Google doodle commemorates T&T’s Independence Day

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 31st, 2020, 11:30 am

Check out Google’s doodle today for T&T users

Google doodle commemorates T&T’s Independence Day

Postby zoom rader » August 31st, 2020, 11:40 am

Independence day as a banana republic sucks.

We should have still been under British Rule.

This PNM rule has not worked out

Re: Google doodle commemorates T&T’s Independence Day

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 31st, 2020, 11:48 am

zoom rader wrote:Independence day as a banana republic sucks.

It’s not healthy to be that sour about every single thing.

Postby zoom rader » August 31st, 2020, 11:52 am

It’s not healthy to be that sour about every single thing.

Its certainly not healthy as citizens to be

beaten,
robbed ,
killed ,
Victimized,
lied too,
conned
Over Taxed

Postby The_Honourable » August 31st, 2020, 11:58 am

Oh gosh Zoom d doodle ched too? :lol:

Postby zoom rader » August 31st, 2020, 12:10 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Oh gosh Zoom d doodle ched too? :lol:

We have to face the facts we have failed as an Independent country and a Republic

Nothing to be happy about

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 31st, 2020, 12:28 pm

Zoomie has a point.

Indos would have come here thinking they were gonna be part of the british empire via the british west indies. Only to find themselves divorced from the british empire a generation or two later.

They probably would have been better off staying in India and reaping all the benefits that has to offer. I think that is a convo that needs to be had at the national level.

Can indos seek Indian citizenship via ancestral means?

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 31st, 2020, 12:28 pm

We are certainly not perfect but as country that is an independent republic we are in control of our own destiny and that should be something to celebrate. Type the following question in Google "What is the richest caribbean country?" and the answer may amaze you.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 31st, 2020, 12:38 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:We are certainly not perfect but as country that is an independent republic we are in control of our own destiny and that should be something to celebrate. Type the following question in Google "What is the richest caribbean country?" and the answer may amaze you.

"Controlling your own destiny" is a fallacy that is dream that is sold to our citizens. What destiny? The world has always been built on alliances between nations.

We saw the way the western world reacted when Britain went through with Brexit. Imagine great britain being ridiculed for choosing to "go it alone". Uk which is a top ten economy in the world being described as too small to be independent farless for a country with limited global footprint, geopolitical influence and resources choosing to be "independent".

Wealth is relative. The majority of the caribbean live in poverty so claiming to be the wealthiest country isn't something to boost about. Especially given the fact that had those countries also have oil and gas they would also have similar wealth. We didn't get here via innovation and constant advancements. We got resource lucky.

Postby aaron17 » August 31st, 2020, 12:47 pm

People in america would die for their country. You think trinis would do that?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 31st, 2020, 12:54 pm

aaron17 wrote:People in america would die for their country. You think trinis would do that?

America got independence back in 1776. They had countless wars just to get to that point. Can't compare trini patriotism to american patriotism.

The problem is that Trinidad and Tobago as we know it was never meant to be a real country. It was always just a colonial outpost once the europeans arrived here. So it will always be hard to get sufficient trini patriotism to the point of dying for their country when most trinis would just quicker migrate or take on a new identity.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 31st, 2020, 1:00 pm

Redress10 wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:We are certainly not perfect but as country that is an independent republic we are in control of our own destiny and that should be something to celebrate. Type the following question in Google "What is the richest caribbean country?" and the answer may amaze you.

"Controlling your own destiny" is a fallacy that is dream that is sold to our citizens. What destiny? The world has always been built on alliances between nations.

We saw the way the western world reacted when Britain went through with Brexit. Imagine great britain being ridiculed for choosing to "go it alone". Uk which is a top ten economy in the world being described as too small to be independent farless for a country with limited global footprint, geopolitical influence and resources choosing to be "independent".

