41%
Trump
59%

Total votes: 39

Re: Joe Biden's Murica!

Postby adnj » October 19th, 2022, 9:21 am

Economists worry that the sharp rise of the dollar is increasing the likelihood of a global recession sometime next year.

The dollar is up 18% this year and last month hit a 20-year high, according to the benchmark ICE U.S. Dollar Index, which measures the dollar against a basket of key currencies.

The reasons for the dollar’s rise are no mystery. To combat soaring U.S. inflation, the Federal Reserve has raised its benchmark short-term interest rate five times this year and is signaling more hikes are likely. That has led to higher rates on a wide range of U.S. government and corporate bonds, luring investors and driving up the U.S. currency.

Most other currencies are much weaker by comparison, especially in poor countries. The Indian rupee has dropped nearly 10% this year against the dollar, the Egyptian pound 20%, the Turkish lira an astounding 28%.

Rich countries aren’t immune. In Europe, which was already teetering toward recession amid soaring energy prices, one euro is worth less than a $1 for the first time in 20 years, and the British pound has plunged 18% from a year ago. The pound recently flirted with dollar parity after Britain’s new prime minister, Liz Truss, announced huge tax cuts that roiled financial markets and led to the ouster of her Treasury secretary.

Ordinarily, countries could get some benefit from falling currencies because it makes their products cheaper and more competitive overseas. But at the moment, any gain from higher exports is muted because economic growth is sputtering almost everywhere.

https://apnews.com/article/inflation-mi ... 735395b868

Postby hover11 » October 19th, 2022, 9:33 am

Isn't America already in a recession, more than two consecutive quarters of decline has passed why don't they just admit it , now the question lies will this recession actually spark the new global depression

Postby adnj » October 19th, 2022, 10:03 am

hover11 wrote:Isn't America already in a recession, more than two consecutive quarters of decline has passed why don't they just admit it , now the question lies will this recession actually spark the new global depression
There is no clear and definitive evidence that the US has entered economic recession.

The US federal government does not declare economic cycles. Economic cycles in the US are declared by a nonpartisan, private nationwide consensus group.

-------‐--

How Does the NBER Define a Recession?
Despite negative economic developments this year, the NBER is not ready to say that the current economic expansion is over. That’s perfectly fair, even as GDP has declined for two consecutive quarters since employers are adding workers at an impressive clip.

The NBER is looking for a big drop in economic activity across the economy, not just in a few sections, and the labor market is a glaring outlier. Moreover, the decline generally needs to last more than a few months.

A big exception, of course, was the recent Covid Recession, which lasted just two months. But that decline was so severe and widespread that the NBER had to be flexible with its definitions.

Generally speaking, though, the NBER will want to see each of its three criteria for the decline-depth, diffusion and duration-met before making a call.

----------

Official business cycle dates—the peaks and troughs in the economy that define recessions and expansions—in the U.S. are determined by the NBER. A private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization founded in 1920, the NBER is dedicated to understanding how the economy works. Today it has over 600 university professors and researchers who conduct empirical research on the economy as Bureau associates.

Within the NBER, the Business Cycle Dating Committee plays the key role in determining business cycle dates. The committee is comprised of a small group of leading business cycle experts. This group reviews a variety of economic statistics and indicators of U.S. economic conditions before deciding on the turning points in the economy—business cycle peaks and troughs—that define periods of recessions and expansions. A list of U.S. business cycles dating back to the mid-1800s is available on the NBER web site.

Postby The_Honourable » October 19th, 2022, 10:14 am

hover11 wrote:Isn't America already in a recession, more than two consecutive quarters of decline has passed why don't they just admit it , now the question lies will this recession actually spark the new global depression

shhhhh... you're a right winger spreading russian propaganda :lol:

Postby adnj » October 19th, 2022, 10:24 am

The_Honourable wrote:

shhhhh... you're a right winger spreading russian propaganda
What propaganda? A global recession is very likely by 2Q 2023. The US and Europe have been identified as being the economic zones to be least affected. The strong US dollar means that wealthier nations with USD pegged currencies and relatively stable balance of account performance (such as Trinidad) will experience more stable currency values and lower inflation during the recessionary period when compared to the rest of the world.

