Astronomy

MDtuner70

Re: Astronomy

Postby MDtuner70 » July 15th, 2022, 6:15 am

DMan7 wrote:Can't wait to see some alien life form out there.

Padna many of us cannot wait.

What we really should be doing is praying they are not more intelligent than humans.

Padna, dog more intelligent than you. You studying aliens.

I praying they see your tuner posts as reconnaissance. They will hyper drive out of our galaxy real quick.

Postby aaron17 » July 15th, 2022, 7:55 am

We aint seeing the bigger picture.

Postby timelapse » July 15th, 2022, 8:31 am

aaron17 wrote:We aint seeing the bigger picture.
The bigger picture is relativity of size,or possibly perspective.a grain of sand under a high powered microscope has lots of empty space with particles floating in the space.We would never know how tiny and insignificant we are based purely on size.Our universe could be a grain of sand on a beach in a larger 'Universe' for all we know.Until we know any better, we have to rely on what proper observations reveal

Postby stev » July 15th, 2022, 1:13 pm

sMASH wrote:
stev wrote:
maj. tom wrote:
aaron17 wrote:I have a question. Most microscopic views are top views. Were there ever perspective views like how we see our environment?

Paradoxically, although we can study individual stars and interstellar clouds that lie near the Sun in great detail, our location within the Galactic disk makes deciphering our Galaxy’s large-scale structure from Earth a very difficult task... a little like trying to unravel the layout of paths, bushes, and trees in a NYC park without being able to leave one particular park bench. In some directions, the interpretation of what we see is ambiguous and inconclusive. In others, foreground objects completely obscure our view of what lies beyond, but we cannot move around them to get a better look. As a result, astronomers who study the Milky Way Galaxy are often guided in their efforts by comparisons with
more distant, but much more easily observable, systems.

It's like we living in a dam galactic jail cell....

another example is the fact that humans may never get a change to study (or begin to analyze) the great attractor cuz it's in the general direction of the center of the milky way :|

imagine, when they unpack the data for the arced galaxies, and the examine the lens corrected images, if they might find a spare 'e' lying around... boggles the mind to think of the possibilities.

:cry:

Postby bluefete » July 15th, 2022, 8:01 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ this is what i was most anxious for - exoplanets and their composition

https://edition.cnn.com/us/live-news/ja ... index.html

James Webb Space Telescope detects clouds on a 'hot Jupiter' that we thought had clear skies
By Keith Cooper published about 9 hours ago

https://www.space.com/james-webb-space- ... a0b8f0f95a

Postby maj. tom » July 15th, 2022, 8:15 pm

Someone on Reddit has been using NASA's MAST database of unprocessed images being released open to the public and processing it on their own computer using GIMP. Now this is just amateur work and nothing scientific or analyzed and processed like what the Webb team will release officially, but here are some:

ABEL2744 Galaxy Cluster (NIRCam)

NGC7469 (NIRCam)

NGC7496 Spiral-Bar Galaxy (NIRCam+MIRI overlay)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 16th, 2022, 12:19 am

^ that’s pretty awesome

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 17th, 2022, 11:26 am

Postby aaron17 » July 17th, 2022, 11:49 am

Noice!

Postby maj. tom » July 17th, 2022, 2:12 pm

You can't see it at all though so don't bother looking for it in the sky. It's 270 million km away from earth and leaving. For reference the Sun is 150 million km away.

To track this you would need a good expensive telescope (good cheap ones cost about $800 USD right now), a computerized mount platform to track it, and a good camera with various ISO and exposure settings mounted to the eyepiece. And much experience.

Postby timelapse » July 17th, 2022, 7:04 pm

Is either rain clouds or Saharan dust.I can't see a damn thing with my telescope

Postby maj. tom » July 22nd, 2022, 11:03 am

The American Astronomical Society has created an applet to view the JWST images in perspective in the sky. The zooming out is mind boggling.

https://web.wwtassets.org/specials/2022/jwst-release/

It works on mobile browser as well as desktop.

