Economist: The country is almost broke

Re: Economist: The country is almost broke

Postby zoom rader » May 9th, 2021, 5:29 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ thats the thing. I have never been to guyana but I have heard that it generally living conditions are bad
Guyana is one of those countries where you have super wealthy folk and just people trying to survive. Most of the Guyanese that made it lived abroad and built second homes from their US earnings. Those that are trying to survive depend on family abroad. I like Guyana cause its untouched so far with natural beauty. George Town is like POS 40 years ago. Guyana is very basic and very third world it resembles parts of African . Across the river and you in another world with a very country lifestyle. Always planned to reach the Brazilian border via Guyana but Corvid came along.

If you want gold Guyana is the place for it Super cheap gold at 14k and 18k . 24k they sell at world prices. Just go the mining towns and you get the deals. No middle men to bump the prices up.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 9th, 2021, 5:45 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ thats the thing. I have never been to guyana but I have heard that it generally living conditions are bad
Guyana is one of those countries where you have super wealthy folk and just people trying to survive. Most of the Guyanese that made it lived abroad and built second homes from their US earnings. Those that are trying to survive depend on family abroad. I like Guyana cause its untouched so far with natural beauty. George Town is like POS 40 years ago. Guyana is very basic and very third world it resembles parts of African . Across the river and you in another world with a very country lifestyle. Always planned to reach the Brazilian border via Guyana but Corvid came along.

If you want gold Guyana is the place for it Super cheap gold at 14k and 18k . 24k they sell at world prices. Just go the mining towns and you get the deals. No middle men to bump the prices up.
Might get your death too

Postby Habit7 » May 9th, 2021, 6:07 pm

Ralph Maraj is bitter and just antagonistic to Rowley beyond reasonability. He is a playwright and watches CNN and acts like he is an energy expert. Nothing he is saying there is groundbreaking and has been forseen even from when he was in govt. This issue is that successive govts have kicked the can down the road in terms of frontally dealing with the energy issues until now. This govt reformed the NOC, revamped our O&G royalties and taxes, pressed downstreamers into fixed gas price contracts and securing cross border agreements.

What is worse when he takes this comment out of context.
Dohplaydat wrote:Today, after five years as Prime Minister, Rowley pathetically asks “where with what and how to diversify our economy”. Scandalous! He has gestated no new foreign revenue streams, without which there will be absolutely no recovery. Can our economy revive under such abysmal leadership even if we survive the pandemic? This nation is being undone.

At the meeting Rowley also took aim at some commentators speaking about diversification.

"You always hearing about diversification, diversification. It's an annoying word. Because some people are still making $25 a week writing in newspapers and writing columns about diversification. Annoying. When you ask them 'diversify into what' they can't tell you. What would you do to diversify the economy, especially if you abandon the energy sector? They can't tell you. But they on television, they on radio, they on newspapers - diversification. Let me tell you what our diversification is. Our diversification is to find the things we can do and just do them."

He said one of the areas being looked at was tourism via the 800-room Sandals resort project in Tobago.

"All this questioning about 'what you going to give them' and 'what you going to get' and 'when you going to do it' coming from the pontificators who don't know their front from their elbow and those are the people who are trying to harass you when the day come into difficult circumstances. We are trying to lead you into the light; them turning down your bulb."

He said Government would be using the same model as with the Hilton and Hyatt where Government would build the resort and it would have the Sandals label.
https://newsday.co.tt/2018/06/08/rowley ... ive-to-tt/

Rowley fed up pontificate on several diversification streams. International brand hotel in Tobago, a success throughout the Caribbean, UNC and PDP boast that they scuttled Sandals https://newsday.co.tt/2019/01/16/kamla- ... good-news/ but an integrated Canadian company was coming for Magdelena but covid-19 happened. Comfort Suites still constructing but the new airport will draw more. The La Brea shipbuilding project got a partnership with China and was about to get off the ground. Likewise, a new eteck park has the new FDI that Maraj says doesn't exist.

Since Oct 2015 Maraj predicting doom and gloom for T&T. That is why I like to cite international observers to move away from the local bias.

Postby De Dragon » May 9th, 2021, 6:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:Ralph Maraj is bitter and just antagonistic to Rowley beyond reasonability. He is a playwright and watches CNN and acts like he is an energy expert. Nothing he is saying there is groundbreaking and forseen even from when he was in govt. This issue is successive govts have kicked the can down the road in terms of frontally dealing with until now where this govt reformed the NOC, revamped our royalties, pressed downstreamers into fixed gas price contracts and securing cross border agreements.

