Anyone here have a dishwasher and actually uses it?

fokhan_96

Anyone here have a dishwasher and actually uses it?

Postby fokhan_96 » March 13th, 2021, 8:44 am

Ok so I'm interested in purchasing a dishwasher

Does anyone here have a dishwasher and actually uses it?
I know our culture here is about washing wares and just letting them drain on the sink. So for those who have, does it clean properly, especially curry, oily dishes?

Re: My Pardna say he looking for a dishwasher...

Postby zoom rader » March 13th, 2021, 9:27 am

Having a dishwasher is nice but having regular water to use it is even nicer

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » March 13th, 2021, 10:09 am

Well according to Google, a dishwasher actually uses less water.

A standard dishwasher uses around 9.5 liters of water per wash, while hand-washing generally uses up to 60 litres. When you add up the numbers, switching from hand-washing to dishwashing can save you up to 18,000 litres of water per year.
zoom rader wrote:Having a dishwasher is nice but having regular water to use it is even nicer

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 13th, 2021, 11:17 am

fokhan_96 wrote:Ok so I'm interested in purchasing a dishwasher

I know our culture here is about washing wares and just letting them drain on the sink. So for those who have, does it clean properly, especially curry, oily dishes?

No problems at all in that regard. I also use the hot water option so even better. No need to rinse dishes before putting in the dishwasher, just remove heavy particles.

What I have found is that over the course of a few years, clear glasses become slightly cloudy looking as if stained. No idea why and it can't be unstained. Guess I need to change my drinking glasses more often.

Postby timelapse » March 13th, 2021, 12:01 pm

You try soaking them in vinegar?
Strugglerzinc wrote:

No problems at all in that regard. I also use the hot water option so even better. No need to rinse dishes before putting in the dishwasher, just remove heavy particles.

What I have found is that over the course of a few years, clear glasses become slightly cloudy looking as if stained. No idea why and it can't be unstained. Guess I need to change my drinking glasses more often.

aidan

Postby aidan » March 13th, 2021, 12:32 pm

When I used to rent the apartment had a dishwasher. I never really used it until a friend from abroad came to visit and used it after that I started using it. Uses much less water and the dishes come out cleaner than hand washing. Yes it gets out curry stain and everything. However you still need to prewash your dishes before putting it in. I usually just let it soak in the sink with some dawn then put them in.
However from my experience they can't really handle them big aluminum pots n ting like if you make a curry goat. Regular everyday wares is fine.

Re: Anyone here have a dishwasher and actually uses it?

Postby MaxPower » March 13th, 2021, 2:09 pm

I have a GE dual draw washer, works great with Cascade Platinum Dishwasher Pods.

Now friends yuh cannot be putting yuh burn up cheese and dry up curry and press start and expect it to be 100.

Some house keeping advice, as soon as you finish eat, take the same napkin or bib u use to wipe your greasy suck teethin mouth and wipe the heavy stuff off the plate.

(A good tip is to put all discarded foodstuff in a grocery bag and place in freezer until ready to put the trash out. This will eliminate food from rotting, smelling and attracting rodents) There should be no food stuff in the sink and investing in a drain hole strainer is highly recommended. This will help keep your pipes clog free. Also this nasty habit you Trinis have with your kitchen sink draining out in the yard causing moss with rice and dahl grain for the dog to eat must stop.

Moving on, your plate should just have a light residue which u can rinse off with water and either make a pile in the sink or load it in the dishwasher rack one time until full.

Use a good dishwasher pod and ensure your solution is always topped up. Your wares should be sparkling clean when done. Be sure to wipe your dishwasher after every use.

My dishwasher acts as my wares rack when dried which eliminates having my wares piled up next to the sink giving a clear clutter free appearance.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 13th, 2021, 2:23 pm

OP. Our dishwasher is used at least every other day. You can put fairly dirty wares in it, but make sure you remove all solids and at least the heavy stuck on grease before putting them in the dishwasher.

Dishwashers use hot water only, so if you have a water heater, adjust the thermostat to get a fairly hot water supply to the unit. Cool water never works well as there's been the odd occasion when my hot water from my tanked water heater ran out during a cycle and the wares were not clean. Note, if the water is very hot from the water heater, this is no problem as when you are bathing, you can temper the water to suit, plus, many modern day shower faucets have a hot water adjustment on the mixer valve for fine tuning of water temperature.

When looking for a dishwasher, make sure to get one where there is a removable basket strainer or filter inside the unit. This makes cleaning the unit mush easier without having to scrap it down to access a filter.

