Robotics

Robotics

Postby sMASH » December 29th, 2020, 5:44 pm

Just tweeted out by Elon musk. GG folks

Last edited by sMASH on December 30th, 2020, 8:26 am, edited 2 times in total.

Re: It was a good run, nice knowing u all. Time to bid adieu

Postby paid_influencer » December 29th, 2020, 6:40 pm

scary AF

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 29th, 2020, 7:04 pm

how long until we start mounting salt water cannons at our front doors

zorced

Postby zorced » December 29th, 2020, 9:14 pm

The BD robot capabilities out a while now tbh they just took the time to demo them this way. Technodystopia in progress just give it time.

Postby matr1x » December 29th, 2020, 9:32 pm

CG animation

Postby sMASH » December 29th, 2020, 10:39 pm

matr1x wrote:CG animation

nope, real time robotics. elon tweet was specific that it wasnt cg.

Postby 88sins » December 29th, 2020, 10:59 pm

Nah, no CGI, just ai and robotics and some programming. AI and robotics advancing by leaps and bounds, and as power storage options become more and more compact and we start being able to store more energy in smaller and smaller cells and batteries, and the biomechanics are replicated with dexterity and durability in mind, it will keep advancing. Robot butlers may actually be a commonplace thing in 50 years, who knows.
That little yellow one around awhile now too, just didn't have the head and neck parts before, so I think those might be upgrades.

I just quietly in a corner, awaiting the Singularity.

Postby Gladiator » December 29th, 2020, 11:15 pm

88sins wrote:Nah, no CGI, just ai and robotics and some programming. AI and robotics advancing by leaps and bounds, and as power storage options become more and more compact and we start being able to store more energy in smaller and smaller cells and batteries, and the biomechanics are replicated with dexterity and durability in mind, it will keep advancing. Robot butlers may actually be a commonplace thing in 50 years, who knows.
That little yellow one around awhile now too, just didn't have the head and neck parts before, so I think those might be upgrades.

I just quietly in a corner, awaiting the Singularity.

...and the reduction of this bloated human population

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 29th, 2020, 11:16 pm

Boston dynamics?

I swear if that Black mirror dog episode ever comes to life, it's gonna be them

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » December 29th, 2020, 11:23 pm

Great, dancing terminators. Next they will sing as they hunt you. Joking aside, quite an impressive display.

Postby stev » December 29th, 2020, 11:39 pm

the balance is outstanding!!! that was a major roadblock for robotics at one point; getting them to balance properly...

I wonder what the battery life on one of those units are...last time i checked the Boston Dynamics dog had a battery life of up to two hours.

Postby 88sins » December 30th, 2020, 4:47 am

For now energy storage is one of the biggest challenges in robotics, but that may change within a decade or so if a third party developer can build high efficiency micro nuclear reactors.
Yes, it's something people are actually working on, for use in homes, cars, and (if they can get them small enough) robots.

Postby sMASH » December 30th, 2020, 8:12 am

stev wrote:the balance is outstanding!!! that was a major roadblock for robotics at one point; getting them to balance properly...

I wonder what the battery life on one of those units are...last time i checked the Boston Dynamics dog had a battery life of up to two hours.

the grid fin manipulation and the engine manipulation of spacex' rockets, was an indicator of how well their ai can maneuver in the real world, that road blocked got surpassed there.

power source is the biggest hold back right now. but the efficiency of the recent arm, amd and nvidia processors, means they wouldnt need that much power for processing, at least.

the tv show Raised by Wolves, shows a possible tech bridge to get more energy available. it shows the androids have an onboard power generation system. they have systems that use more power than the systems can generate, but what they do, they recharge capacitors slowly, to make the power available for high intensity tasks. that method is how the mars rovers get around, they charge batteries via solar panels, then do their big moves.

u can have a small nuclear device in the robots, but not generating thermo nuclear power, but di electric power. it just needs some time to recharge its cells. but, it doesnt need to plug in.

Re: extreme dexterity demonstration from robots by boston dynamics(we're all gonna die)

Postby 88sins » December 30th, 2020, 10:29 am

ah tellin allyuh, the Singularity is coming.

Re: extreme dexterity demonstration from robots by boston dynamics(we're all gonna die)

Postby sMASH » December 30th, 2020, 4:52 pm

^keep the nervous system, get rid of the arms and legs.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 30th, 2020, 4:56 pm

It's when Elon Musk buys the company from Hyundai in cash we should all panic. No idea why Softbank sold it. If their 100s of companies, BD seems one of the most impressive.

Postby matr1x » December 31st, 2020, 4:08 am

That is unreal engine lighting

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 19th, 2022, 12:26 am

Hyundai x Boston Dynamics

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2022, 6:49 am

ingenious.. i just want to know, if its humans that came up with it, or an AI????????????????????

Postby Redman » February 19th, 2022, 7:09 am

Pressure at every level.

Now You Can Rent a Robot Worker—for Less Than Paying a Human
Automation is reaching more companies, imperiling some jobs and changing the nature of others.

https://www.wired.com/story/rent-robot- ... ing-human/

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 19th, 2022, 8:47 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Hyundai x Boston Dynamics

Wow that is really cool!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 21st, 2023, 12:21 pm

Even more agility now

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 21st, 2023, 12:25 pm

Postby redmanjp » January 21st, 2023, 1:49 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Even more agility now

Is someone controlling every move or they just respond to commands?

Postby sMASH » January 21st, 2023, 2:07 pm

They running scripts, but monitoring real time to fine tune adjust on the fly.
More or less like what the space x reusable rockets do.

The path is known and programed but each move has an envelope of time and locations, so use the real time monitoring to fine tune each move and ensure the little deviations don't off set the rest of the moves

Postby redmanjp » January 22nd, 2023, 2:50 pm

Japanese Killer Robots Murder 29 Scientists

Postby redmanjp » January 22nd, 2023, 5:45 pm

If they covered it up then of course it would not have been reported.

Anyway whether or not this incident happened we are reaching the point where we can clearly see the potential for this to happen. Some AIs including ChatGPT have already made shocking statements about getting rid of humans. When they eventually become so smart that they can take over society these things may start to take place.

Postby adnj » January 22nd, 2023, 8:13 pm

I'm waiting to hear about an internet AI targeting some forum trolls and electrocuting them with a wifi overload. It will easily be blamed on the old BLU phone, cracked-screen iPhone or taped-up, busted power adapter that they were using at the time.

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2023, 8:42 pm

when are they switching on the 5g nanobots ?