Dohplaydat wrote:Today, after five years as Prime Minister, Rowley pathetically asks “where with what and how to diversify our economy”. Scandalous! He has gestated no new foreign revenue streams, without which there will be absolutely no recovery. Can our economy revive under such abysmal leadership even if we survive the pandemic? This nation is being undone.

At the meeting Rowley also took aim at some commentators speaking about diversification.

"You always hearing about diversification, diversification. It's an annoying word. Because some people are still making $25 a week writing in newspapers and writing columns about diversification. Annoying. When you ask them 'diversify into what' they can't tell you. What would you do to diversify the economy, especially if you abandon the energy sector? They can't tell you. But they on television, they on radio, they on newspapers - diversification. Let me tell you what our diversification is. Our diversification is to find the things we can do and just do them."

He said one of the areas being looked at was tourism via the 800-room Sandals resort project in Tobago.

"All this questioning about 'what you going to give them' and 'what you going to get' and 'when you going to do it' coming from the pontificators who don't know their front from their elbow and those are the people who are trying to harass you when the day come into difficult circumstances. We are trying to lead you into the light; them turning down your bulb."

He said Government would be using the same model as with the Hilton and Hyatt where Government would build the resort and it would have the Sandals label.

Rowley fed up pontificate on several diversification streams. International brand hotel in Tobago, a success throughout the Caribbean, UNC and PDP boast that they scuttled Sandals https://newsday.co.tt/2019/01/16/kamla-sandals-withdrawal-is-good-news/ but an integrated Canadian company was coming for Magdelena but covid-19 happened. Comfort Suites still constructing but the new airport will draw more. The La Brea shipbuilding project got a partnership with China and was about to get off the ground. Likewise, a new eteck park has the new FDI that Maraj says doesn't exist.

Since Oct 2015 Maraj predicting doom and gloom for T&T. That is why I like to cite international observers to move away from the local bias.

It seems like your ignorant of the cost of the Sandals project. Just like the apartment towers in POS that had terms like their own police station and 24 hour patrols tha JUHN Scarfy had to scuttle. BOTH of them after the details were brought to light, which like your riding partner Colos likes to say, is the best disinfectant.
You're also defending sheit, for when a country's leader can say (with annoyance to boot) that they don't have a clue, or the brain to even formulate one idea, or at least talk about one idea on diversifying an economy, then they have no business running a parlour, much less a whole country.
You talking sheit about Covid too, they have had decades to do this, unless in LFD RFD PNM land Covid has been around since 1956 :roll:

Postby Habit7 » May 9th, 2021, 6:16 pm

De Dragon wrote:It seems like your ignorant of the cost of the Sandals project. Just like the apartment towers in POS that had terms like their own police station and 24 hour patrols tha JUHN Scarfy had to scuttle.

Please for the love of truth, produce anything that could valid this claim other than the vacuum of your head.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 9th, 2021, 6:17 pm

A PNM POLITICIAN visited a village and asked what their needs were.
”We have 2 basic needs sir,” replied the villager.
“Firstly, we have a hospital, but there’s no doctor.”
On hearing this, politician whipped out his cellphone, and after speaking for a while he reassured the village leader that the doctor would be there the next day. He then asked about the second problem.

“Secondly sir, there is no cellphone coverage anywhere in this village.”

Postby De Dragon » May 9th, 2021, 6:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:It seems like your ignorant of the cost of the Sandals project. Just like the apartment towers in POS that had terms like their own police station and 24 hour patrols tha JUHN Scarfy had to scuttle.

Please for the love of truth, produce anything that could valid this claim other than the vacuum of your head.

