Cheapest Used Car to maintain

Chris00007

Postby Chris00007 » August 5th, 2020, 8:09 pm

What is the cheapest USED car in terms of maintenance. The initial price doesn't matter but I'm looking for something that would be the cheapest to maintain from now until the next 6 years or so. Cheap engine, transmission, suspension parts etc.

Looking at the Almera, Y12 Wingroad, Tiida and Note so far. If y'all have any others, feel free to suggest

Re: Cheapest Used Car to maintain

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 5th, 2020, 8:15 pm

Almera and Tiida

But my personal recommendation is Corolla 101 or NZE, it even cheaper in the long term because parts last longer even tho it costs more you get more value for your money

If you could afford a 2007 era model Hilux that is lifetime. Diesel is also far more reliable than gas cause it needs no spark plugs or coil pack it works on compression.

My brother has a Hilux new bought in 2006 it is a TCA the viigo model if u call it that and only thing he changed so far was Oil, Tire and break pads.

Let that sink in for a second and you will realize these Hilux using alien technology it almost never needs maintenance.

Toyota has no competition there is a reason they will always be number 1

Imagine having a vehicle for 14 years and never changed anything but the basics like oil and tire that is the benefit you get when you go Toyota

Postby MaxPower » August 5th, 2020, 8:24 pm

Hello Chris00007,

Hope all is well.

Take my advice,

Stay away from those cars u mentioned. While they may be reliable, they are bandit cars.

I recommend Toyota NZE 121 or NZE 141.

My brother, look around for a well maintained original condition one and then do a overall proper service.

I am guaranteeing you that you will not be disappointed.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 5th, 2020, 8:29 pm

^ This man Max talk sense.

Toyota all the way, only when you own a Toyota can you ever understand the reliability of those vehicles. I still miss my 101 Corolla never had to change anything in that for 5 years mind you I bought it used from someone who was driving Taxi with it eh.

With Nissan you can buy cheap $200 knock off shocks in Bamboo for Nissan yet you are by the mechanic AGAIN paying him ANOTHER day wuk to install another useless pair of those shocks.

When you go Toyota and you buy genuine Toyota parts you set for nearly 2 decades again. My brother use that Hilux to build a high house if you see load he carry on that and the shocks still work like new, vehicle doing 300,000 KM Mileage and again never had to change anything.

Toyota = no maintenance for the most part once you take care of it.

In 2006 he said his intentions were to keep the Hilux for life and pass onto his Son. Seems like he still holds that same belief last I spoke with him
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 5th, 2020, 8:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 5th, 2020, 8:32 pm

Get a rx8

Chris00007

Postby Chris00007 » August 5th, 2020, 8:32 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Almera and Tiida

But my personal recommendation is Corolla 101 or NZE, it even cheaper in the long term because parts last longer even tho it costs more you get more value for your money

If you could afford a 2007 era model Hilux that is lifetime. Diesel is also far more reliable than gas cause it needs no spark plugs or coil pack it works on compression.

My brother has a Hilux new bought in 2006 it is a TCA the viigo model if u call it that and only thing he changed so far was Oil, Tire and break pads.

Let that sink in for a second and you will realize these Hilux using alien technology it almost never needs maintenance.

Imagine having a vehicle for 14 years and never changed anything but the basics like oil and tire that is the benefit you get when you go Toyota

Thanks for the response. I was leaning towards a Tiida because I have a Y12 Wingroad already and it works great and I know the Tiida has the same engine etc. Toyota is the best but as I said, I just plan on keeping this car for a few years and looking for the least cost. Toyotas in general are a lot more expensive than just buying a plain old Tiida that's reliable at least

Postby rollingstock » August 5th, 2020, 8:39 pm

Study to take advice from a man driving a 93 ek civic, and the other taking ptsc bus.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 5th, 2020, 8:45 pm

rollingstock wrote:Study to take advice from a man driving a 93 ek civic, and the other taking ptsc bus.

You do realize I owned a 92 EG8 Civic and then a 92 101 Corolla right?

When I was lucky enough to get a PTSC bus straight to work it was a no brainer. Vehicle got 0 use except for weekend drive to beach or grocery etc.

My maintenance was 0 but the EG8 was plenty problems so I got rid of it, got Toyota and never looked back.

The EG8 had an issue where it wouldn't start in the Sun, only info I ever found out was someone online said his Accord had same issue and it was the cold soldering on the main relay that was cracked and expanding due to the heat and breaking the connection.

