Re: PNM in Gov't

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby The_Honourable » January 13th, 2022, 12:14 pm

T&T economy facing increased risks: Is Imbert up to the task?

The T&T economy is facing significant downside risk fuelled by a likely slowdown in global growth, continued low energy production, an inability to fully reopen the economy and the continuing pandemic.

This year the Minister of Finance has to show real skill and the government must get its act together. It is not easy and if we are to judge by the last seven years it is unlikely Minister Colm Imbert and his team are up to it.

It was on Tuesday the World Bank warned that following a strong rebound in 2021, the global economy is entering a pronounced slowdown amid fresh threats from COVID-19 variants and a rise in inflation, debt, and income inequality that could endanger the recovery in emerging and developing economies.

It predicted that global growth could decelerate markedly from 5.5 per cent in 2021 to 4.1 per cent in 2022 and 3.2 per cent in 2023 as pent-up demand dissipates and as fiscal and monetary support is unwound across the world.

According to the World Bank, the rapid spread of the Omicron variant indicates that the pandemic will likely continue to disrupt economic activity in the near term. In addition, a notable deceleration in major economies—including the United States and China—will weigh on external demand in emerging and developing economies.

At a time when governments in many developing economies lack the policy space to support activity if needed, new COVID-19 outbreaks, persistent supply-chain bottlenecks and inflationary pressures, and elevated financial vulnerabilities in large swaths of the world could increase the risk of a hard landing.

“The world economy is simultaneously facing COVID-19, inflation, and policy uncertainty, with government spending and monetary policies in uncharted territory. Rising inequality and security challenges are particularly harmful for developing countries,” said World Bank Group President David Malpass.

“Putting more countries on a favourable growth path requires concerted international action and a comprehensive set of national policy responses.”

This is worrying news for the T&T economy which has suffered from seven years of consecutive negative growth and has seen real GDP fall by a quarter.

There is an expectation that T&T’s economy could grow by as much as 5 per cent this year on the strength of rising energy prices and production and as the government eases lockdown measures.

So far the Government has kept to its promise not to close the economy, even as we face record deaths and infections. It is a decision I support because I do not feel the country should be held to ransom by those who choose not to be vaccinated.

It is why I also support the Government’s attempt to impose safe zones in the public sector to both encourage people to become vaccinated and also to reduce the risks of constant waves of infections in the public sector.

To be clear, I am not saying that there are not people who for medical and even religious reasons may not be in a position to be vaccinated and therefore get a waiver, but for the vast majority of those who remain unvaccinated, it is a choice they have made—one that they have the right to do and one which their employers in both the public and private sectors must also have a right to say in those circumstances you cannot function on the job. If there is a possibility for them to work from home, that can also be explored but if you must be in the office, holding others to ransom is unacceptable.

T&T requires the world’s economy to continue to grow. That will help commodity prices and will help us as this country has to earn foreign exchange if it is going to have any chance of survival.

As of yesterday, crude prices continued to average over US$80 a barrel and natural gas prices at the US Henry Hub was well over US$4 per MMbtu. These are windfall prices.

Ammonia prices are over US$,1000 a metric tonne and methanol and urea prices remain strong. If this continues for the rest of the fiscal year not only would the Government be collecting higher rents from the energy sector but it will also get higher dividends from both Heritage and the National Gas Company.

In fact, the recent crowing on the part of the Minister of Energy that the NGC had done well and that it had made over $1 billion was another attempt to pull the proverbial wool over the country’s eyes and to play down its wastage of over a quarter billion dollars on a hare-brained scheme to bet against the very petrochemical sector that is now allowing the government, country and the very NGC to benefit from higher prices.

What the Government needs to do is to be laser focused on increasing the natural gas production so that all sectors, including LNG, could get their Daily Contracted Quantities (DCQ) and benefit from what is a windfall and what by its very nature cannot be expected to last for long.

As a small open economy, T&T relies on foreign exchange to buy from our food to cars, parts and machinery.

In fact one of the major structural challenges of this economy is that too few businesses are earners of hard currency and make a lot of TT dollars by being essentially traders.

