Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby hover11 » May 22nd, 2022, 6:36 pm

Let’s not overreact. Let’s not shut down the country.”

This from Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley when asked to comment on the outcry from public servants who took issue with the offer of a two per cent wage increase for an eight-year period.

Outraged healthcare workers have threatened to “shutdown” the country in protest of the offer which they have argued does not match the current cost of living expenses.

At a conference at the Piarco International Airport on his return from a regional meeting in Guyana on Sunday, Dr Rowley explained that it’s a balancing act when treating with wage negotiations.

He said: “We would love to give the public servants as much as they could expect but it has to be tempered by what reality is. The Minister of Finance indicated that from what little increase we’ve got in the current market price, we will try to give public servants something from it.”

Quoting figures provided by Finance Minister Colm Imbert, the Prime Minister noted that the current public sector wage bill stands at a whopping $8.7 billion.

He explained that while the proposed two per cent increase may sound small, Government will pay significantly more to cover the increased wage bill.

The Prime Minister said: “At a two per cent increase, covering period going back 2014 to 2020, a two per cent increase would see an additional cost on the recurrent of $175 million – that’s only on salary and wage, and COLA at $1 billion, then a monthly increase of $411 million going forward.

That’s the two per cent increase. That’s what the Minister of Finance has offered.”

He outlined what larger increases would look like.

Dr Rowley stated: “If perchance we get to a four per cent increase where we are currently committed to $8.7 billion, with backpay we will be talking about a revision of $1.8 billion and a running cost of increased $588 million.

If you hear anyone talking about 10 and 15 per cent – at 10 per cent we’ll be talking about a backpay of $4.5 billion and an increase running cost of $1.1 billion.”

“Now you put that against recent report of a slight increase in the revenues for the Minister of Finance against the background of the huge debt that we had run up for COVID and pre-COVID put them altogether and you come to a conclusion as to whether shutting down the country or not is the appropriate response to these circumstances,” he continued.

The Prime Minister further explained that while the price of oil has rebounded, the market is unpredictable and could change overnight.

Postby hover11 » May 22nd, 2022, 6:38 pm

Shut down the country, ironic how the man who can at any point in time with the help of his colleagues, simply increase his salary at a whim and on current salary telling ppl take what they get. Red government ppl wake up and smell the coffee, these ppl don't give AF about you.

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2022, 6:46 pm

hover11 wrote:Shut down the country, ironic how the man who can at any point in time with the help of his colleagues, simply increase his salary at a whim and on current salary telling ppl take what they get. Red government ppl wake up and smell the coffee, these ppl don't give AF about you.

What was that about elevators again? :lol:
I prefer the non psychological terms like dotish, sheepish, cult followers, tribal.

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby The_Honourable » May 22nd, 2022, 6:52 pm

This week will be one set ah bell ka-dang! ka-dang! ka-dang! and allyuh will go back to work.

Postby hover11 » May 22nd, 2022, 6:56 pm

The_Honourable wrote:This week will be one set ah bell ka-dang! ka-dang! ka-dang! and allyuh will go back to work.
That's the thing it has to be a unified effort , the police need another day of total policing , the army have to not report , the health workers have to do sickouts , the various ministries need to do work to rule and sick out action. Only then would the powers that be take this situation seriously. Everybody expecting the unions to do all the work cuz they paying their dues but every single person has to do their part. The public might hadda feel some pain but that's the only way the politicians will understand how serious ppl are.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 22nd, 2022, 7:17 pm

2% over 8 years waaaays. Not even the private sector that stingy. Private sector does increase their employee's salaries once per year.

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2022, 7:43 pm

meanwhile ferris collecting his rent on time normel normel

wing

Postby wing » May 22nd, 2022, 7:59 pm

DMan7 wrote:2% over 8 years waaaays. Not even the private sector that stingy. Private sector does increase their employee's salaries once per year.
How many persons are employed in the public service? As opposed to at most 50 ministers or even the corruption in government rents? Increase in public service salary will cost taxpayers billions , with no chance of a return on investment or increase in productivity. Why are the public servants fixated on antiquated negotiation tactics? It's exactly the playbook that was employed with caroni and petrotrin, where figures are used to paint a picture. Instead of going all in on increments, why not look at perks, non cost items, better work life balance, better medical, better housing, education assistance etc. You can still get the increase and backpay, plus meaningful perks...but like the other union that was castrated when petrotrin close down.... another 15 mill pass again.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 22nd, 2022, 8:10 pm

^ I agree perks might be better to have than a 2% increase such as insurance but in the end that might prove to be more costly.

