J’Ouvert Rum Angers Trini

Re: J’Ouvert Rum Angers Trini

Postby MaxPower » June 21st, 2021, 2:25 pm

Still trying to find out why it matters if Trinis get angry over something especially these petty matters.

Let’s talk about corruption, crime and littering.

Those are things to get angry about.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 21st, 2021, 3:44 pm

But syrians could own and sell a beer called "carib"?

Postby Les Bain » June 21st, 2021, 4:00 pm

MaxPower wrote:Still trying to find out why it matters if Trinis get angry over something especially these petty matters.

Let’s talk about corruption, crime and littering.

Those are things to get angry about.

You seem unfamiliar with Twitter so I'll help you with 3 descriptions: opinionated, insufferable, impotent.

Postby Rovin » June 21st, 2021, 7:01 pm

but who say T&T or d caribbean owes rights to d word j'ouvert

d trinis who beatin up over this shud get a life & find something more productive to do with their time ...

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 21st, 2021, 7:13 pm

Rovin wrote:but who say T&T or d caribbean owes rights to d word j'ouvert

d trinis who beatin up over this shud get a life & find something more productive to do with their time ...

Using the logic of cultural appropriation, they vex that someone stole the culture that they stole from the French.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 21st, 2021, 7:52 pm

Here's the plan right fellas.

We gonna let MBJ run with he rum, it's free PR for TnT
We gonna get our name into the ether.
We gonna market other products we produce, artisan chocolates/local delicacies/alcohols/MUSIC etc.

then all of a sudden BOOM, forex.

(give me 1% commissions for my genius please)

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 21st, 2021, 8:06 pm

Some ah dem ting already here... And what if the publicity can't coax the appeal?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 22nd, 2021, 9:20 am

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 22nd, 2021, 11:14 am

It seems some persons can only feel relevant if they are offended so they are ready to be illogical and be offended at anything. Imagine if he was Caucasian.

I cannot understand why the name of the product is an issue.

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2021, 11:18 am

Redress10 wrote:But syrians could own and sell a beer called "carib"?

That was so long before the 1% bought it over in 1986. Carib was launched in 1950. Ah, yes. It was such an exciting time.

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2021, 11:18 am

So who going and trademark "doubles"?

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 22nd, 2021, 11:27 am

bluefete wrote:So who going and trademark "doubles"?

What's the issue?

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2021, 11:28 am

Wraith King wrote:

What's the issue?

That is why Jordan did what he did.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 22nd, 2021, 11:41 am

bluefete wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

What's the issue?

Specify what issues you have with the name of his rum.

Postby MaxPower » June 22nd, 2021, 11:43 am

Rovin wrote:but who say T&T or d caribbean owes rights to d word j'ouvert

Postby pugboy » June 22nd, 2021, 11:53 am

maybe the french might have more rights to that word

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 22nd, 2021, 11:54 am

pugboy wrote:maybe the french might have more rights to that word

Maybe? They do.

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2021, 11:55 am

Wraith King wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

What's the issue?

I never wrote that I had an issue with his rum.

I looked beyond that and asked a simple question.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 22nd, 2021, 11:59 am

bluefete wrote:
Wraith King wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

What's the issue?

I never wrote that I had an issue with his rum.

I looked beyond that and asked a simple question.

What point are you trying to make?

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2021, 12:00 pm

When you figure it out, let me know.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 22nd, 2021, 12:05 pm

bluefete wrote:When you figure it out, let me know.

I don't see any issue with the trademark and I'm unable to read minds. So I asked because if you don't say I wouldn't know what is your point and maybe it's something I failed to see.

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2021, 12:10 pm

Wraith King wrote:

I don't see any issue with the trademark and I'm unable to read minds. So I asked because if you don't say I wouldn't know what is your point and maybe it's something I failed to see.

Okay. We do not understand how copyright and trademarks work.

If you trademark/copyright in T&T, it is for T&T alone, not any other country. You have to trademark/copyright on an individual country by country basis. It can be quite expensive.