Wealth is relative. The majority of the caribbean live in poverty so claiming to be the wealthiest country isn't something to boost about. Especially given the fact that had those countries also have oil and gas they would also have similar wealth. We didn't get here via innovation and constant advancements. We got resource lucky.
Independent does not mean you are not dependent on other countries for goods and services just that you have the freedom to make your own decisions. The majority of persons living in T&T have never experienced living in another country so many do not appreciate what they have. In this country, the hardworking and productive citizens get the short end of the stick.

fireworks

Postby fireworks » August 31st, 2020, 1:16 pm

I guess only those visiting the site from inside Trinidad with a trini IP address seeing that doodle

I can only see the regular google doodle

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 31st, 2020, 1:20 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

Independent does not mean you are not dependent on other countries for goods and services just that you have the freedom to make your own decisions. The majority of persons living in T&T have never experienced living in another country so many do not appreciate what they have. In this country, the hardworking and productive citizens get the short end of the stick.

I think independence was just a way for the political class to get in control of the state's resources for personal gain. Similar to what occured following the fall of the soviet union. The tradition continues today in the form of government contracts. Individuals wield the collective wealth of the state to influence the populace. It's just a soft dictatorship.

Williams stayed in power for nearly 25 years. That is insane. How crazy is it to be rule "democratically" by one man for nearly 25 years. That practice continues today where our leaders now have to be hounded out of office. So as much as there is "freedom" to make your own decisions, there really isn't. Decisions are made by a select few to benefit that select few.

We think we have it good because of the dependency syndrome and hand outs that we have gotten used to. Mind you these things don't make any economic sense but are done just to buy votes, bribe and pacify citizens who may be thinking about revolting etc. In other countries you only get what you work for or you can pay for but your taxes are put to good use for you to benefit from public goods and services such as public safety and healthcare.

Postby zoom rader » August 31st, 2020, 1:21 pm

Redress10 wrote:Zoomie has a point.

Indos would have come here thinking they were gonna be part of the british empire via the british west indies. Only to find themselves divorced from the british empire a generation or two later.

They probably would have been better off staying in India and reaping all the benefits that has to offer. I think that is a convo that needs to be had at the national level.

Can indos seek Indian citizenship via ancestral means?
Yes Indos can claim indian citizenship.

But you have prove your connections via your forparents, which means you need all their arrival immigration records. These records can be found at the National Archives.

The present state of Trini Indos is that they have loss their roots , culture and language. Does not make any sence for them going back to India unless they are super weathy. Trini Indos are not viewed as real Indians in India. One of the key factors to not being real Indian is their Cast Origin, if you don't have this then you can't fit in.

As we know Indos like many other trinis look towards USA, UK and Canada.

Funny thing is alot UK born indian offsprings migrated back to India. Most did it for bussiness opportunities and passport.

Same as some Afro Americans that have migrated to Ghana for bussiness opportunities.

Postby MaxPower » August 31st, 2020, 1:46 pm

Weyyyz,

Its how Zoom sour Duanzey thread.

Zoom yuh big yes.

You reach Tuner God status?

Postby Rovin » August 31st, 2020, 1:50 pm

zoom is right but lets leave that for a another day\time

let us feel a lil patriotic for today only & choose d blue pill - tomorrow we be back to d red pill ....

Postby SMc » August 31st, 2020, 2:31 pm

Thread started good when I first saw it, what the fork happend since?

I get ZR, I know when he was working out in the oilfields in Scotland, West Africa and the North Atlantic he was akways refferd to as a niger/praki/croolie and that constantly upset him he has not and does not fit into that linear train of thought that his colleges were used to

Why he brings that train of thought back with him and uses it to justify and promote racial discrimination is beyomd me- I do the opposite
Last edited by SMc on August 31st, 2020, 2:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » August 31st, 2020, 2:40 pm

so can we have at least virtual fireworks?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 31st, 2020, 4:28 pm

ZR I get you man I really do, but save it for another thread.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 31st, 2020, 4:38 pm

I used to think this until a few yrs ago when I mentioned this to an old economist/constitutional scholar... and he looked at me like I was mad, and said "We shouldn't be going backward"...

The reality is we're better as a commonwealth country than a crown territory. Take a look at some of France's colonies if you had any doubts.
The real question is, should TT have become a republic... I mean look at le Canada.

France's grip of Africa..
Last edited by FrankChag on August 31st, 2020, 4:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » August 31st, 2020, 4:43 pm

SMc wrote:Thread started good when I first saw it, what the fork happend since?

