New Legislation On Illegal Streaming Devices In Trinidad & Tobago

ed360123

Re: New Legislation On Illegal Streaming Devices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby ed360123 » May 17th, 2021, 2:59 pm

Oh no. Won't somebody think of the poor Billion-dollar media companies! The HORROR!

Postby Dizzy28 » May 17th, 2021, 3:03 pm

^ You walk in Massy and walk out with groceries without paying as well nah??

Soul Collector

Re: New legislation on illegal streaming devices in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Soul Collector » May 17th, 2021, 3:25 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ well often times these devices are advertised and sold as part of an IPTV or movie streaming solution - like "3500 free cable channels" or "Watch all the latest movies" - both of which feature pirated content.

You can legally use an Android box or FireStick to watch Netflix or Hulu with your paid subscription. That is not what they are after.

There are power sellers on this (your) website that advertise similar services/products if I'm not mistaken. Will you be revoking their power seller status or issue some sort of warning to them?

This just seems like some kind of mandatory release from TATT according to what Dizzy28 stated above.

Postby SMc » May 17th, 2021, 3:34 pm

Don't even bother ask that, a couple years ago I questioned why counterfeit goods were being allowed to be sold on the forums and my posts were deleted, as long at they paying for PS status it seems to be OK.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 17th, 2021, 4:09 pm

Soul Collector wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ well often times these devices are advertised and sold as part of an IPTV or movie streaming solution - like "3500 free cable channels" or "Watch all the latest movies" - both of which feature pirated content.

You can legally use an Android box or FireStick to watch Netflix or Hulu with your paid subscription. That is not what they are after.

There are power sellers on this (your) website that advertise similar services/products if I'm not mistaken. Will you be revoking their power seller status or issue some sort of warning to them?

This just seems like some kind of mandatory release from TATT according to what Dizzy28 stated above.

Yes if their ad is advertising an illegal service then the user will be warned and the ad will have to be removed.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 17th, 2021, 4:11 pm

SMc wrote:Don't even bother ask that, a couple years ago I questioned why counterfeit goods were being allowed to be sold on the forums and my posts were deleted, as long at they paying for PS status it seems to be OK.

I don't recall that.
What was the user advertising?
How was the report made?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 17th, 2021, 4:15 pm

Soul Collector wrote:

Yes if their ad is advertising an illegal service then the user will be warned and the ad will have to be removed.

Thanks for the response. Seems pretty straightforward then.

Postby Chimera » May 17th, 2021, 4:16 pm

just fyi
counterfeit items are not illegal in Trinidad

if it was, could any of those clothes stores be open
even big places like FF all deal in counterfeit/knockoffs

we have no laws against counterfeit items here

everything from tyres, alcohol, car parts, pad locks, watches, bags, electronics, shoes, vape liquids, are openly and legally sold throughout trinidad.

Postby Chimera » May 17th, 2021, 4:18 pm

proper term would be fake or replica though
i believe counterfeit usually applies to money/currency

Postby Dizzy28 » May 17th, 2021, 4:20 pm

Between the Customs Act and Intellectual Properties laws I'm sure counterfeit items break one law or the other. Lack of enforcement is not the same as legality.
Phone Surgeon wrote:just fyi
counterfeit items are not illegal in Trinidad

if it was, could any of those clothes stores be open
even big places like FF all deal in counterfeit/knockoffs

we have no laws against counterfeit items here

everything from tyres, alcohol, car parts, pad locks, watches, bags, electronics, shoes, vape liquids, are openly and legally sold throughout trinidad.

Postby Chimera » May 17th, 2021, 5:30 pm

Find the law and post it.

There are none for Trinidad

Postby Chimera » May 17th, 2021, 5:42 pm

Okay I just realized only in 2020 they put the act into effect.

I know in the past it was no issues to bring knockoff or replica goods

Screenshot_20210517-174056_Chrome.jpeg
Screenshot_20210517-174025_Chrome.jpeg

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » May 17th, 2021, 5:43 pm

We really are a 3rd world country wearing a 1st world mask

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » May 17th, 2021, 5:45 pm

We really are a 3rd world country wearing a 1st world mask

Postby Rovin » May 17th, 2021, 5:59 pm

st7 wrote:
Rovin wrote:never really owned any android boxes or devices , i stream directly from online sites, pop ups annoying AF but it free so cant complain fuh free ting ....

disable JavaScript for the website. there's a high chance the player will still work.

you're welcome.

hey thanks for trying to be helpful , can u urself try this on putlocker, xmovies8 or any others u can think of & tell me if it will work , i tried it on putlocker & it seems like it needs access for its pop ups to run or it wont work ...

Postby st7 » May 17th, 2021, 6:04 pm

Rovin wrote:
st7 wrote:
Rovin wrote:never really owned any android boxes or devices , i stream directly from online sites, pop ups annoying AF but it free so cant complain fuh free ting ....

disable JavaScript for the website. there's a high chance the player will still work.

you're welcome.

hey thanks for trying to be helpful , can u urself try this on putlocker, xmovies8 or any others u can think of & tell me if it will work , i tried it on putlocker & it seems like it needs access for its pop ups to run or it wont work ...

i dont use any of those sites so i'm not sure what are the actual links when i google. if it doesn't work without JavaScript then you'll have to use adblocker extension. it wont stop all of them, but most.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » May 17th, 2021, 6:34 pm

bluefete wrote:TATT seems to be following this thread VERY CLOSELY.

Of course...
Streaming boxes are the most important national issue right now

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » May 17th, 2021, 7:10 pm

:popcorn: :popcorn:

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 17th, 2021, 8:23 pm

and pray tell how they figuring out that u using a jailbroken firestick?

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » May 17th, 2021, 8:26 pm

Exactly. I can see them going after persons advertising it, but there is no practical way to enforce people using them.

Postby bluefete » May 17th, 2021, 9:06 pm

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 1st, 2021, 8:29 pm

gastly369 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image
How would they know only the dummies mass advertising and selling "fully loaded boxes" etc

dear TATT how long now you ordered the cable tv companies to remove ABC,NBC,CBS,FOX and yet we still paying for it. Go behind them first as is over 20 years them charging us for illegal content.