Errol Fabien - Gofundme

simplejack

Errol Fabien - Gofundme

Postby simplejack » October 1st, 2020, 11:04 am

'For many years GAYELLE the Caribbean and Uncle Errol have brought us Laughter, Culture, History and Emotions deep within. Gayelle is a part of each of us, our parents and hopefully, our kids, but Uncle Errol is facing shut down due to eviction and urgently need our help!! Let's all chip in to help save GAYELLE'

https://www.gofundme.com/f/let039s-save ... ve_gayelle

Re: Errol Fabien - Gofundme

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 1st, 2020, 11:11 am

A single cash injection will only postpone the issue you have raised.
Good luck

Postby Redman » October 1st, 2020, 11:20 am

Hate to sound hardcore-but Gayelle refuses to adapt to stay in business.
long before Covid 19
They facing what every other business/income earner is facing.

Postby j.o.e » October 1st, 2020, 11:25 am

Gayelle hasn’t been commercially viable for years. As a channel you need ad revenue, to have revenue you need viewers to have viewers you need content.
Sorry but Errol needs to sell or partner with people who can move things forward.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 1st, 2020, 11:26 am

Didn't he get back his deposit from the last elections?

Errol Fabien - Gofundme

Postby MaxPower » October 1st, 2020, 11:34 am

Will not be contributing.

Postby Redman » October 1st, 2020, 11:53 am

he should start a sou sou.

For a man so big in the culture....she should start there first.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 1st, 2020, 11:54 am

Hard luck pal get a job. Not my problem that you wasn't financially responsible

Postby alfa » October 1st, 2020, 11:55 am

Never seen the channel myself but from the looks of things while it may be good for culture and heritage it may not be good for business and a cash injection will not solve that. Maybe the govt can bail him out through the ministry of culture. But private citizens funding him not seeming to make much business sense

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 1st, 2020, 11:57 am

I don't see a problem in contributing
Errol Fabien has contributed significantly to our local Trinbago culture over the past four decades

Postby MaxPower » October 1st, 2020, 12:26 pm

Trini culture and heritage sure played a magnificent role in this pandemic.

simplejack

Postby simplejack » October 1st, 2020, 12:48 pm

This would always spark a debate, the interesting fact is he was running for office.

As tax paying citizens, it makes you wonder if people who are on the brink of bankruptcy running for public office, if they would be tempted to inject money in their business...

Postby 88sins » October 1st, 2020, 12:53 pm

simplejack wrote:This would always spark a debate, the interesting fact is he was running for office.

As tax paying citizens, it makes you wonder if people who are on the brink of bankruptcy running for public office, if they would be tempted to inject money in their business...

not understanding why you put the "if" in there

Postby j.o.e » October 1st, 2020, 1:04 pm

http://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2.442474.ac4932ec7a

This was 2011..... covid is not the issue. Let it die

simplejack

Postby simplejack » October 1st, 2020, 1:45 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:A single cash injection will only postpone the issue you have raised.
Good luck

makes sense, if people are able to clear out his debt and he still can't maintain it. He can in return sell the place and make a decent profit..

rebound

Postby rebound » October 1st, 2020, 1:48 pm

Phillip Alexander say he already contribute ah 30k

Postby sMASH » October 1st, 2020, 1:49 pm

simplejack wrote:This would always spark a debate, the interesting fact is he was running for office.

if elected, he woudl have had a salar,y so he would have made his monthlies.

y not put him in a HDC house?

unless ttt or MoC want to incorporate gayelle as a content provider, the only way i see that moving forward is as a youtube channel with a patreon.

Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2020, 1:50 pm

he needed to go by dss

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » October 1st, 2020, 2:00 pm

Question is..
Did courts come and take up their thing?

dogg

Postby dogg » October 1st, 2020, 2:01 pm

This is an aside, but if Mr. Fabian can't manage his business affairs decisively and has to resort to asking for handouts, why would he put himself up for a major election? He believes running a constituency is easier than running a business?

Postby MaxPower » October 1st, 2020, 2:17 pm

He didn’t learn from his previous cocaine addiction?

Postby sMASH » October 1st, 2020, 2:25 pm

Apparently, the bank looking fir a bullet payment, so is all or nutten.
One e they get payout, is jess property tax after

simplejack

Postby simplejack » October 1st, 2020, 2:32 pm

He hit the $30,000 (USD - I assume) on gofundme, since the target was $60,000.

He also said he needed the money in 24hrs but gofundme takes 2-5 business days to withdraw. Either way if he keeps the business or not, he already have $200,000 TTD raised (when you convert the gofundme)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 1st, 2020, 2:57 pm

I see someone setup another funding page on fundmetnt
https://fundmetnt.com/campaign/lets-hel ... g8F_SuvuHM

Postby goalpost » October 1st, 2020, 2:58 pm

Nope, nuttin from me. I brokes.

Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2020, 4:44 pm

Bank knows that traditional tv station business is a bust in today online world
No way they gonna continue to finance anything like that again ever.

sMASH wrote:Apparently, the bank looking fir a bullet payment, so is all or nutten.

wingnut

Postby wingnut » October 1st, 2020, 5:14 pm

pugboy wrote:Bank knows that traditional tv station business is a bust in today online world
No way they gonna continue to finance anything like that again ever.

sMASH wrote:Apparently, the bank looking fir a bullet payment, so is all or nutten.
Yup tv stations advertising in decline years now and only getting worst, which is essentially their business model

Digital media and advertising is now where its at

Expect other tv stations to follow suit in years to come

He just delaying the inevitable

Postby The_Honourable » October 1st, 2020, 5:17 pm

Remember also Gayelle had to pay TATT the sum on 1M which Flow cleared for him.

https://teamtto.org/index.php/internati ... rs-1m-debt

(Originally: https://trinidadexpress.com/20160729/ne ... ys-on-air/)

Fabien means well and I get what he's trying to do with his station but for a decade now he's in financial trouble and seem to be getting himself deeper into it where now he lost his house.

Gayelle has some level of brand identity but I guess the best thing he can do right now is either find a competent business partner to develop relationships with other production houses like FILMCO or just sell the tape library to TTT.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 1st, 2020, 6:34 pm

9 hours later and the GoFundMe raised US$63,448.00

Postby Rovin » October 1st, 2020, 6:35 pm

i not gonna pretend i am a big local culture lover , i do remember as a likkle boy far back when gayelle was a show by itself on ttt when sprangalang was in he young days , looking at shows like no boundaries , calabash alley,sugarcane arrows beula & stork st.hill etc , all dem local shows b4 T&T had gotten foreign cable tv , good memories for some of us who actually lived thru that time

so i bit shocked to see like some ppl spitting venom on gayelle when much pretend we love local so much , ppl always quick to bawl : oh d tv & radio half d airtime shud be local , etc ... bunch of hypocrites who only love to hear jamaican music & watch foreign tv but bawling we love local, only seasonally we care for local for 3mths after nobody wanna hear bout dat

d new & ole ttt get d same meh response from d public , if wasnt for govt dat bust down long time .... both gayelle & ttt honestly doh have no bess shows buh if d public doh support then wa we expect go happen ... :|