study by researchers at the University of Michigan in November.

A patient is diagnosed with long COVID-19 when the effects of a COVID-19 infection persist for more than four weeks, according to the Mayo Clinic. While older people and people with serious medical conditions are the most likely to experience long COVID-19, many young and healthy people have reported feeling unwell for weeks or even months after their initial COVID-19 diagnosis.

Symptoms of long COVID-19 vary between cases, but primarily include fatigue, brain fog, muscle or joint pain, shortness of breath, sleep difficulties and depression or anxiety.

The Department of Health and Human Services in June released new guidance in which some symptoms of long COVID-19 could qualify as a disability under the Americans with Disabilities Act.

In December, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission issued an update to its own guidance, which now considers an individual who has contracted COVID-19 disabled if any of their symptoms “substantially limits one or more major life activities.”

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 10th, 2022, 10:11 am

redmanjp wrote:Anyone who says 97% survival rate should think about this - it's not 97% RECOVERY rate

30% of people who recover from the covid infection itself including mild cases have Long Covid- caused by micro clots

https://thehill.com/changing-america/well-being/medical-advances/588443-south-african-scientist-thinks-she-may-have

South African scientist thinks she may have solved the mystery of long COVID-19, which afflicts 100M people
A recent study by Resia Pretorius and her team at Stellenbosch University in South Africa suggests that long COVID-19 may be triggered by microclots.

By

Story at a glance

A scientist in South Africa has found a link between microclots and long COVID-19, which she says is an important step in better understanding the affliction from which 100 million people are suffering.
The scientist, Resia Pretorius, and her team over the summer found high levels of inflammatory molecules “trapped” in the persistent microclots observed in long COVID-19 patients.
The Department of Human and Health Services in June released new guidelines characterizing some symptoms of long COVID-19 as a disability under the Americans with Disabilities Act.

“A recent study in my lab revealed that there is significant microclot formation in the blood of both acute COVID-19 and long COVID patients,” Resia Pretorius, head of the science department at Stellenbosch University in South Africa, wrote Wednesday in an op-ed.

Pretorius writes that healthy bodies are typically able to efficiently break down blood clots through a process called fibrinolysis. But, when looking at blood from long COVID-19 patients, “persistent microclots are resistant to the body’s own fibrinolytic processes.”

Pretorius’ team in an analysis over the summer found high levels of inflammatory molecules “trapped” in the persistent microclots observed in long COVID-19 patients, which may be preventing the breakdown of clots.

Because of that, cells in the body’s tissues may not be getting enough oxygen to sustain regular bodily functions, a condition known as cellular hypoxia.

“Widespread hypoxia may be central to the numerous reported debilitating symptoms” of long COVID-19, Pretorius writes.

As many as 100 million people globally have or have had long COVID-19, according to a study by researchers at the University of Michigan in November.

A patient is diagnosed with long COVID-19 when the effects of a COVID-19 infection persist for more than four weeks, according to the Mayo Clinic. While older people and people with serious medical conditions are the most likely to experience long COVID-19, many young and healthy people have reported feeling unwell for weeks or even months after their initial COVID-19 diagnosis.

Symptoms of long COVID-19 vary between cases, but primarily include fatigue, brain fog, muscle or joint pain, shortness of breath, sleep difficulties and depression or anxiety.

The Department of Health and Human Services in June released new guidance in which some symptoms of long COVID-19 could qualify as a disability under the Americans with Disabilities Act.

In December, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission issued an update to its own guidance, which now considers an individual who has contracted COVID-19 disabled if any of their symptoms “substantially limits one or more major life activities.”

How we stopping that?

Postby redmanjp » January 10th, 2022, 10:13 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Anyone who says 97% survival rate should think about this - it's not 97% RECOVERY rate

By

Story at a glance

How we stopping that?

Postby redmanjp » January 10th, 2022, 10:38 am

https://www.bbc.com/news/health-58410354

Coronavirus vaccines cut risk of long Covid, study finds
By Smitha Mundasad

Health reporter

Being fully vaccinated against Covid-19 not only cuts the risk of catching it, but also of an infection turning into long Covid, research led by King's College London suggests.

It shows that in the minority of people who get Covid despite two jabs, the odds of developing symptoms lasting longer than four weeks are cut by 50%.

This is compared with people who are not vaccinated.

So far, 78.9% of over-16s in the UK have had two doses of a Covid vaccine.

Many people who get Covid recover within four weeks but some have symptoms that continue or develop for weeks and months after the initial infection - sometimes known as long Covid. It can happen after people experience even mild coronavirus symptoms.

The researchers, whose work was published in The Lancet Infectious Diseases, say it is clear that vaccinations are saving lives and preventing serious illness, but the impact of vaccines on developing long-lasting illness has been less certain.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 10th, 2022, 12:09 pm

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:Well I'm healthy as I check my MD 3 months so I will chance the 97 percent survival rate....yall know it still worse things than covid still around right but let's only focus on covid I guess

Next time you go to the doctor which should be soon since you go every 3 months lol.
Ask him his opinion on vaccination
Why? That's his opinion and he is entitled to such, similarly there are doctors out there who are against and pro such. His opinion on vaccination doesn't change my perspective on such regardless what his perspective is
Why waste your money and his time if you don't care about his professional opinion?
Your logic not logicing
Times,

I trust my doctor to advise me based on his medical background. This covid 19 vaccine is new and controversial, doctors are split regarding such, I can meet a doctor who spent years in med school saying he is for and I can also find another doctor who spent the equivalent years in med school who would be against. That's the thing with doctors or ppl in expertise Mechanics, lawyers, physicians etc, if I don't like what I hear from one I am entitled to seek a second opinion from another

Your doctor is against Covid vaccines?