Postby The_Honourable » October 19th, 2022, 11:09 am

adnj wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

shhhhh... you're a right winger spreading russian propaganda
What propaganda? A global recession is very likely by 2Q 2023. The US and Europe have been identified as being the economic zones to be least affected. The strong US dollar means that wealthier nations with USD pegged currencies and relatively stable balance of account performance (such as Trinidad) will experience more stable currency values and lower inflation during the recessionary period when compared to the rest of the world.

It was sarcasm adnj...

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2022, 2:49 am

America had met the technical criteria fir being in a recession.
The authority just didn't declare it to keep Biden looking good.

Much like how we kerp our exchange rate near 7 and not closer to 10 as it actually should be to keep up appearances.
IMG_20221020_024658.jpg
IMG_20221020_024355.jpg

Postby hover11 » October 20th, 2022, 2:57 am

sMASH wrote:America had met the technical criteria fir being in a recession.

Much like how we kerp our exchange rate near 7 and not closer to 10 as it actually should be to keep up appearances.
IMG_20221020_024355.jpg
IMG_20221020_024658.jpg
If the world hears the US is in a recession at this time especially with what's happening with Russia, confidence in the US dollar will drop and sink the recession even further. This is the first time I have seen a technical recession lol, politics at its best

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2022, 3:08 am

hover11 wrote:

IMG_20221020_024355.jpgIMG_20221020_024658.jpg
If the world hears the US is in a recession at this time especially with what's happening with Russia, confidence in the US dollar will drop and sink the recession even further. This is the first time I have seen a technical recession lol, politics at its best

every body with 2sense between their ears know america crashing right now. from bond markets to housing markets, and not accessing their fossil reserves.... they are spending and not earning.

keeping ur head in the sand like the ostrich, does not solve the probelm

Postby adnj » October 20th, 2022, 8:03 am

hover11 wrote:

IMG_20221020_024355.jpg
IMG_20221020_024658.jpg
I am posting this in a likely fruitless bid to provide either of you with some sound business training that is obviously lacking.

Postby hover11 » October 20th, 2022, 8:10 am

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:

IMG_20221020_024355.jpg
IMG_20221020_024658.jpg
I am posting this in a likely fruitless bid to provide you with some sound business training.

That doesn't mean anything when GDP is continuously declining.Business investment fell. Inventories tumbled as businesses slowed their restocking of shelves, shaving 2 percentage points from GDP. Higher borrowing rates, a consequence of the Federal Reserve's series of rate hikes, clobbered home construction, which shrank at a 14% annual rate. Government spending dropped, too. Try harder.

Postby adnj » October 20th, 2022, 10:13 am

hover11 wrote:That doesn't mean anything when GDP is continuously declining.Business investment fell. Inventories tumbled as businesses slowed their restocking of shelves, shaving 2 percentage points from GDP. Higher borrowing rates, a consequence of the Federal Reserve's series of rate hikes, clobbered home construction, which shrank at a 14% annual rate. Government spending dropped, too. Try harder.

Really? What did I do to make your dumbass reflex-post so hard?? I thought that I had read that passage before; you dug it up from three months ago! LOL

By the way, a mild recession is expected in 2Q 2023.

US economy shrinks for a 2nd quarter, raising recession fear
By PAUL WISEMAN
July 28, 2022

The decline that the Commerce Department reported Thursday in the gross domestic product — the broadest gauge of the economy — followed a 1.6% annual drop from January through March. Consecutive quarters of falling GDP constitute one informal, though not definitive,indicator of a recession.

The GDP report for last quarter pointed to weakness across the economy. Consumer spending slowed as Americans bought fewer goods. Business investment fell. Inventories tumbled as businesses slowed their restocking of shelves, shaving 2 percentage points from GDP.

Higher borrowing rates, a consequence of the Federal Reserve’s series of rate hikes, clobbered home construction, which shrank at a 14% annual rate. Government spending dropped, too.

https://apnews.com/article/us-economy-s ... 23dad5825f
Last edited by adnj on October 20th, 2022, 10:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » October 20th, 2022, 10:16 am

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:That doesn't mean anything when GDP is continuously declining.Business investment fell. Inventories tumbled as businesses slowed their restocking of shelves, shaving 2 percentage points from GDP. Higher borrowing rates, a consequence of the Federal Reserve's series of rate hikes, clobbered home construction, which shrank at a 14% annual rate. Government spending dropped, too. Try harder.

