Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

Re: Lockdown Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

Postby pugboy » June 4th, 2021, 8:47 pm

There is a portugal which is coloured like a mandarin which they are selling a lot now.
Want to try it.
The real mandarins are smaller but have incredible flavor.

carluva

Postby carluva » June 5th, 2021, 11:24 am

Hello guys. Some advice needed.

I have a lime tree in the yard. It's about 13 years old. Been bearing for the last few years with last year being the biggest yield ever.

It's flowering again and has fruit.

However, I am noticing that branches are dying. One branch with small fruit died a short while ago.

I am attaching some pictures.

Any ideas on what could be causing this and what can be done to prevent?

Bird vine occasionally sprouts under the tree but I pull out or spray to kill. I am not seeing any evidence of bird vine on the dead branches. Can bird vine survive on a tree even though it's been pulled out at the roots?
IMG_20210605_111817351_HDR.jpeg
IMG_20210605_111808398_HDR.jpeg
IMG_20210605_111753292_HDR.jpeg

Postby Chimera » June 5th, 2021, 12:27 pm

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » June 5th, 2021, 12:39 pm

Someone or a stranger "blight" hand probably picked from the tree. Might sound funny and I myself never believed in that myth until I experienced it first hand with my tree. A neighbour came asking for some limes and I was busy doing some work in the yard, so i told him yeah, come in and take na man. Right where the fella picked, the very next day the leaves wilted and eventually the branch dried up like in your pic. I had to cut out the dying branch to save the tree but it never bear the same after.

Postby Chimera » June 5th, 2021, 12:43 pm

i go to type that exact same thing dds say.....
and i backspace and put the bioforge sintead

but yeah it have ppl with dred blight hand

i dont let anyone pick from my trees, i will pick and give yuh.

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2021, 12:51 pm

boy that rain mash down my tomato plants
need to stake them asap

Postby timelapse » June 5th, 2021, 12:55 pm

That lime tree could be a few different things.
1.First thing is to check for aphid/insect signs.
2.Nutrient deficiency/excess have you been using fertilizer later or other chemicals?
3. Nutrient lock out.This one can be lots of things and very difficult to diagnose.With most outdoor plants, drainage is the first place to check.

Also an option.
Contact Carlsen chemicals.They have a plant virologist in their service.You may be required to take in a sample to them.

carluva

Postby carluva » June 5th, 2021, 2:42 pm

Where to get bioforge?

Postby Chimera » June 5th, 2021, 4:16 pm

By Bob in ramsaran street for sure/ southern chemicals

Most agri shops otherwise. It's a popular product.

Postby Rovin » June 13th, 2021, 6:32 pm

a plant that my mom got about 25+yrs ago, 1st 10yrs it never made any flowers , then it started making 1 flower bloom per year , few yrs ago it started doing 2 blooms maybe 2 times\yr , last 2 yrs it made about 3 blooms 3 times\yr but this is 1st time i seen it 4 blooms at the same time ... some things really has its own pace

*edit : somebody with 1 like it too says it is a kind of lily ...
Last edited by Rovin on June 13th, 2021, 11:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » June 13th, 2021, 7:00 pm

Its a kind of lily
Edit Amaryllis

Postby timelapse » June 14th, 2021, 7:39 am

Update on the carrots.
IMG_20210614_072459.jpeg

Postby timelapse » June 14th, 2021, 7:42 am

Cherry tomato on scrog about a month old.Still filling out
IMG_20210614_072446.jpeg

Postby timelapse » June 14th, 2021, 7:44 am

Bird pepper
IMG_20210614_072523.jpeg

Postby pugboy » June 14th, 2021, 7:53 am

what happening to the leaves?

timelapse wrote:Cherry tomato on scrog about a month old.Still filling outIMG_20210614_072446.jpeg

Postby timelapse » June 14th, 2021, 8:13 am

Leaf miners.I spray some neem oil on it.

carluva

Postby carluva » June 14th, 2021, 8:14 am

How you start the cherry tomatoes? Seedling or seed or cutting?

