COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Are you taking the COVID-19 Vaccine?

Yes, I am already vaccinated.
67%
Yes, I am awaiting vaccination.
10%
No, I don't want it.
16%
I am not sure.
7%

Total votes: 121

Re: Deyalsingh VS Moonilal Jab Jab ?

Postby adnj » May 9th, 2021, 11:05 am

88sins wrote:Like either this guinea pig can't read or can't comprehend.

Squeaker, nobody is forcing you to take it.

If sovereign nations hard hit by Covid require vaccine passports for you to visit, then you still have a choice if you don't want to get the vaccine, which is to keep your kant home. Simple, nobody is forcing you to get it.
Canada Will Require Using A Vaccine Passport For Entry

Government-sponsored vaccine certificates are popping up around the world, from Japan to Israel and in both the United Kingdom and the European Union. It appears inevitable that American travelers will have to adapt if they want to travel outside the U.S. — even to visit our neighbor to the north.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/suzannerow ... 05c9171a71

Re: COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates)

Postby Kenjo » May 9th, 2021, 11:21 am

j.o.e wrote:Got jabbed this evening at SAPA…. Process was very smooth. Staff friendly.

On Friday or Saturday ?

Postby j.o.e » May 9th, 2021, 11:23 am

Kenjo wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Got jabbed this evening at SAPA…. Process was very smooth. Staff friendly.

On Friday or Saturday ?

Yesterday (Saturday around 4pm)

Postby gastly369 » May 9th, 2021, 2:09 pm

Postby j.o.e » May 9th, 2021, 7:33 pm

gastly369 wrote:Keep we in ah lil daily update if possible nah bro

A little over 24 hours later. Felt more tired than usual slept a lot. Didn’t take any meds…. No noticeable fever or body pains. Moderate pain at injection site.

Postby gastly369 » May 9th, 2021, 7:39 pm

j.o.e wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Keep we in ah lil daily update if possible nah bro

A little over 24 hours later. Felt more tired than usual slept a lot. Didn’t take any meds…. No noticeable fever or body pains. Moderate pain at injection site.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » May 10th, 2021, 2:19 am

Fam wants to know if to spam all the *RHA numbers, or just your area (when signing up).

Postby j.o.e » May 10th, 2021, 2:22 pm

Well said

Postby De Dragon » May 10th, 2021, 2:25 pm

j.o.e wrote:Image

Well said

Agreed, very well put.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 10th, 2021, 3:21 pm

In a continuation to Suruj's post in the comments he has indicated he has Covid even though he received his 1st shot of the vaccine.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 10th, 2021, 3:34 pm

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 10th, 2021, 3:35 pm

wtf wrote:All those who taking vaccines are set to die in 2 years.
https://www.reuters.com/investigates/special-report/health-coronavirus-vaccines-skeptic/

Very interesting article, wtf.

Thank you for sharing this.

Postby redmanjp » May 10th, 2021, 3:41 pm

hmm we have like 10 covid cheds now we might need ah whole new forum section

Postby Habit7 » May 10th, 2021, 3:44 pm

redmanjp wrote:hmm we have like 10 covid cheds now we might need ah whole new forum section

I wish we could return to the good old days when everybody wasn't a self-appointed virologist/epidemiologist/public health expert

Postby bluefete » May 10th, 2021, 4:24 pm

j.o.e wrote:Image

Well said

Agreed, very well put.

Suruj doh care one fart about anyone but himself. When he was in office and opposition, it was a different story.

Since when he on the side of any small man.

Is only because he get Covid he seeing the light.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 10th, 2021, 5:47 pm

why suruj gone chaguanas for free health care? wey all the money gorn?
the chinese vaccine is a normal vaccine using an unactivated covid virus, the AZ an others are not vaccines but gene therapy shots that alter your genes... i rather take the chinese vaccine as the virus created in china and they had the vaccine in a few months and reopened the country with only 11 new cases today and 298 active cases in a country of 1.4 billion people.

Postby pugboy » May 10th, 2021, 6:07 pm

did they announce when the new batch will be available for rollout appointments ?