To Trinituner police: "dear sir am sorry sir occifer i know this not trini thing is america and europe people thing but i post here sorry occifer sir i go bribe yuh with ah bundle ah bodi."

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 30th, 2022, 11:34 pm

Unknown Amount Of Chinese Space Debris Entered Earth’s Atmosphere From Free-Falling Rocket

Postby stev » July 31st, 2022, 4:35 am

maj. tom wrote:The American Astronomical Society has created an applet to view the JWST images in perspective in the sky. The zooming out is mind boggling.

To Trinituner police: "dear sir am sorry sir occifer i know this not trini thing is america and europe people thing but i post here sorry occifer sir i go bribe yuh with ah bundle ah bodi."

geeez, what the actual FFFFFFFF

Postby timelapse » July 31st, 2022, 5:44 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Unknown Amount Of Chinese Space Debris Entered Earth’s Atmosphere From Free-Falling Rocket

By space iron ole satellite buying

Postby st7 » July 31st, 2022, 12:29 pm

stev wrote:
maj. tom wrote:The American Astronomical Society has created an applet to view the JWST images in perspective in the sky. The zooming out is mind boggling.

geeez, what the actual FFFFFFFF

holy sheit....

Postby maj. tom » August 2nd, 2022, 8:54 am

Galaxy Cluster WHL0137-08 taken by the Hubble

The same area taken the the JWST's two IR cameras and amateur processed by an Astronomer.
Full Image https://i.imgur.com/M2xQzHK.jpg

There is something hidden deep in the image. A very distant star.

WHL0137-LS nicknamed Earendel was discovered in March 2022 by the Hubble team. It is at the astoundingly far calculated proper distance of 27.760 billion light years or 12.818 billion light years looking back in time (z = 6.2). Obviously this star is very, very far away and not within our own Milky Way Galaxy. This is what makes it so fascinating to scientists. To observe an individual star so far away, so close to the birth of the universe. The JWST capture should yield more results in study about this mysterious object.

Postby sMASH » August 2nd, 2022, 9:39 am

^^ a single frickin star... damn. breaks the mind.

Postby timelapse » August 2nd, 2022, 9:49 am

Master Yoda was hiding out there.Now look what you did.

Postby maj. tom » August 2nd, 2022, 6:23 pm

New JWST image released by NASA Goddard Space Flight Center. Thought I would show a comparison with Hubble.

The Cartwheel Galaxy ESO 350-40 is a lenticular galaxy and ring galaxy about 500 million light-years away.

Hubble 1996

Hubble 2018

JWST 2022

JWST MIRI Cam

Yes the JWST was worth it, so much new data in Astronomy that will change textbooks and lecture courses.

Postby st7 » August 2nd, 2022, 7:35 pm

holy sheit

Postby maj. tom » August 16th, 2022, 6:52 pm

There is no way to post this image size here on this website for you to actually see what the NASA JWST team has just released official. So use the link below. Full descriptions and Hi-Res images (about 400MB download each) and it's going to freeze your system if you don't have the processing power and memory to open it.

https://ceers.github.io/ceers-first-images-release

https://ceers.github.io/images/first-images-release/CEERS-NIRCAM-Details-220804-lowRes.png

CEERS THE COSMIC EVOLUTION EARLY RELEASE SCIENCE SURVEY

CEERS survey will cover 100 sq. arcmin of the EGS field with JWST imaging and spectroscopy using NIRCam, MIRI, and NIRSpec. CEERS will demonstrate, test, and validate efficient extragalactic surveys with coordinated, overlapping parallel observations in a field supported by a rich set of HST/CANDELS multi-wavelength data.

Here we highlight some of our favorite parts of the CEERS NIRCam image where the six inset boxes zoom in on some objects of interest which we describe below:

1. A spiral galaxy at a redshift of z = 0.16. The resolution of the JWST imaging reveals a large number of blue star-forming clumps and star clusters.

