Dr. Winsford "Joker" Devine Died This Morning

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2021, 2:41 pm

Crazy put out a notice this morning. He died from what seems to be a heart attack.

Songwriter Winsford “Joker” Devine has died. Devine is known for crafting some of TT’s well-known calypsoes including Sparrow’s Marajhin, Saltfish, Phillip My Dear, Baron’s Feeling It and King Austin’s Progress.

The Trinbago Unified Calypsonians’ Organisation (TUCO) issued a release on Tuesday saying Devine died. It added that he composed more than 500 calypsoes during a career that spanned over 40 years.

Devine’s Facebook page says he died on Tuesday and tributes by many members of the calypso fraternity were being posted to his page.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/06/22/songwr ... ne-passes/

Re: Dr. Winsford "Joker" Devine Died This Morning

Postby pugboy » June 22nd, 2021, 2:46 pm

i never knew he had such a wide range of hits
stuff like curry tabanca

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 22nd, 2021, 2:52 pm

damn RIP

Anyone have a list of songs he did?

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2021, 4:14 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:damn RIP

Anyone have a list of songs he did?

Check Sparrow. He, eerrmmm, "took" the most songs from Joker.

Postby Rovin » June 22nd, 2021, 7:32 pm

not much of a calypso fan but i know of & like some of d songs i see listed that he composed

ppl often say this is 1 of d best ever local calypso ever written & i agree its very good ... R.I.P to a master songwriter

Postby pugboy » June 22nd, 2021, 8:12 pm

way ahead of his time by 30 years or more