Unsolicited letters from Jehovah’s Witnesses

lssjr

Unsolicited letters from Jehovah’s Witnesses

Postby lssjr » June 24th, 2021, 1:27 pm

Has anyone in this forum received unsolicited and unrequested letter(s) and telephone calls, since the start of the pandemic, from Jehovah’s Witnesses here in Trinidad and Tobago?

If you are concerned about this invasive practice, you might be interested in joining the Facebook group below if you have been a victim of JW intrusive letters & behaviour during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Unsolicited JW Letters Trinidad & Tobago - https://www.facebook.com/groups/4313801555383589
Last edited by lssjr on June 24th, 2021, 4:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Unsolicited letters from Jehovah’s Witnesses

Postby timelapse » June 24th, 2021, 1:38 pm

Easy fix.Once you have their email address, submit it to the church of Satan's mailing list.

Postby Les Bain » June 24th, 2021, 1:41 pm

They were coming to my area less and less. Actually, months before the pandemic they had not been seen at all.

Also...isn't it simpler to just block their calls and throw their mail in the garbage like a normal person instead of joining a FB group to beyotch?

Postby j.o.e » June 24th, 2021, 1:47 pm

Les Bain wrote:They were coming to my area less and less. Actually, months before the pandemic they had not been seen at all.

Also...isn't it simpler to just block their calls and throw their mail in the garbage like a normal person instead of joining a FB group to beyotch?

Ent…. They just evolving because of pandemic. Door to door not allowed or not advised. You can come , call, mail whatever I’ll ignore you the same way very politely. Y’all make to much of a issue of little things.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 24th, 2021, 1:52 pm

You seem upset.
Just treat it as spam/junkmail and move on with your life.

Postby RedVEVO » June 24th, 2021, 1:53 pm

This group is for citizens of Trinidad and Tobago who have received either unsolicited and unrequested letter(s) and/or telephone calls from Jehovah's Witnesses and who have been victims of their intrusive behavior during the COVID-19 pandemic.

WARNING! THESE ACTIVITIES CAN GET YOU IMMEDIATELY BANNED FROM THIS GROUP!
Fighting, arguing, vulgar language, cursing
Blocking an admin or moderator
Advertising
Asking for personal information
Posting flirtatious selfies
No asking for dates or marriage mates with Venes
No asking members for money, Visas, airfare, etc. or Zoom
No posting in a language other than English.
No sexist or racist language.
No bullying and take bull

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 24th, 2021, 1:55 pm

Used to see them on the street sometimes before covid handing out Watchtower booklets. Just used to say thank you but I won't read them so it's best you hold onto it. That group probably was made by a Jehovah witness for all you know :|

lssjr

Postby lssjr » June 24th, 2021, 3:29 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:You seem upset.
Just treat it as spam/junkmail and move on with your life.

I don't think upset is the correct word to use.

Jehovah's Witnesses are obtaining your full government name and residential address from who knows where. Citizens are receiving letters at addresses barely known to anyone. This is a serious threat to one's personal information and safety.

I would advise anyone here to look at the comments posted under Kess Ramsey video https://www.facebook.com/itsjustkess/posts/344485673705685

If Jehovah's Witnesses can obtain the full name and address of any citizen, who else can???

Postby j.o.e » June 24th, 2021, 3:36 pm

Between the directory and voting list this isn’t really private info.

lssjr

Postby lssjr » June 24th, 2021, 3:43 pm

j.o.e wrote:Between the directory and voting list this isn’t really private info.

The last voting list I saw did not have your address.

Postby j.o.e » June 24th, 2021, 3:44 pm

The voting list certainly has your address. Trust me.

Postby gastly369 » June 24th, 2021, 3:45 pm

Had a nice mixed golden brown eye with those spring curls hair use to pass.... Eh see she longtime nah

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » June 24th, 2021, 3:46 pm

j.o.e wrote:The voting list certainly has your address. Trust me.

Yes it contains the name and address of everyone 18 and above in TnT.

Postby 88sins » June 24th, 2021, 3:51 pm

Jehovah's witness approaches me while I'm doing yard work
Jehovah's witness: I was wondering if I could have a moment of your time.
Me: My time is made up of a multitude of moments, and I sell my time iby the minute, and a rate of $50 per minute or part thereof, payable up front. How many minutes do you want?
Jehovah's witness: never mind, you seem to be busy
Me: yes I am. Where's my $50 for the time I used entertaining your desire for free handouts of my extremely valuable commodity?

For some reason unbeknownst to me, they never came back.
I not vex they never returned, but they still owing for the 27 seconds they used. So as far as I concerned whoever comes next hadda clear the arrears before we engage in dialogue again.

Postby aaron17 » June 24th, 2021, 3:59 pm

I got a handwritten letter....and they say they got my contact either the ebc or ph. book. Where they does get time to handwrite letters is beyond me.

Postby MaxPower » June 24th, 2021, 4:00 pm

I tell the JWs i do not discuss my faith and i am unable to accept any flyers.