I had no idea if that was the case got tired of it plus the brainbox would randomly burn out every 6 months. To top it off when I went to buy parts they only had parts for the regular D15B and NOT the D15B VTEC model I had, turns out the distributors or brainbox won't work on VTEC model if it's non VTEC

Sold that sh!t and went Toyota and never looked back. Only sold the Corolla a few months ago because it was completely flooded with mud due to the massive flooding a couple years ago and I needed money to finish renovate the house.

Amazingly my brother EK3 Civic Non VTEC has NEVER given him any issues and he gets parts anywhere for it. And he only ever changed like fuel pump, radiator, distributor, starter and those stuff but never had to change the transmission or engine.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 5th, 2020, 8:50 pm

Also it eh have no 93 ek Civic that doesn't exist.

The 6th generation Civic line started in 1996 it used the same parts as the EG but had a different design especially door handle which was far superior to the EG

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 5th, 2020, 8:54 pm

Chris00007 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Almera and Tiida

Thanks for the response. I was leaning towards a Tiida because I have a Y12 Wingroad already and it works great and I know the Tiida has the same engine etc. Toyota is the best but as I said, I just plan on keeping this car for a few years and looking for the least cost. Toyotas in general are a lot more expensive than just buying a plain old Tiida that's reliable at least

To be fair NZE costs the same price as a TIIDA and it is far more reliable.

You just need to get one that was NOT used to pull bull.

Right now NZE is the new King ever since it dethroned the B14 and it still going strong this means the resale value refuses to drop. That is how you know it is a good car, if it was expensive to own and maintain there wouldn't be so many men running NZE as PH all over the place.

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2020, 9:01 pm

almera parts cheap and easy to get and they hold great resale value

i bought a blue small light about 2 years ago for 30k, all i ever did was change the rims and i did regular service as i was using it alot, i use to lend padnas it for 2-3 months at a time when people wanted low profile vehicles to roll around with

sold it about 2 months ago for 33k after 2 years of heavy usage

they steal them alot but spend your money for a proper gps system and that isnt a concern.

i have a nice big light for sale for sale, message me if you interested.

Postby Les Bain » August 5th, 2020, 9:04 pm

Chris, Chris, Chris.

Chris.

Almera and Tiida reach people's car status. All them pest will be marking you for parts. You real harden. Stop asking about them cars.

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2020, 9:06 pm

you study them fellas with used toyota, when you hadda go in the firm and wait 3 months for a part for a 10 year old vehicle you will cry

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 5th, 2020, 9:19 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:you study them fellas with used toyota, when you hadda go in the firm and wait 3 months for a part for a 10 year old vehicle you will cry

Since when Toyota parts hard to get hoss?
You still getting 101 parts and NZE parts even easier to get.

I mean it wont be new but u will get it unless u want TTTL to order it for you then you hadda wait

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 5th, 2020, 9:50 pm

LOCAL used Toyota Corolla.
Like the 2007-2012 model
Parts widely available, OEM and subst.

One of this should hold you for quite some time.
Look for a low milege, single or two owner unit.
also get a GPS alarm

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » August 5th, 2020, 9:52 pm

OP this is the last time I telling you this

Y11.

Postby rollingstock » August 5th, 2020, 10:10 pm

Effectic you make trolling so easy, it ain't even fun.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 5th, 2020, 10:46 pm

ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:OP this is the last time I telling you this

Y11.

Y11 > Y12

More reliable transmission.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 5th, 2020, 11:37 pm

A Corolla... But it has to be serviced properly. In this case the simpler the better and less features mean less to go wrong.

Stay away from diesel if you don't have a mechanical bone in your body or a mechanically inclined friend. Yeah the hilux suspension is pretty sturdy but it isn't unbreakable. Make any mistake with that fuel system and you will find out how expensive diesel parts are.

Get a gasoline powered vehicle (Port injection)

