Taste of Carnival 2022

Re: Carnival 2022 - Would it stil be on?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 20th, 2022, 12:28 pm

Carnival 2022 is on

Carnival 2022 is happening.

Even if it is just a “taste” that will allow only certain events, and no fetes.

Revellers, culture enthusiasts and tourists alike will also have to be vaccinated against Covid-19, as only those who are fully vaccinated will get what the Government is calling a “Taste of Carnival” this year.

Following a Carnival working group meeting yesterday hosted by the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and the Arts, and including members of the National Carnival Commission (NCC) and other stakeholders, it was determined that Carnival events will be on a limited basis and fall within the current “safe zone” and public health regu­lations.

A calendar of events is being drafted.

In a statement from the ministry, titled “A Taste of Carnival proposed for 2022”, Tourism Minister Randall Mitchell said: “Today, January 19, another Carnival working group meeting was convened to determine the specific events that will be held and a calendar of events is being developed that would not run afoul of the current public health ­regulations.

“Another focus of the meeting was to gauge the ­level of financial assistance that the NCC and other ­stakeholders would require to support the planned events, since the usual level of appropriation was not made in the Appropriation Act 2022.

“While we understand that the wait on a firm position for hosting the festival has caused some anxiety among stakeholders, there had to be careful and measured consideration given to vaccination rates, health sector capacity and current rates of infection and mortality.

“The Ministry of Tourism, Culture and the Arts is optimistic about the cautious re-opening of the entertainment and events sector, but is also deeply concerned with the deadly effects of the Covid-19 Virus,” he added.

Events, but no parties

Carnival events will be limited to 50-per cent capacity, with controlled entry and exit points and sanitisation upon entry, in accordance with the public health ­regulations, the ministry stated.

Events will take the form of concert-type shows such as soca and calypso concerts; calypso tents; soca, calypso, extempo and chutney competitions; steelband concerts; Carnival King and Queen shows; and Carnival theatre.

Fetes, parties and similar-type events by any other name will not be allowed on account of the nature of those activities and the risk they pose to the increased spread of the Covid-19 virus, the statement said.

Speaking earlier yesterday at the meeting, Mitchell said: “This move represents a first step in restarting the events sector. Given the economic importance of Carnival, we felt it was necessary to consider what was possible and what events can be had safely.

“We look forward to the development of a calendar of events and its subsequent marketing so that we can all have a safe taste of the Carnival that is truly a part of all of us.

“While we remain committed to safely restarting the events and entertainment sector, we must consider the global scenario which is that Trinidad and Tobago, like the rest of the world, is in the midst of a global pandemic which continues to evolve with new variants being detected, causing health organisations worldwide to quickly adapt and change strategies.”

Yesterday’s announcement comes two months after Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley said on November 25 that Carnival will be held this year.

While PCR testing of patrons was considered as a form of risk mitigation, it was not deemed realistic, as the cost per test per patron would be uneconomical, the ministry’s statement noted.

All performance spaces will be made available for booking events at affordable rates, it added.

Speaking with the Express via phone yesterday, NCC chief executive officer Colin Lucas said the commission was hopeful to receive positive feedback after it submitted proposals to be considered at the meeting.

Lucas said NCC proposed a three-week Carnival period starting February 4.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 6d729.html

Postby redmanjp » January 20th, 2022, 1:46 pm

Rapid tests could be used instead if PCR testing too expensive. You just have to prove u are not infectious at that point in time.

Postby zoom rader » January 20th, 2022, 2:39 pm

Awaits the usual racist kaisos from all the red government tents

Carnival 2022 - Would it stil be on?

Postby MaxPower » January 20th, 2022, 2:56 pm

All Master Keith has to do is lie to the public and say they have been responsible enough for Carnival 2022 to be on.

The people will love him more once he can facilitate this national celebration of wine, jam, rum and bray.

Closer and closer to PNM 2025.

Postby zoom rader » January 20th, 2022, 5:16 pm

MaxPower wrote:All Master Keith has to do is lie to the public and say they have been responsible enough for Carnival 2022 to be on.

The people will love him more once he can facilitate this national celebration of wine, jam, rum and bray.

Closer and closer to PNM 2025.
Wait till those racist kaisos come out to keep black people back in slavery

Postby Dizzy28 » January 20th, 2022, 5:36 pm

Omicron is ready!!!
20211219_200447.jpg

Postby Rovin » January 20th, 2022, 5:56 pm

when i saw d headline this morning i say this is pure insanity .... pandemic no where near under control but we still studying crapnival

btw today is highest report of infections over 1000 ...

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » January 20th, 2022, 6:47 pm

Rovin wrote:when i saw d headline this morning i say this is pure insanity .... pandemic no where near under control but we still studying crapnival

btw today is highest report of infections over 1000 ...
At best they don't care about us normally why would they care about cases, deaths or the strain on healthcare from covid all them know is it's something new and ripe for abuse.

Postby paid_influencer » January 20th, 2022, 9:18 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Omicron is ready!!!20211219_200447.jpg
o7xz4w9.jpg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 21st, 2022, 5:04 am

Government should have canceled carnival or just say we're having a limited cultural carnival. By saying Carnival 2022 is on, makes everyone think they're having the parade and fetes.

Effectively there is no Carnival 2022.

