Chaguanas Pub in de mall in the 80s?

mikehende

Chaguanas Pub in de mall in the 80s?

Postby mikehende » June 28th, 2021, 1:54 pm

Fellas, in the 80s there was a Mall opposite the Market and in that mall there was a pub on the 2nd level, this pub had a U or horse-shoe shaped bar, anyone know of it and can remember the name of the pub?

Couple guys told me it was in either Center City or Mid Center Mall.

Re: Chaguanas Pub in de mall in the 80s?

Postby De Dragon » June 28th, 2021, 9:53 pm

mikehende wrote:Fellas, in the 80s there was a Mall opposite the Market and in that mall there was a pub on the 2nd level, this pub had a U or horse-shoe shaped bar, anyone know of it and can remember the name of the pub?

Couple guys told me it was in either Center City or Mid Center Mall.

Tunnel?

Postby Gem_in_i » June 28th, 2021, 10:02 pm

I thought Tunnel too. But Tunnel wasn't on a 2nd floor.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 28th, 2021, 10:10 pm

Tunnel was in Center Pointe Mall or Ramsaran Plaza as it was called back then.

The horseshoe shaped bar was upstairs Center City Mall but I can't remember the name, I was in early secondary school I think.

Postby timelapse » June 29th, 2021, 6:57 am

Paging Rovin

Postby timelapse » June 29th, 2021, 7:14 am

Upstairs Center Pointe was Hi RPM.Mall was known as Ramsaran Plaza back then.But it kinda far from where the market was.
That would have been Center City Mall

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 29th, 2021, 8:07 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:The horseshoe shaped bar was upstairs Center City Mall but I can't remember the name, I was in early secondary school I think.

Thanks for clarifying, reason I'm looking into this is because that pub had the best sounding indoor DJ system I had ever heard back then so hoping to find someone who might be able to give me some details on it.

I used to go to that pub to hangout while waiting on "Bees" to make my tapes.

BTW guys, wasn't Hi-RPM a pub in Gulf City in Sando?

Postby Gem_in_i » June 29th, 2021, 8:11 am

Yes, in Gulf City had Hi-RPM

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 29th, 2021, 9:16 am

timelapse wrote:Paging Rovin

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2021, 11:28 am

timelapse wrote:Paging Rovin

Wondering myself how he hasn't chimed in here as yet lol

abbow

Postby abbow » June 29th, 2021, 11:31 am

passed him on the market road asking for Horse shoe pub....

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 29th, 2021, 11:58 am

lol good one. Wonder what Bees is doing these days? He might remember.

Postby Rovin » June 29th, 2021, 12:04 pm

i now seeing this thread .. i used to get my rock\metal tapes from by Bee's though my regular music tapes i used to get from Robbie since his bro & my bro were friends, his store was 2 buildings away from bees then later on he moved into 2001 plaza . Both have gone out of business since nobody really buys music cds or get cds made anymore , opposite hilo there is a pub called Bees hideawy so i suspect it might be owned by bees

even though i live in chaguanas all my life i was never one for bar\clubs\rumshops - that scene never appealed to me, even though i dont part take or even went in i probably know where all of them are

from what he saying opposite d market, well center point [or like an ole timer already said above it was also called Ramsaran mall] & mid center mall both far from d market so thats out

center city is a little way off from d market, 2001 Plaza cud be it or though not a mall & is not directly opp d market : iirc upstairs Jubille cinema had a bar too ...
Last edited by Rovin on June 29th, 2021, 12:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » June 29th, 2021, 12:08 pm

Duane, you not old enough to know the place?

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 29th, 2021, 12:09 pm

I can't remember how far on the opposite side of the market that mall was. I will check around to see if I might get a contact info for bees.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2021, 12:13 pm

timelapse wrote:Duane, you not old enough to know the place?

What kinda loaded question is this? lol
I know of Tunnel but never went - never really lime in Chaguanas in those days

Postby Rovin » June 29th, 2021, 12:14 pm

allyuh tryna make out duane :lol: , iirc duane said he originally from south then later on in he older yrs :poke: moved into central

OP : if d bar was inside center city then for sure u wud recall having to walk at least 200-300 ft from d main road to get into d mall's entrance ...
Last edited by Rovin on June 29th, 2021, 12:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Dave » June 29th, 2021, 12:15 pm

All the rock injun limed chag

Postby Rovin » June 29th, 2021, 12:17 pm

rock n metal was d IN thing in those times especially with all d injun population in central ...

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 29th, 2021, 12:19 pm

Yes, that is correct, Bees was almost totally Rock in that time but Rock was the trend in the early 80s all over

Postby Rovin » June 29th, 2021, 12:23 pm

up to mid 90s rock & metal was in then music morphed into what ppl started to call alternative & grunge ...

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » June 29th, 2021, 12:27 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Tunnel was in Center Pointe Mall or Ramsaran Plaza as it was called back then.

The horseshoe shaped bar was upstairs Center City Mall but I can't remember the name, I was in early secondary school I think.

Paradise Pub

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 29th, 2021, 12:30 pm

COOL! One step closer now to finding out about the system used in that Pub, thanks!!

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 29th, 2021, 1:08 pm

mrtrini45 wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:Tunnel was in Center Pointe Mall or Ramsaran Plaza as it was called back then.

Paradise Pub

That's the ting self. Used to be in Bees a lot when they were opposite Center City Mall as I knew the people upstairs owning the building.

Muktiram...name still cracks me up.

Also used to be in the Arcade in Francis Plaza I think...owned/run by Rovin?

Postby timelapse » June 29th, 2021, 1:32 pm

Playmax was Rovin?

Postby Rovin » June 29th, 2021, 1:52 pm

^ na , playmax was in 2001 plaza , used to go there in my teens , there was another arcade at that time too upstairs center city which used to smell like ah dutty old socks like they never aired out d place

PLAYERS ARCADE was mine 2001/2-2012 , was upstairs next door to west of francis plaza .... i used to sell video games stuff at that location then 15yrs ago i also gradually started selling car audio stuff until i went into that fully ...

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 29th, 2021, 3:25 pm

I used to go playmax in the late 90's til a clip of wotless fucktards tried to jack me for my reeboks a saturday morning.
I run like a lil beyotch because I was alone.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 29th, 2021, 3:28 pm

Dave wrote:All the rock injun limed chag

RIOT!!!

Postby timelapse » June 29th, 2021, 3:39 pm

All de rock injun limed/still lime park place

Postby Rovin » June 29th, 2021, 6:11 pm

all arcades wud have some grimy fellers especially town & south, from d kind that want to hustle u ah dollar by d entrance or inside d place , to d kinds that always wanted a rounds of ur game to play , to help u win a game, or a begging for a coin, or d kind of loafer inside hustling $, coins or a rounds liming for hrs like that, then u have 1 or 2 bullies who do all of d above

i never went arcades when i young for those same reasons , i waited till i grew up\ had a lil size, never dressed fancy nor never had much $ on me, kept to myself so nobody really harassed me

luckily by my place had very little of that just normal working youths\guys who came by for a lil after work games stress relief ...