Chaguanas Pub in de mall in the 80s?

Re: Chaguanas Pub in de mall in the 80s?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2021, 7:02 pm

Rovin wrote:allyuh tryna make out duane :lol: , iirc duane said he originally from south then later on in he older yrs :poke: moved into central.

LOL correct
I know HiRPM, Gallery, Caberet etc

Postby SR » June 29th, 2021, 8:07 pm

Backstage??

Postby Dave » June 29th, 2021, 8:08 pm

And celebs!

Postby De Dragon » June 29th, 2021, 9:47 pm

SR wrote:Backstage??

De man say no hawk and spit :lol:

Postby timelapse » June 30th, 2021, 4:34 pm

Op unless you have a room with the exact same dimensions and objects in it, it is not going to sound exactly the same.Acoustics are a tricky thing, standing waves,absorbtion, reflection etc.The same sound system can sound completely different in another room.

Postby gt4tified » July 3rd, 2021, 1:16 am

This ched bringing back level memories (and feels). LOL

What was the best sound system you guys every heard in a T'dad nightclub? I heard lots of people say Zen, but the one and only time I went there I was too drunk to take note. For me, it was Club Liquid (Maritime Plaza)...not sure how many remember there, especially since it wasn't around for too long (Ish Galbaransingh - need I say more?).

Postby timelapse » July 3rd, 2021, 4:33 pm

Club India, but that's in the last decade
gt4tified wrote:This ched bringing back level memories (and feels). LOL

What was the best sound system you guys every heard in a T'dad nightclub? I heard lots of people say Zen, but the one and only time I went there I was too drunk to take note. For me, it was Club Liquid (Maritime Plaza)...not sure how many remember there, especially since it wasn't around for too long (Ish Galbaransingh - need I say more?).

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 3rd, 2021, 4:49 pm

gt4tified wrote:This ched bringing back level memories (and feels). LOL

Zen definitely had one of the best around. I ain't no audiophile but in terms of loudness and clarity, Zen was banging on all levels and I never once felt like my ears were being fatigued. My chest probably, from all d fookin bass lol. Never went to a lot of those spots that were mentioned before tho.

The place from Piarco Plaza...I actually forgot the club (its no longer there), supposedly had a system that was designed by some fellow from NASA and probably the only set up like it in the caribbean worth big $. I was there once and it sounded okay, but maybe in a different room like timelapse was saying, it coulda really open up and have better acoustics. The fact that it was plenty sheit music playing didn't help either.

Postby SR » July 3rd, 2021, 8:53 pm

Zen system sounded fantastic when they first opened. It slowly degenerated when guest djs started making adjustments as they were tone deaf

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2021, 9:12 pm

too bad few djs are really interested in the music sound anymore
most spend more time trying to hype the crowd

SR wrote:Zen system sounded fantastic when they first opened. It slowly degenerated when guest djs started making adjustments as they were tone deaf

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 3rd, 2021, 9:47 pm

Maybe I was too young and too drunk, but O Brien's Beer Garden in GB had an epic system for their Friday night bram.
Pier 1 was pretty good for an outdoor setup.

Postby timelapse » July 4th, 2021, 7:21 am

And talk though their entire set.That does real annoy me.Good music and DJ braying a set of random nonsense
pugboy wrote:too bad few djs are really interested in the music sound anymore

SR wrote:Zen system sounded fantastic when they first opened. It slowly degenerated when guest djs started making adjustments as they were tone deaf

Postby pugboy » July 4th, 2021, 7:41 am

that’s actually a career now for the hype men
imagine paying a man to bump his gum

timelapse wrote:And talk though their entire set.That does real annoy me.Good music and DJ braying a set of random nonsense
pugboy wrote:too bad few djs are really interested in the music sound anymore

Postby MaxPower » July 4th, 2021, 7:55 am

I was in my prime in places like:

Race Rock
Amazon
Beer Gardens
High RPM
Club Coconuts
Base
Anchorage Pop Rock
Pier 1 Friday
Club 182
La Luna Azul
Gran C
Strokers
Wave
Etc

Best times before they got runned down.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 4th, 2021, 8:09 am

MaxPower wrote:I was in my prime in places like:

Race Rock
Amazon
Beer Gardens
High RPM
Club Coconuts
Base
Anchorage Pop Rock
Pier 1 Friday
Club 182
La Luna Azul
Gran C
Strokers
Wave
Etc

There was a gay club on the Avenue, what was the name ? You left out that and Kokopelli where all the Spanish so.

