Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby timelapse » August 25th, 2022, 7:23 pm

Keep getting distracted by Rowley's antics.
Allyuh don't learn

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby Rovin » August 25th, 2022, 7:41 pm

u jes cannot go changing stuff in d constitution jesso without a majority vote of mps & as we all know some of them want to rewrite certain things in their favor, make a mess of it or dunno wtf they doing & will never get d number of votes to do it ... or will simply not do it once they in power or in its current form cause they benefiting from certain things

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » August 26th, 2022, 7:22 am

I don’t think it’s fair to say they have done nothing given the realities of what we have encountered globally, this PNM administration has consistently messaged that anything that is given, every concession or subsidy or grant has to be paid, nothing is truly free and the money has to come from somewhere and I get that message, as someone who manages his own household there is income and expenditure and it’s just not practical to spend more than you earn in our own micro environment. Now as far as the particulars of managing how the government earns and what they decide to spend on is fair game for all and I think it’s fair to say they could have done more, at the end of the day if we are being honest with ourselves we are just predisposed to defend and attack based on our subconscious biases.

If as an example if you actually take the time to listen to the full PM presentation on all the points presented there is sound logic in it, the problem is that it’s also full of antagonism and personal attack’s against other political personalities, so if I am a UNC, PDP or any other political supporter I’m just switched off to that and any logic presented gets lost. Politicians would do so much better to just present their policies and if it’s actually sound they actually might reach a wider cross section of people. The tenor of political meetings breed more divisiveness than anything that is actually presented. You could argue that Keith Rowley is probably too good an orator, his words sting more than any other politician I have ever seen, hence the acid reaction to his personality is just as bad.

We spinning top in mud badly in this place

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2022, 7:26 am

been a few weeks since heinz or rowlee say anything about the continued crime escalation
seems they happy with it now
ever since rowlee say its a health issue he seems to have washed his hands of crime

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » August 26th, 2022, 7:33 am

greggle71 wrote:I don’t think it’s fair to say they have done nothing given the realities of what we have encountered globally, this PNM administration has consistently messaged that anything that is given, every concession or subsidy or grant has to be paid, nothing is truly free and the money has to come from somewhere and I get that message, as someone who manages his own household there is income and expenditure and it’s just not practical to spend more than you earn in our own micro environment. Now as far as the particulars of managing how the government earns and what they decide to spend on is fair game for all and I think it’s fair to say they could have done more, at the end of the day if we are being honest with ourselves we are just predisposed to defend and attack based on our subconscious biases.

If as an example if you actually take the time to listen to the full PM presentation on all the points presented there is sound logic in it, the problem is that it’s also full of antagonism and personal attack’s against other political personalities, so if I am a UNC, PDP or any other political supporter I’m just switched off to that and any logic presented gets lost. Politicians would do so much better to just present their policies and if it’s actually sound they actually might reach a wider cross section of people. The tenor of political meetings breed more divisiveness than anything that is actually presented. You could argue that Keith Rowley is probably too good an orator, his words sting more than any other politician I have ever seen, hence the acid reaction to his personality is just as bad.

The PM plays to a audience that believes in market behavior

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » August 26th, 2022, 7:34 am

http://robinmontano.blogspot.com/2022/0 ... mours.html

Thursday, August 25, 2022
*A LAND OF RUMOURS*
All the signs are there pointing to a snap early election. Certainly, the Opposition is smacking its licks at the prospect, but is this a good thing for T&T? Why do a lot of people think that there will be an early election?

Starting with the second question first, the biggest hint is the fact that the budget is being held early - a month before it is due in fact. The argument is that calling a snap election for, say, December, would give the Government a chance to proclaim a "sweetheart" budget with lots and lots of "goodies" so people will be distracted by how bad things really are.

The second hint is in the statements of the Prime Minister, where, for example, as was announced in today's papers, he is being reported as announcing a gratuitous payment to health care workers for their work during the Covid pandemic. The Prime Minister is obviously speaking to his base and is hoping to "bribe" it with some "goodies" so that during an election campaign he can say 'look at what we have done for you'.

