Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

Re: Lockdown Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

Postby meccalli » July 21st, 2021, 8:31 pm

eliteauto wrote:Noticed some changes in the bearing patterns of some of my plants during the pandemic, my passionfruit bore for almost the entire 2020, my soursop has been bearing continuously ( picked this one today, nice big one), lime trees under 3' tall in 10" setter pots are bearing ( not grafted, I grew them from seeds) and coconut trees with about 4-5' of trunk have started to bear. The reduction of human activity has done the environment and the plants good IMG_20210721_094000_583.jpg

I thought it was just me lol. Got one of my biggest soursops this year and the tree is full of em still. Soursop is usually a shy bearer but its prolific for me this season.
20210721_202128.jpg

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2021, 8:49 pm

bumper year for zaboca too
shame that 99% are picked too young for whatever reason stealing etc

Postby eliteauto » July 21st, 2021, 8:50 pm

pugboy wrote:bumper year for zaboca too
shame that 99% are picked too young for whatever reason stealing etc

Same with soursop, saw some in the market that guaranteed to give you colic

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 22nd, 2021, 9:27 am

timelapse wrote:Seeds planted on 21st of Feb.
I didn't expect it to grow.I got impatient and dug them up.I have a second batch in better soil

Ok nice man. Next batch should be looking irie then

Nice size soursops there...have me feeling for ice cream now :( All the rain we been getting, the trees must be loving that.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 22nd, 2021, 12:42 pm

Saw you all talking about African snails and then saw this article today. Someone tried to get in the USA with 15 giant African land snails.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-57932026
IMG_20210722_123738.jpg

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 22nd, 2021, 2:15 pm

escargot

Postby De Dragon » July 22nd, 2021, 3:11 pm

Tomatoes and Seeries. Also have pimento, hot pepper, baigan, cauliflower, and broccoli planted

Tomatoes.jpg
Tomatoes.jpg (38.41 KiB) Viewed 1744 times
G Cherry.jpg
G Cherry.jpg (38.28 KiB) Viewed 1744 times

Postby MG Man » July 23rd, 2021, 8:21 am

nice
ceries btw....or summ like that

Postby timelapse » July 23rd, 2021, 9:09 am

Allyuh have me being a spelling nazi .
Cerise :french for cherries

Postby supercharged turbo » July 23rd, 2021, 9:26 am

Is there any law against imported seeds?Looking to bring in some hybrid eggplant seeds for a relative

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 23rd, 2021, 9:51 am

supercharged turbo wrote:Is there any law against imported seeds?Looking to bring in some hybrid eggplant seeds for a relative
Apparently seeds prohibited.
Screenshot_20210723-095114_Outlook.jpg

Postby timelapse » July 23rd, 2021, 11:53 am

It is alleged that you might gt sometimes.Heard it from a friend of a friend

Postby De Dragon » July 23rd, 2021, 1:03 pm

MG Man wrote:nice
ceries btw....or summ like that

An older guy here called them Governor Cherries.

Postby De Dragon » July 23rd, 2021, 1:04 pm

meccalli wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Noticed some changes in the bearing patterns of some of my plants during the pandemic, my passionfruit bore for almost the entire 2020, my soursop has been bearing continuously ( picked this one today, nice big one), lime trees under 3' tall in 10" setter pots are bearing ( not grafted, I grew them from seeds) and coconut trees with about 4-5' of trunk have started to bear. The reduction of human activity has done the environment and the plants good IMG_20210721_094000_583.jpg

I thought it was just me lol. Got one of my biggest soursops this year and the tree is full of em still. Soursop is usually a shy bearer but its prolific for me this season.

