The price of tomatoes

Re: The price of tomatoes

Postby Rovin » June 13th, 2021, 7:38 pm

everybody taste different yes - no scene

i have relatives when they come trinidad their friends ask them to bring up local ketchup like matouks cause they craving it , i guess when ppl grow up on certain things

if u feel heinz need sugar then doh even try Hunts ketchup, that tastes sour like too much vinegar in it , i dunno how ppl cud eat dat ...

Postby gastly369 » June 13th, 2021, 7:39 pm

Like heinz for fries.. That's about it
Can't use heinz like how trini like to sap down everything tho or else is failure
The occasional Swiss ketchup does be aight for certain stuff

Not much of a ketchup person, love honey mustard and a decent garlic sauce...
See when ppl buying bbq is bbq soup when they done with dem sauce ewwww

Side note... I had a weird addition in my teens dhal rice and level ketchup ontop

Could puke now if I even see it tho lol

Postby rollingstock » June 13th, 2021, 7:54 pm

timelapse wrote:Ok boomer
rollingstock wrote:I never wrote o levels. After my time. I have school leaving certificate.

Doh hate. Yuh mammi loves this boomer d!ck

Postby timelapse » June 14th, 2021, 7:03 am

I think she has enough toothpicks, but I'll let her know.Like you channelling your inner Geeyore there buddy.Hope that works out for you.
timelapse wrote:Ok boomer
rollingstock wrote:I never wrote o levels. After my time. I have school leaving certificate.

Doh hate. Yuh mammi loves this boomer d!ck

Postby rollingstock » June 14th, 2021, 9:19 am

I don't speak this youth slang.

Postby RedVEVO » June 15th, 2021, 9:27 pm

Rovin wrote:everybody taste different yes - no scene

i have relatives when they come trinidad their friends ask them to bring up local ketchup like matouks cause they craving it , i guess when ppl grow up on certain things

if u feel heinz need sugar then doh even try Hunts ketchup, that tastes sour like too much vinegar in it , i dunno how ppl cud eat dat ...

Travel tips with ketchup :wink:

Ketchup is outlawed in France .

Just mention it and you are the mainstream Ghetto .

Ask for mayonnaise :D

Or Béchamel :wink:

Postby timelapse » June 16th, 2021, 6:41 am

Bearnaise and fries is the cat's pajamas

Postby Rovin » June 18th, 2021, 6:39 pm

Postby De Dragon » June 18th, 2021, 6:42 pm

Rovin wrote:$30 fuh 1 baigan by hilo .... https://www.facebook.com/TrinidadBandit ... 536111153/

In B4 Kiss Roti Boy.............

Postby eliteauto » June 18th, 2021, 6:50 pm

Excuse me Sir, Mr. Rovin at that price that's an Aubergine

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2021, 7:03 pm

most likely middleman making most of it.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 18th, 2021, 7:42 pm

paid $20 for 4 tomatoes today. same price as an IMPORTED apple.

Postby Chimera » June 18th, 2021, 9:15 pm

spend a $100 in seeds and seedlings and plant allyuh own garden

and a lil 600-800 in chemicals when the pest decide to pass in

my family use to supply hot pepper,patchoi, lettuce to groceries and chinese restaurants long ago

up to 6 years ago i had try a few crops of lettuce/celery with some padnas

imagine spending all your evenings for 3 months and $$$$ behind celery , friday night, saturday night you in the market from 9pm to 4 am trying to get $10 for a wholesale bundle of celery because the market flooded and price real shitty

lettuce too....a time we did a crop and limes going on every weekend and you hadda be in the market because the crop not waiting on no lime

some nights lettuce is $1 and $2 wholesale

then it have the times when celery is $80 a bundle (like right now) and men bringing in 20-30k every 2 days

i never get that kind of luck

of the 4-5 crops celery i plant, we get $40 one night (300 bundles)
then the next night and the rest of the crop it was $18 all the way down to $10

i would never vex when i see the price produce going for
i went through it all,
flood, theft (a man get a year jail for stealing pawpaw a time, we catch him in the field lie down flat, we had to tie him up and CARRY him for praedial larceny because their vehicle wasnt available)\
people does endless get their pumps and crops stolen
chemicals real expensive
garden labourers want $300 per day and working 8am to 1pm maximum
(spanish would work 7 to 5 for $150 if they getting constant work and staying on your farm)

if rain fall hard a evening, you hadda go in garden 10-11 pm in the night to start pump to pump out water
then it have the effects of long term exposure to chemicals
plenty old farmers have some sort of cancer or the other

being a farmer REAL hard .

i see people does real be blasting farmers when prices high
plant yuh own thing, if yuh dont want it hush yuh BUGWAAANAAA and dont buy it

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 18th, 2021, 9:16 pm

Just doh buy tomatoes eat another cheaper vegetable as substitute in the meantime.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 18th, 2021, 9:36 pm

Padna i not coplaining. I does pay whatever price yes once the quality good. I rather pay the farmer or retailer an eat my vegetables than complain an keep my money an pay st clair medical or dass funeral home later.

