Re: Astronomy

Postby aaron17 » July 12th, 2022, 5:29 pm

My thoughts ...

Micro organisms that exist in their environment .. layer 1

Ants...sees and aware of their environment ..layer 2

Humans...exist on layer 3

Just speculation here ..

Is there another plane of existence..layer 4.
Is layer 1 aware of layer 2 and 3?
Or layer 2 aware of 1?

Postby timelapse » July 12th, 2022, 7:17 pm

aaron17 wrote:My thoughts ...

Just speculation here ..

Or layer 2 aware of 1?
Thats multiple dimension theory, kinda

Postby st7 » July 12th, 2022, 9:50 pm

aaron17 wrote:My thoughts ...

Just speculation here ..

Or layer 2 aware of 1?

think of it like the Whos in Whoville on that snowflake that drops from the cloud to the ground (level 1), while that snowflake falls to what we (level 3) perceive as some minutes, the lifeforms in WhoVille will perceive as eons in their level.

so whatever level 4 may be, we may not notice their existence because we are far too 'micro' to know, and many eons will pass in our level before level 4 lifeforms finish watch an 'half hr' event.

or our universe is probably the atoms that make up a level 4 turd - we will never know lol

carluva

Postby carluva » July 12th, 2022, 10:36 pm

Not sure if this touches on your topic...

Postby aaron17 » July 13th, 2022, 6:28 am

carluva wrote:

Not sure if this touches on your topic...
I learnt that from michio kaku.

Postby aaron17 » July 13th, 2022, 6:30 am

I have a question. Most microscopic views are top views. Were there ever perspective views like how we see our environment?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2022, 9:54 am

aaron17 wrote:I have a question. Most microscopic views are top views. Were there ever perspective views like how we see our environment?

JWST uses infrared light instead of visible light and that's how it is able to see through dust and nebulae to view galaxies behind it - so it would give a better idea of depth than visible light I think

Postby hover11 » July 13th, 2022, 12:26 pm

10 billion $ telescope. Great images. Not sure why we’re so interested in space while we continue to destroy the very planet we live on now.

Postby maj. tom » July 13th, 2022, 2:02 pm

aaron17 wrote:I have a question. Most microscopic views are top views. Were there ever perspective views like how we see our environment?

Paradoxically, although we can study individual stars and interstellar clouds that lie near the Sun in great detail, our location within the Galactic disk makes deciphering our Galaxy’s large-scale structure from Earth a very difficult task... a little like trying to unravel the layout of paths, bushes, and trees in a NYC park without being able to leave one particular park bench. In some directions, the interpretation of what we see is ambiguous and inconclusive. In others, foreground objects completely obscure our view of what lies beyond, but we cannot move around them to get a better look. As a result, astronomers who study the Milky Way Galaxy are often guided in their efforts by comparisons with
more distant, but much more easily observable, systems.

Postby st7 » July 13th, 2022, 2:05 pm

hover11 wrote:10 billion $ telescope. Great images. Not sure why we’re so interested in space while we continue to destroy the very planet we live on now.

stfu and gtfo

every thread u does complain geezus

Postby aaron17 » July 13th, 2022, 2:39 pm

Ohhh

Postby paid_influencer » July 13th, 2022, 6:01 pm

nobody watching the "BUCK" SUPERMOON tonight?

Postby timelapse » July 13th, 2022, 6:22 pm

st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:10 billion $ telescope. Great images. Not sure why we’re so interested in space while we continue to destroy the very planet we live on now.

stfu and gtfo

Bamcee flies does hover.Ah jus sayin...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2022, 6:24 pm

paid_influencer wrote:nobody watching the "BUCK" SUPERMOON tonight?

Hoping there aren't too many clouds

Postby st7 » July 13th, 2022, 7:19 pm

timelapse wrote:
st7 wrote:

stfu and gtfo

Bamcee flies does hover.Ah jus sayin...

i go get NASA to name a comet after you cause that was an extinction-level diss

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2022, 7:59 pm

Buck Super Moon over Port of Spain

Photo by James B Solomon

Postby paid_influencer » July 13th, 2022, 8:21 pm

looked outside and saw it (no clouds)

looks apocalyptic af

Postby aaron17 » July 13th, 2022, 8:45 pm

Damn.i missedcit..my side looking normal color

Postby st7 » July 13th, 2022, 9:00 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Buck Super Moon over Port of Spain

Photo by James B Solomon

sheit... is it really that huge?

Postby maj. tom » July 13th, 2022, 9:26 pm

Jupiter photos taken as part of the testing and calibration operations of JWST scientific instruments. Mission specialists wanted to make sure that the telescope would be able to track a moving target under conditions of exposure to its optics of scattered light. This is especially important for observing objects such as rings of planets and their moons.

Taken from compiled report Page 9:
Characterization of JWST science performance from commissioning 2022 July 12
https://www.stsci.edu/files/live/sites/www/files/home/jwst/documentation/_documents/jwst-science-performance-report.pdf

Postby stev » July 13th, 2022, 10:32 pm

maj. tom wrote:

Paradoxically, although we can study individual stars and interstellar clouds that lie near the Sun in great detail, our location within the Galactic disk makes deciphering our Galaxy’s large-scale structure from Earth a very difficult task... a little like trying to unravel the layout of paths, bushes, and trees in a NYC park without being able to leave one particular park bench. In some directions, the interpretation of what we see is ambiguous and inconclusive. In others, foreground objects completely obscure our view of what lies beyond, but we cannot move around them to get a better look. As a result, astronomers who study the Milky Way Galaxy are often guided in their efforts by comparisons with

It's like we living in a dam galactic jail cell....

another example is the fact that humans may never get a change to study (or begin to analyze) the great attractor cuz it's in the general direction of the center of the milky way :|

Postby sMASH » July 13th, 2022, 10:43 pm

stev wrote:
maj. tom wrote:

It's like we living in a dam galactic jail cell....

another example is the fact that humans may never get a change to study (or begin to analyze) the great attractor cuz it's in the general direction of the center of the milky way :|

imagine, when they unpack the data for the arced galaxies, and the examine the lens corrected images, if they might find a spare 'e' lying around... boggles the mind to think of the possibilities.

Postby MaxPower » July 14th, 2022, 12:30 am

DMan7 wrote:Can't wait to see some alien life form out there.

Padna many of us cannot wait.

What we really should be doing is praying they are not more intelligent than humans.

Postby st7 » July 14th, 2022, 12:49 am

DMan7 wrote:Can't wait to see some alien life form out there.

Padna many of us cannot wait.

What we really should be doing is praying they are not more intelligent than humans.

i think that answered that question if they'll be more intelligent than humans

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 14th, 2022, 7:09 pm

Another one from Port of Spain
292591785_10158937587217685_6001368282412975155_n.jpg

Postby Rovin » July 14th, 2022, 7:14 pm

^^^ i was now coming to see if anybody posted that pic yes ... ah bess shot

Postby st7 » July 14th, 2022, 7:25 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Another one from Port of Spain

this looks more realistic than the other pic u posted

Postby sMASH » July 14th, 2022, 8:12 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Another one from Port of Spain

these pics giving a kinda miami beach, 80's car scene feel. like u will go down the road for a lil inner city race grudge.

Postby redmanjp » July 14th, 2022, 9:43 pm

noticed it while driving home last night- was huge. couldnt miss it.