Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

Postby timelapse » May 1st, 2021, 10:39 am

Lemme start it.I planted some carrot seeds about 8 days ago.
Image%20(17).jpeg

Re: Lockdown Grow thread.Post your homegrown lockdown plants here

Postby timelapse » May 1st, 2021, 10:39 am

Budd peppa
Image%20(18).jpeg

Postby timelapse » May 1st, 2021, 10:41 am

Same batch of bird pepper, this one was planted in dirt.
Image%20(19).jpeg

Postby De Dragon » May 1st, 2021, 12:47 pm

When ah reach home I will post meh small scenes

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 1st, 2021, 1:20 pm

Is this were we post our weed?

Postby timelapse » May 1st, 2021, 3:17 pm

Once you have 4 per adult i guessing.Mods?
Dohplaydat wrote:Is this were we post our weed?

death365

Postby death365 » May 1st, 2021, 3:23 pm

I needs ah plant.... Seriously. Pm meh na
timelapse wrote:Budd peppa
Image%20(18).jpeg

death365

Re: Lockdown Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

Postby death365 » May 1st, 2021, 3:31 pm

Some indoor plants
IMG_20210421_170411.jpeg

death365

Postby death365 » May 1st, 2021, 3:34 pm

Mobile app refused to upload 2 files at once
IMG-20210419-WA0008.jpeg

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 1st, 2021, 4:14 pm

Some lettuce and seasoning i trying. 3 weeks.

IMG_20210425_104029605_HDR.jpg
IMG_20210425_104057734_HDR.jpg

carluva

Postby carluva » May 1st, 2021, 5:51 pm

Last lockdown I wanted patchoi in the cores of some concrete blocks. Put them under a neem tree and didn't use and fertilizer or pesticides (neem is a natural pesticide). The patchoi wasn't as big and about 4 head of what I grew equated to about 2 head of what you'll buy in market. Best tasting patchoi ever! Who knew patchoi was sweet!

Planning to do some more. Will post pics as soon as it's started.

Postby timelapse » May 1st, 2021, 6:46 pm

Strugglers, bro pinch off the seeds and flowers from the basil.The branch will dry up.

I have way too many ornamentals to post.Orchids like wow, but is mih wife own.

Started this weird terrarium since last year.

Image%20(20).jpeg

Postby MaxPower » May 1st, 2021, 8:10 pm

Nice thread..

Im no gardener but i will be taking some notes here.

Postby timelapse » May 1st, 2021, 8:18 pm

What you want to plant buddy?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 1st, 2021, 9:56 pm

Lettuce and patchoi finish for now. Raided the seasoning planters recently for cooking so not much to show there. Have some bodi just doing its thing, couple pimentos, a cherry pepper, hot pepper, couple aibika plants, lots of holy basil and lemon grass as bush tea is the flick but nothing looking nice enough to post here lol :(

All my orchids dead yo... my dogs handle them :| I have a common pink one remaining on a mango tree tho which hasn't flowered in a couple years from neglect :(

Still have
11.jpg

rip
22.jpg

rip
33.jpg

Some soursop started from seed a while back for someone
44.jpg

Dragonfruit flowering. It real struggling right now tho
55.jpg

Postby timelapse » May 2nd, 2021, 5:56 am

Beautiful.I hope this thread picks up

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » May 2nd, 2021, 6:07 am

Full Chocolate sunflower

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 2nd, 2021, 7:39 am

IMG_5068.jpg

my flowers pretty too or wa?
On a side note have about 10 scorpion pepper an 10 normal rasta color pepper, how it is all dem pest love d scorpion so boy, is like dey cya catch a break.

Postby sMASH » May 2nd, 2021, 7:51 am

Plant smash!
IMG_20210502_074709.jpeg

Postby meccalli » May 2nd, 2021, 8:08 am

Soursop seedlings! Nice I grafted one the other day actually. Some pics from this morning after all of that rain.
WhatsApp Image 2021-05-02 at 5.03.46 AM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-05-02 at 5.03.45 AM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-05-02 at 5.03.45 AM (3).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-05-02 at 5.03.45 AM (2).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-05-02 at 5.03.45 AM (1).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-05-02 at 5.03.44 AM.jpeg

Postby timelapse » May 2nd, 2021, 8:32 am

daxt0r wrote:
Image%20(21).jpeg

my flowers pretty too or wa?
On a side note have about 10 scorpion pepper an 10 normal rasta color pepper, how it is all dem pest love d scorpion so boy, is like dey cya catch a break.
My still in veg stage.Neem oil for them pepper pests
Image%20(21).jpeg

Postby MaxPower » May 2nd, 2021, 8:56 am

timelapse wrote:What you want to plant buddy?