Maybe I'm old, but in my youth ALL soursop was like that :lol:

Postby eliteauto » July 23rd, 2021, 1:59 pm

^^ nah I agree, all were like that growing up, but you'll almost never see one like that on sale and the price if you did, would pain you now

Postby De Dragon » July 23rd, 2021, 2:44 pm

eliteauto wrote:^^ nah I agree, all were like that growing up, but you'll almost never see one like that on sale and the price if you did, would pain you now

Seeing even the leaves on sale in some of those more countryside areas :lol:

Postby meccalli » July 23rd, 2021, 3:15 pm

meccalli wrote:

Maybe I'm old, but in my youth ALL soursop was like that :lol:

Yeah luckily for that generation. Unfortunately the prevalence of annona seed borers have become an issue over the years as well as the availability of nitidulid pollinators which are required for annona sp. fruit setting because of their minute stature.
Small and misshapen annonas like soursop are the result of incomplete pollination, i hand pollinate mine now and bag what i can to protect them. When borers get to the young fruit, if it's really bad, the tree will abort the fruit and it will turn mummified, much of those fruit are picked because the issues with borers before you see the effects of portions of the fruit becoming affected.
But 7lbs for a fruit isn't bad i'd say today. Times have certainly changed from back then when there was a far better ecological balance. Much of it has been anthropogenic influence and obsession with clean cut surroundings, pesticide and herbicide use etc.

Postby pugboy » July 23rd, 2021, 3:58 pm

the insect/bee apocalypse with pesticide use is quite a scary thought

Postby supercharged turbo » July 23rd, 2021, 7:32 pm

timelapse wrote:It is alleged that you might gt sometimes.Heard it from a friend of a friend
I brought in seeds before with no issues but those days packages weren't always opened

Postby Chimera » July 24th, 2021, 1:37 am

You can openly bring in seeds with websource (not ganja)
I brought in a bunch of Japanese flower seeds just 2 weeks ago.
Email websource first and show them the seeds you want to bring in
fokhan_96 wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Is there any law against imported seeds?Looking to bring in some hybrid eggplant seeds for a relative
Apparently seeds prohibited.
Screenshot_20210723-095114_Outlook.jpg

Postby Chimera » July 24th, 2021, 9:48 am

Bucket and a half last night
IMG-20210724-WA0005.jpg
IMG-20210724-WA0004.jpg

Postby timelapse » July 24th, 2021, 10:28 am

If you can get c purlins cheap, make a snail barrier

Postby pugboy » July 24th, 2021, 11:09 am

thats a lot of protein going to waste

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 24th, 2021, 12:52 pm

At least the shells could eventually add some calcium to soil. lol

Postby *KRONIK* » July 24th, 2021, 2:15 pm

pugboy wrote:thats a lot of protein going to waste
Is there a way to safely eat them?

If there is, or there can be, we may need to do like what we and other islands did with the lionfish. Make it known its edible and tell the ppl "kill them on sight"

Postby pugboy » July 24th, 2021, 2:22 pm

they grill them in africa
common snack

*KRONIK* wrote:

If there is, or there can be, we may need to do like what we and other islands did with the lionfish. Make it known its edible and tell the ppl "kill them on sight"

Postby pugboy » July 24th, 2021, 2:25 pm

similar prep to conch

https://youtu.be/DetzoYALOp4

Postby Chimera » July 24th, 2021, 3:10 pm

The ones in Africa don't have the diseases ours have. Or if they do they don't care.
pugboy wrote:they grill them in africa
common snack

*KRONIK* wrote:

Postby Chimera » July 24th, 2021, 3:17 pm

Lol those things climbing 2 inch steel posts 8 feet tall and crawling along barb wire.

You finding them in cherry trees 10 feet in the air.

C purlin not stopping them
timelapse wrote:If you can get c purlins cheap, make a snail barrier

Postby pugboy » July 24th, 2021, 3:44 pm

this might sound like a tall story
I used to ride chancellor hill twice a week, doing 3 runs up/down 5am

once I saw one of them snails around halfway up in the road moving up and leaving the slime trail, believe it or not it stayed on the road and travel a good distance for the 70mins or so I was there

they can move quite steadily when they ready

Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol those things climbing 2 inch steel posts 8 feet tall and crawling along barb wire.

You finding them in cherry trees 10 feet in the air.

C purlin not stopping them
timelapse wrote:If you can get c purlins cheap, make a snail barrier