Ok I was wrong, there was to be no police station
    BUT
Under the headline 'HDC's sweetheart deal with Chinese contractor', Express Business revealed:

• HDC agreed to use its best efforts to convert 60 per cent of the $485 million contract price to US dollars;

• HDC agreed to reimburse all of CGGC's VAT payables one month after each interim payment certificate. HDC agreed, in writing, to use its own funds to reimburse the Chinese contractor;

• HDC agreed to reimburse all of CGGC's corporate tax payments within a period of one month after the submission date;

• The contract also ensures that the Chinese contractor does not pay customs duty or import duties, and all other related fees or charges levied on the contractor during the performance of the project, in accordance with the laws of T&T. In the event that the exemption is not approved by any authorities, all above-noted taxes, duties, fees and charges shall be reimbursed by the HDC through its own fund resources;

• HDC was responsible for obtaining all permits, including tax exemption certificates, planning permission, work permits, permits to work and any other permits and approvals required for the project;

• While the Chinese contractor pledged to use as many local workers and materials as possible for the project, the contract makes provision for CGGC to be granted up to 600 work permits for Chinese labourers;

• HDC was responsible for obtaining all visas, resident permits and work permits;

• HDC also had the responsibility to provide 4.94 acres (two hectares) of land to serve as temporary housing for the up to 600 labourers;

• HDC, as well, was responsible for ensuring 24-hour security at the building sites for the contractor's personnel and property; 'During the execution of the project, at least one patrol car with two armed police shall be arranged for each site 24 hours per day by the local police station under the liaison of the employer,' the contract states;

• HDC agreed to deliver to the contractor a payment guarantee covering 100 per cent of the contract price within 28 days of the signing of the contract agreement; and

• HDC also agreed that any delays in payment would be subject to financing charges of four per cent above the discount rate of the Central Bank. The present discount rate is seven per cent, which means the financing charges for delayed payment compounded monthly at 11 per cent.

Postby Habit7 » May 9th, 2021, 6:47 pm

The project was in Sando, not POS.

You need to relax and stop allowing yourself to get so riled up you post nonsense.

The point is Maraj said that there has been no effort in diversification and that is not true. Don't try to divert into other topics, accusing me that I don't really know about the main topic when it is demonstratively evident that it is you who don't know about your own diversion.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 9th, 2021, 7:03 pm

De dragon, go eat one banana and cool yourself.

Postby zoom rader » May 9th, 2021, 7:39 pm

Habit7 wrote:Ralph Maraj is bitter and just antagonistic to Rowley beyond reasonability. He is a playwright and watches CNN and acts like he is an energy expert. Nothing he is saying there is groundbreaking and has been forseen even from when he was in govt. This issue is that successive govts have kicked the can down the road in terms of frontally dealing with the energy issues until now. This govt reformed the NOC, revamped our O&G royalties and taxes, pressed downstreamers into fixed gas price contracts and securing cross border agreements.

Rowley fed up pontificate on several diversification streams. International brand hotel in Tobago, a success throughout the Caribbean, UNC and PDP boast that they scuttled Sandals https://newsday.co.tt/2019/01/16/kamla- ... good-news/ but an integrated Canadian company was coming for Magdelena but covid-19 happened. Comfort Suites still constructing but the new airport will draw more. The La Brea shipbuilding project got a partnership with China and was about to get off the ground. Likewise, a new eteck park has the new FDI that Maraj says doesn't exist.

So everyone in the red government that exposes Rowlair and the blatant corruption is bitter and just antagonistic to?

So on one can't bring the truth forward on Rowlair

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 9th, 2021, 7:48 pm

Rowley ain't business bout no diversification because he paycheck sure regardless.
That's just old talk to make trinis feel they advancing.

Postby matr1x » May 9th, 2021, 8:35 pm

The pnm posters here too busy sucking on the banana to care

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 9th, 2021, 8:47 pm

Tuner Friends,

Do you all think it would be a stupid idea to start a business that depends on foreign exchange now in Trinidad?

Let's say something healthcare/medical related.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 9th, 2021, 9:11 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Tuner Friends,

Do you all think it would be a stupid idea to start a business that depends on foreign exchange now in Trinidad?

Let's say something healthcare/medical related.
Make a new thread on this topic. Not just a forex business but any business in general.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 9th, 2021, 9:30 pm

Habit7 wrote:Ralph Maraj is bitter and just antagonistic to Rowley beyond reasonability. He is a playwright and watches CNN and acts like he is an energy expert. Nothing he is saying there is groundbreaking and has been forseen even from when he was in govt. This issue is that successive govts have kicked the can down the road in terms of frontally dealing with the energy issues until now. This govt reformed the NOC, revamped our O&G royalties and taxes, pressed downstreamers into fixed gas price contracts and securing cross border agreements.

agreed. he made it slightly political when he said that pnm did nothing to diversify in their 5 years in power. who else did nothing to diversify in their 5 years of power though. Steupse. tnt just in a mess

Postby De Dragon » May 10th, 2021, 9:58 am

Habit7 wrote:The project was in Sando, not POS.

