Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

carluva

Re: Lockdown Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

Postby carluva » August 12th, 2021, 7:01 am

Is that the same link you posted for me to contact about the grafted citrus trees?

Damn!
pugboy wrote:wow
and i posted his link earlier here

Postby meccalli » August 12th, 2021, 7:03 am

Ted_v2 wrote:it must have a animal that eats those snails.

Chickens and ducks.. Mine love em. The geese are always rooting around too so i'm sure they eat them as well.

Postby timelapse » August 12th, 2021, 7:27 am

meccalli wrote:

Chickens and ducks.. Mine love em. The geese are always rooting around too so i'm sure they eat them as well.
I said that before.It seems my resident mongoose family eating them as well.

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2021, 7:40 am

yes

carluva wrote:Is that the same link you posted for me to contact about the grafted citrus trees?

Damn!
pugboy wrote:wow
and i posted his link earlier here

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2021, 7:42 am

chickens could bust the big ones ?

WOnder if them crao birds will eat them as well
they like to eat the water snails and crabs in swamp

meccalli wrote:

Postby meccalli » August 12th, 2021, 7:54 am

pugboy wrote:chickens could bust the big ones ?

WOnder if them crao birds will eat them as well
they like to eat the water snails and crabs in swamp

meccalli wrote:

I doubt for the larger ones, but all of the soft shelled and the hatched offsprings are free protein lol.

Postby Chimera » August 12th, 2021, 10:29 am

I was considering buying 10 duck and letting them patrol the land but that would invite thief...

Postby timelapse » August 12th, 2021, 11:40 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:I was considering buying 10 duck and letting them patrol the land but that would invite thief...
Buy 4 geese and you'll scare thieves.They badder than dog

death365

Postby death365 » August 12th, 2021, 11:48 am

turkey too , the tom turkey

timelapse wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:I was considering buying 10 duck and letting them patrol the land but that would invite thief...
Buy 4 geese and you'll scare thieves.They badder than dog

Postby MG Man » August 13th, 2021, 9:22 am

or pheasants (guinnea bird)...always wanted some for the yard

Postby timelapse » August 13th, 2021, 11:50 am

MG Man wrote:or pheasants (guinnea bird)...always wanted some for the yard
Those good for fleas and ticks.Not sure about macco sized snails

Postby MG Man » August 15th, 2021, 3:30 pm

IMG_7207.JPG

Any ideas why my tomatoes are cracking, and how I can prevent it?
I’m having to pick them green now
Never experienced this issue before

Postby timelapse » August 15th, 2021, 3:44 pm

Too much water

Postby MG Man » August 15th, 2021, 5:04 pm

Hmm
Soil is pretty well drained, and dries out very fast, so I guess it’s the daily downpours

Postby timelapse » August 15th, 2021, 7:16 pm

Either that or cowboy X didn't get chance to finish the job

Postby De Dragon » August 15th, 2021, 8:26 pm

MG Man wrote:IMG_7207.JPG

Any ideas why my tomatoes are cracking, and how I can prevent it?
I’m having to pick them green now
Never experienced this issue before

They fell in with the wrong crowd? :lol:

Postby MG Man » August 15th, 2021, 9:16 pm

bahahahahahahaha
in other news, after a month of no snails, anywhere, tonight I found one about 3" long, one at 1", and hundreds of hatchlings
no clue where the lil motherfuckers jump out from :|
Now finish my last bag of snailbait, so need to get more
Plus they reach the back yard too
I know it was inevitable, but it still sucks that they are now crawling in every patch of grass in the yaad

Postby MG Man » August 15th, 2021, 9:22 pm

timelapse wrote:Either that or cowboy X didn't get chance to finish the job

nah he's Cowboy O now

Postby Gladiator » August 15th, 2021, 11:07 pm

MG Man wrote:bahahahahahahaha
in other news, after a month of no snails, anywhere, tonight I found one about 3" long, one at 1", and hundreds of hatchlings
I know it was inevitable, but it still sucks that they are now crawling in every patch of grass in the yaad

They live and reproduce underground... when you see the small ones dig down on that spot like about 2 ft... you will find hundreds. Collect them and place them in a bucket of bleachwater overnight.

Postby timelapse » August 16th, 2021, 7:54 am

Picked yesterday and frozen.Might do a pasta later
IMG_20210816_075223.jpg

Postby Chimera » August 16th, 2021, 8:15 am

Gladiator wrote:
They live and reproduce underground... when you see the small ones dig down on that spot like about 2 ft... you will find hundreds. Collect them and place them in a bucket of bleachwater overnight.

wdmc

will try this

does always find clusters of small ones

ive taken to throwing gas and lighting them up when it have more than 10 in one spot

Postby timelapse » August 16th, 2021, 8:19 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

wdmc

will try this

does always find clusters of small ones

ive taken to throwing gas and lighting them up when it have more than 10 in one spot
Wacker, metal blade,go psycho mode

Postby Chimera » August 16th, 2021, 8:41 am

no...that just spread the eggs all over the place

Postby MG Man » August 16th, 2021, 8:49 am

Gladiator wrote:
MG Man wrote:bahahahahahahaha

oh jeez :|
This thing like a frigging zombie apocalypse movie

Postby *KRONIK* » August 16th, 2021, 9:02 am

Guys

If anyone is intetested in a birdcage/pen/coop to add to the lockdown projects...
Lemme know via PM

Its 12ft x 5ft x 2ft
2 levels
3 doors
Wired with 1" hex coated poultry wire
Was previously used for rearing quails and common fowl hatchlings.

Asking 2k

20210810_110127.jpg

Postby timelapse » August 16th, 2021, 10:11 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Guys

If anyone is intetested in a birdcage/pen/coop to add to the lockdown projects...
Lemme know via PM

Its 12ft x 5ft x 2ft
2 levels
3 doors

Asking 2k

20210810_110127.jpg
You have quails?I want to try the eggs

Postby *KRONIK* » August 16th, 2021, 10:17 am

timelapse wrote:

Lemme know via PM

Its 12ft x 5ft x 2ft
2 levels
3 doors

Asking 2k

20210810_110127.jpg
Had....
Buy the cage, i can pass u on to someone to supply the birds

Postby timelapse » August 16th, 2021, 12:05 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Lemme know via PM

Its 12ft x 5ft x 2ft
2 levels
3 doors

Asking 2k

IMG_20210816_120329.jpg
Had....
Buy the cage, i can pass u on to someone to supply the birds
If my dad was around.He is the poultry man.

Le lunch using le cherry tomatoes
IMG_20210816_120329.jpg

Postby MG Man » August 17th, 2021, 8:13 am

nice
Quails make nice pets....wish I had space for a few...and some pheasants
Right now I have a nice variety of house and ground lizards
Started planting that bushy plant with red needle-like flowers to attract hummingbirds...starting to see a few of them visiting on evenings

Postby *KRONIK* » August 17th, 2021, 8:32 am

MG Man wrote:Started planting that bushy plant with red needle-like flowers to attract hummingbirds...starting to see a few of them visiting on evenings

One make a nest by me here
But mih chupid cousin gone playing fass and taking pictures for FB and scare them away
They abandoned the nest