Postby gastly369 » May 10th, 2021, 6:23 pm

daring dragoon wrote:why suruj gone chaguanas for free health care? wey all the money gorn?
the chinese vaccine is a normal vaccine using an unactivated covid virus, the AZ an others are not vaccines but gene therapy shots that alter your genes... i rather take the chinese vaccine as the virus created in china and they had the vaccine in a few months and reopened the country with only 11 new cases today and 298 active cases in a country of 1.4 billion people.
This is what have me considering the sinopharm.....

Postby matr1x » May 10th, 2021, 9:26 pm

Pnm people dare to talk about central as if they care. Go eat a banana as relax allyuh self

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 10th, 2021, 9:39 pm

daring dragoon wrote:why suruj gone chaguanas for free health care? wey all the money gorn?

Do you really believe China's covid data?

Secondly, do you really believe the results coming out of their vaccine trials?

Any covid vaccine is better than no covid vaccine once safe, but take whatever results China provides with a grain of salt.

And in future this probably won't be the preferred vaccine, but take whatever you get yes.

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » May 10th, 2021, 11:29 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Do you really believe China's covid data?

Secondly, do you really believe the results coming out of their vaccine trials?

Any covid vaccine is better than no covid vaccine once safe, but take whatever results China provides with a grain of salt.

And in future this probably won't be the preferred vaccine, but take whatever you get yes.

https://www.wsj.com/articles/seychelles-the-worlds-most-vaccinated-nation-sees-renewed-covid-19-surge-11620669853

Seychelles, the World’s Most Vaccinated Nation, Sees Renewed Covid-19 Surge
The country is experiencing its largest coronavirus outbreak after vaccinating some 60% of its population, mostly with China’s Sinopharm shot

Seychelles, which has vaccinated a higher proportion of its population against coronavirus than any other country, is struggling to contain a new surge in Covid-19 infections, raising questions about the effectiveness of a Chinese shot the island nation has administered to the majority of its vaccinated residents.

In recent days, a rush of patients seeking treatment has overwhelmed the Seychelles’s sole coronavirus treatment center, as the pristine archipelago of 115 islands in the Indian Ocean battles its worst wave of infections, according to the health ministry. The daily rate of Covid-19 symptomatic infections has jumped to more than 300 cases, bringing the cumulative total to 8,172 and forcing the government to reinstitute lockdown measures.

Although that number is low, it is an outsize problem for a tiny geographically isolated nation with a population of just 100,000. The daily case rate is a higher number of infections per capita than India’s outbreak.

On Sunday, with hospitals in the capital Victoria overwhelmed with patients, the health ministry issued guidelines on how people who have tested positive for Covid-19 should treat themselves from home while the government scrambles to build more makeshift treatment centers.

The islands’ renewed infection surge comes as a shock after the government vaccinated more than 60% of the population. Some 38,000 of the population was given the shot from Chinese state-owned firm Sinopharm and the remainder received AstraZeneca shots produced at the Serum Institute of India.
According to the health ministry, more than one third of new active cases are people who are fully vaccinated. Authorities in the Seychelles haven’t said how many of those cases arose among people vaccinated with the Chinese shot.

“The rate of transmission remains high and is of concern,” the health ministry said in a statement Monday.

In the Seychelles, “most of the cases which have occurred are mild cases,” said Kate O’Brien, director of immunizations at the World Health Organization on Monday. “The Sinopharm vaccine really requires two doses. And some of the cases that are being reported are occurring either soon after a single dose, or soon after a second dose.”

Christina Etoile says that her sister, Eve, a 42-year old nurse, got her second shot of Sinopharm in early March, but three weeks later, she got a high fever, dry throat and a cough.

“She tested positive for coronavirus and had to be treated at the same hospital where she works,” Ms. Etoile says. “I don’t think the vaccine gave her much protection.”

Sinopharm couldn’t immediately be reached for comment.

The situation is being watched all over the world for what it says about the effectiveness of vaccines.

The news comes after the WHO recommended the Sinopharm vaccine for emergency use on Friday, clearing the shot for global use.

The decision, announced by the international health body after weeks of deliberation, is expected to help alleviate a severe shortage of doses in the developing world, as vaccine exports from Covid-19-struck India grind to a halt.