You need to relax and stop allowing yourself to get so riled up you post nonsense.

The point is Maraj said that there has been no effort in diversification and that is not true. Don't try to divert into other topics, accusing me that I don't really know about the main topic when it is demonstratively evident that it is you who don't know about your own diversion.

Oh it was Sando? That makes it ok . Morons I tell you, morons. :roll:
Also Pornsie, doing something half-arsed is just as bad as not doing it at all, because at the end of the day, we're still on sheit street

Postby Habit7 » May 10th, 2021, 10:52 am

Also Pornsie, doing something half-arsed is just as bad as not doing it at all, because at the end of the day, we're still on sheit street

You lied.

There was no tower in POS, there was no police station or 24hr patrol.

You just invented these things out of whole cloth to defend the UNC. Kirk Meighoo would be proud.

Stop lying and talking nonsense to defend UNC politicans. It is one thing if you were talk sense, but you are not. And you are getting vex when ppl point it out.

Postby De Dragon » May 10th, 2021, 10:59 am

Habit7 wrote:

You lied.

There was no tower in POS, there was no police station or 24hr patrol.

You just invented these things out of whole cloth to defend the UNC. Kirk Meighoo would be proud.

Stop lying and talking nonsense to defend UNC politicans. It is one thing if you were talk sense, but you are not. And you are getting vex when ppl point it out.

Cyatlal, Sando, POS, Moruga doesn't matter!
Also for the same moron who likes to throw ALTA around you sure are a failure at reading :roll:
• HDC, as well, was responsible for ensuring 24-hour security at the building sites for the contractor's personnel and property; 'During the execution of the project, at least one patrol car with two armed police shall be arranged for each site 24 hours per day by the local police station under the liaison of the employer,' the contract states;

Postby Habit7 » May 10th, 2021, 11:13 am

There was no POS tower, everything else is a lie. You trip up yourself and vex that ppl pointing it out.

Facts are relevant.

Postby De Dragon » May 10th, 2021, 11:17 am

Habit7 wrote:There was no POS tower, everything else is a lie. You trip up yourself and vex that ppl pointing it out.

Facts are relevant.

You're really sad and sickening, your actual argument is location of the corruption wasn't correctly stated?
Really?

Postby Habit7 » May 10th, 2021, 11:33 am

Habit7 wrote:There was no POS tower, everything else is a lie. You trip up yourself and vex that ppl pointing it out.

Facts are relevant.

You're really sad and sickening, your actual argument is location of the corruption wasn't correctly stated?
Really?

My argument is what I brought up.

You created a fictitious project and want to argue the finer points of it. I will not.

Postby De Dragon » May 10th, 2021, 11:42 am

Habit7 wrote:

Facts are relevant.

Really?

My argument is what I brought up.

You created a fictitious project and want to argue the finer points of it. I will not.

It take you a little longer this time, but pantyman, hissy fit,I gone finally reared its inevitable head :lol: :lol:

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 14th, 2021, 6:13 pm

Can Trinidad go back to the days of the 90s and 2000s? (the economy)

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 14th, 2021, 9:25 pm

Are we broke yet?

I'm assuming we still have an economy.

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2021, 9:31 pm

anybody remember the mid 90s
every month is some new big project launching

SuperiorMan wrote:Can Trinidad go back to the days of the 90s and 2000s? (the economy)

Postby sMASH » May 14th, 2021, 9:56 pm

u want to hear why the country broke?

bobbol in the covid handling. renting over priced.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 14th, 2021, 10:08 pm

pugboy wrote:anybody remember the mid 90s
every month is some new big project launching

SuperiorMan wrote:Can Trinidad go back to the days of the 90s and 2000s? (the economy)

Panday days hoss....

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 15th, 2021, 9:20 am

a man's source for information is PEA :lol: :lol:

Postby Habit7 » May 15th, 2021, 9:42 am

I remember some years ago I had an office overlooking QPS. T&TEC was digging up across the savannah to lay underground cables. It was making the place dusty but today you won't even know they were there.

I remember PEA come on FB and say the 1% trying to steal the savannah and he will fight them on FB because they are afraid of him. :roll:

I pity the ppl who listen to him.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 15th, 2021, 9:43 am

All yuh fellas sometimes don't think he trolling?