Postby timelapse » June 14th, 2021, 8:19 am

Cuttings.
Cut a piece and leave it in water until you see roots.It doesn't take very long.
carluva wrote:How you start the cherry tomatoes? Seedling or seed or cutting?

Postby *KRONIK* » June 14th, 2021, 8:26 am

I GT with some bird pepper seeds
20210610_122016.jpeg

Postby mero » June 14th, 2021, 9:33 am

timelapse wrote:Cherry tomato on scrog about a month old.Still filling out
IMG_20210614_072446.jpeg
What exactly you scrogging here??

Net way too low

Postby timelapse » June 14th, 2021, 9:45 am

Is going to be a double layer scrog.Was waiting on hardware for thicker pvc.The lower level is to basically get more main branches to send up to the canopy layer.
mero wrote:
timelapse wrote:Cherry tomato on scrog about a month old.Still filling out
IMG_20210614_072446.jpeg
What exactly you scrogging here??

Net way too low

Postby timelapse » June 14th, 2021, 12:49 pm

Apparently I have an army of cacti.I keep dividing them and putting them in random places.I decided to put all together.
IMG_20210614_124735.jpeg

PS that's the damn ting self Kronik

Postby *KRONIK* » June 15th, 2021, 8:01 am

Bird pepper?
timelapse wrote:Apparently I have an army of cacti.I keep dividing them and putting them in random places.I decided to put all together.
IMG_20210614_124735.jpeg

Postby timelapse » June 15th, 2021, 8:27 am

Yessir.Bird pepper is the truth
*KRONIK* wrote:Bird pepper?
timelapse wrote:Apparently I have an army of cacti.I keep dividing them and putting them in random places.I decided to put all together.
IMG_20210614_124735.jpeg

Postby *KRONIK* » June 15th, 2021, 8:28 am

It is tho
timelapse wrote:Yessir.Bird pepper is the truth
*KRONIK* wrote:Bird pepper?
IMG_20210614_124735.jpeg

Postby Rovin » June 21st, 2021, 6:20 pm

for those who have d common tall tree 5 petal white flowers in their yard , u know d kind that bleed a milky white liquid when u break off any part of d plant ... yall suddenly getting dozens of dem long black & yellow strip caterpillars on ur trees too ?

saw dem on relatives trees who live about half mile away few days ago & now today i noticed them on my 2 trees , they done eat out nearly all d leaves on 1 tree & attacking d other .... i doh like to kill animals but ah level some malathion in dmc , after about 1.5hrs i see some of dem start to fall on d ground

Postby bluefete » June 21st, 2021, 6:53 pm

Rovin wrote:for those who have d common tall tree 5 petal white flowers in their yard , u know d kind that bleed a milky white liquid when u break off any part of d plant ... yall suddenly getting dozens of dem long black & yellow strip caterpillars on ur trees too ?

saw dem on relatives trees who live about half mile away few days ago & now today i noticed them on my 2 trees , they done eat out nearly all d leaves on 1 tree & attacking d other .... i doh like to kill animals but ah level some malathion in dmc , after about 1.5hrs i see some of dem start to fall on d ground

That is the favourite tree for those yellow and black caterpillars. The leaves they eat normally grow back quickly.

There are 2 of those trees not far from where I live and I remember taking pictures of those very pretty caterpillars some time ago.

Postby timelapse » June 21st, 2021, 7:12 pm

Frangipani is the plant.Instead of killing these caterpillars, plant marigolds near the trees.Reduce the use of toxic chemicals to the environment and your family members.
Rovin wrote:for those who have d common tall tree 5 petal white flowers in their yard , u know d kind that bleed a milky white liquid when u break off any part of d plant ... yall suddenly getting dozens of dem long black & yellow strip caterpillars on ur trees too ?

Postby Rovin » June 21st, 2021, 7:46 pm

never really looked into it b4 but YouTube has some good information ...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Z9WydR91Ek

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 24th, 2021, 5:53 pm

if you guys getting into hydroponics check out

Ariaponics

https://www.facebook.com/ariaponics

Greenhouses, hydroponics systems, Full works