So strategically thinking people will look to trademark/copyright in the bigger markets for extra protection.

Now, if we had decent people in government over the years, they would have done like Japan did and pass lawas that check-mated Kim Kardashian. Go do some research on that one.

But kiss meh tail oil and gas is all we know about.

Now -who is going to trademark "doubles"?

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 22nd, 2021, 12:25 pm

bluefete wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

If you trademark/copyright in T&T, it is for T&T alone, not any other country. You have to trademark/copyright on an individual country by country basis. It can be quite expensive.

So strategically thinking people will look to trademark/copyright in the bigger markets for extra protection.

Now, if we had decent people in government over the years, they would have done like Japan did and pass lawas that check-mated Kim Kardashian. Go do some research on that one.

Thank you for clarifying.

Postby timelapse » June 22nd, 2021, 12:34 pm

Steel pan already trademark in the US.No big

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2021, 12:40 pm

Wraith King wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

Thank you for clarifying.

Most welcome.

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2021, 12:44 pm

timelapse wrote:Steel pan already trademark in the US.No big

Do you know the story behind that?

2 Yankees realized the pan was not trademarked / patented in the USA and decided to make a play.

The Manning administration almost had a heart attack when they heard about it and went into full overdrive mode to overturn it. They had to build a case to show the pan originated from T&T and fortunately they GT.

Now, this comes back to my point about how dotish our leaders are.

Pan was in existence for almost 60 years when that happened.

We did not learn anything from the Rum and Coca Cola fiasco in the 1940's.

Time to teach some real history in school.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 22nd, 2021, 1:00 pm

Trademark is a form of protection for your brand. It isn't meant to exclude anyone etc.

Basically if you don't trademark then someone can offer an exact replica of your product and then turn around and sue you for infringement if they trademark it instead.

So ppl trademark every business they do for protection. It isn't malicious.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 22nd, 2021, 1:05 pm

Culture is nice and stuff but I don't identify myself based on it. Hence as long as something is not restricting me and/or others from partaking in it, I don't have an issue.

Not trying to minimise how others feel. Others can feel strongly about something but I will have my personal view.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 22nd, 2021, 1:43 pm

bluefete wrote:

2 Yankees realized the pan was not trademarked / patented in the USA and decided to make a play.

The Manning administration almost had a heart attack when they heard about it and went into full overdrive mode to overturn it. They had to build a case to show the pan originated from T&T and fortunately they GT.

bluefete, I remember that pan fiasco and we were lucky to get a hold back on it. Real shameful as a country yes. As you brought up the steel pan it reminded me of a local who went on to digitize it for more widespread use by producers to breathe some new life into the instrument.

"For example, Savannah Grass by Kes the Band and Iron Love by Nailah Blackman used iron and drumming elements from the Laventille Rhythm Section sample pack. The steelpan-oriented software is also popular with international producers especially in the UK, US, Europe, Asia and Japan." ...

"Chuckaree recalled hearing his music on popular radio stations and played in J'Ouvert bands. “It was great to see pan being re-accepted and seen in a different light, and embraced by everyone... A lot of younger people don’t really accept pan as something you could jump-up or party to. They fit pan into a box, it’s traditional so we like it but won’t party to it. So it was nice to bridge the connection with the traditional instrument.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/02/28/steelp ... gital-age/

As for this rum business - I haven't read up on how the idea came about or his vision for the business so I can't speak to what he's actually trying to accomplish here, other than obviously making money. Man trying ah thing, good on him. Twitter is a shithole btw, all they do there is beat up about one setta woke nonsense feeling they can twist everyone and everything to suit their narrow agenda.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 22nd, 2021, 1:51 pm

bluefete wrote:

As far as I am aware there is no patent on the steel pan. What GORTT paid for were patents on the PHI Pan and the G Pan.

The Americans had a patent on the process of manufacturing steel pans using a mechanised process as opposed to the Trini way of hand made.

But the traditional pan no.