2. A chance alignment of a bright galaxy at a redshift z = 1.05 with several smaller galaxies forming an arc in the sky when viewed from JWST.

3. An interacting system of galaxies at z = 1.4, dubbed the “Space Kraken” by the CEERS team.

4. Two interacting spiral galaxies at z = 0.7. The arrow points to a supernovae discovered with these JWST images.

5. Another spiral galaxy, also at z = 0.7, again highlighting JWST’s ability to resolve small-scale features even for modestly distant galaxies.

6. A chance alignment of a z = 0.63 galaxy with a tidal tail, and a grouping of red galaxies at z = 1.85

Postby maj. tom » August 16th, 2022, 6:59 pm

The Artemis program is a human spaceflight program led by NASA to explore the Moon, aiming for its first touchdown on the lunar south pole by 2024. If successful, the Artemis program will perform the first crewed lunar landing mission since Apollo 17 in December 1972

Artemis I Moon rocket ahead of rolling to Launch Pad 39B. NASA is targeting as soon as 9 p.m. EDT of Tuesday, Aug. 16 for rollout ahead of a targeted Aug. 29 2022 launch.

Postby st7 » August 16th, 2022, 7:30 pm

2024... geez... so far away.

what's the timeline with musk and mars now?

Postby timelapse » August 16th, 2022, 7:49 pm

I hope I live to 2086, when the two peaceful aliens come

Postby st7 » August 16th, 2022, 8:15 pm

timelapse wrote:I hope I live to 2086, when the two peaceful aliens come

i tell my friend this same thing weekend gone lol

and we will offer our help in return for plans for our first hyperdrive

xtech

Postby xtech » August 17th, 2022, 12:35 am

st7 wrote:
timelapse wrote:I hope I live to 2086, when the two peaceful aliens come

i tell my friend this same thing weekend gone lol

and we will offer our help in return for plans for our first hyperdrive

Hope to be around to see the Vulcans land in 2063 thunderbirds in 2086. An if medical science advanced enough I want to see 22nd century an be there when the NX01 is launched

Postby timelapse » August 17th, 2022, 12:54 pm

Wait until Darkon sets his base up on the dark side of the moon

Postby st7 » August 23rd, 2022, 1:38 am

timelapse wrote:Wait until Darkon sets his base up on the dark side of the moon

will the space knights be enough for a defense?

Postby maj. tom » August 23rd, 2022, 8:08 am

Webb’s Jupiter Images Showcase Auroras, Hazes
https://blogs.nasa.gov/webb/2022/08/22/webbs-jupiter-images-showcase-auroras-hazes/

In a wide-field view, Webb sees Jupiter with its faint rings, which are a million times fainter than the planet, and two tiny moons called Amalthea and Adrastea. The fuzzy spots in the lower background are likely galaxies “photobombing” this Jovian view.

In the standalone view of Jupiter, created from a composite of several images from Webb, auroras extend to high altitudes above both the northern and southern poles of Jupiter. The auroras shine in a filter that is mapped to redder colors, which also highlights light reflected from lower clouds and upper hazes. A different filter, mapped to yellows and greens, shows hazes swirling around the northern and southern poles. A third filter, mapped to blues, showcases light that is reflected from a deeper main cloud.

The Great Red Spot, a famous storm so big it could swallow Earth, appears white in these views, as do other clouds, because they are reflecting a lot of sunlight.

“The brightness here indicates high altitude – so the Great Red Spot has high-altitude hazes, as does the equatorial region,” said Heidi Hammel, Webb interdisciplinary scientist for solar system observations and vice president for science at AURA. “The numerous bright white ‘spots’ and ‘streaks’ are likely very high-altitude cloud tops of condensed convective storms.” By contrast, dark ribbons north of the equatorial region have little cloud cover.