The third hint is that the Prime Minister is scheduled to leave the country on the same afternoon after the budget speech is read to go to Switzerland (of all places)! Ostensibly the purpose of the visit to Switzerland has to do with oil and gas and the PM will be meeting some bigwigs there from those industries which have investments in the country. Some unkind souls have suggested quite openly that his visit to Switzerland has more to do with his personal business than with the country's. After all, they argue, to get to Switzerland from T&T one has to go through London and the people that he is supposedly meeting are based in London. So why go to Switzerland? Certainly, that is a good question that ought to be answered. Failure to answer gives rise to all sorts of rumours and unprintable speculations some or all of which might be true.

On the other hand, things really aren't very good in T&T right now. The roads are full of potholes, the crime rate is soaring and a lot of people simply don't have their jobs anymore. It certainly is not the best time to call an election. But if Rowley and Co. (who have access to information that the rest of us don't have) believe that things are going to get worse rather than better, now would be a good time to go to the polls. Crime is getting worse by the day and Dr. Rowley's acting Commissioner of Police is increasingly appearing to be an incompetent buffoon. And, assuming that Dr. Rowley was right to say that Gary Griffith was just about the worst decision that he ever made, one can't help but wonder how he feels about Mr. Jacob? At least under Mr. Griffith the statistics suggest that crime was falling!

Then there is the question of Dr. Rowley's health - which is shrouded in mystery. Another rumour is that he is planning to step down as prime minister and 'step up' to the Presidency (a la ANR Robinson) when the term of the current President expires. That would, of course, mean no early election.

There are too many rumours going around with not enough information being shared by the powers that be in order for anybody to make a guess. Any one or all of the rumours might be true as well as they might all be false. What is vital is that we listen carefully to each one, discard those that are obviously untrue (e.g. Dr. Rowley is a Martian) and store away the rest for future retrieval. Some rumours are based on things that somebody who ought to know has told somebody else and therefore are based on facts. But which ones are fact based and which are not is almost impossible to tell at this time.

But, we can look at straws in the wind. And the current straws floating around do suggest that something is going on behind the scenes. What that "something" is, is of course, another story altogether. Would an early election be good for the country? Hard to say at this time.

What a pity that the media in this country is incompetent! If they were not, a lot of these questions would be answered. But then (as Sparrow once sang) 'we like it so'.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » August 26th, 2022, 8:49 am

MDtuner70 wrote:http://robinmontano.blogspot.com/2022/08/a-land-of-rumours.html

Thursday, August 25, 2022
*A LAND OF RUMOURS*
All the signs are there pointing to a snap early election. Certainly, the Opposition is smacking its licks at the prospect, but is this a good thing for T&T? Why do a lot of people think that there will be an early election?

Starting with the second question first, the biggest hint is the fact that the budget is being held early - a month before it is due in fact. The argument is that calling a snap election for, say, December, would give the Government a chance to proclaim a "sweetheart" budget with lots and lots of "goodies" so people will be distracted by how bad things really are.

The second hint is in the statements of the Prime Minister, where, for example, as was announced in today's papers, he is being reported as announcing a gratuitous payment to health care workers for their work during the Covid pandemic. The Prime Minister is obviously speaking to his base and is hoping to "bribe" it with some "goodies" so that during an election campaign he can say 'look at what we have done for you'.

The third hint is that the Prime Minister is scheduled to leave the country on the same afternoon after the budget speech is read to go to Switzerland (of all places)! Ostensibly the purpose of the visit to Switzerland has to do with oil and gas and the PM will be meeting some bigwigs there from those industries which have investments in the country. Some unkind souls have suggested quite openly that his visit to Switzerland has more to do with his personal business than with the country's. After all, they argue, to get to Switzerland from T&T one has to go through London and the people that he is supposedly meeting are based in London. So why go to Switzerland? Certainly, that is a good question that ought to be answered. Failure to answer gives rise to all sorts of rumours and unprintable speculations some or all of which might be true.

On the other hand, things really aren't very good in T&T right now. The roads are full of potholes, the crime rate is soaring and a lot of people simply don't have their jobs anymore. It certainly is not the best time to call an election. But if Rowley and Co. (who have access to information that the rest of us don't have) believe that things are going to get worse rather than better, now would be a good time to go to the polls. Crime is getting worse by the day and Dr. Rowley's acting Commissioner of Police is increasingly appearing to be an incompetent buffoon. And, assuming that Dr. Rowley was right to say that Gary Griffith was just about the worst decision that he ever made, one can't help but wonder how he feels about Mr. Jacob? At least under Mr. Griffith the statistics suggest that crime was falling!