Postby redmanjp » January 10th, 2022, 12:17 pm

PariaMan wrote:29 policemen dead 1 was vaccinated

Is the TTPS under the safe zone mandate or are they exempt?

FuadAdnan

Postby FuadAdnan » January 10th, 2022, 12:19 pm

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:Well I'm healthy as I check my MD 3 months so I will chance the 97 percent survival rate....yall know it still worse things than covid still around right but let's only focus on covid I guess

Next time you go to the doctor which should be soon since you go every 3 months lol.
Why? That's his opinion and he is entitled to such, similarly there are doctors out there who are against and pro such. His opinion on vaccination doesn't change my perspective on such regardless what his perspective is
Why waste your money and his time if you don't care about his professional opinion?
Your logic not logicing
Times,

I trust my doctor to advise me based on his medical background. This covid 19 vaccine is new and controversial, doctors are split regarding such, I can meet a doctor who spent years in med school saying he is for and I can also find another doctor who spent the equivalent years in med school who would be against. That's the thing with doctors or ppl in expertise Mechanics, lawyers, physicians etc, if I don't like what I hear from one I am entitled to seek a second opinion from another

You gonna get lambasted but weirdly enough, I know several specialists that are against the vaccine too (in private). Most are for it though.

Postby timelapse » January 10th, 2022, 12:20 pm

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Your logic not logicing
Times,

Well I was wondering about that as well

Postby adnj » January 10th, 2022, 12:34 pm

timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Your logic not logicing
Times,

Well I was wondering about that as well

Apparently, US doctors are split on COVID vaccines the way Tuners are split on constantly talking dumbass bull shitt.

AMA survey shows over 96% of doctors fully vaccinated against COVID-19

JUN 11, 2021

CHICAGO — The American Medical Association (AMA) today released a new survey (PDF) among practicing physicians that shows more than 96 percent of surveyed U.S. physicians have been fully vaccinated for COVID-19, with no significant difference in vaccination rates across regions. Of the physicians who are not yet vaccinated, an additional 45 percent do plan to get vaccinated.

The national AMA survey is the first to specifically collect data on practicing physicians’ COVID-19 vaccination rates. The survey was conducted June 3–8 and showed an increase of more than 20 percent for physicians who have been fully vaccinated for COVID-19 compared to a May 2021 Medscape poll.

https://www.ama-assn.org/press-center/p ... t-covid-19
Last edited by adnj on January 10th, 2022, 12:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » January 10th, 2022, 12:38 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol this idiot don't realize that its mostly people with his line of thinking are the ones dying because they dotish
My whole problem with statistics quoting, just regurgitation of information that suits your arguement. You dont care about how or why the numbers came about or possible applications other than repeating your points over and over.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 10th, 2022, 12:41 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

By

Story at a glance

How we stopping that?

Like this vaccine is the cure for everything

Postby adnj » January 10th, 2022, 12:44 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

By

Story at a glance

How we stopping that?

Not everything.

The ONLY thing that it helps is written right there on the label.

Postby timelapse » January 10th, 2022, 1:28 pm

adnj wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

By

Story at a glance

How we stopping that?

Not everything.

The ONLY thing that it helps is written right there on the label.
Nah it cures intestinal worms in horses as well

Postby st7 » January 10th, 2022, 1:29 pm

money... how much times we have to tell you and show you with proof on credible websites that the vaccine does not provide full immunity nor fully protects you from covid?

unless you cannot process that fact and keep thinking that it's the cure. you may have a learning disability which is why you are ignorant.

but i think you're either an attention seeking ahole like your life partner hover, a troll, or really stupid.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » January 10th, 2022, 2:03 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

By

Story at a glance

How we stopping that?

OK then. What's your solution?

Postby hover11 » January 10th, 2022, 2:16 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

By

Story at a glance

How we stopping that?

Boi,

Don't you understand this vaccine is the answer to everything, mankind has finally stumbled opon the elixir of life

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 10th, 2022, 2:21 pm

hover11 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

By

Story at a glance

How we stopping that?

Boi,

Don't you understand this vaccine is the answer to everything, mankind has finally stumbled opon the elixir of life

Well that's what I saying, if they make this one so easy, then they could cure other things easy too

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 10th, 2022, 2:23 pm

st7 wrote:money... how much times we have to tell you and show you with proof on credible websites that the vaccine does not provide full immunity nor fully protects you from covid?

unless you cannot process that fact and keep thinking that it's the cure. you may have a learning disability which is why you are ignorant.

but i think you're either an attention seeking ahole like your life partner hover, a troll, or really stupid.

Well then mandates and safe zones have an ulterior motive.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » January 10th, 2022, 2:32 pm

pugboy wrote:https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/a-question-of-individual-rights-and-public-health/article_618af566-70e5-11ec-b53d-cff52842d22b.html

according to the industrial relations experts
the welfare of the majority overrides that of the individuals

Did this man just paraphrase Spock in smart?! :shock: