WASA to Charge Residential Customers $3,000.00 Each For Water Meters

Sateesh

Re: WASA to Charge Residential Customers $3,000.00 Each For Water Meters

Postby Sateesh » May 16th, 2021, 8:57 pm

so if we pay 3k for it and it needs replacing what will happen?
WASA feeding they contractor friends and all money done now.
Just now T&TEC go charge for new meter too. :x

Postby matr1x » May 17th, 2021, 12:18 am

Members, go to your t and tec meters and tell the brand

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 17th, 2021, 12:35 am

How they arrive at that figure though? Ttec meter is $95(or is it subsidized)

Postby st7 » May 17th, 2021, 2:26 pm

lulz

Postby De Dragon » May 17th, 2021, 2:37 pm

pugboy wrote:it is a good initiative, too many ppl waste water, have leaking toilets and so on.

it is a monumental task, they should start selectively with them businesses which abuse the usage.
get the revenue flowing.

I pay semi commercial rates for a property in woodbrook and will greatly benefit from a meter as we hardly use water.

Fackery. A customer to pay for a meter to get charged by?
At least DireciTV lets you know the dish is yours, what happens if you move? The meter goes with you? A next $3000? What we're being asked to do is pay for a State enterprise's failure to be proactive and plan properly. What burns with this is that like TTEC, the biggest delinquents are other State enterprises.

Postby Habit7 » May 17th, 2021, 2:42 pm

This was 6yrs ago
What kind of cost is associated with smart meters?

Smart meters can cost two to three times more than traditional meters, House said.

When Glendale replaced 85,000 electric meters and 34,000 water meters in 2008, the project cost $70 million. It was partially funded by a $20-million grant from the federal Department of Energy and a $1 million grant from the California Energy Commission.

The smart meters cost $312 each and with installation constituted about $10.5 million of the total cost, Zurn said.

https://www.govtech.com/fs/smart-water- ... ornia.html

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 17th, 2021, 2:46 pm

Right now WASA TTEC and NGC bankrupt.
Wasa trying to raise money by selling water meters and it might work.
How will TTEC and NGC get out of bankruptcy?

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » May 17th, 2021, 2:53 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The meter system is already in effect in new developments. Im paying $1.87 per cubic meter. For the qtr, bill is like $320 or there about
Presently, my bill is $363 / 3 months, which I don't have an issue with because that works out to just about $4 / day. If the cubic rate is same across the country, my bill could potentially drop then

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 17th, 2021, 3:05 pm

Question: how come cabinet had a problem with this initiative before election but after election there is no problem. All kinda lies to win election yes

Postby bluefete » May 17th, 2021, 4:09 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Question: how come cabinet had a problem with this initiative before election but after election there is no problem. All kinda lies to win election yes

And a man lorse he wuk over this as well.

Postby Redman » May 17th, 2021, 6:48 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Question: how come cabinet had a problem with this initiative before election but after election there is no problem. All kinda lies to win election yes

As mentioned this initiative has been on the books since 2008 ish....no one wanted to touch it even it's long accepted as necessary

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 19th, 2021, 2:22 am

Do you think we'll see it before this election or soon after or is this just a PR piece?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 19th, 2021, 5:18 am

Numb3r4 wrote:Do you think we'll see it before this election or soon after or is this just a PR piece?

Before next election for sure. WASA need the dinero

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 19th, 2021, 6:03 am

Great , when we go to the Dentist and other professionals now , we’ll have to pay for their equipment?

Why do we pay for their infrastructure that they have to use to bill us for what we are using? It’s just like TTEC charging for transformers poles and lines( yes they do).

Postby matr1x » May 19th, 2021, 6:32 am

Every house in Trinidad already has a water meter. What crap is wasa on about?

Postby Redman » May 19th, 2021, 6:46 am

sam1978 wrote:Great , when we go to the Dentist and other professionals now , we’ll have to pay for their equipment?

Why do we pay for their infrastructure that they have to use to bill us for what we are using? It’s just like TTEC charging for transformers poles and lines( yes they do).

Dentists services are subsidized?

Postby De Dragon » May 19th, 2021, 9:24 am

Redman wrote:

As mentioned this initiative has been on the books since 2008 ish....no one wanted to touch it even it's long accepted as necessary

We seem to not know about phasing in stuff so that you don't have a huge one time capital outlay. If what you're saying is true, then 13 years have passed with nothing doing, and now the paying customer is expected to fork out $3K to pay for the State's inaction?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 19th, 2021, 9:26 am

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » May 19th, 2021, 9:35 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Image
All this means is that water meters will be coming.

Postby Redman » May 19th, 2021, 9:48 am

Redman wrote:

We seem to not know about phasing in stuff so that you don't have a huge one time capital outlay. If what you're saying is true, then 13 years have passed with nothing doing, and now the paying customer is expected to fork out $3K to pay for the State's inaction?

Its true- there are companies that set up agencies in order to supply the meters, brought down equipment etc.

Actually it would have been 2005 that I saw the first meters- 2008-10 in WASA the discussion was ongoing.

The politics of the day is what sequentially prevents all the major decisions that plague us to this day.

Postby Redman » May 19th, 2021, 9:54 am

Ultimately there is a way to roll this out sensibly.

Issue a meter bond.
Buy some meters
Install them in the places that are most capable of paying off the cost in 6 months.
How many here would volunteer to make that change-I would.

Let the customers install and the WASA inspects and certify.

Customer pays off cost --WASA repays bond.

Repeat.

Instead of 1.2B WASA takes on short term debt on a 6 month roll -and we migrate towards a metered society.

We might be surprised as to how many people/businesses etc migh sign up.

Wouldnt hurt to ask.

Postby sMASH » May 19th, 2021, 10:16 am

^^ wasa to bring in the meters, and customers buy and install?
or people to buy their meters, and install?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 19th, 2021, 10:24 am

Wonder if I'll get a discount for having my meter already!
IMG_20210519_102259.jpeg

Postby De Dragon » May 19th, 2021, 10:30 am

Redman wrote:Ultimately there is a way to roll this out sensibly.

Issue a meter bond.
Buy some meters
Install them in the places that are most capable of paying off the cost in 6 months.
How many here would volunteer to make that change-I would.

Let the customers install and the WASA inspects and certify.

Customer pays off cost --WASA repays bond.

Repeat.

Instead of 1.2B WASA takes on short term debt on a 6 month roll -and we migrate towards a metered society.

We might be surprised as to how many people/businesses etc migh sign up.

Wouldnt hurt to ask.

Agreed, can't just mandate people buy $3000 dollar meters "jess so" when there are many alternatives that would be easier on lower income families, especially in a pandemic with many people currently on the breadline. I would also volunteer to be metered.

Postby Redman » May 19th, 2021, 11:04 am

sMASH wrote:^^ wasa to bring in the meters, and customers buy and install?
or people to buy their meters, and install?

The utility needs to be able to standardize AND modernize from this point- some might be willing to get smart meters and afford to do so.

So let the authority buy the meters -they would establish supply agreements and offer a massive order flow in order in exchange for bulk pricing.

WASA then has standardized meters that forward capable.
Take pre orders to guage the first cycle size -and operate accordingly

Pass 30% of the savings onto us-and offer for sale.

Early adopters and those that can afford to do so will meter up
ALL new inspections have to be metered.
All recertifications from x date have to be metered.

Maybe we hit 20% by end of year.

Postby sMASH » May 19th, 2021, 11:26 am

sounds reasonable.