Of course all businesses cannot be exporters but the over-reliance on the energy sector and to some extent, the manufacturing sector for our sustenance is never a formula that can lead to success.

It is why the reports that KLM has extended its flights between Amsterdam and Port-of-Spain is encouraging as it is to see British Airways return to Tobago.

There is also word that Virgin Atlantic and other airlines are planning to return to either Tobago or Port-of-Spain.

These all point to an important part of our economy that is often overlooked, but which the pandemic has shown us to be very important.

That is the tourism sector. For ease of reference I am including in this sector everything from hotels, to restaurants, to entertainment and recreation and even bars.

This “tourism sector” employs thousands and has been decimated by the impact of the pandemic. Thousands have lost their jobs, many have left the industry altogether, businesses closed and people furloughed.

This is one sector that not only has the capability of employing thousands but of earning foreign exchange.

As a country we have to be innovative and find ways to grow this sector and this is why it is disappointing that to date the Government can provide no guidance on safe zone Carnival events so that promoters and others who earn a living from the Carnival can at least get something from it.

The non-energy sector part of the economy was hit hard last year from Carnival’s cancellation and looks likely to suffer a similar faith this year.

We have to be smart in the way we do things and we must also be able to weigh risk and make decisions based on these calculations.

According to the World Bank rising inflation—which hits low-income workers particularly hard—is constraining monetary policy.

Globally and in advanced economies, inflation is running at the highest rates since 2008. In emerging market and developing economies, it has reached its highest rate since 2011.

Many emerging and developing economies are withdrawing policy support to contain inflationary pressures—well before the recovery is complete.

Already T&T is facing the inflationary pressure and this threatens not just industrial peace but the ability of the most vulnerable to survive in the economy.

This year the Finance Minister and government must perform and make smart moves because if they don’t it could be another year of a failing economy.

Source: https://www.cnc3.co.tt/tt-economy-facin ... he-task-1/

Postby zoom rader » January 13th, 2022, 1:10 pm

Clearly the red government was never up the task in managing Trinidad.

Most of these red government MPs are involved in some sort of scam or corruption deal.

But criminals know criminals and it is why these whores are voted into office

Postby bluefete » January 13th, 2022, 1:26 pm

That whole article is BS.

Impsbert and our colonial master, the IMF, said that our GDP will grow by 5.7% in 2022.

Dem cyannot be wrung.

Impsbert should be smiling.

Postby hover11 » January 13th, 2022, 1:50 pm

"T&T economy which has suffered from seven years of consecutive negative growth and has seen real GDP fall by a quarter." So we not acknowledging that the economy in a depression, after SEVEN years of poor economic activity, ppl still saying they doing a good job. ”Good job Rowley”.... how ppl could say that ?

Postby The_Honourable » January 13th, 2022, 3:51 pm

hover11 wrote:"T&T economy which has suffered from seven years of consecutive negative growth and has seen real GDP fall by a quarter." So we not acknowledging that the economy in a depression, after SEVEN years of poor economic activity, ppl still saying they doing a good job. ”Good job Rowley”.... how ppl could say that ?

Simple... because we eh riot yet like other countries.

In a seminar at Gasparillo, Roger Hosein congratulated the PM after petrotrin closed. People thought he was going mad until you began to think. Hosein's reasoning was that Rowley was able to make adjustments to the economy without causing a destabilization, the people descending into civil disobedience and rioting as has happened in other countries.

To the PNM, he's keeping the ship afloat during these trying times unlike other ships (countries). In reality, the ship taking in water to now it affecting both the crew and passengers. Imagine DOMA President Gregory Aboud jump out himself recently.

Once we make noise and forget, together with good PR and a weak opposition, Rowley safe.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 13th, 2022, 4:29 pm

one line says everything....

KCR PNM DESTROY TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

every other caribbean country better off that TT. Guyana who everyone looked down on under forbes burnham is not the shining star of the caribbean under Ali and Jagdeo and they not even in the caribbean. only an east indian PM can rebuilt TT or the Manning/Dass union will make TT united.