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 6th, 2020, 1:32 am

My list:
Toyota Corolla AE92 with 5A-FE
Toyota Corolla AE101 with 5A/4A-FE (including L-Touring)
Toyota Corolla AE111 with 5A/4A-FE/4A-GE (personal pick)
Toyota Corolla NZE121 with 1NZ-FE/1ZZ-FE (Altis with 3ZZ-FE is acceptable)
Toyota Corolla NZE141 with 1NZ-FE/1ZZ-FE/2ZR-FE (personal pick)
Toyota Corolla E170 with 1ZR-FE (personal pick)
Toyota Yaris with 2NZ-FE
Toyota Starlet with 4E-FTE (personal pick)
Toyota Tercel/Soluna with 4E-FE or 5A-FE (personal pick)
Nissan Sentra/Sunny B14 with a GA15/16DE (personal pick)
Nissan Almera/Sunny N16 with a QG16/18DE
Nissan Wingroad Y10 with a GA15DE/SR18DE
Nissan Wingroad Y11 with a QG15DE/QR20DE
Nissan Primera P11 with SR18/20DE or VE (personal pick)
Mitsubishi Lancer CK4 with 4G92 or 4G92 DOHC MIVEC (personal pick)
Mitsubishi Lancer EX CY with 4A91/92 (personal pick)
Honda Civic EG with D15/16 or B16A
Honda Civic EK with D15/16 or B16A (personal pick)
Honda Civic ES with D15/17
Honda Civic FA with R16/18 (personal pick)
Honda Civic FB with R16/18 (personal pick)
Honda City with D15
Mazda 323/323F/Familia BH 1.5/1.6
Mazda 323/Familia BJ 1.5/1.6/2.0 (RS and Sport20 personal pick)
Mazda 3/Axela with MZR 1.5 or 1.6 (personal pick)
Mazda 2/Demio with MZR 1.5 (personal pick)
Subaru Impreza GH2 with EL15 (personal pick)
Suzuki Liana with M16A
Suzuki SX4 with M16A
Suzuki Swift with M15/16A
Suzuki Ignis with M15A
Hyundai Elantra with a Gamma 1.6
Hyundai Accent with a Gamma 1.4/1.6
Kia Cerato with a Gamma 1.6
Kia Rio with a Gamma 1.4

The 5 that really stands out for me here is the AE111, B14, P11, EK4 and 323F hb. I want mint versions of these in my personal collection.
Last edited by agent007 on August 6th, 2020, 1:32 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 6th, 2020, 1:40 am

^ good list make sure it is NOT a VTEC Civic. You ain't getting parts for no D15B Vtec in this day and age I couldn't get parts for that 8 years ago much less today. You will have to order it and we know how that goes with customs now

Rockram

Postby Rockram » August 6th, 2020, 1:49 am

You can't beat Toyota for reliability... But I won't knock Nissan either I had a roro Almera bought it with 55k km and 9 years later sold it with 345k km for a little under half the purchase price.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 6th, 2020, 4:12 am

aqua or note

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 6th, 2020, 6:06 am

Mazda 3 or 6 or CX5 breds,
Theyre the prettiest cars, transaxle, interior like a little merc, fast if you know how to tune it...

southern sales for parts tho.. sigh..

// the toyotas and mitsu for the last 6yrs or so are cheap japCRAP.. stay away. If all else fails, get a honda, Ford or chevy, or a proper euro car, like a vw, merc or audi.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 6th, 2020, 6:14 am

Nze 121/141
Ae110/111

Y11(qg15 bizness)
Almera

Maybe...just maybe tiida

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 6th, 2020, 6:16 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:you study them fellas with used toyota, when you hadda go in the firm and wait 3 months for a part for a 10 year old vehicle you will cry

No bredda man...NO!!!!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 6th, 2020, 9:20 am

FrankChag wrote:Mazda 3 or 6 or CX5 breds,
Theyre the prettiest cars, transaxle, interior like a little merc, fast if you know how to tune it...

southern sales for parts tho.. sigh..

// the toyotas and mitsu for the last 6yrs or so are cheap japCRAP.. stay away. If all else fails, get a honda, Ford or chevy, or a proper euro car, like a vw, merc or audi.
you from hell awah......the man say cheap

Postby pugboy » August 6th, 2020, 9:23 am

nze without a doubt
easy on fuel consumption
foreign used takes regular gas

doesn’t suffer suspension bushing issues like nissans

rebound

Postby rebound » August 6th, 2020, 11:17 am

I had an NZE and a Wingroad (both new foreign used.lol). I had both cars for 5 years, properly maintained and both cars cost me nothing extra from normal maintenance.

I met the current owner of the Wingroad last year and he said the car is doing great, all he had to do was paint over, suspension and bushings, and changed the engine twice (apparently thats not a big deal).

I met the current owner of the NZE last week and he said the car is doing great but, he had to do over the air condition system (apparently that was the big deal for him).

So I guess its perspective. Theoretically in my veiw the 17 year old NZE serviced the owner with little issue but, I notice that Nissan owners are cool with seeing an engine changes as a plus.....

Postby Rovin » August 6th, 2020, 11:18 am

whatever u go with d most important ting imo is getting a non-beat-out car , especially like mentioned above 1 dat never licks wukkin PH

alot of trinis abuse their rides then want to flash it over\pretty it up to hide all d crap under neath to catch some unsuspecting buyer

always take a mechanic or somebody who know cars along with u to spot stuff u didnt catch

very important to check if its a fairly recent car is to do a credit check & make sure car is on owners name not previous owner ...