Really? What did I do to make your dumbass reflex-post so hard?? Ithought that I had read that passage before; you dug it up from three months ago! You reflex-posted hard on that one!! LOLOL

By PAUL WISEMAN
July 28, 2022

The decline that the Commerce Department reported Thursday in the gross domestic product — the broadest gauge of the economy — followed a 1.6% annual drop from January through March. Consecutive quarters of falling GDP constitute one informal, though not definitive,indicator of a recession.

The GDP report for last quarter pointed to weakness across the economy. Consumer spending slowed as Americans bought fewer goods. Business investment fell. Inventories tumbled as businesses slowed their restocking of shelves, shaving 2 percentage points from GDP.

Higher borrowing rates, a consequence of the Federal Reserve’s series of rate hikes, clobbered home construction, which shrank at a 14% annual rate. Government spending dropped, too.

You still deflecting though

Fact is America is on DECLINE. Talk done. It have no technicality they are in a RECESSION. Anyone with a brain can realize that only the doubters like yourself will accept such when they finally declare it.

Postby adnj » October 20th, 2022, 10:30 am

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Really? What did I do to make your dumbass reflex-post so hard?? Ithought that I had read that passage before; you dug it up from three months ago! You reflex-posted hard on that one!! LOLOL

By PAUL WISEMAN
July 28, 2022

Fact is America is on DECLINE. Talk done. It have no technicality they are in a RECESSION. Anyone with a brain can realize that only the doubters like yourself will accept such when they finally declare it.

MBA in BA seems to be working out for you.

Repost
Consecutive quarters of falling GDP constitute one informal, though not definitive, indicator of a recession.

Last edited by adnj on October 20th, 2022, 10:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » October 20th, 2022, 10:37 am

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2022, 1:33 pm

technically, they are in recession.

they just didnt declare one.

nothing they are doing now will be rasing real GDP.

saying 'we're creating moar jawbsss' is not a reason to not declare recession. just like creating cepep and urp is game changers.
is just like zimbabwe saying that sellers bread costing 500,000,000 dollars wasnt a boost of their economy.

nobody in thier right mind seeing what america is doing, is saying america economy doing well.

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2022, 1:36 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:

By PAUL WISEMAN
July 28, 2022

Repost
Consecutive quarters of falling GDP constitute one informal, though not definitive, indicator of a recession.

ur proving us right...

Postby hover11 » October 20th, 2022, 2:27 pm

sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:

By PAUL WISEMAN
July 28, 2022

Repost

ur proving us right...
He issa dunce.. he waiting for BBC and fox and Wall Street to declare the country in a recession that will never happen until they have no choice. How do you declare the world's superpower is crashing ?

Postby adnj » October 20th, 2022, 3:18 pm

Another post to make smoke come out of the ears of the sufferers, haters and contrarians.

It's been a very good year for U.S. manufacturing.

Factories added 467,000 jobs in the last 12 months. And factory production in September was the highest in 14 years, according to the Federal Reserve.

Even as other industries struggle under the weight of rising interest rates, factories keep churning out products to meet consumers' insatiable demand for cars, computers and candy bars. Now manufacturers are working to expand their capabilities, while struggling with supply and labor scarcities and looking to the near-future, where some economists and many on Wall Street say a recession looms.

https://www.npr.org/2022/10/20/11300216 ... bs-economy

Dive Brief:

The U.S. economy will start to shrink during the second quarter of 2023 as it falters from the harshest policy tightening by the Federal Reserve since the 1980s, Fitch Ratings predicted.

The downturn will prove “relatively mild by historical standards,” resembling the eight-month slump beginning in July 1990 that “followed similarly rapid Fed tightening in 1989-1990,” according to Olu Sonola, head of U.S. regional economics at Fitch.

“Nevertheless, downside risks stem from nonfinancial debt-to-GDP ratios, which are much higher now than in the 1990s,” Sonola said in a statement.

https://www.cfodive.com/news/us-recessi ... er/634514/

Postby hover11 » October 20th, 2022, 4:06 pm

Forecast by the IMF shows Germany and Italy are to tumble into recession in 2023 | Business Special

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=qX48-KwvP ... e=youtu.be

To andj the great US is recession proof

Postby adnj » October 20th, 2022, 4:27 pm

hover11 wrote:Forecast by the IMF shows Germany and Italy are to tumble into recession in 2023 | Business Special

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=qX48-KwvP ... e=youtu.be

To andj the great US is recession proof

Really? I certainly don't agree. You just keep getting shitt twisted and wrong.