Postby j.o.e » January 13th, 2022, 4:39 pm

daring dragoon wrote:one line says everything....

every other caribbean country better off that TT. Guyana who everyone looked down on under forbes burnham is not the shining star of the caribbean under Ali and Jagdeo and they not even in the caribbean. only an east indian PM can rebuilt TT or the Manning/Dass union will make TT united.

Guyana will go through the same issues as Trinidad. They’re just at a different stage. The sweet stage when the oil is found. The deals Guyana signing now while it will make them money they hardly negotiating to get maximum returns. Oil riches only hides bad decisions ….. and if you think Trinis corrupt you never did business with Guyanese

Postby hover11 » January 13th, 2022, 4:56 pm

bluefete wrote:That whole article is BS.

Impsbert and our colonial master, the IMF, said that our GDP will grow by 5.7% in 2022.

Dem cyannot be wrung.

This is where politics and economics mix, the IMF and moody will give optimistic projections and advertise such however the real picture is hidden and very grim. The government know if they recieve that false praise then ppl are comforted with the idea that things will get better. So that when not if the government goes to the IMF it will come across like, well the government tried and did all that they could. When in fact the IMF want their claws in this country, we just delaying the inevitable similar to the devaluation, how long can we keep procrastinating on this move

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 13th, 2022, 4:58 pm

j.o.e wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:one line says everything....

Guyana will go through the same issues as Trinidad. They’re just at a different stage. The sweet stage when the oil is found. The deals Guyana signing now while it will make them money they hardly negotiating to get maximum returns. Oil riches only hides bad decisions ….. and if you think Trinis corrupt you never did business with Guyanese

padna i am in guyana now with a TT company opening branches in guyana. I deal with them every day.

Postby bluefete » January 13th, 2022, 5:06 pm

hover11 wrote:"T&T economy which has suffered from seven years of consecutive negative growth and has seen real GDP fall by a quarter." So we not acknowledging that the economy in a depression, after SEVEN years of poor economic activity, ppl still saying they doing a good job. ”Good job Rowley”.... how ppl could say that ?

Ent you have a wuk - courtesy of good governance by the PNM?

Postby De Dragon » January 13th, 2022, 5:07 pm

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:That whole article is BS.

Dem cyannot be wrung.

This is where politics and economics mix, the IMF and moody will give optimistic projections and advertise such however the real picture is hidden and very grim. The government know if they recieve that false praise then ppl are comforted with the idea that things will get better. So that when not if the government goes to the IMF it will come across like, well the government tried and did all that they could. When in fact the IMF want their claws in this country, we just delaying the inevitable similar to the devaluation, how long can we keep procrastinating on this move

Actually LFD RFD PNM only agrees with Moody's, IMF when they predict growth, or no decline. Watch what happened when Moody's downgraded us, Impsy all of a sudden turn economist and say "dem wrang" Just like when local economists point out the decline, thay have "agendas" or "Iz UNC" :roll:

Postby hover11 » January 13th, 2022, 5:09 pm

bluefete wrote:

Ent you have a wuk - courtesy of good governance by the PNM?
So what that say I confused, I supposed to be red and ready forever ?

Postby bluefete » January 16th, 2022, 12:55 pm

So why the PNM people beating and crying racism on maccobook over this picture?

A bunch of blasted hypocrites. They conveniently forget the PNM skit with the gorillas and the lady in the yellow sari.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 16th, 2022, 12:57 pm

Huh
Screenshot_20220116-125623_Facebook.jpg

Postby hover11 » January 16th, 2022, 1:21 pm

PNM 2025
FB_IMG_1642353655580.jpg

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 16th, 2022, 1:45 pm

Cantmis wrote:HuhScreenshot_20220116-125623_Facebook.jpg

Hinds is on the national security council therefore he has additional information. So this must be true

Postby zoom rader » January 16th, 2022, 5:09 pm

Cantmis wrote:Huh
Sad part is king Conts like eliteauto-tuntun, wing and Redman can never see no wrong under the red government.