Remember these are human beings and we have to treat them with respect even though they may come across as harassing or annoying to us.

lssjr

Postby lssjr » June 24th, 2021, 4:01 pm

Ryan197912 wrote:

When was this change made? Because the voting list I have is about 4 years old and it only has names (https://www.filemail.com/d/wsklgnkazrkyzsd)

Postby j.o.e » June 24th, 2021, 4:04 pm

lssjr wrote:
Ryan197912 wrote:

When was this change made? Because the voting list I have is about 4 years old and it only has names (https://www.filemail.com/d/wsklgnkazrkyzsd)

It was always with address. Didn’t check your link but what you have is most likely purged of addresses. Because for verification purposes a voting list without addresses is a waste.
If you ever voted throw your mind back to the list they use to scratch off in the polling both.

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » June 24th, 2021, 4:11 pm

I got 2 letters. My shredder ate them.

lssjr

Postby lssjr » June 24th, 2021, 4:13 pm

j.o.e wrote:
It was always with address. Didn’t check your link but what you have is most likely purged of addresses. Because for verification purposes a voting list without addresses is a waste.
If you ever voted throw your mind back to the list they use to scratch off in the polling both.

Please check out the link when you got some time.

lssjr

Postby lssjr » June 24th, 2021, 4:14 pm

SLVR1 wrote:I got 2 letters. My shredder ate them.

hahahahahahahahahaha

lssjr

Postby lssjr » June 24th, 2021, 4:31 pm

Les Bain wrote:They were coming to my area less and less. Actually, months before the pandemic they had not been seen at all.

I don't think that it is acceptable for any citizen to be receiving letters from strangers to whom citizens:
- have never given their home address to
- have never published their address to anyone, not even the bank or TSTT.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 24th, 2021, 4:46 pm

I got a handwritten letter from a JW about maybe 6-8 weeks ago.

When I saw a handwritten letter addressed to me in the mail for the first time in my life I was a bit taken aback, and then steupsing loudly when I opened it.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 24th, 2021, 5:00 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:I got a handwritten letter from a JW about maybe 6-8 weeks ago.

When I saw a handwritten letter addressed to me in the mail for the first time in my life I was a bit taken aback, and then steupsing loudly when I opened it.

Lmao :lol:

No secret admirer for you, only JW iymc :angel:

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 24th, 2021, 5:01 pm

You know JW has a networked community presence as well, right?

Chances are someone in your community who is a JW knows your name and obviously your house number and got the info through basic social engineering/low tech.

lssjr

Postby lssjr » June 24th, 2021, 5:05 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:You know JW has a networked community presence as well, right?

Chances are someone in your community who is a JW knows your name and obviously your house number and got the info through basic social engineering/low tech.

I don't think that it is acceptable for any citizen to be receiving letters from strangers to whom citizens:

Postby Redman » June 24th, 2021, 5:06 pm

88sins wrote:Jehovah's witness approaches me while I'm doing yard work
Jehovah's witness: I was wondering if I could have a moment of your time.
Me: My time is made up of a multitude of moments, and I sell my time iby the minute, and a rate of $50 per minute or part thereof, payable up front. How many minutes do you want?
Jehovah's witness: never mind, you seem to be busy
Me: yes I am. Where's my $50 for the time I used entertaining your desire for free handouts of my extremely valuable commodity?

For some reason unbeknownst to me, they never came back.
I not vex they never returned, but they still owing for the 27 seconds they used. So as far as I concerned whoever comes next hadda clear the arrears before we engage in dialogue again.

I used to have a pothong with a white eye in a black patch....that kept them off for 8 years.
Last edited by Redman on June 24th, 2021, 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 24th, 2021, 5:09 pm

lssjr wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:You know JW has a networked community presence as well, right?

How do you deal with spam and other unsolicited snail mail or flyers stuck in your mailbox?

lssjr

Postby lssjr » June 24th, 2021, 5:42 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
How do you deal with spam and other unsolicited snail mail or flyers stuck in your mailbox?

Do these flyers have your address on it? No

Do you receive these flyers in an envelope with paid postage? No

What right-minded person would give their address to some random stranger? Hardly likely.

I think you are missing the bigger picture - Jehovah’s Witnesses are systemically obtaining anyone's address and their full government name; storing this information somewhere; and sending random citizens religious letters. This is a serious security threat to one's personal information and safety. The same cannot be said about flyers randomly dropped in your mailbox.

If you want to condone what can be called "an invasion of one's privacy" and "forcing one's religion on others", that's on you. However, I would not stand twiddling my fingers and idly watch this from the sidelines.

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » June 24th, 2021, 6:41 pm

lssjr wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Do these flyers have your address on it? No

Do you receive these flyers in an envelope with paid postage? No

What right-minded person would give their address to some random stranger? Hardly likely.

I think you are missing the bigger picture - Jehovah’s Witnesses are systemically obtaining anyone's address and their full government name; storing this information somewhere; and sending random citizens religious letters. This is a serious security threat to one's personal information and safety. The same cannot be said about flyers randomly dropped in your mailbox.

If you want to condone what can be called "an invasion of one's privacy" and "forcing one's religion on others", that's on you. However, I would not stand twiddling my fingers and idly watch this from the sidelines.

"Forcing one's religion on others", you say.
I guess flyers for barbecue support, grocery specials are also forcing themselves upon you...lol.