Advice on buying first vehicle.

SpiritDiveYuno

Advice on buying first vehicle.

Postby SpiritDiveYuno » May 3rd, 2021, 9:00 pm

Hi all,
This is my first time posting on this on forum so if possible, can you all be nice and help me out? :(
I'm 20 years old and just started saving up money to get myself a car. However, I'm having problems on deciding which car I should get as I lack the automotive expertise. This is where you guys come in. I'm a fan of JDM cars and is currently looking for something that's Japanese. In particular, something that's somewhat cheap but also reliable enough to be a daily driver. I was contemplating maybe getting a civic but I've been told that parts for it are expensive. I'm not limited to the idea of just a Civic and I'm open to pretty much any recommendations you guys can give that fits within my parameters. I should also mentioned that I'm not particularly "well-off" and everything will be done from my own pocket as I work, so newer model cars are pretty much out of the window lol but that's okay because I'm fan of cars predating the 2010's.
Any form of feedback or advice will be greatly appreciated :D

EDIT: A lot of people are asking for a price range so here it is: $20K-$25k.

EDIT: I saw someone raise a very good point and I think I should also mention it. This car is going to be my one and only daily driver for the new few years until I've completed university. Anything that will be reliable and maintainable would probably be ideal. As fun as it would be, I'm not looking for anything to work on as a project.
Last edited by SpiritDiveYuno on May 4th, 2021, 8:57 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Re: Advice on buying first vehicle.

Postby adnj » May 3rd, 2021, 9:04 pm

There are lots of threads on the board that start like this. The best advice that I ever heard was buy some reliable that you can afford from someone you know when you're just starting out.

Postby bluefete » May 3rd, 2021, 9:08 pm

^^ What he said and TOYOTA. Talk done.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 3rd, 2021, 9:09 pm

Parts for almost anything except Nissan will be costly.

Toyotas and Hondas are more reliable but costs are higher to purchase and maintain. Look for something that pretty much hit the bottom of its depreciation curve but still in good condition. NZE corollas are a good example.

Also, always carry a mechanic to check out the car. Never go with the cheapest example of a car, because paying 5k less to purchase will likely cost way more than 5k in repairs and immediate maintenance.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 3rd, 2021, 9:18 pm

how much money yuh wanna spend?

DONT BUY A LAUREL , yuh would go grey trust me, I have one that haven't seen the road in 2 yrs, bought for 10k, spent that plus more in it, I lose interest but coming back out once I get some spare money. i shoulda buy a jimny yes or a ole hilux.

look at being reliable, easy to maintain and availability of parts.
all corollas are good
xtrails, most nissans.
euros are expensive, Hyundai and kia, roll a dice. might be good, might be killer.
hondas are good, FA civics really good. ek3/4 good as well.

pickups are really nice but ride is harsh, I daily a frontier :/

if I had to do it again, xtrail or a fielder wagon 141.

killercow

Postby killercow » May 3rd, 2021, 9:24 pm

AE90 / AE101. Done talk.

Postby Gladiator » May 3rd, 2021, 9:28 pm

Back in my day it was the mighty B14...nothing could have killed it and you could go to the bamboo and dip in a bran tub for $100 and take parts.

Right now I would say go with a fielder or AD wagon. Those seem to be indestructible and they popular enough to have plenty parts floating around.

Postby MaxPower » May 3rd, 2021, 9:34 pm

Hello SpiritDiveYuno,

I would like to take this opportunity to welcome you to the TriniTuner family.

I am Max, a senior member and a soon to be moderator.

Rest assured my good man, you’ve come to the right place for all your research, questions and answers.

With reference to your question, i would suggest the NZE corollas.

Good luck and safe driving.

Cheers,

Max.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 3rd, 2021, 9:41 pm

Toyota or Nissan

carluva

Postby carluva » May 3rd, 2021, 9:42 pm

ROFL. How does one qualify to be a senior member Max?

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 3rd, 2021, 10:15 pm

There are a myriad of options for you out there:

Wingroad Y12, Note E12, March K13, Sylphy B17, Corolla Axio, Fielder, Vios/Yaris, Lancer CY and Mazda3/Axela BM

Those vehicles above have parts easily available and are not very sophisticated so many mechanics and electricians can work on them. They can also be easily insured under comprehensive risks and have decent crash safety, interior space/comfort/features, fuel economy and still relatively new so that major repairs would be low on probability.

Personally, the first 3 is hard to pass up on. Wingroad, Note and March are excellent starter vehicles. Visit Massy’s pre owned FB page and see what deals you can get on a Sentra B17, Wingroad Y12 and March K13. Good luck.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 3rd, 2021, 10:17 pm

Mazda 3 or Civic.....corolla is a safe choice but overpriced

SpiritDiveYuno

Postby SpiritDiveYuno » May 3rd, 2021, 10:44 pm

KM_2NR wrote:Toyota or Nissan

I'm more of a Nissan guy but I'm fine with either.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » May 4th, 2021, 1:18 am

SDY,
These mazda 3s are good
you might get one for under $50k.

Postby SMc » May 4th, 2021, 4:11 am

carluva wrote:ROFL. How does one qualify to be a senior member Max?