Postby Redman » January 17th, 2022, 3:25 am

Sad part is king Conts like eliteauto-tuntun, wing and Redman can never see no wrong under the red government.

The real sad part is that you and the UNC can't muster any ability to capitalize on aaaaaaalllll the terrible things the PNM has done since 2015.

All this janjat...and allyuh still eh get yuh house in order.

Postby zoom rader » January 17th, 2022, 5:07 am

Redman wrote:

The real sad part is that you and the UNC can't muster any ability to capitalize on aaaaaaalllll the terrible things the PNM has done since 2015.

We been over all this before Kant

In this country there are alot of stupid ppl that lack reasoning and logic where they can't understand what's the right thing to do. Sadly day by day the right thinking educated ppl are leaving this country in droves. We are left with the dregs that have limited education.

The opposition can lay and bray all the wrongs of the red government and the red voters will continue to vote Red. Trinidad is still a primitive society on the red side and these people are racist and cannot see a perceived injun government. You can put it in black and white and they still cannot understand.

Carry on while Duke is paving the way forward and keep focusing on UNC.As I said Unc is not important at this stage
Last edited by zoom rader on January 17th, 2022, 5:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » January 17th, 2022, 6:49 am

Redman wrote:

Another version of 'Blame Kyamalah'?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 17th, 2022, 6:50 am

Times like these I miss Habit...

But how allyuh didnt create ah thread with ferris wheel daughter and her brilliant answer in the ms world contest.

Postby bluefete » January 17th, 2022, 7:58 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Times like these I miss Habit...

But how allyuh didnt create ah thread with ferris wheel daughter and her brilliant answer in the ms world contest.

Unfortunately, she is not ferris wheel daughter. Trust me on that one.

Postby timelapse » January 17th, 2022, 8:13 am

bluefete wrote:

But he is descended from the prophet....

wing

Postby wing » January 17th, 2022, 9:08 am

Sad thing is you the chief c.u.n.t. could take time off from your boy toys Farley and Watson to focus on me. Leave me out of your thoughts. Continue greasing the green poles how much you want. Just stop thinking about me. I really can't believe Tobago have such big dumb c.u.n.t.s.

Postby zoom rader » January 17th, 2022, 11:13 am

wing wrote:
Sad thing is you the chief c.u.n.t. could take time off from your boy toys Farley and Watson to focus on me. Leave me out of your thoughts. Continue greasing the green poles how much you want. Just stop thinking about me. I really can't believe Tobago have such big dumb c.u.n.t.s.
Continue being a Tuntun and I will further expose you.

Don't bring your red government propaganda here

Postby The_Honourable » January 17th, 2022, 12:01 pm

bluefete wrote:

I was wondering because both didn't acknowledge each other as father-daughter at all. The talk is that as she was born out of wedlock, the daughter took her mother's surname instead.

Look the video:

wing

Postby wing » January 17th, 2022, 12:08 pm

wing wrote:

What do you have to expose. I am nobody to you or to the PNM. U seem fixated on anyone who is unwilling to be your acolyte. I have my own mind and opinion. I don't want your attention or your favour. Just keep me out of your mind and focus on your green boys. Focus on the PNM. Don't focus on me.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 17th, 2022, 12:51 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
bluefete wrote:

I was wondering because both didn't acknowledge each other as father-daughter at all. The talk is that as she was born out of wedlock, the daughter took her mother's surname instead.

Look the video:

Beautiful PNM women.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 17th, 2022, 1:50 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Look the video:

100% accurate. We live under a brutal dictator that uses the police force to abuse and injure citizens. The world needs to know what is happening down here. Thanks for spreading the word Jeanine.

Postby zoom rader » January 17th, 2022, 3:15 pm

wing wrote:
wing wrote:

What do you have to expose. I am nobody to you or to the PNM. U seem fixated on anyone who is unwilling to be your acolyte. I have my own mind and opinion. I don't want your attention or your favour. Just keep me out of your mind and focus on your green boys. Focus on the PNM. Don't focus on me.
Your mind is owned by the red government. Your propaganda proves this on tuner.

You are not a free thinker but a jack arse that follows the red government.