I don't know who does their PR, but saying we having Carnival 2022 on the day you just had 1000 covid cases seems utterly retarded.

Postby matr1x » January 21st, 2022, 6:43 am

Maybe covid 19 isn't that serious, and that what it's on?

Postby timelapse » January 21st, 2022, 7:05 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Government should have canceled carnival or just say we're having a limited cultural carnival. By saying Carnival 2022 is on, makes everyone think they're having the parade and fetes.

I don't know who does their PR, but saying we having Carnival 2022 on the day you just had 1000 covid cases seems utterly retarded.
There were still pockets of jouvert last year.You just need to know where to look.
I know you like your carnival, but I am pleading with you personally not to expose yourself to Covid.Too many people dying.
Any tuners missing?

Postby Kenjo » January 21st, 2022, 7:20 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Government should have canceled carnival or just say we're having a limited cultural carnival. By saying Carnival 2022 is on, makes everyone think they're having the parade and fetes.

Makes everyone think they’re having the parade and fetes is just about right

Postby Chimera » January 21st, 2022, 12:55 pm

if they pushing that vaccination is what we need to move forward then they should have events where only vaccinated can attend

you cant tell people that we need to vaccinate to operate and then deny them the opportunity to get back to normal

covid isnt going anywhere anytime soon, we 2 years in and every 2 weeks its a new variant

better they open everything, people have a choice to participate if they want

have some industries that collapse since we have no carnival

Postby redmanjp » January 21st, 2022, 2:00 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:if they pushing that vaccination is what we need to move forward then they should have events where only vaccinated can attend

you cant tell people that we need to vaccinate to operate and then deny them the opportunity to get back to normal

covid isnt going anywhere anytime soon, we 2 years in and every 2 weeks its a new variant

the thing is omicron come and change the whole science behind safe zones -before vaxxed were a lot less likely to spread it especially to other vaxxed ppl - now with an immune escape variant they are just as likely (though severe covid is less likely)- unless they got a booster shot and recently. so for safe zones to work in the next few weeks u would have to further limit access to those who got their booster shots recently. which is how much ppl? :roll:

Postby De Dragon » January 21st, 2022, 2:10 pm

Dotish and insensitive is the LFD RFD PNM way. Remember chicken roti sale on Divali?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 21st, 2022, 2:30 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:if they pushing that vaccination is what we need to move forward then they should have events where only vaccinated can attend

the thing is omicron come and change the whole science behind safe zones -before vaxxed were a lot less likely to spread it especially to other vaxxed ppl - now with an immune escape variant they are just as likely (though severe covid is less likely)- unless they got a booster shot and recently. so for safe zones to work in the next few weeks u would have to further limit access to those who got their booster shots recently. which is how much ppl? :roll:

Vaccinated people especially boosted people don't get severe symptoms from Omicron.

So in effect they can still operate freely, look at England, they barely had any restrictions over Christmas and now they dropped everything.

You can do that in a heavily vacinated population. Trinidad, not really. Look at the US and we see hospitalizations (the main issue) have risen to higher than Delta wave values in many places.

We all know the issues with overwhelmed hospitals and overworked staff. We're talking about delays, lack of care for critical patients, mistakes due to over work etc.

Omicron will cause a lot of hospitalizations here as well as deaths.

So once again unvaccinated persons are again freaking up everything for everyone.

Postby redmanjp » January 21st, 2022, 2:47 pm

one option is we should just cut back on the covid hospitals and allow the rest of the normal ones to function with adequate staff. but then again if u get infected while at the other ones they putting u in the covid ones - but u would be in there 'with' instead of 'for' covid.

Postby bluefete » January 21st, 2022, 3:42 pm

Carnival 2022 - Would it stil be on?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 27th, 2022, 10:04 am

NCC Carnival Schedule 2022

32b3a6b6-97ec-4019-bdd4-c68186ffa2d7.jpg

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » January 27th, 2022, 10:32 am

So uh carnival issa holiday?

Postby K74T » January 27th, 2022, 10:49 am

It was never a holiday.

Postby zoom rader » January 27th, 2022, 11:09 am

K74T wrote:It was never a holiday.
Tell dat to red government ppl nah

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 27th, 2022, 11:20 am

Carnival gone through. Who going they?
Funeral homes probably smiling.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » January 27th, 2022, 7:49 pm

I say I was dreaming when I read that.
I thought they had put an end to that nonsense called Carnival once and for all, after 2020.

also i saw this

Postby paid_influencer » January 27th, 2022, 8:22 pm

K74T wrote:It was never a holiday.

u sure bro? because i usually take the whole week off

Postby timelapse » January 27th, 2022, 8:59 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:I say I was dreaming when I read that.
I thought they had put an end to that nonsense called Carnival once and for all, after 2020.

also i saw this

Don't let DPD hear you.

Postby pugboy » January 27th, 2022, 9:01 pm

so who getting the nice funding?

Postby Ben_spanna » January 28th, 2022, 12:18 pm

Any activity that encourages the rubbish we call carnival at this time is an absolutely unwarranted and stupid.

antlind

Postby antlind » January 28th, 2022, 12:25 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Any activity that encourages the rubbish we call carnival at this time is an absolutely unwarranted and stupid.

I agree 100%. Clearly the ruling party is playing up to its supporters. I’ll quote something I read on tuner a while back…..guntas hadda gunt.