I get ZR, I know when he was working out in the oilfields in Scotland, West Africa and the North Atlantic he was akways refferd to as a niger/praki/croolie and that constantly upset him he has not and does not fit into that linear train of thought that his colleges were used to

Why he brings that train of thought back with him and uses it to justify and promote racial discrimination is beyomd me- I do the opposite
Wat utter rubbish you speak, I dare you to use the N word in public in the UK.

The only place where I observe blantant racism is in TT.

UK has race and discrimination laws and you dare not make a public racist statement or racists name calling in the UK. Even making racist statements online in the UK will get you facing the courts.

Scottish folk could not careless about colour cause they understand what discrimination is all about. They are more white than the rest of the UK and they totally dislike white English folk.

When black Americans visit/schooling the UK they are offen cultured shocked by their experiences. They expected the UK to behave as the white folk do in the US. Those that I met always tell me they prefer living in the UK .

Even my short time in Angola and Nigeria I never saw any racism .

One thing I can tell you is that certain emolyers prefer to hire non white workers 6un west africa. Reason being white folk are easy kidnapping prey.

This banana republic will not improve unless race and discrimination laws are put in place.

Postby zoom rader » August 31st, 2020, 4:47 pm

FrankChag wrote:

I used to think this until a few yrs ago when I mentioned this to an old economist/constitutional scholar... and he looked at me like I was mad, and said "We shouldn't be going backward"...

The reality is we're better as a commonwealth country than a crown territory. Take a look at some of France's colonies if you had any doubts.
The real question is, should TT have become a republic... I mean look at le Canada.
Have you seen how the last British islands live and their standard of life are .

The Cayman Islands, British virgin islands, Bermuda. All these Islands have the highest standard of living in the entire Americas.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 31st, 2020, 4:53 pm

^^ can confirm (for scots anyway).

Strange though... I've noticed a sort of general reverse-racisim in TT, especially when a black leader is in power.
The black-man is certainly not oppressed in TT... as a matter of fact, some argue it's the opposite (ie, the oppressor).

To clarify, afro-Americans ARE oppressed, esp in the south... i physically hurts me to see what happens in the US. It's like neo-slavery.
But to import those feelings of hurt and anger to a country like TT where its the opposite, and then claim BLM, to me at least, if a form of hypocrisy.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 31st, 2020, 4:54 pm

ZR is right, I was shocked that in all parts of the UK how non racist they are. The biggest culture was when my UK born Muslim female co-worker told me she was afraid to tell her parents about her boyfriend (who was black). I asked her if it because he's black and she was like, "what? No this isn't the 70s, they won't like him because he's an avid probrexiter".

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 31st, 2020, 4:55 pm

FrankChag wrote:

Have you seen how the last British islands live and their standard of life are .

The Cayman Islands, British virgin islands, Bermuda. All these Islands have the highest standard of living in the entire Americas.

I hear you, but that's because of uber-tourism, not oil. We would have been raped of our oil and left to dry... which was at least the prevailing opinion at the time.

Postby sMASH » August 31st, 2020, 6:01 pm

FrankChag wrote:

I hear you, but that's because of uber-tourism, not oil. We would have been raped of our oil and left to dry... which was at least the prevailing opinion at the time.
So we in a better position now, with 56 years of pnm rule with oil gas ? Those colonies better without oil, than a pnm royalty with oil.

BTW, patriotism is stupid. U randomly born in sum country and its automatically the bess... That would be true In north Korea, as law.

I wasn't going to comment cause people should enjoy what they Ike no matter how dumb it is.
Carry on.

VII

Postby VII » August 31st, 2020, 6:07 pm

Zoom brother just migrate,there's no hope here for you.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 31st, 2020, 6:17 pm

sMASH wrote:
FrankChag wrote:

So we in a better position now, with 56 years of pnm rule with oil gas ? Those colonies better without oil, than a pnm royalty with oil.

BTW, patriotism is stupid. U randomly born in sum country and its automatically the bess... That would be true In north Korea, as law.

I wasn't going to comment cause people should enjoy what they Ike no matter how dumb it is.
Carry on.

Better position, arguably, marginally yes... but much much MORE couldve been done... (cue "all-a-we tief" quote..) but then 1/5 of our gdp is supporting syrian/indian drugs, so.. Let's sing singapore's praises again..

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 31st, 2020, 6:38 pm

That pic is only for people in trinidad.

is the normal google logo here.