Anybody here interested in Foreign Films

Postby Trinispougla » August 14th, 2020, 12:13 pm

Sorry this isnt on the movies thread

Re: Anybody here interested in Foreign Flms

Postby SMc » August 14th, 2020, 12:57 pm

Aren't the majority of films we watch Foriegn films- I still waiting on the Men of Grey reeboot , maybe they could call it Flight of the Corbeaux

Re: Anybody here interested in Foreign Flms

Postby K74T » August 14th, 2020, 12:57 pm

2 Gyul 1 Enamel Cup

elec2020

Re: Anybody here interested in Foreign Films

Postby elec2020 » August 14th, 2020, 1:14 pm

Eiga Koe no Katachi and Hepburn: Hotaru no Hak (must watch foreign films imo)

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 14th, 2020, 1:29 pm

Yes, everything but tradiational bollywood and cheesy Nigerian films

Catastrophist

Postby Catastrophist » August 14th, 2020, 1:57 pm

check out a movie named biutiful

Postby *KRONIK* » August 14th, 2020, 2:11 pm

I does watch forrin' flims

Postby Les Bain » August 14th, 2020, 5:14 pm

4chan torrents thread does have some good film finds occasionally (that isn't porn or relates to feminine penises).

Postby zoom rader » August 14th, 2020, 5:58 pm

OP, I normally watch the nominated academy awards foreign films each year. They are the better films to watch than the usual Hollywood films

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » August 14th, 2020, 6:07 pm

Scandinavian Noir. And no, it's not what you think.

Postby Rovin » August 14th, 2020, 6:40 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:I does watch forrin' flims

me too :lol:

especially since it eh have much local flims ...

Postby goalpost » August 14th, 2020, 7:50 pm

zoom rader wrote:OP, I normally watch the nominated academy awards foreign films each year. They are the better films to watch than the usual Hollywood films

Agreed, to an extent.

The South Korean film last year Parasite is one of the greatest movies of all time.
Saw someone mentioned Biutiful which was also great. Some of the best I've seen are:
La Dolce Vita
8 1/2
Rashomon
Tokyo Story
In The Mood for Love
Life Is Beautiful
Seven Samurai
The 400 Blows
The Deckalogue
Paradise Now
Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon
All About My Mother

...to name a few.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 15th, 2020, 10:01 pm

goalpost wrote:
zoom rader wrote:OP, I normally watch the nominated academy awards foreign films each year. They are the better films to watch than the usual Hollywood films

Agreed, to an extent.

The South Korean film last year Parasite is one of the greatest movies of all time.
Saw someone mentioned Biutiful which was also great. Some of the best I've seen are:
La Dolce Vita
8 1/2
Rashomon
Tokyo Story
In The Mood for Love
Life Is Beautiful
Seven Samurai
The 400 Blows
The Deckalogue
Paradise Now
Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon
All About My Mother

...to name a few.

Allyuh interested in getting some. I have a library of over 100 foreign films and im thinking of starting a blog to post them up. I think the TTuner community has ppl with tastes so if you guys are interested, i can irganize for you guys to get some of them. I'll give you a list

Cairo Station(Egypt 60s)
My Sweet little Village( Czechslovakia 80s)
Yokihi(China/Japan 50s)
Subway to the Stars(Brazil 80s)
Jalsagar(India 50s)
Apu Trilogy(India 50s)

Give me some feedback. I started a blog a few years ago reviewing books, films and music but it didn't gain any traction so im hoping this would

I have Seven Samurai and another Akira Toriya.a classic called Yojimbo if you're interested

Postby zoom rader » August 15th, 2020, 10:09 pm

One of best to watch is a movie called Capernaum .

Postby RedVEVO » August 16th, 2020, 1:59 am

zoom rader wrote:One of best to watch is a movie called Capernaum .

It's portrayal of Lebanon's rampant poverty and treatment of undocumented populations is very realistic.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » August 17th, 2020, 1:02 am

Yeah I does watch forrin flims too.

Usually if I see an upcoming hollywood/english movie is a remake of some older non-english movie, I would prefer to watch the original with subtitles

Postby 88sins » August 17th, 2020, 7:02 am

I watch the occasional foreign/indie film from time to time. It does be a refreshing switch from the usual Hollywood blow it up shoot it down clap trap. But if it not in recorded in English, Spanish, Italian, French, German, or Cantonese I eh interested, and I eh reading no blasted closed captions, cc takes away from the experience for me.
Started to watch Parasite the other day, only got like 15 minutes into it and cyah find time to get back to it.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 17th, 2020, 7:27 am

zoom rader wrote:One of best to watch is a movie called Capernaum .

Never saw the saw that one but i will check it out

Postby mero » August 17th, 2020, 7:35 am

Train to Busan.

The man from Nowhere

A Prayer before dawn.

Samsara.

Only God forgives

eitech