Then there is the question of Dr. Rowley's health - which is shrouded in mystery. Another rumour is that he is planning to step down as prime minister and 'step up' to the Presidency (a la ANR Robinson) when the term of the current President expires. That would, of course, mean no early election.

There are too many rumours going around with not enough information being shared by the powers that be in order for anybody to make a guess. Any one or all of the rumours might be true as well as they might all be false. What is vital is that we listen carefully to each one, discard those that are obviously untrue (e.g. Dr. Rowley is a Martian) and store away the rest for future retrieval. Some rumours are based on things that somebody who ought to know has told somebody else and therefore are based on facts. But which ones are fact based and which are not is almost impossible to tell at this time.

But, we can look at straws in the wind. And the current straws floating around do suggest that something is going on behind the scenes. What that "something" is, is of course, another story altogether. Would an early election be good for the country? Hard to say at this time.

What a pity that the media in this country is incompetent! If they were not, a lot of these questions would be answered. But then (as Sparrow once sang) 'we like it so'.
The media is not incompetent, they know how to redirect information to suit the PNM voters. In a moral and logical country PNM could never see office

Postby Rovin » August 26th, 2022, 11:06 am

i respected robin in d past but like d man getting ole\senile - wha make he dream pee nm will ever call a snap election anytime soon, nobody eh calling for election & pnm will cruise their way doing nutten til 2025 then win again cause once kamla & d same setta unc fossils still going up for positions ...

Postby Rovin » August 26th, 2022, 11:30 am

behinds braying & making excuses .... :roll:

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/08/26/hinds- ... overnight/

Hinds: Crime will not be eradicated overnight

National Security Minister Fitzgerald Hinds made the statement on Tuesday night at a People’s National Movement national public meeting in Belmont. He said Trinidad and Tobago had several challenges with crime, but the major ones were border security, guns, and gangs.

He said of the 378 murders this year 26 arose out of altercations, five from property disputes, seven were cases of domestic violence, 62 were drug-related, 141 involved gangs, 43 were revenge-related, one police/prison officer was killed in the line of duty, one woman during a rape, 38 people during robberies, and 34 were unclassified.

There were 25 multiple murders, including 21 double murders, three triple murders, and a quadruple murder. And out of those 25 multiple murders there were 76 offences – 55 murders, and 21 shootings and woundings.

There were also 420 weapons seized, including 76 revolvers, 244 pistols, 20 shotguns, 54 assault rifles, five sub-machine guns, and 20 homemade shotguns.

“I understand the trauma TT is going through, but I want to say to you frankly it is serious business. It wasn’t created overnight and it would not be eradicated overnight. We have to be vigilant. We have to fight, and fight we (the PNM) will (in Parliament).”

Hinds said even though the government increased the number of judges and magistrates in the court system, matters could be filed in the magistrates’ court electronically, and there were virtual court centres, the justice system works too slowly.

He added it was disheartening when the police did their jobs to catch criminals and the guilty people were given small fines or minimal sentences.

“There’s no way the Executive or the Parliament could tell the Judiciary what to do and how to sentence someone. But I just simply want to record that gun-carrying is murderous and bloody, and we would like to see the provisions of the law implemented optimally sometimes to send clear messages, especially since we are not getting the support of the Opposition in the Parliament, on behalf of you, to put in place the laws we want to.”

In an effort to both prevent and suppress crime, Hinds highlighted several government initiatives including a facility in the Youth Transformation and Rehabilitation Centre for females with a learning centre, the Homestead programme providing agricultural training and eventually land, and numerous other programmes in sports, religion, academics and skills for children and adults.

Hinds said the government outfitted the police Coastal and Riverine Patrol Unit, procured new offshore patrol vessels, drones, a radar system, and the police were undertaking a major gun-retrieval exercise.

He said the country would soon have radio-frequency identification (RFID) technology which could identify number plates associated with vehicle owners and identify people inside vehicles.

There were also 1,796 operating cameras on the roads, 2,500 modern updated cameras were being installed, and the government was in negotiations for a further 2,500 cameras.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » August 26th, 2022, 12:22 pm

Kickstart wrote:
greggle71 wrote:I don’t think it’s fair to say they have done nothing given the realities of what we have encountered globally, this PNM administration has consistently messaged that anything that is given, every concession or subsidy or grant has to be paid, nothing is truly free and the money has to come from somewhere and I get that message, as someone who manages his own household there is income and expenditure and it’s just not practical to spend more than you earn in our own micro environment. Now as far as the particulars of managing how the government earns and what they decide to spend on is fair game for all and I think it’s fair to say they could have done more, at the end of the day if we are being honest with ourselves we are just predisposed to defend and attack based on our subconscious biases.