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2021, 9:43 pm

is it really luck for some farmers to have the right crop coming out at the right time when prices high with rain etc?

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2021, 9:47 pm

i went macoya wholesale this week to buy a 20lb tomato
i get at $14/lb, guy had 3 boxes left

man tell me he came with 200 25-30lb boxes

Postby Chimera » June 18th, 2021, 9:58 pm

pugboy wrote:is it really luck for some farmers to have the right crop coming out at the right time when prices high with rain etc?

its luck and having the money to fund the crop

if you renting land in flood areas, caroni,aranguez etc and planting below road level...and cant afford or not allowed to spend thousands to build up the land to properly prepare it
you will be spending thousands on chemicals and gambling and hoping that rain doesnt fall excessively for two days, you might get through some crops, you might lose everything other crops

if you own the land you are planting on and have the money to spend preparing it properly, drainage, camera systems, money to pay labourers and the money to buy the best chemicals, you will get a good crop consistently

but that same time the weather conditions awesome so everyone who plant also get a okay or good crop....and the market price will be shitty so you lose still

i had given up on farming years ago because i was doing it as a part time extra thing and getting labourers was hard

but now i have a steady endless supply of willing spanish workers so i studying to plant a 3 acres actively again

the other day i plant a big batch of pumpkin seed, throw up some old sprinklers and bring out the old pump

only hit it one batch of fertilizer and got a nice picking that i gave all away to friends and those places that feed the homeless

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2021, 10:21 pm

this is the other side of the bad weather
when good weather

Phone Surgeon wrote:
but that same time the weather conditions awesome so everyone who plant also get a okay or good crop....and the market price will be shitty so you lose still

Postby Gladiator » June 18th, 2021, 10:26 pm

DMan7 wrote:Just doh buy tomatoes eat another cheaper vegetable as substitute in the meantime.

Tomato is my addiction yes...some people smoke cigarette and some drink rum. For me is tomatoes.. I consume a pound+ a week since I know myself. Hate when the price go up... but hey, you cyar eat the morney
Last edited by Gladiator on June 18th, 2021, 10:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » June 18th, 2021, 10:28 pm

farming on the whole is just a big gamble and risk

years ago one of the biggest farmers in Trinidad, who use to supply plenty of the local restaurant chains with pepper sauce and ketchup...
spray about 50 acres of pepper with a chemical that was wrongly labelled by the local chemical producer

instead of insecticide it was herbicide
everything dead
loss was massive

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 18th, 2021, 10:49 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:farming on the whole is just a big gamble and risk

years ago one of the biggest farmers in Trinidad, who use to supply plenty of the local restaurant chains with pepper sauce and ketchup...
spray about 50 acres of pepper with a chemical that was wrongly labelled by the local chemical producer

instead of insecticide it was herbicide
everything dead
loss was massive

How about buying / selling and repairing smartphones?

Postby Chimera » June 18th, 2021, 11:00 pm

That's a massive gamble and risk too
Plenty robberies, break in, car jacking, conmen, issues with customs and shippers,headache customers.

The hours easier though.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 18th, 2021, 11:00 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:That's a massive gamble and risk too
Plenty robberies, gun point, conmen, headache customers.

The hours easier though.

Then I think the better question would be which field isn't a giant risk to get into in this day and age?

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » June 19th, 2021, 7:22 am

I planted one tree on top a compost heap I made, I got over 200 from that tree. There is still a bag or two in the freezer.

Postby Rovin » June 21st, 2021, 6:10 pm

Postby pugboy » July 15th, 2021, 3:42 pm

price dropped to $8-10/lb now
like plenty supply after everybody was planting from a few months ago when price was up.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 15th, 2021, 3:44 pm

pugboy wrote:price dropped to $8-10/lb now
like plenty supply after everybody was planting from a few months ago when price was up.

Where?
I passed by those vendors by Caroni roundabout on Monday and they were selling $20/lb

Postby pugboy » July 15th, 2021, 3:56 pm

saw those prices in penal today on the roadside vendors
I bought a box weekend for $12 from a farmer
so prices still aint trickle down yet

Postby Dizzy28 » July 15th, 2021, 4:01 pm

South always seems to have better prices. Earlier this year took a drive down to Moruga and all the road side stalls with prices on cardboard for thier stuff were much cheaper than Tunapuna Market