Next, invest in a unit with a stainless steel interior. Plastic gets dirty and over time mildew accumulates, making it harder to keep clean. Modern day dishwasher cleaning solutions are better suite for stainless steel interior. Additionally, plastic tends to get worn with the constant hot water and cleaning solutions which tend to be very strong. Your smooth white plastic will quickly turn to a cream rough plastic with constant use.

I am giving you my personal learnings as our current unit is 10+ years old, but is a plastic interior, without any easy access to the filter. I will replace with a unit as described when it comes to that.

Lastly, get a good brand name. I have found that many stores sell the appliances but do not stock many parts. At least when you are shopping, get the make and model number and cross reference on websites such as partsselect or appliancepartpros to see if they have parts for your unit. You will likely be better off buying parts and repairing yourself instead of waiting to get it repaired locally by the store you have purchased from. Also, buy from a dedicated appliance store not a furniture store as the appliance stores are more likely to have parts than the furniture store.

PTN make sure you have an abundance of suitable frequently used wares so you are not limited by plates, glasses or cutlery whilst wares are dirty or being accumulated for washing. At least an extra days worth makes sense, especially if you have a family.

I would recommend as you'd spend less time washing wares and have that much more time on your hand to do more important things.
Last edited by carluva on March 13th, 2021, 2:23 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 13th, 2021, 2:27 pm

Dude i cannot go back to life without a dishwasher now, load up dishes during the day, leave it on at night, wake up and spend 5 mins unpacking dishes.

Plus using less water as well. Only problem is that some pots and baking trays u still need to wash manuualy, but those are usually easy.

Also, but this on Amazon - https://www.amazon.com/Finish-Dishwashe ... e5153e81cb

It'll last you about 3 months and costs around $200-300 TT total (depending on how customs feeling), and will last 3-4 months.

Roughly $3TT a wash, and so much time saved.

Postby SMc » March 13th, 2021, 2:41 pm

timelapse wrote:You try soaking them in vinegar?
Strugglerzinc wrote:

Could be limescale, does you dishwasher have anywhere to put salt (not table salt eh) also make sure you use rinseaid even when using them 3 in one tablets.

Carluva mentioned dishwasher having a hot water feed- i have never seen this before, as far as I am aware pretty much all dishwashers whether domestic or commercial have a heating element. I would suggest you double check your unit is plumbed in correctly.

I used to work for a company called Ecolab and pretty much looked at dishwashers almost daiy- they are some of the dirtiest pieces of equipment in any food service establishment
, nasty

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 13th, 2021, 2:53 pm

SMc wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:

Could be limescale, does you dishwasher have anywhere to put salt (not table salt eh) also make sure you use rinseaid even when using them 3 in one tablets.

Carluva mentioned dishwasher having a hot water feed- i have never seen this before, as far as I am aware pretty much all dishwashers whether domestic or commercial have a heating element. I would suggest you double check your unit is plumbed in correctly.

I used to work for a company called Ecolab and pretty much looked at dishwashers almost daiy- they are some of the dirtiest pieces of equipment in any food service establishment
, nasty

Stopped using rinse aid when it got hard to find. I get it only sporadically at some supermarkets. I run a vinegar cycle weekly for the dishwasher. Gave up on the glasses long ago.

Everything else is fine except the once clear drinking glasses.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 13th, 2021, 2:57 pm

Well my unit has an element as well, but that is used to dry the wares.

The manual states use of hot water only and that's how it's plumbed. AFAIK, most units require hot water. I won't doubt though that modern units don't need to hot water supply and have the heating built in... However that's not something I have looked into as there wasn't a need... I guess I would should it come to that when a replacement is due.

I do suggest that you check back your manual to ensure that your unit does not in fact need hot water plumbed to it, else you are probably not cleaning your wares as well as they should be.

SMc wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:

, nasty

Postby MaxPower » March 13th, 2021, 3:08 pm

Trinis,

Also CUT OUT dipping a dirty sponge in a AJAX container and leaving the stink sponge in it.

Postby pugboy » March 13th, 2021, 4:19 pm

a big peeve of mine
hate to see that as it is a bacterial hotbed along with ppl who like to wipe counter with damp cloth and leave cloth there to build more bacteria

MaxPower wrote:Trinis,

Also CUT OUT dipping a dirty sponge in a AJAX container and leaving the stink sponge in it.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » March 13th, 2021, 4:47 pm

Thanks all. But you have very limited options to choose from in t&t now. Strangely enough as of recently popular stores like Courts and Standards has none. Fens have a cheap looking one.
Was trying to avoid places like Partsworld, Reliable and Lewis appliances as their prices are more expensive. So where you all got yours? Any other places would have?