In Max mind senile=senior

Postby pugboy » May 4th, 2021, 4:43 am

Nissans are number one when it come to suspension wear and tear
Ask any machine shop which mfg bushings they change the most

Can’t go wrong with nze toyota

Postby K74T » May 4th, 2021, 5:16 am

NZE

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 4th, 2021, 5:34 am

i think right now suzuki have sale. go new take the money u saved and use as down payment. unless you know about fixing cars buying a old second hand car mean trips to mechanic, AC man, body shop,electrician and police station if it stolen for parts. you go waste time asking what causing this issue with the old car on tuner and where can i go to fix this and that. old cars go start to leak in places like around windshield and places where you cant locate easily.it will have rotten spots under the bumper, behind fenders and places you aint go see when you go to buy. does be real stress.
going new and no problem for 5 years and full comprehensive insurance mean money back if stolen or right off.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 4th, 2021, 5:44 am

What is your budget range though? So many suggestions and no price to work with. If you dont mind wagons a Y11 Wingroad, Tiida or Almera is a good starter. Bicks always have sale on parts for dog cheap where you can buy and put down

Postby pugboy » May 4th, 2021, 5:45 am

them suzuki engine dont last at all compared to nissan/toyota
also the company does not give any info on parts easily
they want to keep you locked into buying from them

stay far from any mfg whose dealer operates like that

Postby Ted_v2 » May 4th, 2021, 5:51 am

them thing is trap,

20k for a grand vitira engine in the bamboo, and yuh hadda rell look around for it, rare AF.

swift sport is around 6500$

Postby Monk BANzai » May 4th, 2021, 5:57 am

Me'em going to tell you what car to buy...have level Ego/Bantons in here to help with that....But whichever way you go, invest from now and buy tools. Purchasing the tools yourself (and a Hayne's or Chilton manual online), is a solid investment and requires upfront capital (yes yes less money for the Smallies n dem) But you save money in the long run vs having someone else doing it.

Get Jack stand\posts, basic wrench socket set, rags, buckets for fluids, etc, etc. Teach yourself some basic car maintenance.

Man like PRS is a good place to get dem ting at decent prices. Sells lots of good packages.
https://www.instagram.com/prsperformance/

Enjoy car ownership... When choosing a car carry a mechanic and possibly an older/more experienced driver to view with you. Strength in numbers. A seller seeing a crew of ppl to come view a vehicle forces that person to be brutally honest. Do a proper bumper to bumper so you know for the most part what you buying into. And the usual searches to ensure no loans on said vehicle.

If possible, buy a car within the family. That way you know the history of it and ofc you get a better price. If it becomes a hassle to you too early ...then you chose the wrong platform and pelt it far.

I have spoken.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 4th, 2021, 6:17 am

Ted_v2 wrote:them thing is trap,

20k for a grand vitira engine in the bamboo, and yuh hadda rell look around for it, rare AF.

i dont mean buy a suzuki, wait till toyota or nissan have sale but it better to go new in the long run than suffer owning an old car, the money spent overall might be the same but down time cant be compensated for.

Postby bluefete » May 4th, 2021, 6:32 am

MaxPower wrote:Hello SpiritDiveYuno, I am Max, a senior member and a soon to be moderator.

AHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAA.

Max: Like yuh give Duane free access to the mini mart!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 4th, 2021, 7:08 am

Firstly: welcome

Secondly: lmfao at max

Thirdly: stating your budget would allow us to narrow your search and share experience where we see fit.

Fourthly: y11 and y12 very reliable and parts cheap. Almera up there as well

Nze: once you get a good one, cant go wrong. Parts are lil pricey these days but when you make a fix, you good to go for some time. Very reliable car.

Forget 13 and 14 because parts gone through the roof and well men thiefing that like wow these days.

As with which ever vehicle you buy, service on time and you will be fine

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 4th, 2021, 7:16 am

Personally i would wait until lockdowns are lifted before making any big financial decision

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 4th, 2021, 10:02 am

I de buy ah '08 GV rwd for 55k in 2015. mech tell de gyul it need ah new engine 30k plus ( like he try ah ting). It needed a crank bearing, and I just end up doing over journals, gaskets, some lil transmission stuff...14k. sell it back for 85k in 2017. Up to now it still on the road going good.
Btw Suzuki does have nice ride I find.
Ted_v2 wrote:them thing is trap,

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 4th, 2021, 10:27 am

What's your budget?
Tip: if this is your one-and-only daily driver look for reliability/maintainability rather than making it a project.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » May 4th, 2021, 11:04 am

NZE Corolla is very good, once its in your budget as its like 50k
All EK civics will be old as its a 20+ year old car, but its a good car also.

I've really heard B14 parts got more pricey recently. Nissan parts are cheap, but not so reliable.

I have a 420k mileage NZE that performs well with minimal maintenance, and a 350k mileage EK3 I got as a project.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » May 4th, 2021, 11:09 am

As a new driver you can expect to put a few scratches and dings in it so factor that into your choice. If you have driving experience but this is your first purchase, then you can consider something nicer.