Postby Dave » July 4th, 2021, 8:42 am

La Luna was ever good?

Postby MaxPower » July 4th, 2021, 9:43 am

sam1978 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:I was in my prime in places like:

Race Rock
Amazon
Beer Gardens
High RPM
Club Coconuts
Base
Anchorage Pop Rock
Pier 1 Friday
Club 182
La Luna Azul
Gran C
Strokers
Wave
Etc

There was a gay club on the Avenue, what was the name ? You left out that and Kokopelli where all the Spanish so.

Sky i think it was?

Never liked Kokopelli and well it have way too much Spanish there and i don’t like their vibe.

Postby MaxPower » July 4th, 2021, 9:45 am

Dave wrote:La Luna was ever good?

Hello Dave,

For a very short period yes.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 4th, 2021, 1:15 pm

Dave wrote:La Luna was ever good?

All I remember of that place is ending up there during school days to eat grilled cheese sandwiches, drink rum, play pool/cards and come out smelling like ya fall down a chimney. Never really venture there in the night time tho.

Postby Dave » July 4th, 2021, 1:42 pm

From day one that place was sketchy.

Postby Rovin » July 4th, 2021, 1:57 pm

which 1 of u chaguanas limers used to go MYSTIC , iirc thats around late 90s to early 2000, located opposite d east side of center city

& i bet during last 15 yrs or so plenty of u used to go Josefs , they closed down about 4yrs now , thats right upstairs where my store has been for d past 8yrs ...

Postby timelapse » July 4th, 2021, 5:42 pm

How old are you max?we used to lime in the same places

Postby gt4tified » July 5th, 2021, 12:17 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Maybe I was too young and too drunk, but O Brien's Beer Garden in GB had an epic system for their Friday night bram.
Pier 1 was pretty good for an outdoor setup.

Yup. Full JBL system. I guest DJ’d there a couple times on a Sat. night.
Base up in Chaguaramas was pretty good too, for those who remember.
I remember when Celebs did over their system and flew KF850 tops. Was there the night with Lennox when we sound checked before opening, to Shadow’s Looking for Horn. To this day, I have never heard a system play that song as well as.

Chaguanas Pub in de mall in the 80s?

Postby MaxPower » July 5th, 2021, 6:48 am

timelapse wrote:How old are you max?we used to lime in the same places

Late late 30s bro..

I’m sure we lime already.

Postby timelapse » July 5th, 2021, 7:42 am

Same here, late 30s.I am definitely sure we ran with the same crowd.Where u from, north, central of south?

Late late 30s bro..

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 5th, 2021, 9:09 am

Rovin wrote:which 1 of u chaguanas limers used to go MYSTIC , iirc thats around late 90s to early 2000, located opposite d east side of center city

& i bet during last 15 yrs or so plenty of u used to go Josefs , they closed down about 4yrs now , thats right upstairs where my store has been for d past 8yrs ...

Never went to any club but I knew of all. Spent the whole 90s and 2000s going to school then working in chaguanas. Spent some time in SanDo when I went to SanDo Tech and met many south people for the first time.

Postby MaxPower » July 5th, 2021, 11:13 am

timelapse wrote:Same here, late 30s.I am definitely sure we ran with the same crowd.Where u from, north, central of south?

Late late 30s bro..

Born and grow up pon the southlands.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 5th, 2021, 1:02 pm

Dave wrote:From day one that place was sketchy.

It really was. Always had an off putting vibe to the entire place. Like people were murdered there or something :|

Matter of fact, anywhere in Curepe sketchy, especially after hours lol

abbow

Postby abbow » July 5th, 2021, 2:14 pm

Rovin wrote:which 1 of u chaguanas limers used to go MYSTIC , iirc thats around late 90s to early 2000, located opposite d east side of center city

use to lime in both...then flicking travel to south.
When i bought my first car....cut down liming about 80%

Postby X_Factor » July 5th, 2021, 3:10 pm

You forgot parrots and i think there was one called matrix in chaguanas