New Windows 11

DMan7

New Windows 11

Postby DMan7 » June 24th, 2021, 11:50 am

Event just ended but for those of you who want a rundown of all the new features check out the youtube video below.

You will have to rewind it to view the event from the start. Pretty impressive and looks to be the best Windows to date.

Re: New Windows 11

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 24th, 2021, 12:22 pm

the centered task bar, rounded corners and transparencies look a lot like MacOS

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 24th, 2021, 12:24 pm

^The same thing I said when I tried it out. The UI looks very similar in nature to MacOS with also some sprinkle of Linux in there as well. Looks and runs really well so far.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 24th, 2021, 12:33 pm

The presenter seemed so excited

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 24th, 2021, 12:48 pm

to be honest, windows does always have a crappy OS everytime after they have a good OS

xp : epic
vista : toots
win 7: epic
win8: toots
win 10: epic
win 11: toots?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 24th, 2021, 12:48 pm

Looks decent but still no match for MacOS's efficiency, smoothness and looks. Good to see the improvement though.

Postby K74T » June 24th, 2021, 1:24 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:to be honest, windows does always have a crappy OS everytime they have a good OS

Lol spot on

Postby st7 » June 24th, 2021, 4:23 pm

i liked win 8 actually. the new start button layout worked well for me cuz it felt like it was a 2nd desktop when i needed to launch something.

not a fan of the task bar items being in the middle since i work with my task bar to the right of the screen, but i saw that you can revert to the normal layout

Postby timelapse » June 24th, 2021, 5:27 pm

Allyuh forget Windows ME

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 24th, 2021, 6:00 pm

timelapse wrote:Allyuh forget Windows ME

Windows 2000: epic
Windows Me: toots

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 24th, 2021, 6:28 pm

*Sees new Dave2D video*
*Instaclicks*

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 25th, 2021, 12:32 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:to be honest, windows does always have a crappy OS everytime after they have a good OS

MKBHD had the same thoughts! lol

Screenshot 2021-06-25 at 12.30.54 AM.jpg

Postby shogun » June 25th, 2021, 12:53 am

Looks aight, but real world use will be the decider.

brickman

Postby brickman » June 25th, 2021, 2:20 pm

The tpm 2.0 is a must & no 32bit option is already taking out lots of older pc users,already off to a bad start.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 25th, 2021, 3:16 pm

a new Windows. Yay. Can't wait for....

killercow

Postby killercow » June 25th, 2021, 6:56 pm

Given this:
ruffneck_12 wrote:to be honest, windows does always have a crappy OS everytime after they have a good OS

I expect plenty of this:

5bsod.jpeg

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 25th, 2021, 7:01 pm

killercow wrote:Given this:

I expect plenty of this:

5bsod.jpeg

And eventually...

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 25th, 2021, 7:03 pm

But... But I liked Vista . I didn't get problems with it...

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » June 26th, 2021, 2:11 pm

Is there barrier to upgrade - depending the age of your pc and HD encryption?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » June 28th, 2021, 6:19 pm

Yes. It seems If your Intel CPU older than 8 series, or you don't have a separate TPM module, fire for you.
You could always buy one and attach it to the motherboard only if it has a TPM header.
You also need to enable it in BIOS.

That is what I understand so far but could be wrong.

Use the Windows 11 tool to see if you qualify.
My 4 and 6 series intel says Nah.
Will try on a 9 and 11 later.

Tool to check
https://download.microsoft.com/download/1/d/d/1dd9969b-bc9a-41bc-8455-bc657c939b47/WindowsPCHealthCheckSetup.msi

Intel CPU list.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-hardware/design/minimum/supported/windows-11-supported-intel-processors

Postby stev » June 28th, 2021, 7:41 pm

brickman wrote:The tpm 2.0 is a must & no 32bit option is already taking out lots of older pc users,already off to a bad start.

TPM modules went from $25US to $99US in 12 hours...prices still going up :|

New Windows 11

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 28th, 2021, 7:41 pm

brickman wrote:The tpm 2.0 is a must & no 32bit option is already taking out lots of older pc users,already off to a bad start.

MacOS 11 went to total 64bit since their previous version (Big Sur) and ppl who used 32bit apps complained but eventually everyone complied. Might have ppl who have no choice.

Postby redmanjp » June 30th, 2021, 4:58 pm

https://www.pcworld.com/article/3622946/how-to-get-the-windows-11-beta.html?fbclid=IwAR1zpNZJeePrwKkSxwOHCIYeI99KO1wGKa0LRciu9U7LWtqC9xoBVa3zJU4

How to get the Windows 11 beta
Make sure your PC meets the minimum hardware specifications for Windows 11, and that you're part of the Windows Insider program.

Mark HachmanBy Mark Hachman
Senior Editor, PCWorld | JUN 28, 2021 10:59 AM PDT

Microsoft released the first build of Windows 11 on Monday. Here’s how to get it and try it out for yourself.

You’ll need two things: first, a PC that meets the minimum hardware specifications of Windows 11. Second, you’ll need to join the Windows Insider program so that your PC can receive the first beta or Windows Insider builds of Windows 11. While it’s possible that Microsoft will release a standalone .ISO file of Windows 11, those plans hadn’t been finalized as of Friday, when we asked.