That’s the problem, the audience is much wider

In his own words, this conversation is for those in the audience, watching on tv and listening on radio

In his presentation, the PM referred to the opposition leader as a “stupid woman”, now without getting into the merits of that, I would bet there were a handful of women present right there and probably hundreds elsewhere that just felt uncomfortable with such an outburst, women are belittled unfairly up and down the country for all kinda reasons personal and professionally, it’s just bad PR from him and derails whatever value he may have in his message.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » August 26th, 2022, 1:18 pm

greggle71 wrote:
Kickstart wrote:

That’s the problem, the audience is much wider

In his own words, this conversation is for those in the audience, watching on tv and listening on radio

In his presentation, the PM referred to the opposition leader as a “stupid woman”, now without getting into the merits of that, I would bet there were a handful of women present right there and probably hundreds elsewhere that just felt uncomfortable with such an outburst, women are belittled unfairly up and down the country for all kinda reasons personal and professionally, it’s just bad PR from him and derails whatever value he may have in his message.
Well there is the PNM women league and other women rights activist groups They probably only know when to air their matters.

Postby The_Honourable » August 29th, 2022, 7:07 pm

Oh hover.... amalgamated workers union bend the knee to the pnm :lol:

Amalgamated workers take CPO's 4% offer, sign agreement

Chief Personnel Officer Commander Dr. Daryl (R ) and Mr. Michael Prentice, President – Amalgamated Workers Union sign the Collective Agreement at the Office of the Chief Personnel Officer.

The Chief Personnel Officer (CPO), Commander Dr Daryl Dindial, and the Amalgamated Workers Union have signed off on Collective Agreements for the periods 2014-2016 and 2017-2019 at four per cent.

A statement by the Corporate Communications Division of the CPO's office said the parties would have met on five occasions plus virtually over the last six months and treated several outstanding issues affecting workers of the union.

"Some of the major items the parties agreed upon include a new job evaluation exercise for workers of the Union, the alignment of rates of premiums and allowances enjoyed by other daily rated workers and an increase of those rates, an increase in the rate of Cost of Living Allowance (COLA), the provision of technical and vocational training, and a one-time buyout for retirees in 2014 and 2015 at four thousand dollars ($4,000.00) per retiree," the statement said.

It added, "The CPO, Commander Dindial wishes to acknowledge the leadership, intuition, and initiative displayed by the Executive of the Amalgamated Workers Union during a very difficult negotiation process."

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/amalgam ... 223d76ae72

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2022, 7:13 pm

rowlee looking to get crime advice from jcan pm

unfortunately rowlee lack stones like them to lockdown and put soe in the hotspots
so all them talks is just hot air

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 29th, 2022, 7:15 pm

Soon everyone going to follow suit and accept the offer one after the other. 4% better than nothing or no job at all. Them hovers and dem have lost, predicted a mile away from everyone.

Postby hover11 » August 29th, 2022, 8:00 pm

Meanwhile

TTUTA tells teachers to rest and reflect on Sept 5, Minister responds.The directive comes as the Union has rejected an offer of an eight per cent salary increase

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/ttuta-t ... r-responds

Find somebody else to babysit your kids come Sept 5th....

Postby hover11 » August 29th, 2022, 8:11 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Oh hover.... amalgamated workers union bend the knee to the pnm

Chief Personnel Officer Commander Dr. Daryl (R ) and Mr. Michael Prentice, President – Amalgamated Workers Union sign the Collective Agreement at the Office of the Chief Personnel Officer.

The Chief Personnel Officer (CPO), Commander Dr Daryl Dindial, and the Amalgamated Workers Union have signed off on Collective Agreements for the periods 2014-2016 and 2017-2019 at four per cent.

A statement by the Corporate Communications Division of the CPO's office said the parties would have met on five occasions plus virtually over the last six months and treated several outstanding issues affecting workers of the union.