I reckon i will start small,

Like with the seasonings.

Had a small garden a while back with some shado beno and chives, but i started to get these little black snails.

But i wanna get into tomatoes, ,lettuce, ochros, peppers, provisions etc.

carluva

Postby carluva » May 2nd, 2021, 9:32 am

There is an empty lot of land behind my house. I tried planting bigan, ochro, tomato and pepper last lockdown but that didn't turn out to well as the plants didn't bear and eventually died.

Wifey and father in law said I needed to dig drainage trenches between the rows of plants and mould up the base of each plant, which I didn't.

Is that necessary when planting those type of plants or can those plants simply be planted straight in the ground and left to grow?

Is it also necessary to fertilize or can more natural growth enhancers such as manure be used?

What about natural pesticides? Any recommendations for natural neem pesticides as I have a big neem tree in the yard?
Last edited by carluva on May 2nd, 2021, 9:32 am, edited 2 times in total.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » May 2nd, 2021, 9:33 am

Had a small garden a while back with some shado beno and chives, but i started to get these little black snails.

Hello Max,

It’s nice to see you taking up gardening as a hobby. Must say I’m pretty surprised though, always thought 1% main activity was to transship cocai....

Postby timelapse » May 2nd, 2021, 9:34 am

All of those are similar crops.They hate eater settling in the roots.Drainage is a must
carluva wrote:There is an empty lot of land behind my house. I tried planting bigan, ochro, tomato and pepper last lockdown and buss.

Wifey and father in law said I needed to dig drainage trenches between the rows of plants and mould up the base of each plant, which I didn't.

Is that necessary when planting those type of plants or can those plants simply be planted straight in the ground and left to grow?

carluva

Postby carluva » May 2nd, 2021, 9:37 am

I edited the post timelapse. Can you look back and advise further?

Postby MaxPower » May 2nd, 2021, 9:43 am

randolphinshan wrote:

Hello Max,

It’s nice to see you taking up gardening as a hobby. Must say I’m pretty surprised though, always thought 1% main activity was to transship cocai....

Hello randolphinshan,

Yeh boi i was always fascinated with the gardening.

But as u mentioned, have you ever tried the coca plant?

Ok dont answer that, i don’t want to contaminate the thread.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 2nd, 2021, 11:06 am

ru$$ell wrote:Full Chocolate sunflower

That is gorgeous :shock:

The thread picking up nice man timelapse, good one for real.

meccalli - nice lil section you have going there, never tried my hand at grafting yet. The soursop on that tree coming along noicee.

carluva - I believe those crops you listed are all heavy feeders maybe with the exception of the ohcro. Some properly cured manure will be a nice start. Dig your holes, mix in some of the manure and plant directly.
You'll need to feed them at certain intervals for best results, unless you happen to have extremely fertile soil that has built up for several years, like a rain forest. There's the typical Blaukorn route, or you can get fully organic fertilizers if you so desire. They come at a cost though. You can probably keep top dressing with manure but it comes down to what each plant needs specifically at each stage of growth in order to produce large healthy fruit.

Proper drainage is a must. Just go in with a hoe and mound up a few lines of beds and try to get an idea of the contour of the land and how the water drains and use that to your advantage if you barely getting any rain. Keep the water in the system somehow with a series of contour drains.

They will need attention pretty often, especially if you want to only use natural pest remedies. It's a good option/alternative for the home gardener but any sizable amount of crops is going to require the usual chemical stuff for less work. Neem oil is great to use, but expensive. You have a tree but I'm not sure how feasible it is to extract the oil from it. Don't know too much about that part.

I think it really comes down to how much time you have to invest in the plants and you'll know how to craft an approach best suited to you from there. Hope it helps somewhat and btw, I'm just a home gardener eh, so take what I said with a grain of salt.

edit - I saw something about basil. You never really want your basil to start flowering. It will turn to a bitter taste so keep pruning as necessary and the plant will get a bit more bushy. Keep pruning leaves/branches to keep good airflow through the plants. Never over water basil. Soil must be very porous to allow for proper draining if in pots.
Last edited by Soul Collector on May 2nd, 2021, 11:19 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 2nd, 2021, 11:13 am

timelapse wrote:Strugglers, bro pinch off the seeds and flowers from the basil.The branch will dry up.

I have way too many ornamentals to post.Orchids like wow, but is mih wife own.

Started this weird terrarium since last year.

Image%20(20).jpeg

Thanks, will do. Meem know nothing about planting so advice welcome.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » May 2nd, 2021, 12:25 pm

Living in a concrete jungle, so I had to improvise. Started about a month before lockdown last year and was able to grow and reap the following. Not first grade crops by far but at least they're edible. Still learning and tweaking as I go along.