Postby hover11 » May 22nd, 2022, 8:22 pm

Talking about perks when grocery prices increasing every month....perks gonna help me pay bills , buy groceries, ppl want dollars and cents, long and short of it. The government can find ways to generate revenue probably increase the cost of permit renewals, passport renewals and other government services. Perks not gonna help ppl meet their monthly expenses. Funny how the government have money to do everything else but when is time to pay ppl they have all the excuses in the world.

Postby hover11 » May 22nd, 2022, 8:38 pm

Anyway, allya ain riot yet and the man still laughing
FB_IMG_1653266296378.jpg

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 22nd, 2022, 8:41 pm

Btw I thought it was "2013 salary" and not 2014? Like dem short change people one year or what?

wing

Postby wing » May 22nd, 2022, 9:04 pm

hover11 wrote:Talking about perks when grocery prices increasing every month....perks gonna help me pay bills , buy groceries, ppl want dollars and cents, long and short of it. The government can find ways to generate revenue probably increase the cost of permit renewals, passport renewals and other government services. Perks not gonna help ppl meet their monthly expenses. Funny how the government have money to do everything else but when is time to pay ppl they have all the excuses in the world.
So you're advocating implementing increased fees to pay for public service salary increases. Sounds like taxing the taxpayers.... just come out and say it.... public servants want the money and to hell with everyone and everything else. Petrotrin all over again....

Postby Chimera » May 22nd, 2022, 9:26 pm

while i find it unfair that public servants being paid salaries from 8 years ago

in the last 2 years, the same public servants benefit greatly compared to their private counterparts

their job security and full pay while being home for weeks and months waiting on covid tests results compared to private workers was a massive perk. hovie ent yuh spend like 3 or 4 months home with full pay in the last year while waiting on negative covid results?
let we just say your salary is a conservative 12,000 a month, imagine you get 40-48k to stay home and scratch yuh balls
then it had the times when it had 50% and complete public service shutdown....home with full pay

on the whole their jobs have plenty perks and most public services are very slow, if they work any slower they would be going backwards.

Postby hover11 » May 23rd, 2022, 7:11 am

I find it VERY SUSPICIOUS that during that eight year period when Public Servants were TOLD TO TIGHTEN their belts, This Government Raised their Salaries :S. You found money for The Taste of Carnival to assist artistes who couldn't perform for two years but public officers are struggling for eight years and you coming at us with BS . PEACE NOTHING SHUT DOWN THE DAM PLACE. THIS GOVERNMENT TOO DAM DISRESPECTFUL AND UNGRATEFUL TO ITS EMPLOYEES.

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2022, 7:13 am

govt does make sure their pockets and pensions well filled come wind or rain
other group who also get fat pensions are the judges to keep them quiet

Postby hover11 » May 23rd, 2022, 7:25 am

FIU FLAGS $4.4M DEPOSIT

IN 2021 the Financial Investigations Unit (FIU) flagged a Venture Credit Union account bearing the name of Government Minister Foster Cummings for suspicious financial activity after a $4.4 million deposit was made to the account.

The Express is in receipt of a bundle of documents, including court documents, which show that the Anti-Corruption Investigation Bureau conducted investigations and obtained Production/Disclosure Orders from the court for a number of companies, including State enterprises to provide documents to the police.

According to the Proceeds of Crime Act, a police officer can make an application to a judge for an order to make material available relative to the investigation.

However, attorneys representing three companies—Rivulet Investment Group Ltd, Cummings and Associates Ltd and Pical Services Ltd - took issue with the Production Orders before the courts and in July 2021, Justice Kathy Ann Waterman-Latchoo made a decision that the Orders which were granted to the police and served on the Applicants (three companies above) were to be suspended pending further ventilation and determination of the application.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... ium=social
Last edited by hover11 on May 23rd, 2022, 7:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » May 23rd, 2022, 7:26 am

Red government ppl defence : well Kamla theif more

wing

Postby wing » May 23rd, 2022, 7:44 am

hover11 wrote:Red government ppl defence : well Kamla theif more
Almost everyone will agree that public servants deserve fair pay. Everyone will also agree that the public service needs to demonstrate that the healthy salary and benefits that are paid on time, every single month result in timely and efficient service to the public. Some people here fail to remember that the public service are exactly that....there to provide a service. All this beatup for increments ..... like a gimme gimme mentality.... are there any public servants that work for minimum wage? Yet hoover wants us to believe that they are on the verge of pauperism, and the rest of the country should be taxed to fund their salaries.