More schoolwork for you to catchup on:

"The history of recessions in the United States shows that they are a natural, though painful, part of the business cycle. The National Bureau of Economic Research determines when a recession starts and ends.

The Bureau of Economic Analysis measures the gross domestic product (GDP) that defines recessions. The Bureau of Labor Statistics reports on the unemployment rate. Unemployment often peaks after a recession ends because it is a lagging economic indicator. Most employers wait until they are sure the economy is back on its feet again before hiring permanent employees.

There have been 19 noteworthy recessions throughout U.S. history."

https://www.thebalancemoney.com/the-his ... es-3306011

Postby timelapse » October 20th, 2022, 4:38 pm

How many of you in here have a green card ?
All this bacchanal for America and half of allyuh cant even reach Tobago.

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2022, 5:20 pm

'Weakening economy'...
Even the poorest countries have rich people.

Our income is pegged to the US. Their decline is our decline

Postby adnj » October 20th, 2022, 5:29 pm

sMASH wrote:'Weakening economy'...
Even the poorest countries have rich people.

Our income is pegged to the US. Their decline is our decline
"Relatively mild recession expected to start during the second quarter of 2023."

Then your dumbass should be wining on what they have wherever you are that will let you get that close and rejoicing.

Postby hover11 » October 20th, 2022, 5:39 pm

Wtf is a mild recession.... like mild cancer or mild aids lol. Mild recession is a term now lol. It doesn't take away how detrimental it is. Alot of people are going to lose their jobs and cost of living in the states is going to increase.
Last edited by hover11 on October 20th, 2022, 5:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2022, 5:39 pm

Just be honest leaders and stop changing definitions to suit the narrative of the week.

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2022, 5:44 pm

They trow that 'recession coming' talk to make people feel they not in one yet.

In the years past, two consecutive quarters of decline was a recession.

Now they put qualifiers to say is not really a recession, and look it over there, in the future.

Many bricks in the support in Wall eagerly like to prop up dishonest regimes

Postby adnj » October 20th, 2022, 7:32 pm

hover11 wrote:Wtf is a mild recession.... like mild cancer or mild aids lol. Mild recession is a term now lol. It doesn't take away how detrimental it is. Alot of people are going to lose their jobs and cost of living in the states is going to increase.

sMASH wrote:Just be honest leaders and stop changing definitions to suit the narrative of the week.

"Mild recession" is NOT a new term.

I will drop this so others can see that two of the most prolific posters on Tuner don't know shitt about what they are saying.

But just keep lolling and pretending. LOL!

https://www.washingtonpost.com/archive/ ... 97a28c60c/

Postby hover11 » October 20th, 2022, 7:45 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Wtf is a mild recession.... like mild cancer or mild aids lol. Mild recession is a term now lol. It doesn't take away how detrimental it is. Alot of people are going to lose their jobs and cost of living in the states is going to increase.

sMASH wrote:Just be honest leaders and stop changing definitions to suit the narrative of the week.

"Mild recession" is NOT a new term.

I will drop this so others can see that two of the most prolific posters on Tuner don't know shitt about what they are saying.

But just keep lolling and pretending. LOL!

https://www.washingtonpost.com/archive/ ... 97a28c60c/
How can the technical definition be avoided when the US had more than two consecutive quarters of DECLINE, banks have to be optimistic don't you get that , when ppl hear recession they will pull their money from the banks it will cause panic and banks don't want that. Bear in mind that this is the same country where the definition of a woman is anything you want it to be, so why not define recession what you want it to be as well.....

Postby adnj » October 20th, 2022, 8:14 pm

hover11 wrote:How can the technical definition be avoided when the US had more than two consecutive quarters of DECLINE, banks have to be optimistic don't you get that , when ppl hear recession they will pull their money from the banks it will cause panic and banks don't want that. Bear in mind that this is the same country where the definition of a woman is anything you want it to be, so why not define recession what you want it to be as well.....

You should really concentrate on how you never heard of a "mild recession" and then I post an article with "mild recession" in the headline from 1979. I hope that you don't have any kind of business degree because not enough sunk in - that was just time wasted.

Whatever is going on in the US is too complicated for you. Leave it alone before you hurt your brain.