Postby pugboy » March 13th, 2021, 5:23 pm

my mom doesn’t like to wash dishes much again so she likes to use it
but you need to build the routine of packing the dishes in and cleaning any crud off them

the pod soap is very hard to get locally and expensive
dishwashers are notorious for faults too
better to research the model and make sure it don’t have well known problems
we had one which always used to backleak water in and it would stink

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 13th, 2021, 5:53 pm

Did that brand start with a G, end with an E? Got one for mums in 2012, was a miserable piece of appliance. Had mystery leak and odour, pyrex and glass ware always had streaks more than expected... Some jets got clogs often...
pugboy wrote:my mom doesn’t like to wash dishes much again so she likes to use it
but you need to build the routine of packing the dishes in and cleaning any crud off them

the pod soap is very hard to get locally and expensive
dishwashers are notorious for faults too
better to research the model and make sure it don’t have well known problems
we had one which always used to backleak water in and it would stink

carluva

Postby carluva » March 13th, 2021, 6:39 pm

Truth be told OP, I would have actually recommended those appliance stores you mentioned. They tend to be expensive because the usually have decent warranties...

... But on that note, I would still take the part numbers for those units and cross reference on the websites I mentioned earlier. Common parts that give issues and need to change are the pump, strainer basket, drain ball stop, rinse aid dispenser and cover, cover for dishwasher pod. Get part numbers for all those parts for your unit and then call back the parts/service section of the appliance store to enquire on availablity of those same parts. If the store has stock, then it's probably worth your while buying from them. If not, well maybe you are better off having a unit freighted down by sea as there is no sense buying a unit here if the parts are not available.

Also, stay away from the cheap brands at all costs. Good units to buy include GE, Whirlpool, Frigidaire, Electrolux, Bosch, Kitchen aid, Maytag. I am not too sure if Samsung or LG make units. The beauty of those named units is that parts are usually compatible.

fokhan_96 wrote:Thanks all. But you have very limited options to choose from in t&t now. Strangely enough as of recently popular stores like Courts and Standards has none. Fens have a cheap looking one.
Was trying to avoid places like Partsworld, Reliable and Lewis appliances as their prices are more expensive. So where you all got yours? Any other places would have?

Postby pugboy » March 13th, 2021, 6:42 pm

i personally would not buy one locally
as your choices limited if you check and find out it is not a reliable reviewed unit
and dishwashers are not cheap
in the appliance business they are considered and expensive item

Postby MaxPower » March 13th, 2021, 7:20 pm

IMG_6539.JPG

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 14th, 2021, 10:58 am

pugboy wrote:i personally would not buy one locally
as your choices limited if you check and find out it is not a reliable reviewed unit
and dishwashers are not cheap
in the appliance business they are considered and expensive item

I was told by Courts when I bought mine that they do not repair them in the event of problems, they replace the entire unit under warranty. Can't say it that was or still is true.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 14th, 2021, 7:45 pm

yeah I have a wife

Makes good samiches occasionally

BUG

Postby BUG » July 12th, 2021, 11:22 pm

MaxPower wrote:IMG_6539.JPG

Where can I buy these locally? I've ordered some off amazon but have just run out and need them quick.

Postby MaxPower » July 13th, 2021, 5:21 am

BUG wrote:

Where can I buy these locally? I've ordered some off amazon but have just run out and need them quick.

Hello BUG,

Amazon is where i usually order.

Did you check Massy Stores? I think Pricesmart may be out of stock.

Hope you get through.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 13th, 2021, 7:37 am

Hire a Vene. Just be sure to search them when they’re leaving.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 13th, 2021, 9:22 am

BUG wrote:

Massy, Price Club, JTA and even Allied. You won't get that big container, just the smaller 20pk.

BUG

Postby BUG » July 14th, 2021, 3:38 pm

Had to visit three Massys before I finally found dishwasher tablets that weren't the useless Cascade basic tablets. Found some Waitrose tabs that do a decent job while I wait for the good ones from Amazon to be delivered.

Postby MaxPower » July 14th, 2021, 5:19 pm

BUG wrote:Had to visit three Massys before I finally found dishwasher tablets that weren't the useless Cascade basic tablets. Found some Waitrose tabs that do a decent job while I wait for the good ones from Amazon to be delivered.

BUG,

This is good news.

Glad you found something.

Postby goalpost » July 14th, 2021, 7:13 pm

I married my dishwasher

mantis

Postby mantis » July 15th, 2021, 9:04 am

Dishwasher was the best investment i could have ever mad its saves lots of time. Had mines over 1 year no problems no complaints also I make my home made pods check on YouTube