We would very much encourage you to read our earlier story on the Windows 11 minimum hardware specifications, download Microsoft’s app, and check to see if your PC is eligible to upgrade to Windows 11. If it’s not, there’s one loophole that may see you through to Windows 11, which we’ll explain as part of our next section.

To try out Windows 11, join the Windows Insider program
Microsoft’s Windows Insider program is the beta program for its operating system. As an Insider, you have the opportunity to try out new code before everyone else does. As our Windows Insider introduction details, there are three channels of code: the Dev Channel, the Beta Channel, and the Release Preview Channel. The Dev Channel is the most “aggressive” channel: You’ll see the earliest, least-tested code first. If you choose the Dev Channel, you’ll download the first Windows 11 build, provided your PC’s hardware qualifies.

If you want to be the very first to try out the first official builds of Windows 11, you’ll need to be part of the Windows Insider Dev Channel. However, Windows 11 builds will also be accessible from the Beta Channel and eventually the most conservative Release Preview Channel, which publishes largely finished code. You’ll just have to wait longer than if you were part of the Dev Channel.

Our how-to story describes how to join the Windows Insider program, but it’s simple: You can join by accessing the Settings menu within your PC, and proceeding from there.

If your PC meets the Windows 11 minimum hardware specifications, you’ll be eligible to choose all three channels. (If you choose Release Preview, you’ll be offered the choice between Windows 10 and Windows 11 code at a later date.) If your PC does not meet the Windows 11 hardware specifications, you’ll be bumped to the Release Preview channel and offered Windows 10 code only.

There’s one exception, which Microsoft will offer as a bonus. If you’ve been part of the Windows 10 Insider Program on the Dev Channel, and your PC does not meet the Windows 11 minimum hardware specifications, you’ll be allowed to receive Windows 11 builds.

“Insiders with PCs already in the Dev Channel have been installing and giving feedback on builds with Windows 11 features since last year,” Amanda Langowski and Brandon LeBlanc, the heads of the Windows Insider program, wrote on June 24. “Our way of saying thanks is to go ahead and give them the opportunity to see everything come together.”

In this case, Microsoft is acting like a cool grandparent, allowing kids to sneak a cookie from the Windows 11 cookie jar. But Microsoft’s blog post also says that if something goes wrong, you’ll be forced to use Microsoft’s media creation tool to go back to Windows 10, and your PC will be ineligible from trying out future Windows 11 builds.

How to get the first Windows 11 Insider build
Once your PC is configured as part of the Windows Insider program, you’ll probably want to manually “seek” out new builds to receive the first Insider build of Windows 11. Go to Settings > Updates & Security > Windows Update and click the button marked Check for Updates.

If you see that a file marked “Windows 11 Insider Preview 10.0.22000.51 (co_release)" has begun downloading, good news! The first build of Windows 11 is heading to your PC. After it downloads and installs, reboot your PC when prompted to begin the Windows 11 installation process.

For more, see our Windows 11 superguide for more tips and news.

Note: When you purchase something after clicking links in our articles, we may earn a small commission. Read our affiliate link policy for more details.

Postby st7 » July 1st, 2021, 2:51 am

i really dig that Widgets overlay window you get when you swipe from the side of the screen.

does anyone know where i can get something similar as that for the time being? i want to use it as a task list so i can quickly view items and move them from pending to ongoing to completed. then just make it disappear without having another program open on the task bar.

if not, i'll have to google sometime

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » July 1st, 2021, 6:13 am

Running dev channel build a couple days now on my main gaming machine, runs perfectly. I'm not surprised since it's essentially w10 with a bit of fresh paint. I didn't think Windows 10 needed a face-lift and I still don't, but admittedly it looks prettier and I like it. There will be a bit of a learning curve for folks who have a tenuous grasp on computer literacy.

Postby sMASH » July 1st, 2021, 7:36 am

viedcht wrote:But... But I liked Vista . I didn't get problems with it...

:shock: neither did i.

once i coudl get device manager, disk manger and the start menu is like xp, they could d what ever asthetic they want.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 1st, 2021, 1:14 pm

I honestly didn't know what a TPM was so just in case anyone else in that same boat, this was a nice informative vid.

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » July 7th, 2021, 7:21 am

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/microsoft/how-to-bypass-the-windows-11-tpm-20-requirement/

How to bypass the TPM requirement in Windows 11
If you are attempting to install Windows 11 and receive a message stating, "This PC can't run Windows 11," it is likely that you do not have a TPM 2.0 installed or enabled.

The good news is that Microsoft includes a new 'LabConfig' registry key that allows you to configure settings to bypass the TPM 2.0, the 4GB memory, and Secure Boot requirements.

Based on the name of this registry key, it is likely used by Microsoft or OEMs to set up a "lab" environment to test the Windows 11 on older equipment or when testing new features.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » July 7th, 2021, 8:31 am

Makes no sense buying overpriced TPU modules.
Might as well just buy a new board/cpu.

Windows 10 does everything I currently need to use it for, so I will not be in a hurry for no Windows 11.
Even Windows 7 was good enough for me until the software I use, started prioritizing the Win10 versions.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 3rd, 2021, 8:08 pm

Allya ready for Tuesday when this drops? Who going to be upgrading it one time? It's a free upgrade for those who already have a genuine copy of Windows 10.

Also click the link below to see if your PC is compatible for Windows 11.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows ... ealthcheck