Any DJ's here from the 80s?

mikehende

Any DJ's here from the 80s?

Postby mikehende » June 14th, 2021, 4:16 pm

I want to try to rig my system to try to get a similar sound and setup like the 80s DJ's. if you can tell me what equipment you had and how it was configured would be nice. I especially would like to know how your system was configured if you had used large horns back then and/or tweeter racks?

Re: Any DJ's here from the 80s?

Postby bluefete » June 14th, 2021, 4:20 pm

You have vinyl?

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 14th, 2021, 4:25 pm

Yes but I run mp3's and sometimes tapes from the 80s. Just trying to know how the DJ's wired their systems back then 2, 3, 4-way? Did they use electronic crossovers or only multiple eq's for bass, mids and highs e.t.c?

Postby bluefete » June 14th, 2021, 4:31 pm

No vinyl so the sound would never be the same. Cassette tapes would come close.

However, set up was Technic 7 band; multiple eq's.

But I was a novice.

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 14th, 2021, 4:38 pm

Thx. Of course that's perfectly understood on the sound part. Bud of mine who used to setup DJ systems back then said crossovers limits the sound of the different bands [bass, mids, highs] and this is also what I am thinking too so the multiple eq's should be something I can try instead of going 3 way through the crossover.

I am also trying to find out how they configured the mid woofers and horns or tweeter racks back then.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 15th, 2021, 1:33 pm

Piezos, lots and lots of piezos

80s sound systems weren't all that great bud. Esp compared to the strides we've made in technology since then

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 15th, 2021, 1:37 pm

So basically it was subs, woofers for Mids and racks of piezo for highs? If yes this means they would have used 3 EQ's and run a tri-amp system?

Postby timelapse » June 15th, 2021, 1:58 pm

Easier option, use a receiver.Some come 5 & 6 channel
Other than that was passive crossovers and enclosure design were also a thing to factor in.
I remember my DJ uncle stiffening mids cones with paint.There were lots of different things that people did.A DJ scoop with a 15" or 18" is essential for an old school setup

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 15th, 2021, 2:20 pm

I see, makes sense. I had seen a couple smaller DJ's back then who would have a simple one big cab with two 18"s and only either a wide horn or rack of tweeters [NO mids woofers]. Or, maybe they used one 18 and smaller Mid woofer in the big box with tweeter rack or horn on top of the big box but all done with a passive crossover.

I am guessing as you've stated the tone/sound itself from that simple setup was unique and sounded good to me.

Postby timelapse » June 15th, 2021, 2:45 pm

https://youtu.be/DHGictE9lBw

I am terrible at posting vids on the app.But tell me if this is what you going for.

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 15th, 2021, 3:39 pm

Thanks. That's a pretty common system around here. Bud of mine from England has a similar system. I think it's overkill with these 5 way systems.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 15th, 2021, 3:59 pm

After dj ana on the scene everyone who came before an come after has been forgotton.
Anything she an machel touch gurns to gold. Imagine if they had children together ...... that child will be a michael jackson v2.

Postby pugboy » June 15th, 2021, 4:48 pm

well she should stay far from dwayne bravo as his stuff is real crap
doh mind the indian fans like it

Postby pugboy » June 15th, 2021, 4:58 pm

well she should stay far from dwayne bravo as his stuff is real crap

Postby Rovin » June 15th, 2021, 6:03 pm

i was a baby when my much older bro was a DJ & from what i remember & pics i have seen it was very simple

stacks of bass\fullrange box used to look like a face, 2 18s speakers in a box with a big hole cut out as d port like this >>> O_O & 2 rack of 24 piezos each ...

Postby SR » June 15th, 2021, 7:43 pm

You need a numark mixer and peavey or phase linear amps.
Jbl double 15 scoops
A pair of technic1200 direct drive turntables....technics makes these new still

Postby timelapse » June 16th, 2021, 7:32 am

Postby RedVEVO » June 16th, 2021, 11:57 am

ALL 80's music on CD or online .

And Mick Jagger is 77 years .

So any DJ in this time frame maybe in Lapeyrouse Cemetery :wink:

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 19th, 2021, 5:51 am

pugboy wrote:well she should stay far from dwayne bravo as his stuff is real crap

you aint realize them indian like the black man ah wah. even in TT. bravo is a one hit wonder but machel will live on.

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2021, 6:00 am

yeah but most of bravo fans is man

daring dragoon wrote:
pugboy wrote:well she should stay far from dwayne bravo as his stuff is real crap

you aint realize them indian like the black man ah wah. even in TT. bravo is a one hit wonder but machel will live on.

airuma

Postby airuma » June 20th, 2021, 11:18 pm

SR wrote:You need a numark mixer and peavey or phase linear amps.
Jbl double 15 scoops
A pair of technic1200 direct drive turntables....technics makes these new still

I remember these being used. Dynaco was also a popular choice and I remember a box referred to as “ Martin’s” but jbl double 15 or 18 scoops was very popular.

Postby timelapse » June 21st, 2021, 8:06 pm

Ze martin fullrange top
ws218x-subwoofer.jpeg

Not much of a subwoofer by today standards, but gives nice bass.Similar designs are used for bass guitar amp cabinets.