Postby hover11 » May 23rd, 2022, 7:47 am

wing wrote:
Almost everyone will agree that public servants deserve fair pay. Everyone will also agree that the public service needs to demonstrate that the healthy salary and benefits that are paid on time, every single month result in timely and efficient service to the public. Some people here fail to remember that the public service are exactly that....there to provide a service. All this beatup for increments ..... like a gimme gimme mentality.... are there any public servants that work for minimum wage? Yet hoover wants us to believe that they are on the verge of pauperism, and the rest of the country should be taxed to fund their salaries.
You do realize if employees are not happy how you expect customers to be happy....t&tec received zero increase for a bargaining period yet you expect a regular supply of electricity not so. Nib has a signed agreement from the ministry of finance at 9 percent but the minister rather pay top lawyers to challenge that and you really expect pensions to be paid every month.....allya good yes. Happy workers happy customers simple. At the end of the end of the day is not the workers looking bad is the minister of finance and by extension the government

wing

Postby wing » May 23rd, 2022, 7:57 am

hover11 wrote:
wing wrote:
You do realize if employees are not happy how you expect customers to be happy....t&tec received zero increase for a bargaining period yet you expect a regular supply of electricity not so. Nib has a signed agreement from the ministry of finance at 9 percent but the minister rather pay top lawyers to challenge that and you really expect pensions to be paid every month.....allya good yes. Happy workers happy customers simple. At the end of the end of the day is not the workers looking bad is the minister of finance and by extension the government
You are employed to provide a service to the country. If you have a problem getting motivated to do what you are employed and paid to do, then you are defrauding the taxpayers of this country. I suggest that you and others stop being brainwashed by the union leaders and their 1930s tactics. This is petrotrin all over again.

Postby hover11 » May 23rd, 2022, 7:59 am

wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:
wing wrote:
You are employed to provide a service to the country. If you have a problem getting motivated to do what you are employed and paid to do, then you are defrauding the taxpayers of this country. I suggest that you and others stop being brainwashed by the union leaders and their 1930s tactics. This is petrotrin all over again.
Defrauding the taxpayers LOL , talk the politicians about that first sir. The government made their ridiculous offer and now the consequences of such will emerge

wing

Postby wing » May 23rd, 2022, 8:17 am

hover11 wrote:
wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:
wing wrote:
Defrauding the taxpayers LOL , talk the politicians about that first sir. The government made their ridiculous offer and now the consequences of such will emerge
Blame Rowley.... Blame Kamla...... gimme gimme...to hell with everyone else.....I feeling sad, no work today

wing

Postby wing » May 23rd, 2022, 8:28 am

Anyway, having a rational discussion is pointless. So called free thinkers turn to sheep when money involved

Postby sMASH » May 23rd, 2022, 8:35 am

who could remember, back around 2005 or so, a pnm lady left the pnm alleging the pedophilia in the pnm?
i can remember how she looks, a thickish lady, lookin mixed.
but her name escapes me

Postby bluefete » May 23rd, 2022, 9:05 am

sMASH wrote:who could remember, back around 2005 or so, a pnm lady left the pnm alleging the pedophilia in the pnm?
but her name escapes me

Dr Sharon Ann Gopaul-McNicol - She ran for the St. Joseph constituency.

But sMASH: Yuh getting senile or what? You yourself posted de damn thing in this here thread - Tuesday May 17th 2022- 6:38 a.m.. See below

////viewtopic.php?f=4&t=755801&start=5220

Postby MaxPower » May 23rd, 2022, 9:48 am

Trinis want increases in salary to do what exactly?

Postby sMASH » May 23rd, 2022, 10:26 am

bluefete wrote:
sMASH wrote:who could remember, back around 2005 or so, a pnm lady left the pnm alleging the pedophilia in the pnm?
but her name escapes me

Dr Sharon Ann Gopaul-McNicol - She ran for the St. Joseph constituency.

But sMASH: Yuh getting senile or what? You yourself posted de damn thing in this here thread - Tuesday May 17th 2022- 6:38 a.m.. See below

////viewtopic.php?f=4&t=755801&start=5220

i cant remember the woman name. same happen with 'tow the line' and 'toe the line'... now i will remember she name

Postby hover11 » May 23rd, 2022, 10:50 am

wing wrote:Anyway, having a rational discussion is pointless. So called free thinkers turn to sheep when money involved
It is clear you don't know shite about industrial relations, hear what when you have a business tell your employees you giving them perks in lieu of salary increases in light of rising food prices and ever increasing standard of living....lemme know how that works out. Until then, you don't know sheit and continue spewing garbage clear as day the government (the employer) is at fault and if needed we take it to the industrial court but simultaneously there will be action.

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2022, 10:53 am

this foster fella have plenty things going on and hiring big lawyers and ting
he seem well versed in them
movements