It will also boost Beijing’s bid to play a leading role in the fight against the pandemic, officials and analysts said. The authorization came with caveats, as the WHO said there was too little data to show whether the vaccine was effective in people over 60. China’s five different vaccines haven’t been used widely in wealthy nations, but are already sustaining immunization campaigns across swaths of the global south.

But the doubling in Seychelles’s active cases have raised fresh questions about the effectiveness of the Sinopharm vaccine........

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 11th, 2021, 12:07 am

How much Sinovacs are we buying from this ~200M USD loan from China?

Sinovac costs roughly $15 a dose, that loan is enough for 13M doses....

https://www.unicef.org/supply/covid-19- ... -dashboard

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » May 11th, 2021, 12:12 am

If you had any doubt

about why our government drag foot

on getting the vaccines before now

not to mention the

"wE OnLY tAkInG WHO ApProVed VaCcInEs" inconsistency

well now it should be clear as day

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » May 11th, 2021, 8:20 am

A good overview of covid vaccines: efficacy, types, what a vaccine is supposed to do, etc.

https://youtu.be/K3odScka55A

The video was created about a month ago so does not include the Chinese vaccine

Postby Habit7 » May 11th, 2021, 9:17 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

Not Sinovac but Sinopharm. There is a big difference.

Postby teems1 » May 11th, 2021, 9:33 am

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Senegal paid 3.7m USD for 200k doses of Sinopharm which comes out to 18.50 USD per shot.

https://www.reuters.com/world/middle-ea ... 021-02-13/

Let's round it up to 20 USD per shot.

200m USD is 10m shots. Way more than needed to vaccinate everyone in the country with 2 jabs.

What do they plan to do with the extra millions of vaccines?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 11th, 2021, 1:41 pm

teems1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Senegal paid 3.7m USD for 200k doses of Sinopharm which comes out to 18.50 USD per shot.

200m USD is 10m shots. Way more than needed to vaccinate everyone in the country with 2 jabs.

I'm not a doctor, but I think that cost is
Vaccines + Needles + Alco Swabs + other supporting equipment/consumables

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 11th, 2021, 2:12 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

I'm not a doctor, but I think that cost is
Vaccines + Needles + Alco Swabs + other supporting equipment/consumables

Needles + Syringe + Alco etc. are super cheap, talking TT cents here when bought in bulk.

Postby Habit7 » May 11th, 2021, 2:20 pm

teems1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Government will be paying for Sinopharm vaccines out of a TT$1.4 billion loan (170 million euros) it has received from the Government of China.

Speaking at a virtual news conference yesterday, Finance Minister Colm Imbert said the loan, granted at an interest rate of two per cent, came with a stipulation that 15 per cent of its value must be spent on “Chinese elements” which meant “Chinese goods and services” under which vaccines qualify.

Imbert also disclosed that the Government had ordered 1.5 million vaccines. China has also gifted 100,000 Sinopharm doses to T&T.

He said: “I think the Minister of Health has put in the order already, of 1.5 million vaccines and whatever they cost within reason, we will find money to pay for them.”

Imbert said he had seen “all sorts of ridiculous figures in the fake social media that the Sinopharm vaccines would cost US$150, which was nonsense. The figure I got today, an indicative price was US$15 for one and I have asked my people to see if they could get that number down. You can do the maths, let’s say US$10 per vaccine, 1.5 million vaccines (would cost) US$15 million. We will find that money,” he said.
Health a top priority

Imbert said he has said repeatedly that whatever money is required for the Ministry of Health, the Government would find it.

“This is why we have a US$20 million loan from the World Bank which would go directly towards the purchase of medical supplies and medical equipment and vaccines.

“We have loan facilities from other international banks and other international organisations such as the Andean Bank of Latin America. So we have procured and made arrangements to access any and all funding that the Ministry of Health requires.

“Because if the Ministry of Health runs out of money then it would be catastrophic.

“So you could be assured that whatever money is required to keep the hospitals running, to pay doctors, nurses, to buy supplies, to buy oxygen, to buy whatever is required to support the health sector, that is our number one priority in the Ministry of Finance and we will make the funds available,” Imbert said.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... da696.html