Chaguanas Pub in de mall in the 80s?

Re: Chaguanas Pub in de mall in the 80s?

Postby De Dragon » July 5th, 2021, 4:23 pm

Soul Collector wrote:
Dave wrote:From day one that place was sketchy.

It really was. Always had an off putting vibe to the entire place. Like people were murdered there or something :|

Matter of fact, anywhere in Curepe sketchy, especially after hours lol

What was the name of the bar on Curepe junction where the cross dressers used to lime after hours and it never seemed to close?

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » July 6th, 2021, 12:37 am

june 2 bar

Postby MaxPower » July 6th, 2021, 6:44 am

Soul Collector wrote:

It really was. Always had an off putting vibe to the entire place. Like people were murdered there or something :|

Na man,

Allyuh fellas set foot in that bar late.

Sketchy was Leadership club on the main road, i think it was upstairs Royal Castle at the time.

Never liked there and Bobby’s Bar.

Postby timelapse » July 6th, 2021, 7:12 am

Leadership aka Club Bounce aka Red Spot.That place gives me the creeps
Soul Collector wrote:

Na man,

Sketchy was Leadership club on the main road, i think it was upstairs Royal Castle at the time.

Postby Dave » July 6th, 2021, 7:21 am

I was there for the opening and literally lived around the corner.
Soul Collector wrote:

Na man,

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 6th, 2021, 11:57 am

Soul Collector wrote:

What was the name of the bar on Curepe junction where the cross dressers used to lime after hours and it never seemed to close?

No idea tbh. I didn't know they had a special one. I used to see enough big black strapping hardback man in tiny leather skirt warring with each other near/on my street.

^^And yall fellas good oui, I living Curepe almost all my life and once I liming - I heading outside, anywhere outside Curepe.

Postby De Dragon » July 6th, 2021, 2:55 pm

Soul Collector wrote:

Na man,

Which Bobby's Bar ?

Postby SR » July 6th, 2021, 7:12 pm

Which club had the full bose system......

Postby MaxPower » July 6th, 2021, 7:34 pm

De Dragon wrote:Which Bobby's Bar ?

Last bar on the right heading to the main road.

I think just opposite Sauce.

Postby MaxPower » July 6th, 2021, 7:40 pm

Dave wrote:I was there for the opening and literally lived around the corner

Or, daz Mc Inroy then.

By smartman Dinesh by Baseline Audio lol

Postby MaxPower » July 6th, 2021, 7:41 pm

timelapse wrote:Leadership aka Club Bounce aka Red Spot.That place gives me the creeps

Yeh boi….find yourself roaming after hours there and you sure to get in trouble.

Postby Dave » July 6th, 2021, 9:20 pm

Not quite but close enough

Or, daz Mc Inroy then.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » July 7th, 2021, 12:48 pm

So I guess no one remembers Stephen's (2000s) ?

If I'm bringing up Stephen's, I'm clearly not a limer like some of the veterans on this thread, but I can concur with the sleaziness of La luna, and the weirdness of curepe in general at that time. Wave in Maraval was nice from time to time.

Postby Rovin » July 7th, 2021, 1:12 pm

i used to go stephens pool place [for those who dont know : upstairs pennywise plaza] , d only non-alco non smoking pool place i know of at least in central & their music was present day good clean pop, light rock\alternative, played at a reasonable listenable level not blasting in u ears, no guntas no dotish gunta music, decent young ppl crowd in a brightly lit environment

i guess it was hard for them to pay bills & make a profit for this kind of vibe in trinidad where d norm is rum drinking, chutney\gunta music blasting , smoking, dark shady scene

they end up moving to Eleanor street upstairs to where Coby ole ppl bar was up to a few yrs ago & they didnt last long there .... good concept but hard to make it with typical trini culture ...

abbow

Postby abbow » July 7th, 2021, 1:15 pm

Rovin wrote:i used to go stephens pool place [for those who dont know : upstairs pennywise plaza] , d only non-alco non smoking pool place i know of at least in central & their music was present day good clean pop, light rock\alternative, played at a reasonable listenable level not blasting in u ears, no guntas no dotish gunta music, decent young ppl crowd in a brightly lit environment

i guess it was hard for them to pay bills & make a profit for this kind of vibe in trinidad where d norm is rum drinking, chutney\gunta music blasting , smoking, dark shady scene

they end up moving to Eleanor street upstairs to where Coby ole ppl bar was up to a few yrs ago & they didnt last long there .... good concept but hard to make it with typical trini culture ...

I was now gonna ask if it was upstairs Pennywise.. Been there a couple of times. I think it was owned/operated by a pastor or his kids.

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » July 7th, 2021, 1:22 pm

Max yuh kno to much for someone who not livin Curepe

Or, daz Mc Inroy then.

Postby Rovin » July 7th, 2021, 1:32 pm

Strokers on Ramsarna street upstairs next door to inland revenue was d opposite of stephens , how long they there about 12+yrs going i guessing ?

full bar who those who like to drink, inside d place was decent but oh gorm obnoxious dotish gaza\gully\gunta & chutney "music
' bussin yuh ears - i actually wore ear plugs when i went with friends - ppl watched me funny but my ears protected, dim lit place, smoking allowed, didnt really have guntas but mostly ah setta indian in their youths or late 20s

environment here will suit most typical trinis , they had decent music in d earlies but after a while obnoxious blasting music & way it sounds is why i stopped going ...

Postby timelapse » July 7th, 2021, 2:25 pm

I used to lime in Stephens and Side Pockets (upstairs Park Place)
Imo Stephens was a training ground for convent girls to develop their narcissism

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » July 8th, 2021, 11:23 pm

Base had the most bass. Zen had excellent setup. Club liquid had an impressive sound system and was my personal fave. Liquid started to pull a lot of crowd from plenty other spots.

Postby MaxPower » July 9th, 2021, 3:01 am

mragoobir wrote:Max yuh kno to much for someone who not livin Curepe

Or, daz Mc Inroy then.

Haha yeh boi.

Most of my friends at that time were from that area.

Had to leave early from most limes to catch the maxi lol.

Anyone know if UWI still has the bar in the middle?

Not the piss stenched Gate Boys bar.

Postby timelapse » July 9th, 2021, 9:33 am

Infinity close down over a decade ago.Last time I lime there was after playing guitar in JFK for a Divali program

Postby gt4tified » July 23rd, 2021, 2:02 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:Base had the most bass. Zen had excellent setup. Club liquid had an impressive sound system and was my personal fave. Liquid started to pull a lot of crowd from plenty other spots.

Aah boy, another believer!

Postby gt4tified » July 23rd, 2021, 2:03 pm

SR wrote:Which club had the full bose system......

I heard there was one, but never knew where. Unless you count UWI SPEC...that was a club of a different sort.

Postby timelapse » July 23rd, 2021, 2:54 pm

Bose highly overrated IMO.But I prefer studio quality music so my listening is a bit skewed

Postby SR » July 25th, 2021, 7:07 pm

1st system the club in valpark had was a bose setup but the open dome was wreaking havoc on the acoustics as well as once the place got packed it also changed the acoustics.

Sounded fantastic with a small crowd

Postby De Dragon » July 29th, 2021, 12:34 am

De Dragon wrote:Which Bobby's Bar ?

Last bar on the right heading to the main road.

I think just opposite Sauce.

Speaking of bars named Bobby's there was a bar in Crystal Stream named Bobby's which used to get a case or two of the new beers that distributors wanted to sell here in T&T. I had my first Molsen, Stella, and Grolsch there.