"Some of the major items the parties agreed upon include a new job evaluation exercise for workers of the Union, the alignment of rates of premiums and allowances enjoyed by other daily rated workers and an increase of those rates, an increase in the rate of Cost of Living Allowance (COLA), the provision of technical and vocational training, and a one-time buyout for retirees in 2014 and 2015 at four thousand dollars ($4,000.00) per retiree," the statement said.

It added, "The CPO, Commander Dindial wishes to acknowledge the leadership, intuition, and initiative displayed by the Executive of the Amalgamated Workers Union during a very difficult negotiation process."

This is a 1 percent company I expected nothing less than this union
Last edited by hover11 on August 29th, 2022, 8:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » August 29th, 2022, 8:11 pm

hover11 wrote:Meanwhile

TTUTA tells teachers to rest and reflect on Sept 5, Minister responds.The directive comes as the Union has rejected an offer of an eight per cent salary increase

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/ttuta-t ... r-responds

Find somebody else to babysit your kids come Sept 5th....
You know,they don't need to stay teaching right? I am quite certain that there are plenty of people willing to take their place.
8% for paid august holidays every year? They too damn wicked yes.Garbagemen work day in day out, rain or shine,but you don't hear them complain.Let a garbage truck not work for a day and watch trouble

Postby paid_influencer » August 29th, 2022, 8:14 pm

8% raise not good enough?

wdmc.

Postby hover11 » August 29th, 2022, 8:21 pm

I sure ppl missing kams now all now we getting that 15 percent easy....

Postby j.o.e » August 29th, 2022, 8:26 pm

hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Oh hover.... amalgamated workers union bend the knee to the pnm

This is a 1 percent company I expected nothing less than this union

Aye you really dunce yes

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 29th, 2022, 9:27 pm

Wait is 15% increase allya want? Allya stay there and wait you go get that in 2050 if ya lucky.

Postby X_Factor » August 29th, 2022, 10:11 pm

paid_influencer wrote:8% raise not good enough?

wdmc.
No official offer of 8% has been offered...dont know why that was reported

If they accept 4 % which is the official offer
It reflects 8% of the elm which tutta uses for wage negotiations

death365

Postby death365 » August 30th, 2022, 3:10 am

Is budget day really September 2nd? I saw thus date floating around

Postby hover11 » August 30th, 2022, 5:39 am

death365 wrote:Is budget day really September 2nd? I saw thus date floating around
Apparently it's not a budget day it is simply the finance minister letting us know the state of the economy, makes no sense if you ask me if budget will be held the month after.

Postby X_Factor » August 30th, 2022, 8:27 am

hover11 wrote:
death365 wrote:Is budget day really September 2nd? I saw thus date floating around
Apparently it's not a budget day it is simply the finance minister letting us know the state of the economy, makes no sense if you ask me if budget will be held the month after.

most likely it is to paint the doom and gloom picture ahead of the budget
this time you getting the grease first

Postby hover11 » August 30th, 2022, 9:47 am

DMan7 wrote:Wait is 15% increase allya want? Allya stay there and wait you go get that in 2050 if ya lucky.
PNM not even seeing till 2025 so your point is moot

Postby MaxPower » August 30th, 2022, 10:05 am

hover11 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Wait is 15% increase allya want? Allya stay there and wait you go get that in 2050 if ya lucky.

Jason,

Another PNM victory approaches.

Postby hover11 » August 30th, 2022, 10:07 am

hover11 wrote:

Jason,

Max,

You are deluded Even PNM diehards have to admit things looking rather shaky this rounds...

Postby The_Honourable » August 30th, 2022, 11:16 am

hover11 wrote:

Jason,

Max,

You are deluded Even PNM diehards have to admit things looking rather shaky this rounds...

You need to consider:

- 9 day memory
- Election goodies
- Die hards prefer suffering from their own than voting another party

Like you forget how this goes.

Postby hover11 » August 30th, 2022, 11:26 am

The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Jason,

Max,

You need to consider:

- 9 day memory
- Election goodies
- Die hards prefer suffering from their own than voting another party

Like you forget how this goes.
A 4 percent increase in salary is not going to get ppl to vote for them. That union above will regret it , if you making 4000 dollars a month that is 160 dollar increase , if you making 40k then that is an increase of 1600 dollars. All of these increases are before tax and nis so it come like a salary cut because your net pay may very be less than what you were receiving prior.

Trinis and their 9 day memory is the reason why the country is in the state it is currently in. We only see what is in front of us and forget the bad treatment from the PNM all the years before.